Volkswagen Polo BlueGT with ACT cylinder deactivation

Volkswagen in bringing new green tech to Geneva, and this Polo BlueGT is the host. The headline feature is active cylinder management or ACT. It’s basically a cylinder deactivation system, something that’s being introduced for the first time in a VW, and in a small engine.

The results are spectacular – the 1.4-litre TSI Polo BlueGT with 140 PS has a combined fuel consumption of just 4.7 litres per 100 km, and if specified with the seven-speed DSG gearbox, FC drops to just 4.5 litres per 100 km. All the more amazing on a petrol engine with a 0-100 km/h time of 7.9 seconds and a 210 km/h top speed.

VW attributes these amazing figures to the combined strength of ACT, downsizing and BlueMotion tech such as stop/start and battery regeneration.

This 1.4 TSI is the top engine of the entirely new EA211 series. EA211 and EA288 series diesel engines are “technological pillars” of Volkswagen’s future Modular Transverse Matrix (MQB) platform.

Here’s how ACT works. It becomes active at engine speeds from 1,250 to 4,000 rpm, and at torque outputs from 25 to around 100 Nm. VW says that this range includes nearly 70% of all driving states in the EU driving cycle. When the driver presses the accelerator, two cylinders are imperceptibly reactivated. VW says that even with two cylinders, the 1.4 TSI runs just as quietly with as little vibration as on all fours.

All mechanical switchover actions are completed within one half of a camshaft revolution, or between 13 and 36 milliseconds. The transitions are smoothed by supporting interventions to the ignition and throttle valve.

There’s also an accelerator pedal sensor and monitoring software that can also detect non-uniform driving profiles – such as while driving through traffic or in a sporty manner. In such cases, cylinder shutoff is disabled. The multifunction display between the speedo and tacho shows the driver how many cylinders are active.

VW says that shutting down two cylinders under low and medium loads reduces fuel consumption in the EU driving cycle by about 0.4 litres per 100 km. In constant speed driving at 50 km/h in third or fourth gear, fuel savings are as much as one litre per 100 km, which is significant.

To further reduce emission and consumption while boosting low end torque, the intake camshaft was designed to be adjustable over a range of 50 degrees crank angle on all EA211 engines. In the 1.4 TSI here, an exhaust camshaft adjuster is added.

The Polo BlueGT will go on sale in July. Looking like the best balanced pick of the range, it slots between the Polo 1.2 TSI (105 PS) and the Polo GTI (180 PS).

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• papa rich on Mar 07, 2012 at 12:42 am

1litre per 100km? wow… what kind of car is this ?
    but if u can drive 50kmh at 4th speed lar ,

magnificient development from V.W ,

• Means reducing 1l compared to the normal one…..not using only 1l/100km….duhhhh…..read properly….

• The VW 1-litre car (1liter/100km) was already developed ten years ago in 2002, but never went into production: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volkswagen_1-litre_car

• @8250rpm on Mar 07, 2012 at 8:29 am

Its savings of 1litre lah, not consumption which is 4.5L/100km…..pls open ur eyes BIG BIG and read properly….

• he is so lazy to read..just read one or two words then start barking here like no tomorrow..

• driver on Mar 07, 2012 at 12:44 am

Stunning!

I wonder what’s the price is. Does the ACT is somehow similar with Honda’s VCM?

• ive absolute no complain on performance and how green it was. but the design is too plain.

• Shaoran on Mar 07, 2012 at 1:30 am

VW won’t become facelifters so soon

• This is VW tradition. The car looks similiary to it’s direct predecessor, so it won’t damage the predecessor’s second-hand market value.

• kadajawi on Mar 07, 2012 at 1:13 pm

VW is the European Toyota. The designs are rather plain and unoffensive, because they have to appeal to everyone. Want more excitement? Get Seat. Want to pay less? Get Skoda. Want more premium? Get Audi. Everyone is covered. :)

Personally I think the new VWs look quite good. Serious, not attention grabbing. I can see many companies buying these for their employees (that is, VWs, not exactly the Polo BlueGT which could be a bit too much fun and a bit too small). They may not want something shouty.

