Proton and YES 4G has something to launch on 22/2?

Looks like Proton and YTL Communications are up to something together – there’s a teaser black box in front of Lot 10 where passer-bys are able to peek in to check out what’s being teased. This is in line with what Proton has been doing with the last few models they launched – they’ve always let the public do a “peek-a-boo preview” of the car through a box like this with holes cut into it.

But what has YTL Communications’ YES 4G service got to do with it? My guess is that it could be something to do with the bundling of a YES 4G device with the upcoming Proton P3-21A sedan, or perhaps certain models of the P3-21A will have a YES 4G hotspot built into it? The former is more likely than the latter. A MiFi-like device would suit such an application the best. But let’s not get too excited, this could be something to do with an existing Proton model like the Inspira or the Persona as well.

A hotspot for the road in your car is certainly both cool and useful, I often create a “mobile hotspot” in my F10 by plugging any variant of MiFi-like device into the F10 glovebox’s USB port. I use the glovebox’s USB port because I prefer to reserve the one in the armrest storage for my iPhone to keep it charged and to play music. I’ve worked in the car on my laptop or tablet device many times (not while I’m driving of course) on long journeys such as up to Penang – it helps reclaim otherwise wasted travel time.

Anyway, another possibility is that if Proton and YTL Communications felt that such a partnership was a match, it could mean that the P3-21A has at least 2 USB ports for us to hook up our gadgets to the car and charge them at the same time. The more the merrier – USB ports are certainly a very useful thing to have in a car these days.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Xerox on Feb 11, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Have you looked into it? Paul

• tunguuu on Feb 11, 2012 at 11:40 pm

its a incar broadband wifi connection system :)

• Could have to do with the upcoming turbo model? Ya never know….

• tunguuu on Feb 11, 2012 at 11:40 pm

bundled with the inspira.

• Heard from my friend, the car inside is not P3-21A, but Inspira R3..however, judging from previous post, it is safe to say that P3-21A will definitely have Yes hotspot built into it.. :)

• RedBeanBun on Feb 12, 2012 at 12:04 am

did everyone know the so called 4G in Malaysia are actually not 4G standard? its a marketing scam, and gov has allowed that..

• septzz on Feb 12, 2012 at 12:25 am

it is 4G…but not yet capable of achieving the maximum data transfer speed like it should. from what I heard laa…

• hehe. what to do… Malaysia suffer insufficient capacity of submarine comm. cable to other countries.

• niceone on Feb 12, 2012 at 7:56 pm

sorry but last time i heard, the submarine cable was underutilised

• yippi33 on Feb 12, 2012 at 3:59 am

wow..evrythng blame the government ka?hehe..if im not mistaken YES (YTL) focus on launching the product first then build the infra..maybe thats why the speed and coverage not up to par..

• blame that on YES. not gov. YES use ‘4g’ term as marketing hype. at the same time P1 dont want to lose competition, the change “P1 WIMAX” to “P1 4G”. those who are dumb about telecommunication news, will be cheated.

• confused on Feb 12, 2012 at 2:36 pm

I’m from networking background and I can confirm Yes and P1 4G is not a 4G. Many people(or telco) has vandalized the 4G term use. Thus, the REAL 4G has been renamed to LTE, with many variation of LTE Advance, +, etc etc..

It’s a market hype, really.

• I’m not in network background but as far as I know lte is standard and ‘G’ is generation of that standard..no renamed 4G to lte..the 4G followed the IMT-advance standard eg lte advance n wimax 2 by the ITU… the current 3G followed IMT-2000..wimax n lte are in between but same level as 3.5G or higher

Ps: My partime company I’m selling telco product..do I consider in network background?

• simple to deferentiate.. basically there are 2 standard..

3GPP (1G, 2G-GSM, 2.5G-GPRS, 2.75G-EDGE, 3G, 3.5G-HSDPA, HSPA+, 4G-LTE, LTE-Advance)

IEEE family (802.1x/xxx, wifi, 802.16/e-Wimax)

As you can see, 3G, LTE are evolved from wireless voice and then move to wireless data.
          Where as Wimax evolved from fix line data packet, move to wireless wifi, and then now move to wireless voice.

LTE is not something in between. it is researched by 3GPP and they make it upgradable from wimax.. LTE is indeed 4G when you refer to the 3GPP standard, it is not comparable to 3.5G

thus i believe 3GPP family has more superior capability when it comes to mobility because of their expertise in 2G and 3G

• You should blame many gov in the world..you should blame the US most since they r the one who aggressively promote wimax as 4G…since the debat wether wimax or lte to be included in IMT-advanced or ‘4G’……which country u think promote wimax other than 4G?

• this is awesome! Yes 4G is super-fast and by far the best mobile broadband service – I got 19 Mbps in Bangsar!

Hopefully its the P3-21A with Yes 4G :D

• YES has very limited coverage.. no point having fast connection but unavailable service

• for u, no point lah.. for me, its ohsem! i wan speed! i rarely go outside coverage

• friedtapping on Feb 12, 2012 at 12:50 am

how it can be more lame?

