Audi Q3 2.0 TFSI 170hp Test Drive Review

With the introduction of the Q3, Audi in Malaysia now have a complete arsenal in which to assail the potential customer that walks through the doors of its showrooms. They now have the A1, A4, A5, A6, A7, A8, Q3, Q5, Q7, TT and R8 that would appeal to everyone in the family, and them some. And this is not counting the variants in each model line.

However, due to the fact that we don’t get the full variant-range as Audi in Europe do, the plan here is more of a surgical strike than an outright barrage-blitz. Honestly, it does not leave you with much choice.

Take the Q3 for instance; it comes in only one configuration, which is a 2.0 litre TFSI engine that produces 170 hp from 4,300 to 6,200 rpm and a torque of 280 Nm from 1,700 to 4,200 rpm. A seven-speed S tronic delivers power to all four wheels, which means the Q3 gets sublime quattro system as well.

If you want a more powerful Q3, you can’t. At least, not yet. For now, more power means you’ll have to buy the Q5. There’s a reason for the Q3 being this way, it is meant to compete with the BMW X1 and it does that by slotting itself in the tight niche between the sDrive18i and the xDrive20d.

The Q3 offers more power than the sDrive18i and has a four-wheel drive system like the xDrive20d. In a nutshell, the Q3 is the middle path. Even the price fills the gap; the Q3 is more expensive than the sDrive18i but cheaper than the xDrive20d. You can see where this is going.

You can have it on your driveway for RM258,000 on-the-road (without insurance) for the base version you see here. Add RM21,000 and you’ll get the S line garnishing that includes a bigger 18 inch wheels (the base gets 17 inch wheels), three-spoke steering wheel and some chrome bits. You could also option for the comfort key (RM2,500), 14-speaker BOSE Surround Sound System (RM5,000), panoramic roof (RM6,000) and Pearl effect colour (RM3,500). Tick all the boxes and your Q3 will cost you RM296,000. I’d go for the comfort key, it makes getting into the SUV quicker than fumbling for the key.

Audi’s latest measures 4,385 mm long, 2,019 mm wide (mirror-to-mirror) and is 1,608 mm high. The cargo bay is able to hold 460 litres of luggage and can be extended up to 1,365 litres with the seats folded.

I have to admit that I like Audi’s design language. Big hexagonal grille with daytime running lights and LED rears gives the Q3 a commanding on-road presence. In spite of the Q3 looking like a puffed up A1, I still give its looks a thumbs-up.

My thumbs-up extends to the interior as well. With a wheelbase of 2,603 mm, a shoulder room of 1,362 mm, the Q3 is always going to be spacious. The quality of the materials, fit and finish is as expected of Audi – overdone. Everything that can be wrapped in leather, is wrapped in leather. Things that are not wrapped is finished in aluminium or brushed metal.

All button and dials have a tactile feel that adds to the indulgent experience of driving an Audi. Surrounding the occupants are 10 loudspeakers hooked up to a six-channel amp for a total output of 180 watts. The Audi concert radio handles all multimedia and is displayed on a 6.5 inch TFT colour display, which you need to manually open and close.

In case you’re wondering, the six-CD changer is secreted away in the boot and it does not come with satellite navigation. The Q3 also has a voice dialogue system that lets you activate your phone and change music; it does not let you control the climate with your voice.

Let’s not forget safety. Audi’s baby SUV comes with six airbags and ESP, which consists of traction control, electronic differential lock, ABS, EBD and BA. ISOFIX is also found inside, a must for families with younglings.

But there is one thing that Audi missed – a power button to shut the boot lid. The trouble is that once popped it open, it’ll be challenge to pull it down because the lid will be high and heavy. Anyone shorter than five feet three inches may need a stool to reach the lid. Park it on a steep slope and someone that is five feet ten inches may need to tip toe to reach the handle. Although Audi says that the Malaysian Q3s have already had its struts shortened, it is still a stretch for most.

The SUV is also fitted with the Audi drive select, which lets you tweak the engine mapping, throttle and gear shifts. There are four modes to dial in: auto, comfort, dynamic and efficiency. Of the four, efficiency would be the most notable one.

