Jaguar XF facelift arrives in Malaysia – 3.0 V6 petrol, Diesel S and XFR 5.0 V8 Supercharged are the available variants

Jaguar’s facelifted XF sedan was officially introduced by Sisma Auto earlier today. Three variant forms of the new arrival are available, the base 3.0 V6 petrol and 3.0 V6 Diesel S as well as the range-topping XFR 5.0 V8 Supercharged, though the introduction made today was with the 3.0 litre petrol and diesel jobs.

The facelift gives the XF a series of cosmetic enhancements that bring the car’s exterior in-line with the design language introduced on the flagship XJ. The front fascia and lower rear valance treatments differ between model levels, but in general the grille and hood have been revised, as have the front fenders, which now sport new triangular side vents. As befits its status, the supercharged XFR features styling cues that differentiate it from the other XFs.

In terms of powertrain outputs, the AJ-V6 Gen III petrol has 238 PS at 6,800 rpm and 293 Nm at 4,100 rpm, and this is good enough to give it a 0-100 km/h time of 8.3 seconds. Meanwhile, the AJ-V6D Gen III S diesel mill offers 275 PS at 4,000 rpm and double the torque of the petrol unit, with 600 Nm at 2,000 rpm. It’s faster than the petrol variant to the century, doing it in 6.4 seconds.

As for the XFR, the familiar 5.0 litre AJ-V8 Gen III R supercharged lump puts out 510 PS at 6,000 to 6,500 rpm and 635 Nm at 2,500 rpm right through to 5,500 rpm, and these numbers are good enough to give the XFR a sub five-second performance from standstill to 100 km/h, specifically 4.9 seconds. All three model versions, which are equipped with six-speed auto gearboxes, have their top speed limited to 250 km/h.

Besides the revisions to the bodywork, new to the car are bi-function HID xenon headlamps, which incorporate LED daytime running lights that are shaped in a Jaguar ‘J-Blade’ fashion, and the LED tail lights are also new, reworked to extend towards the central portion of the trunk lid. The boot gets a power latch across the model range, and also wears a revised trunk lid trim, with a gloss black lower edge separating the tail lamps.

At the car’s official global launch at last year’s New York Auto Show, three new exterior shades were also introduced to the palette, and the alloy wheel selection has also been increased, with new offerings ranging from 18- to 20-inch units available for the car.

The cabin also gets updated, with changes coming in the form of new trim shades, seats, audio systems and instrument panel. Trim-wise, the centre console, dashboard, and steering wheel are dressed in a new colour scheme, with buttons and switchgear now in black. Additionally, the ‘Tungsten’ finish has been replaced by a more contemporary ‘Aurora’ theme.

The front and rear seats have also been revised, and feature a choice of new colour combinations and veneers. Elsewhere, the instrument cluster information display is now a full-colour TFT unit, and the seven-inch touchscreen now comes with a new polarising filter for improved contrast and reworked buttons below the screen, allowing for easier and clearer function selection.

A choice of three new audio systems abound, with the list headed by an optional 1,200 watt, 17-speaker Bowers & Wilkins premium surround sound system, and safety equipment includes front and side curtain airbags, CBC and brake assist.

In terms of pricing, the XF 3.0 V6 goes for RM488,888, the XF 3.0 Diesel S for RM509,888, and the XFR 5.0 V8 Supercharged is a mere snip at RM888,888, all prices excluding road tax and insurance.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 12, 2012 at 8:50 pm

mad pricing. only for the huge fans of jaguar. superb car though.

• “In terms of pricing, the XF 3.0 V6 goes for RM488,888, the XF 3.0 Diesel S for RM509,888, and the XFR 5.0 V8 Supercharged a mere snip at RM888,888, all prices excluding road tax and insurance.”

RM888.888…….that’s pretty steep.i would go for a Audi A8, if i don’t mind the supercharged engine

• Andrew on Jan 12, 2012 at 9:03 pm

Nice

• skiborne on Jan 12, 2012 at 9:28 pm

what about the 2.2 Diesel variant than can do 1000+ per tankful of diesel?

