Toyota NS4 plug-in concept offers a vision of the future

It’s called the NS4 advanced plug-in hybrid concept, and it’s supposed to signal a new styling direction for Toyota aimed at making an emotional connection with consumers. The Detroit debutant is nonetheless packed with a veritable array of tech, and is essentially an innovations showcase for the brand.

Design-wise, the lift back design features powered swan-wing doors and a distinctive trapezoid grille among the styling cues, but it’s all really about the whizz-bang with this one.

Inner and outer rear view mirrors have been replaced with cameras that provide the driver with a panoramic view to the rear. The rear-view camera displays images on a dashboard-mounted screen, and provides the driver with a much wider field of vision when compared to a traditional rear view mirror.

Inside the cabin, the NS4 concept features a human-machine interface (HMI) centred around a multi-touch screen that has the look and feel of a smartphone. The simple, intuitive operation conveys information quickly with the minimum of distraction to the driver, and is even capable of “learning” driver preferences to anticipate driver responses in specific environments and situations.

As for the powertrain, the hybrid plug-in system on this one features a reduction in component size and weight, and benefits gained are an improved overall fuel economy, better acceleration and longer all-electric range, as well as a short charge time.

Among the active safety kit on the NS4 are a next generation pre-collision system (PCS) with lane departure and pedestrian collision avoidance technologies, adaptive driving beam (ADB) headlights, and blind spot monitor (BSM).

Even the glass does the tech tango – four new glass technologies are integrated into the windscreen, front and rear windows to improve driver visibility, fuel economy and electric driving mode mileage efficiency.

The flourine-coated glass has a high UV absorbing inner-layer and also features an anti-solar film with radio-wave transparency, the latter to reduce the internal vehicle temperature and improve electronic device functionality. The flourine provides for a rain-resistant ‘hydrophobic’ coating, offering improved visibility and rain drop elimination, and there’s also an anti-fog coating slapped on for good measure.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• confused on Jan 12, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Put it into production with 1.5 N/A coupled with 4AT and it will still sell like hot cakes in Malaysia.

• I like the car so much…well im not bias like u all here…even if it china brand car as long it catches my eye..i like it

• bug face?
    the rear end… i dun like as well…. =.=

• PakAbu on Jan 12, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Iron man’s car?

:mrgreen:

• Iron man will be ashamed if he will have to drive this car. And change his suit to ugly look to match with this car, haha

• Masked Ryder on Jan 12, 2012 at 12:46 pm

Wow !! Very Futuristic !! Remind me of Star War.

But i doulb it would go into production with this look.

Toyota & the rest of Japanese Car Mfg should stop or reduce this Concept vehicle, The Kimchi Muncher Pirate are watching, they may just copy your product & launch it earlier claimed it been design by Peter The Style Looser.

• Friend, pls dun be a clown here. Are you try to make everyone “Stomach laugh” ??

• Attempt at futuristic exterior design, failed.. kao kao…

• Dr Kervokian on Jan 12, 2012 at 1:06 pm

Fiat looking design on a Honda Civic body

• mangata on Jan 12, 2012 at 1:11 pm

ugly…looks like a bug

• What’s up with the long rear overhang??

• Danny on Jan 12, 2012 at 1:54 pm

Now that’s what I call- a cool sport car!

• this is my first time praising toyota for their design. awesome.

• Low2215 on Jan 12, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Concept is still a concept , how they translate that into production vehicle , thats the questions .. just look at prius C concept and the production prius C ..

• kadajawi on Jan 12, 2012 at 2:41 pm

“Look, I have found this old concept car design from the 90s in the closet, but we haven’t used it so far. Lets use it, since all our current designers are talent free or fired!”

• This is called Advance and realistic design, proton should learn from this design and enhanced the design skill and concept for the future car, hope not too long to wait.

• kadajawi on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:18 am

This thing looks like something they’d dream up as futuristic in the 90s or early 00s. But at least it is different from the usual concept cars we see nowadays.

• Sgt Scoop on Jan 12, 2012 at 5:06 pm

I wonder how many man hours Toyota put into designing a Civic, LOL.

• Redrules on Jan 12, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Reminds me many years back when there were no internet, I usually buy automotive mags and were drooling at the cars available in some foreign land. If this car ever in production, I very much doubtful it’ll come to our shores.

• Visitor on Jan 13, 2012 at 8:12 am

The car reminds me of Honda FCX Clarity. The only difference is that the Honda one is a production car, although it is only for lease. Oh, I forget that the car is powered by hydrogen fuel cell.

• I beg Toyota declare bankruptcy before they can produce all their Rubbish Concept car.The design is Getting worse, who(idiot) the hell design these car nowadays?

• Visitor on Jan 15, 2012 at 12:10 pm

I remember reading a news report few months ago. If I am not mistaken this guy working in Toyota said the designers do have some wild design ideas, but unfortunately when the design reaches the upper management, it is like ‘going into a filter’. So, basically, these people in the management have the upper hand of what final design should be.

• Paull,

this car sampled at IGEM KLCC last week,
    actual car look awesome.