Don’t read that as bad, I tested the car mostly with efficiency on. Yes it makes the car much lazier but it also makes it more frugal. The spotlight is on the gearbox that disengages and goes into neutral whenever the feet leave the accelerator, so the Q3 coasts to a stop. It works on any speed above 10 km/h. The gear re-engages the moment you step on the go-pedal or the brakes, or if the car slows down too much. Audi measured the combined fuel consumption as 7.7 l/100 km, my best was about 9.0 l/100 km.

In the other modes, the car feels the same. The characteristics are so similar between the four that you’d be hard-pressed to feel the difference. Dynamic is especially disappointing because it does not deliver close to what its name suggest. The pedal still feels soft and the gears still changes up too quick. So, if you’re looking for a quick and faster Audi, try the Q5. Or one of the sedans.

Unless you click the stick into ‘S’ then it revs till red before shifting up. Or get into manual and you can flick the gears to the heart’s content. The Q3 has a top speed of 212 km/h and a 0-100 km/h time of 7.8 seconds, but it never feels explosive. For sure it has enough power to get the wheels turning from rest, but I can’t help wanting a bit more burst from the Q3.

As mentioned earlier, the Q3 comes outfitted with the all-wheel drive quattro system that automatically bestows the SUV with brilliant handling. It has good body control and it follows the line you set for it really well. There is plenty of feedback coming from the steering with adequate weight and resistance to match the speed. The ride is supple and it is almost never punishing even when skimming over potholes that suddenly appear. The suspension setup is also firm enough to give it stability when cruising at highway speeds.

As good as this SUV is, I also find the Q3 lacking in character. There is nothing that, after closing the door and locking it, makes that vehicle particularly memorable. Aside from the boot lid debacle, there’s nothing really wrong or really special about the Q3.

It is odd because Audi has birthed one of the better compact SUVs that money can buy. The Audi Q3 offers a good-looking SUV with all the trappings of luxury that will have you arrive in style. It does not offer anything else, really.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• “Aside from the boot lid debacle..”

What debacle?

• RedBeanBun on Jul 02, 2012 at 12:52 pm

Can make a points system compare with:
    1) X1 (same class)
    2) Freelander2 (suppose same class, since price overseas same range)
    Then lower class of
    3) Tucson
    4) Rav4
    5) CRV
    6) Sportage
    6) Mazda 5

Most awaited is the Subaru XV..

• RedBeanBun on Jul 02, 2012 at 12:53 pm

in modern era, who needs a 6-disc changer!!!

• napster on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:28 pm

In effect, all cars that have more than 1 CD capability is a CD changer lorr, but yeah, with Bluetooth and USB and iPods, CDs are becoming passe…

• junaidi on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:48 pm

for people who buy original CD’s and dont have time to burn a copy.

• Jack Leong on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:14 pm

why do i feel this looks like a cheapo audi? :(

• napster on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:26 pm

Wow, that CD changer looks so after market man, and the cut out looks poorly done! Seriously Chris?

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jul 02, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Seriously, it actually covers pretty good so you won’t see the cut out.

• No USB port only AUX, no memory seat, have to pay 2.5k for comfort key, 2 years warranty for the car except tear and wear part , no free maintainance like what others car brand does , long delivery date, bad after sales service , no freebie no discount.. Euromobile is a joke man!

• longjaafar on Jul 02, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Yes, they may have lots of models and are now even selling approved pre owned cars. But their service stinks, ie if you can get an appointment within three weeks, you’re lucky. I’ve had the unfortunate experience of wanting to service my Audi and the curt reply that I got was that there would be a slot only four weeks away! This is a case of knowing how to sell but don’t know how to keep customers. I wonder whether the Audi people in Germany know about this…

• ponpon on Jul 02, 2012 at 2:18 pm

lengkang-lengkang…too pricey unexpected that much

• ohmyimportaxs on Jul 02, 2012 at 2:29 pm

tiguan woud be a better buy for this price point :P
    moar power, plus upgrading to RNS510 + bluetooth still cheaper than Q3

• droll on Jul 02, 2012 at 2:32 pm

interesting that disengaging the gear is seen as fuel saving. i remember jeremy clarkson doing a long distance fuel challenge drive in a diesel powered jag (along with his 2 other mates) some time ago. the engineers told him leaving the gear engaged saves more fuel when coasting because
    a. leaving it in neutral means the engine needs to burn fuel to keep the engine running (i.e. idle)
    b. leaving it in gear means the momentum of the car keeps the engine running

?????