• VW play plain so the design can stay longer…Europe chicks prefer simple and nice car not not much like the alien ship lolx

• any hope of coming to malaysia?

• any hope of coming to malaysia? hmmm

• tycoon88 on Mar 07, 2012 at 8:37 am

Yah! in 2 years time under proton rebadging VW Agreement signed.

price mite be competitive as Myvi. i expect many ppl que at center of execellence to place order :)

• kadajawi on Mar 07, 2012 at 1:16 pm

The Polo, yes. The BlueGT… maybe, too, but only as a real VW. Expect non TSI/FSI engines for the Proton Polo. 1.2 with 60 hp, something like that. That way they can continue selling expensive Polos to those who want more power and better gearboxes (don’t expect DSG either), also these parts are too expensive.

VW will struggle hard to get the production costs down far enough to make sense as a Polo, I doubt they can even do it without using lesser and thinner materials etc. like Toyota probably does.

• In proton badge maybe?

• blablabla on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:15 am

With the 7-speed DSG gearbox, Feul Comsumption is 4.5 litres per 100 km. And it does 0 to 100 in 7.9 seconds!!!
    Wow!!
    I’d just like the car to have 4 doors…. and it’ll be perfect.
    Then VW can bring it to Malaysia.
    And then we can make use of the tax excemption for hybrid cars.
    Exciting.

• kadajawi on Mar 07, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Have I missed something? I thought this one wasn’t even a hybrid…

There are 4 door Polos and even a saloon version, so I think it is rather trivial to dump in the engine into one of those.

• loveit on Mar 07, 2012 at 3:34 pm

it’s not a hybrid la bro.. but it come with ACT thing, like Honda Inspire/Accord have so FC can compete with hybrid

• asahiyakuza on Mar 07, 2012 at 5:55 am

If proton re badge this and keep the technology… I’ll buy it… LoL..

• sape ntah on Mar 07, 2012 at 6:44 am

could u ask theo to make a hatchback version of proton sago from this one? and also VW Up! with a proton badge or styling just to mock the perodua viva :3

• not only that , is a hybrid unit , means tax will be low ….

• So much tech now.. I m beginning to worry about reliability of these engines.

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 07, 2012 at 10:03 am

the problem is vw being vw …they will sell you everything…..under the sun …the concern is whether it has been tested extensively. Look at the 1.4 TSI which has won engine of the year award. As a concept it is great but long term use it has proven to have issues around the world… Let not even go into DSG which is a piece of shit…. Juddering and mechatronic failure… so much for german engineering… besides cylinder shut down technology has been successful implemented 20 years ago in Mivec-MD engines.

• PetrolLeg on Mar 07, 2012 at 2:37 pm

‘as if’ no issues to the rest of the makes? just because someone puts up their issues in the forum or you hear complaints from the market doesn’t mean all are affected. Or just because other makes have issues and people don’t put up and not bring to your attention does it mean that the other make is 100% problem free? Mechanical stuff will always have some issues somehow or rather and nothing is perfect. The fact that the choice is yours if you would want to explore or buy that make. Lots’ of people are enjoying their ride of TSI & DSG, and there is some form of risk that we take if we want to adopt new technology, is Iphone a problem free gadget? or Android iOS a problem free system?

You can go on continuing to maintain status quo by riding and using on older technology and torque converters, the same amount of money which you pay for now enables you to have newer and more engineering brilliance. The choice is yours, but it’s unfair to say that such technology is a ‘piece of shit’.

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:40 pm

bro..ok my choice of words was a bit harsh… my point is if cheap ok it is acceptable…for shoddy quality…but in this case it commands a premium price…no excuse for that….more u pay the better it should be not the other way around….

No doubt DSG is good but why implement something half baked. Why cant they ensure it is perfect…it has been around for 7 years already and yet …..

