Volkswagen Golf Mk7 based on MQB system due late 2012

Doesn’t feel like the Mk6 Golf has been around for very long, after all the Golf TSI was just launched in Malaysia, bringing the entry price point into Golf ownership and the whole Volkswagen downsized turbocharged twin-clutch experience lower for us heavily taxed folks. But Volkswagen is already planning the 7th-generation Golf, and it’s set to be launched sometime in late 2012 or early 2013.

Volkswagen will retire its collection of different-sized front engine, front-wheel-drive platforms (PQ25, PQ35, and PQ46) for a new set of components called the MQB platform, which is German for Modular Transverse Matrix (Modularer Querbaukasten). MQB allows Volkswagen to design various different transverse front engine front wheel drive vehicles using the same component matrix, picked and mixed in a Lego-like fashion.

MQB also has a ‘sister platform’ called MLB (Modularer Langsbaukasten or Modular Longitudinal Matrix)) which is used in Volkswagen Group cars with longitudinal engines, like the Audi A4 and Q5.

The Mk7 Golf will likely have interior space improvements as MQB is reportedly significantly more space-efficient compared to the PQ range of platforms, and it should also line Volkswagen’s coffers more handsomely than the Mk5 and the Mk6 thanks to MQB cars on average being 20% cheaper to produce by design.

The space gained can also be used to fit the extra components needed for a hybrid version of the Golf. Word is that the Mk7 Golf will bring the Golf’s wheelbase up from the Mk5 and Mk6’s 2,578mm to around 2,630mm.

It seems there’s already one MQB-based vehicle out there – the new Volkswagen Sharan launched in the first half of 2010. The platform is quite versatile, being able to be used for a big “XL-sized” Sharan as well as a compact “M-sized” Golf.

Renderings by Theophilus Chin.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nabill on Jan 25, 2011 at 2:11 am

and thy said the twincharger might not be in production when the new generation comes around due to its high cost of production….

• vertigo on Jan 25, 2011 at 6:09 am

really looks slightly longer than the predecessor

• makoi on Jan 25, 2011 at 11:12 am

becos the artist is not very good in doing his job, and he keeps on posting in paultan. i wonder why.

• murad on Jan 25, 2011 at 3:10 pm

I basically think that that person should cease imagining and stop doing this, he thinks and he renders it. Probably best to let the car manufacturer launch their own pictures instead. I too wonder why posting it here? Then end up discussing something that isn’t probably true.

If he is an original artist maybe it’s best for him to offer his services to car makers or put his skills to some other good use.

• virosh on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:03 pm

Nobody is forcing you to see his renderings. Many of us enjoy his creations. Please don’t comment on others if you yourself can’t do it

• virosh on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:08 pm

Does his renderings cause any trouble to you. He is a great artist and many of us like his renderings. You think its easy to just whip up a rendering like this.

• lonelyobserve on Jan 25, 2011 at 6:36 am

So the next generation of Golf just has NA engine and single charger engine?

• The current generation Golf is available with 11 engine variants from 80hp to 270hp (5 petrol engines, one bi-fuel engine/NGV and 5 diesel engines).

Why should the next generation Golf only be available with two engine variants?

• lonelyobserve on Jan 25, 2011 at 5:46 pm

NA engine and forced induction engine are the type of air intake of an engine available in all variants of Golf, regardless of the fuel and displacement.

nabill mentioned next generation of Golf may not have twincharger engine, which is one of the types of forced induction engines currently available on Golf.

• Alpha on Jan 25, 2011 at 6:58 am

Lego-like fashion??I’m good in Lego!When r VW Group gonna hire me as Chief Engineer??

VW gonna take the world by storm,yo!!

• smart! this is what our proton should learn from..try save cost while maintaining quality… :)

• Yuck new Jetta look :( like tissue box!

• makoi on Jan 25, 2011 at 6:02 pm

So now Paultan start making their own news?? Hoax ???

• Paul Tan on Jan 25, 2011 at 6:08 pm

I think it’s quite clear that news is news, accompanied by rendering of what a larger Golf could look like. It’s clearly marked as rendering and not official pix. Not as boring as just a Volkswagen logo isn’t it? Why the hating?

• clutch basah on Jan 26, 2011 at 7:18 am

What your problem dude? maybe the images are the artist’s impressions but the news is factual.