• along on Jul 02, 2012 at 2:45 pm

Substandard audi but want to sell at a skyrocket price… I wonder where the big chunk of the price goes…

This car should be around 100k the most, if we want to see that happen… we boycott and dont buy them for some time…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…

• Driven on Jul 02, 2012 at 4:34 pm

although Audi’s design is good,but i m starting to find it repetitive.all models look almost the same with abit of variations.

I guess they found a winning formula n are not willing to give up on it and experiment on new design language

• Salman on Jul 02, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Are you nuts? For such spec, 250k its too much for M’sian market. Should lower the price, as what VW did to Polo.

• Josh Ling on Jul 02, 2012 at 3:40 pm

i dunno why, but i still dun think q3 look works on me. it looks funny from some angle…..

• I would go to BMW X1 or maybe wait for the new B Class.. But Audi is too sweet.. So tempting!!

• Tiguan on Jul 02, 2012 at 8:19 pm

No off road review?

• Well , to me I personally think that not much effort or none at all was put into this car , it looks like the Q5 from every aspect as you can see . why bother even making it when you don’t even make changes ? Its just like the new golf recently launched in Singapore , they just added a self-reverse parking system and dare to call it a new model ? Somehow its just rather ridiculous ..

• seancorr on Jul 03, 2012 at 7:46 am

I think the BMW or VW is a better buy. more service centers n parts r needed to maintain an audi here and the features are lacking though i think comfort access/key r also not available for the bmw n vw models. does the audi q3 even come with adaptive headlights?

• Jason Cheng on Jul 03, 2012 at 8:56 am

A bit upset over not offer the more powerful engine like what others country had. Why this car not come with engine 211bhp, 350Nm???

• Jason Cheng on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:00 am

Second things is that the flat floor was not offered, the car came with short wheelbase should offer flat floor!!! Furthermore this is a SUV ride on high, it should be able to design the flat floor so that the back passenger gets more space.

• Jason Cheng on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:07 am

Base on my own opinion, one of the direct rivals is VW Tiger & Iguana, this not not bios to VW. You can see for yourself the spec sheet.Size wise almost the same.Origin from Europe with more powerful TSI engine 207bhp, century sprint within 7.3S.

• Jason Cheng on Jul 03, 2012 at 9:10 am

Looking forward on your comparison reviews between Tiguan, Q3 & X1.

• Thiis car is meant to compete with VW Tiguan, BMW X1, and also land rover freelander. definitely not Evoque. Therefore, power shouldnt be more as it will step into Q5 territory. Funny to see some dungu whine about why Euromobile bring in less powerful car. unless BMW X1 bring in sdrive28i. otherwise uguys have to just settle with lower power.. do some research before bash.. thank you.

• It’s a beauty but way too pricey. Makes the Tiguan look like a bargain???

• KelNCY on Jul 07, 2012 at 4:47 pm

I own a Q5. Seeing a Q3 pulling up on BSC a couple days back, I swear you almost can’t differentiate between the two from the exterior, if not for the front and back LED.
    The interior (dash and central console) looks watered down compared to the Q5. A real pity

• Interior has volkswagen written all over it. Not necessarily a bad thing but a tab bit boring.

• Sivaraja @ Raja on Sep 27, 2012 at 11:50 am

pls help me on this. AudiQ3 and Q5 can use fuel RON95.

• CKDenthusiast on Oct 18, 2012 at 11:15 pm

If I saw this car on the road , I might mistaken it for a Mitsu ASX!!