Toyota Camry – JDM Hybrid offers another take on the XV50

The arrival of the new Toyota Camry is nigh, with the XV50 set to make its debut here early next month. The order books were opened last month, we’ve already seen the specs of the car in our leaked brochure post, and the car was seen on a transporter last week, so all that’s left is for the seventh-generation model to premiere.

Still, nothing like adding some final bits of colour to the canvas before the car makes its debut proper. Reader HK Chong sent in some snaps of the XV50, taken when he visited the Toyota Megaweb in Tokyo last November; the Camry had just made its domestic debut around then.

The photos are primarily of the Hybrid, which of course won’t be coming here, though the car is available in the Thai market. It’s powered by a 2.5 litre 2 AR-FXE Atkinson cycle unit, with 160 PS and 213 Nm, coupled with an electric motor producing 143 PS and 270 Nm, with combined output via the torque split device being 205 PS.

We already know what we can expect to see in the Malaysian Camry, based on the photos of the Thai-market model, so here’s a contrasting view of textures and materials with the shots of the Hybrid.

As previously mentioned, we’ll be getting three petrol variants, namely two 1AZ-FE 2.0 models, the E and G, as well as a 2AR-FE 2.5 litre version, the V. To recap, the 2.0 VVT-i mill offers 148 PS and 190 Nm, and it’ll be mated to a four-speed Super ECT slushbox. Meanwhile, the 2.5 litre Dual VVT-i with ACIS has 181 PS and 231 Nm for output figures, and it gets a six-speed Super ECT auto, replete with sequential shifter.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• want to suggest to my uncle because looks so uncle-ish LOL..

• Ryan.C on May 24, 2012 at 5:48 pm

New uncle car?

• Bimmer on May 24, 2012 at 7:20 pm

Don’t play-play with the uncle’s car OK!
      http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/99769

• Sam Loo on May 24, 2012 at 10:13 pm

At least, this car guarantee have RV, unlike Sonata/K5 and sui kwan euro

• Gabla on May 24, 2012 at 10:31 pm

What RV guarantee? My 2003 2.4V Camry has less RV than a 2005 Vios.

• Sam Loo on May 25, 2012 at 7:08 am

Can’t compare apple and oranges.

Compare D-Segment 2.4 with a B-Segment 1.5 is like comparing a Greyhound and Chiwawa, yes both of them are dogs

• Gabla on May 25, 2012 at 11:41 am

How about 2003 Camry 2.4 against 2004 BMW E60? The RV of BMW is more than double the Camry.

• ya laa…. uncle also want to buy car what… don’t need sporty bits… just a large and comfortable big saloon fine for them…

• YUCKY !!!

• Sucks though our local Camry that is coming does not even have electronic stability program (ESP)!

• VW Jln Gasing on May 24, 2012 at 6:08 pm

Have driven the present 2.4 Camry and it is nowhere near my vw passat 1.8 TSI.
    Go test drive the Passat.

I am not a vw salesman….just a happy vw fan. Go test drive and u will no longer buy japanese crap cars. No offense to japanese as i am off to osaka for hoil tomorrow.
    Just stating facts.

Rgds

• sonyman on May 24, 2012 at 6:27 pm

i think you not uncle enough, just a very successful young generation buyer.

to qualify for a camry, you must be more uncle, nothing is better than a camry.

• Gabla on May 24, 2012 at 7:25 pm

Driven both 2.4 Camry and 1.8 Passat, both are miles behind Ford Mondeo Ecoboost in term of power and driving dynamics. Not a Ford salesman, just a Camry 2.4 and BMW 5 Series owner.

• Not a BMW salesman, just a Passat cc and BMW 3 Series owner. Driven both 2.4 Camry and Ford Mondeo, both are miles behind BMW 3 series in term of power and driving dynamics.

sounds familiar?

• Gabla on May 24, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Which 3 series if I may ask? Previous 2.5L NA petrol engine is nowhere near the torque level of the ecoboost. Previous version of 318i, 320i and even 325i are no match for the ecoboost power. Driving dynamics is better on the BMW but this ia comparing a front wheel drive car to the rear wheel drive BMW.

Latest F30 which I tried both 328i and 320d are indeed miles ahead of the Mondeo in term of power and driving dynamics.

• Gabla on May 24, 2012 at 9:55 pm

Furthermore, considering the price of 3 series is miles ahead of the trio Camry 2.4, Passat 1.8 and Mondeo Ecoboost, it would be a waste if the 3 series is not better.

All the three 2.4 Camry, 1.8 Passat and Mondeo Ecoboost are within RM25k price difference. The Mondeo is the most expensive but offers the best value for money, lacking only the brand.