And yes alot of ppl have problem but choose to keep quite.. I would if i was them malu cos spend so much yet no better than a car cost half as much

i am not saying all cars are perfect….toyota and honda or mazda also got issues ….what is important is how severe is the issue …. engine …gearbox….is the heart of any car and also the most expensive… I would expect manufactures to pay a special attention to this ….rather than look at the bean counter….and let the consumer to do the R&D testing…..

I appreciate the enthusiasm for the VW brand thagt ppl have but don’t fall in the trap of making excuses for them….That is 3rd world mentality…

• ryuki on Mar 07, 2012 at 10:33 pm

I’ve been driving my 1.4 tsi dsg for 1 yr plus now… so far so good.
            Every brand got problem, it depends on how sincere the brand owner want to help you when things goes wrong. I got 3 more years in my warranty,hopefully the tsi & dsg holds up… so I can still embarrass the c200 and 320i.
            The new 5 series oso got problem check out the forum la…
            Choice is still yours to make and enjoy…

• Miwqa on Mar 08, 2012 at 8:37 am

Yup, i also own the polo tsi. So far so good. I mean of course every company got their problems. No need to talk just to make us vw user feels bad of our choice. Afterall its our money. If you feel confident enough with the offering, go for it. Like have been said over and over, no company is perfect.

• loveit on Mar 07, 2012 at 3:42 pm

I think its more like an immature technology that needs continuous improvement…just give it some time la..

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:43 pm

it has been around for 7 years….how now…still not 100% yet????. come on…Should I still make excuses for them just becos it is VW and German???

• have you driven a vw lately? don’t you know that merc is losing ground to audi, ..and don’t even mention bmw..is it becos mercs dont come with dsg/dct?

• mastermind on Mar 07, 2012 at 7:55 am

The Prius n Insight main competitor…
    beware Honda n Toyota…
    Volkswagen will hits u….

• Brilliant Technology…that being use in S-class (V6-V8) engines, 10 years ago.

• Jolly_idiot on Mar 07, 2012 at 8:31 am

Anyone remember the mivec-md which exist 20 years ago?

• OilChange on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:38 am

2 pistons go to sleep when idle…..

• PetrolLeg on Mar 07, 2012 at 2:46 pm

Why talk about the past? who can do it now or do it better, it works! and accepted by the market wins. these technology is in Honda, but where’s the hype? or acceptance? they put it as a premium technology into their most expensive accord, of course it’s expensive because what is the volume of production?, where is the economies of scale? now VW is running mass on TSI and DSG, it is coming down affordable (technically), or should I say reachable.

• Insight oso got VCM,is that premium category car?plus how do you know this particular polo would be affordable or cheap?even current polo is not cheap

• @8250rpm on Mar 07, 2012 at 8:34 am

With waiting list for Polo GTI of 1and half yrs, this model wud sell like hot cakes…it cant b more expensive than gti and w hybrid duty exemption, it may be very well priced at current Polo’s pricing or even lower than Polo….its a no brainer to buy Polo…and i think VW knows this too so i guess tis model may not be sold here unless Polo is out…

• GTR 2.0 on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:46 am

Maybe they will wait for current Polo to become Sago first. Then they will start the production for this Polo…

• ABTguy on Mar 07, 2012 at 8:53 am

This is called the technology of today and for tomorrow !! With a good sense of responsibility for the environment.

Why we have so many idiots in G to prevent VW acquition of Proton ?!!

• hway de Cruz on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:05 am

great stuff! this is wat the consumers wan… great fuel savings n power when needed. such tech will do well, anticipate will receive good responds worldwide. if the price is right might consider this to be next car upgrade….

• Abuya on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:24 am

Who said old tech is not good, 10 years ago? Aha, please look at 30 years ago, Daihatsu Charade 1982. Use contact point ma… 50mile/gallon.

Err… do you know what is contact point? Or just barking around wanna new high tech engine but only can afford Kereta Nasional with 9 years loan zero downpayment

• Pologise on Mar 07, 2012 at 9:37 am

Do you think Proton know how to assemble this? …as they’re the only expert in Power WIndows!