• friedtapping on Feb 12, 2012 at 12:53 am

i really wish its a proton’s pheonix engine. with a broadbandable CFe.

• BN=Barang Naik on Feb 12, 2012 at 12:58 am

inspira special edition!

• Jeremy Clarkson on Feb 12, 2012 at 1:06 am

feel like going to check it out!

• if proton is serious in wireless internet connectivity, i think they are seriously hook up with a wrong partner..

they should had choosen the 3GPP standard (2G, 3G and 4G LTE) rather then the IEEE standard (wimax), bcos big players like maxis celcom and digi has wider coverage than YES. wimax is good for stationary hotspot rather than moving around imho.

further more, LTE gonna role out next year by the big telco players, promises faster speed than wimax. proton should had choosen 3G and migratable 4G LTE devices for thier vehicles..

• There’s always a reason a co. Would chould certain company or particular strategy. U think u r smarter than proton. They r in the business they know well. Its all about cost. Why Malaysia people think they r smarter than the industry player. Look at urself la…who r u? U may just a normal executive eho think u know everything

• well they may good in mechanical, but not alert in telecomunication trend.

• Jacksonkua on Feb 12, 2012 at 1:50 pm

You are wrong.
      YES 4G is the ONLY Telco in Malaysia can provide moving Internet connection with their YES Buzz phone.
      Look at their fantastic coverage within North-south highway explained that 4G Wimax services provided by them able to cater for moving Internet connection.
      In term of financial power, YES will eventually become the first biggest telco as YTL corporation have more than 10 billion asset and being categorised as RICHEST non-GLC company in Malaysia. This has not including their other listed company I. British, Japan and so on…

• wow… Jackson, If I were you, I RATHER KEPT QUIET…

Moving internet connection already exist since 2G GPRS/EDGE era and now can do seamless connection from north to south through HSDPA, 3G, EDGE or GPRS..

Check their coverage footprint which is pathetically small and not to mention, NON EXISTANCE in SABAH SARAWAK
        http://coverage.yes.my/
        Check out Celcom coverage footprint
        http://coverage.celcom.com.my/CelcomCoverageIIPub/faces/CelcomCoverageRes.jsp

When you are out off 3G coverage, you can fall back to GPRS/EDGE.. But can Wimax do that? NO..

What is the point of having NS fully covered? proton is aim market segment where customer uses NS highway everyday?

Being RICHEST non-GLC has nothing to do with this… are you telling me YTL has more political influence than Axiata aka Telekom and Maxis? how many basestation YES has compared to Maxis, Celcom or even Digi? you need political influence to lobby spectrum, basestation location, big infrastruture like transmission and backbone, which majority owned by Telekom..

I wonder why they put IPAD in those protons.. isn’t it inserting a 3G SIM into IPAD solve the whole problem? why need a wimax for the car and what happen when you take the IPAD out and use? still need another 3G line? since when IPAD can support wimax? why all the redundant?

PROTON is not THINKING..

checkout the world of LTE by Alcatel-Lucent
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xQDGH9JzZtA
        this is how the future should looks like..

• lte n wimax are in same level….than again all big telco including p1 n ytl have lte licence that has been awarded to all telco if not mistaken 8 of them including 1 unknown telco company under famous syed…..as far as I know my tablet already given H+ signal…maxis yoo…

• so why Wimax player want LTE spectrum if LTE comparable to Wimax?

• Paul Tan on Feb 12, 2012 at 11:17 pm

What does H+ mean?

• Evilz on Feb 14, 2012 at 2:43 am

H+ stands for the HSPA connection, while the usual HSDPA connection will give the H signal (referring to the alphabet shown on the phone display).

While here in Malaysia, 3G connection usually will leave you with H signal, which is the HSDPA tech. Quite rare to see the H+ signal, which means you are on HSPA connection (combination of HSDPA and HSUPA connection, usually on tablets)

• Paint on Feb 12, 2012 at 6:58 am

Buy a Proton, get a YES… or buy a YES, get a Proton. After all, Proton still has many unsold Proton Wira.

• iiiee on Feb 12, 2012 at 11:38 am

huhu inspira siap ngan tablet dlm tu

• nebula87 on Feb 12, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Proton Juara inside the box….SURPRISE!

• i heard somewhere sometime YES has successfully testing their video conference in a moving bus going up north without hiccups…which is smooth and thats are promising…if the car to be installed with this YES networking device, then their target are for those frequent NSE users, like Paul himself perhaps?…too bad people in other target areas wont able to enjoy the privilege if this kind of JV coming to real life…

• Jack Leong on Feb 12, 2012 at 3:21 pm

hmm, something to look forward to where these 2 companies tirelessly think of ways to drain our monies away :)

• Things that they suppose to improve, they did not improve. Now putting an internet service to a car? how much time you actually spend in a car compared to home? and most people owning a smart phone with data package now, it’s a redundant service

• Neither YTL nor Proton are that clever. Sigh. It’s a Yes device bundled with the Proton. Not with the new car, but with the old Inspira. And the device is not even integrated into the dash or anything like that. It’s. Just. A. Bundle.