• Sam Loo on May 24, 2012 at 10:16 pm

Mondeo – RV 100% Hailat
      523i – RV 75% Hailat
      Passat – RV 50% Hailat
      Camry/Accord – Best in class for D-Segment RV

• lchlch on May 24, 2012 at 10:50 pm

do we buy the car to enjoy or to sell? a bicycle might be a better deal then to lose least money

• i never understood this so-called obsession towards RV. it is something you will only get >5 years down the road. what are you gonna do after that? trade-in the car for another jap car with high RV? if that is so, then forever you wont be enjoying the esthetics and beauty that are found in other foreign marques, say, Chevrolet Cruze e.g.

• Have driven the present vw passat 1.8 TSI and it is nowhere near my Mazda 6 2.5.
      Go test drive the Mazda 6.

I am not a Mazda salesman….just a happy Mazda fan. Go test drive and u will no longer buy european crap cars. No offense to european as i am off to Stuttgart for hoil tomorrow.
      Just stating facts.

Rgds

• tok-kok on May 24, 2012 at 6:16 pm

Arrgg.. how come no hybrid version for Malaysia? Even the old model is available as a hybrid up north Thailand.

Say only Malaysia Boleh… Boleh going backward i think lah!!

• droll on May 25, 2012 at 6:57 am

because hybrid tax break offered by govt is for 2.0 and below engines only.

• kjryth on May 24, 2012 at 6:38 pm

perdana better

• This is in motor sport square at Tokyo !

• I think this car look good in the Malaysia market . But , definitely will hope that the hybrid version will come to Malaysia

• Kia and German on May 24, 2012 at 8:12 pm

U want toyota hybrid please buy Prius n Prius C,this car won’t come to Malaysia

• Maserati on May 24, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Very nice! Another best seller!

K5? Ptui!

• Kia and German on May 24, 2012 at 8:08 pm

This ugly hybrid won’t be available to Malaysia,so what the hell you making bullshit here…
      Again,the K5 will be sell well in Malaysia.

• Sam Loo on May 24, 2012 at 10:17 pm

I hardly see any K5 on the road. At least, the deformed hyena sonata is more visible

• you wont see much K5 on the road because our roads are more filled with blind jap cars fanatics like you who only see nothing beyond RV.

• Sam Loo on May 24, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Sell you cabbage while you can. I suppose it would have depreciated 30% by now, so you cry also no tears oledi

• d.o.b 1887 on May 24, 2012 at 7:17 pm

The XV40 version looks better to me. A lot of my friends said this design sucks. Dunno what u guys think

• Yes, design really sucks.. But the hybrid drive train really made it much much way much more better than what it originally was (apart from being ugly).

• d.o.b 1887 on May 24, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Also Interior reminds me the Lexus LS600

• A4paper on May 24, 2012 at 8:06 pm

Great for company car. So quite a few reputable companies will get this camry and there you go! Sale sale sale for toyota. And usually the middle managers are your uncle.. Am i rite?

• nebula87 on May 24, 2012 at 8:14 pm

Yeah….Joystick on my steering wheel…i finally can play GranTurismo while i driving…xD

• Gokul on May 24, 2012 at 8:55 pm

The Dashboard looks like Preve’s dashboard in a glance..

• shawal on May 24, 2012 at 8:57 pm

The Playstation Influences evident!

• welcome the new uncle slushbox

• All new? I think the body has been carried over amd used since 2003, and also sometimes the engine, gearbox etc…how can the gomen let advertisers misled the rakyat?

• Proton adviser Dr.M on May 24, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Our National car Preve is better than this Camry.
    We can confirm that we have no more power windows issues and our air-con is colder than Toyota’s !!!

• The pricing of the Preve is going to kill it…i only saw one on the road until now..for the Turbo version, add a few thousand more and u could get a Toyota…for the base auto, its priced out of most targetted buyers income…and the look really sucks especially from the rear visibility also teribble, interior looks from the 80s..

• Lots of uncles having hard on looking at this hi tech camry, kekeke

• sahipul on May 26, 2012 at 12:24 am

I do hope UMW Toyota will bring the Camry Hybrid in the near future, especially with the Government incentive for hybrid vehicles still on until 2013. But I wish they bring in the Camry Hybrid with black interior same with Japan instead of Beige as with Thailand.

• Think Camry make good second hand cars. Big & comfy. Better than buying Vios or City brand new. heh heh

• TOYOTA fan. on May 28, 2012 at 12:00 am

Why hybrid of Camry is not coming??