• oki0180 on Mar 07, 2012 at 10:11 am

If Proton re-badge this, i’ll definitely get one to run around town…

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 07, 2012 at 10:11 am

all the technology VW and especially VW comes out with I would take it with a pinch of salt…..Let wait and see how durable and reliable…it is… The car is suppose to serve you not the other way around…..

• sape ntah on Mar 07, 2012 at 10:23 am

easy enough, just think like this..

-proton polo sedan/hatchback versus perodua myvi hatch/sedan
    -proton up! hatchback versus perodua viva..

so who is the winner u think?

• kadajawi on Mar 07, 2012 at 1:22 pm

I don’t think VW can bring down production costs enough, unless they are totally ripping off Germans. An up! starts at around 10k Euro IIRC, which translates to RM 40k. You can remove 19% tax, but have to add 65 (or was it 75?) for Malaysia. Even if it is a Proton or Perodua. That would be around 53k for a Viva competitor. Yeah, right. It is a lot safer, but it also costs twice as much. Do you think people want a Viva sized car for Myvi money from Proton of all companies?

• sape ntah on Mar 07, 2012 at 5:03 pm

yeah VW cant bring down production cost enough to get that kind of price tag to compete with perodua but Proton I think they can do that. just think ditching out the costly material with on par material with perodua offered. look at viva and myvi interior it is still hardplastic and proton already good at it with persona n saga.

the shell and major design would be VW but the engine, the tranny, the facelifted parts and especially the interior could be all Proton designed and proton production cost reduced way. and it would be possible tp sell the car at competitive price to perodua market.

• r u an idiot? people craving for rebadged vw and you thinking about proton redesigning the tranny and engine. DSG and TSI ARE the selling point.. dumbass

• ahmadfaris93 on Mar 07, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Non boring/ fairly powerful economical car ? The Germans understand what we need !

• PetrolLeg on Mar 07, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Agree and that they should set a standard of acceptance now in Malaysia so other makes can follow if they want a piece of our wallet. Or else we will dead go by with existing NA engines with torque converters, with least amount of airbags, features and standard handling system.

It’s a good wake up call for the rest of the make, impress us and so we may have more choices and options.

• ae101 on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:15 pm

this is new to VW. but mitsu using this tech long long time ago in mived-md. hopefully VW can tell the drivers these will works in real world and not only paper.

• kadajawi on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:50 pm

VW had this tech too, but only in their big engines, like the V8s. It is relatively new to them though.

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 07, 2012 at 4:53 pm

vw sounds good on paper but in real world ….not impressed especially after forking out additional 30-40k over it competitors….u would expect quality and durability… creaking here and there is bearable just put double sided tape….but juddering and engine eating oil, coil issue blah blah…. is this acceptable….?.. some may say lemon…one off..unfortunately it is becoming common issue…

• sape ntah on Mar 07, 2012 at 5:06 pm

if proton can do it like Skoda did with VW venture n help, why not. a much lower priced VW cars for the asean market and proton also can reskin/major facelift VW to be theirs at much lower price (plus the lower spec because to stay competitive pricing.)

• kadajawi on Mar 07, 2012 at 5:26 pm

Even Skoda is by far not cheap enough to compete.

Of course if they use low quality steel and remove all the safety features it might be priced competitively, but then what good is such a car vs the current Saga? Where is the advantage? That you can stick a VW badge on it and fool others?

• If you do not know whats the difference between a Saga and Polo then you have never driven either before.

• ryuki on Mar 07, 2012 at 10:51 pm

you sure or not? My fren regretted buying the h accord last year.
        The dashboard senget, the front fender gaps from a pillar downwards.
        other friend the roof got noise….. my fren c200k suspension noise at the back cannot resolve until now. My lady fren with t camry gearbox problem until she gives up…. don’t talk about kia , peugeot esg g/box, bmw…
        I tell you all got problem oonneee… let me say my last piece laa..
        Our creators create humans oso got problem.. not perfect, agree?
        What more humans creat this innovations.
        If t and h is so damn good, let’s ask them to give 5 years warranty unlimited mileage. I will sell my vw and switch ( provide equal driving pleasure ya..)