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Jan 13, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Jaguar should seriously consider CKD-ing their cars or bringing in the smaller engine variants to Malaysia. Currently their whole range of cars don’t make financial sense in our country.

• rush hour on Jan 12, 2012 at 9:40 pm

3.0 diesel faster than 3.0 petrol?? 2 seconds faster 0-100kmh?? wow!! that is really superb.

i am not surprised at all with the prices announced, being low volume but most importantly the extreme high CBU import tax.

but it is nice to arrive in something different, rather than to join the crowded merc and bmw owners..

i mean.. look at that gear lever!!
    it is round!!!

• Gavin on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:03 pm

And people still believe the fuel quality issue when Koreans refuse to bring their frugal diesels

• mosar on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:43 am

yeah, somehow everyone are quick to blame m’sia fuel quality, bla bla bla…when the truth is that some car manufacturer just too greedy making maximum profits out of their regular models rather than offering cutting edge techs to us (preferential treatments to western countries perhaps?)..merc, bmw & now jag offering their diesel here..all working just fine..

• I wonder why they decided not to put the iconic jaguar sculpture like they used to.

• kelso on Jan 13, 2012 at 7:55 am

Supposedly a crash hazard and i suppose preservation of the sleek lines

• Maybe they dun want people to mistaken it for the old Hyundai Sonata!! hahaha

• mirror mirror on Jan 12, 2012 at 10:07 pm

Car for the aristocrat.

• mister potato on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:09 am

sadly, only in this country. Middle class working people can buy this car in the USA because the cheapest XF in the USA comes with 5.0V8 at USD$53k (RM166k)

• Sentinel Prime on Jan 13, 2012 at 2:34 am

This is the only Jagaur XF that only score 4 star in Euro Ncap. Safety below expectation.

• I’ll chose diesel anytime!

• maybe after proton kiasu come here and read the article, they will say ‘8.3 second 0-100?my exora bold@proton p3-21a can smoke this jaguar’..hahaha and after that they will look that this jaguar design for interior or exterior is copy from protong..haha

• alldisc on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:21 am

seriously, if proton wants to succeed in europe, especially UK (since its RHD market), they should make the campro in diesel version. they are very very popular there. honda even has CRV 2.2 diesel, and there are civic in 2.2 diesel too. all modern and powerful.

when we talk about jaguar with diesel engines, the Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) need to be removed first to accept our euro2M fuel quality. this is true.

the DPF equipped diesel complies to Euro4/5 standards.

• Paint on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:45 am

The design somewhat look like a whole new model, rather than a facelift. The designers would hard-pressed to come out with better design than this.

• mirror mirror on Jan 13, 2012 at 9:38 am

The most elegant form of British snobbery.

• DewaSemut on Jan 13, 2012 at 9:38 am

Tail lights reminds me of “Tron” movie… :)

Nicer than the previous version… wonder my big boss wanted to change his old one for this… :D

• mister potato on Jan 13, 2012 at 10:05 am

RM488,888 for an XF 3.0 V6? The cheapest XF in the USA comes with 5.0V8 at USD$53k (RM166k). That is around what Malaysians pay for their Camry and Accords.

Okay you say, you’d rather pay tax to pay for the petrol subsidies. The price difference is RM323k. If you use your car for 5 years, that amounts to RM5383/month of prepaying the petrol subsidies. Assuming each liter of Ron95 petrol atRm1.90 comes with RM1 subsidy, that equates for 5383 liters per month.

If you open your eyes, you’ll notice that people who are okay with high car prices mostly drive at most a new vios/city/forte/inspira (9-year loan of course) or some used 5-10 year old cars that are actually, old cars. Once they start making more money to be able to afford the better cars, at that point most of them will realize how absurd those prices are. All dreams shattered.