Kudos to Theo some of his renderings are quite accurate, see below.
        http://paultan.org/2009/02/16/f10-bmw-5-series-sedan-artists-impression/

• RahimRad on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:16 am

If this is true, then VW product cycle is shorter than Japanese car manufacturers, which is not good for existing car owners!

This is dissappointing for car owners as depereciation in value will drop faster.. But i suppose its good for advancement of technology..

I think in the next few years, car manufacturing technology will grow at a much faster rate which will result to current cars becoming fast obsolete

• I think this short model cycle is an exception. The Golf 6 wasn’t really a new development, rather a major facelift from the 5.

• murad on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:33 am

Twincharger system mated with DSG is truly an engineering synergy, in other words match made in heaven. I do wish that they maintain such tomorrow technology and set a bar to the rest of the car makers especially the Japs, I’m pretty sure the Koreans will be quick to adapt these technologies into their vehicles soon enough, as they are now more of goal getters.

For the Golf, I would prefer that they stick to their original DNA rather evolve it, it looks like BMW 1 series, I hope the rendering isn’t entirely true when the actual design pops up. But anyway VW lost their designer to the prancing horse.

• alldisc on Jan 25, 2011 at 9:47 am

such a short life span, though launched in 2008 Paris Motor Show. Mk5 is the best looking Golf, but Mk6 has the best overall dynamics.

how will VW improve something that can be better in many aspects? the current golf GTI is already brilliant!

• Anwar on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:05 am

Let’s hope 20% cheaper production cost of Mk7 does not translate to lower overall quality.

In the consumer electronics world, things always get cheaper yet better, faster, and more features in hardware and software. Somehow rather that does not work in the automobile industry.

• murad on Jan 25, 2011 at 3:00 pm

VW head designer already went to ride the prancing horse instead, who pays more, we will go eat the greener grass. I’m pretty sure Mk7 will be very much same design with Mk6 until they can get a ground breaking designer.

I do agree basically they are changing too fast, but probably to them they might be setting a new standard, so far there is no one says that car maker must go up to 5, 6 or 7 years for a new model? If they have the financial capabilities and human resource, they can keep coming out a new model every year.

• quottro on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:25 am

one word….fugly

• niuhje on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:38 am

price?

• it is a pity that the model change is coming soon. one of the benefits of buying contis is that the model cycle change(7-8 years) is usually much longer than the japs(4-5 years), so your car doesn’t look “old” so soon after you have bought it.My volvo S60T was current from the time I bought it in 2001 till I sold it in 2008

• pirate on Jan 25, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Lovely! Here comes the Pekan-made Golf Mk7 in 2013…..
    am likely migrating to the upcoming F30 320i (turbo), Golf Mk6 GTI product-cycle is getting too short and disconcerting! Added to that its being bastardised by the ‘cheaper’ Golf 1.4 TSI. Bummer.

• BMW172 on Feb 05, 2011 at 8:50 am

Good luck bro, in getting the F30. Please go and ask owners of the F10.

• matdin on Jan 25, 2011 at 1:02 pm

minyak dah nak habis dah sekarang ni hehe.. kena ada kereta elektrik lak hehe..

• hmmm..i think vw is repeating what it did after the mk1 became a success. then the marketing folks took over and the golf became bigger and slower….

then the mkv came, it brought the golf back to where it belonged.

i think the mkvi may have improved the golf…but it looks so bland to the point of anonymity. cmon, put the mkv and mkvi side by side and stare at it, esp from the hind quarters. you know what i mean.

so the mkvii now comes. this will bin the mkvi immediately to the forgotten heap.

guys (and gals), get the mkv and keep it. its going to be a classic, like the mk1 did !

• One has to look hard to spot the difference between Mk5, 6 & maybe 7, unless one is a VW fan. Even the Polo looks too much alike.

On many other websites, a lot of reviews mention problems with the DSG gearbox, esp for Touran. Is that the same gbox as in the Golf?

• harry on Jan 25, 2011 at 2:35 pm

Hope it looks Handsome like the Polo GTI or even the Mk5.

• squawk on Jan 25, 2011 at 3:46 pm

On another note, Polo sedan will most likely be launched in China after CNY. Some pictures are out.

• gracke on Jan 25, 2011 at 4:27 pm

This is the new JETTA WAGON! not prefer so much……

• makoi on Jan 25, 2011 at 6:05 pm

this is not. this is TCHin dreaming his work someday might get P1 attention and hire him.

-_- i hate all the cars he drew. eye sore

• original on Jan 26, 2011 at 9:47 am

Looks like the Polo …Mk5.