• mirror mirror on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:01 am

Very well said, that is why we play out our fantasies in auto blogs.

• not blur on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:13 am

If you open your eyes you notice you are not in the USA. Want to enjoy USA car prices and USA cost of living go to USA. We are in Malaysia. Suck it up and get over it or move. ‘Grass always greener on the other side’

• mister potato on Jan 13, 2012 at 12:35 pm

a lot of people want their grass green at a reasonable price. why admire when you can be the one being admired?

• not blur on Jan 13, 2012 at 4:35 pm

“You can’t have your cake and eat it too!”

“Is your glass half-empty or half-full?”

:)

• mister potato on Jan 13, 2012 at 4:58 pm

mine is half-full, which is why i want to have my cake AND eat it…

• alldisc on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:23 am

not much surprising as the landed price for camry 2.4 is 89K, and sold with taxes at 172K.
      asean CBU

VW Golf 1.4 landed price is only 47K, the GTI 49K.

golf 1.4 twincharge is sold at 150K while GTI at 220K. CBU status earned the import tax.

• Jaybond on Jan 13, 2012 at 12:13 pm

This is the only car capable of challenging the likes of BMW 5 series, Audi A6 & Merc E Class in terms of handling performance as well the style.

• Diablo on Jan 13, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Can’t agree for sure. I’ve driven the XF and all the cars you mentioned. The only thing I felt that the XF had going was looks and the interior gimmicks (lighting, rising knob etc). Everything else was I would say ‘on par’. As expected without being excellent in any particular area. To be honest I felt it lacked ‘character’. If it wasn’t for the logo, you would know you were driving a Jag. Pretty looks but ‘ho-humm’ everywhere else

• i like my f10 528i m-sport. its so nice to rev and drive. BTW: its in-line 6 not turbo 4.

• hei guys, for those keep bashing our country for high price. there are alot of things u guys dont understand. Indeed, our country has the stupid tax implied on CBU car. but praise the Lord, our car always come with higher spec than US or other western country. yes, in USA the car is cheap. it is because ppl usually lease car instead of buying and have full ownership like us. there are lot of restriction for leasing a car. besides, westerners cost of living is also high and when u buy a car even its darn cheap. there are additional cost like insurance and interest rate.

• mister potato on Jan 13, 2012 at 4:13 pm

Higher spec? How’s a 3.0 V6 engine higher spec than a 5.0V8? RM488,888 for an XF 3.0 V6 versus the cheapest XF in the USA that comes with 5.0V8 at USD$53k (RM166k)?

Oh ya, since you mention insurance, it cost about USD$1400/year to insure the USD$53k car, where here it costs RM13k (NCD 0%) to insure a RM488k car.

Interest rate? http://www.jaguarusa.com/special-offers/apr-offer-2012/ just 0.9%.

Wake up!

• dude, even my f10 528i m-sport is higher speccec than europe’s or US 535i.. lol.

• Diablo on Jan 13, 2012 at 4:23 pm

John, cars there are ‘cheap’ if you believe the marketing BS where they advertise base spec. When you actually want to buy you’ll most likely have to spec the car up just to get something decent and thats when things can really get inflated. Next thing you know you’re paying at least 50% more than advertised.

At least in Malaysia because of the pricing and market, cars arrive already very highly specced.. keeps the consumer happy. So yes I agree with you. Malaysian market models are very well specced. Just try to achieve the same spec level buy adding on the options list in other markets and the price jumps quite a lot.

• yes, i do agree with u too. as u all can see. cars overseas will usually be written ” 2012 BMW 5-series starts from $35000″ it stated starts from. not at.. lol.. but some blind mice cant see it as it is written very small. i can say our 3.0 v6 is higher specced than 5.0 v8 in the overseas. just my 2 cents.

• ezracopters on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:00 pm

i wonder if Tata going to make Jag ckd in India @ any contries in SEA. maybe can reduce a price a bit..

does anybody know if any tech. transfer frm jag to tata since they bought it??