DRIVEN: New Ford Focus Hatch and Sedan in Krabi

Those in the market for a C segment car are spoilt for choice. 2012 has so far yielded us the Hyundai Elantra, Peugeot 408, facelifted 308 and new Honda Civic, joining the usual suspects. A new contender is just across the border now, waiting for its official launch this September – it is the new Ford Focus.

This third-generation Focus is the latest One Ford product from the Blue Oval, which means that the Focus, available here in both five-door hatchback and four-door sedan form, will be sold across the globe as the same car (with at least 80% common parts, Ford says), bucking the previous trend where North America got a poorer Focus.

Thailand is one of five global production hubs for the Focus (the others are in Germany, Russia, USA and China) and output from the new US$450 million Ford Thailand Manufacturing factory in Rayong will serve the Asia Pacific region. Our northern neighbour also recently played host to the regional Focus media preview, which we attended.

Continue reading for our first drive impressions of the new Ford Focus.

As mentioned, two body styles are available, the five-door hatchback (no three-door exists for now, even in Europe) and a sedan, and Rayong gives them two engines – 1.6 and 2.0 litre GDI (gasoline direct injection) petrol units with DOHC and Ti-VCT (twin independent variable camshaft timing), which means that these engines are as modern as they come for naturally aspirated units.

The demanding Malaysian market will only get the 2.0L, which makes 170 hp and 202 Nm of torque from 4,550 rpm, which is high for the class. As expected, no manual option for us, so it’s a six-speed Powershift dual-clutch gearbox for your Focus. Unlike in the Fiesta, the ‘box gets manual override (Ford calls it SelectShift) in the form of +/- buttons on the gearknob. More on that later.

There are many who have, and will, claim that we’re being “shortchanged” by Ford as there’s no Ecoboost turbo option. Well, if you feel so, punters in USA and Australia (which I’m sure you will agree are more sophisticated markets) get the same GDI engine as us. So you’re in good company. Also bear in mind that apart from the Peugeot 308, Peugeot 408 and the significantly costlier Golf TSI, no other C-segment offering offers more power, GDI or a turbo, here.

Still want Ecoboost + manual? You’ll have to wait for the Focus ST. In the meantime, take off those “I want cheap, nice and good” tinted glasses and the Focus can be viewed as competitive, class leading even, when one starts to dive into the spec sheet.

Malaysia will only get the two top trim levels for each body style – Sport and Sport + for the hatch, Titanium and Titanium + for the sedan. The non + cars get front and side airbags (front airbags has a new shape that lessens impact, curtain airbags on + models deploy 30% quicker), ABS, EBD, ESP, keyless entry with start button and Active Shutter Grille as standard.

The latter shuts the lower bumper centre grille (triangular side ones are just for looks) for better aero at high speeds. Linked to the car’s cooling system temperature, it has 16 possible positions. You won’t notice it working, but it’s common knowledge that less drag = less fuel consumption. Speaking of that, claimed combined FC is 6.6 litres per 100 km, or 15.2 km/l.

Still on toys, the Focus debuts Ford’s SYNC system in ASEAN. SYNC, powered by Microsoft, links up your smartphone and portable devices to the Focus via Bluetooth.

More than just allowing you to play songs and make phone calls, SYNC lets one use the car’s voice control system to order your phone around, and ask for specific things, like Billie Jean, Rolling In The Deep or a genre like Jazz for instance. A caucasian female voice speaks back, and graphics on the full colour 4.2-inch screen are slick. SYNC is a big upgrade from the system in the Fiesta.

Since everything runs on Bluetooth, all phones with BT are accepted, although our car-to-car calls (loud and clear, even supports multi party) ran on Microsoft powered Nokia phones. Will try it with Android and iOS next time to see if it works just as well. SMS can be viewed on the screen or even read out, with things like “LOL” and “:p” spoken in full. Poking tongue anyone? :)

The + models take things up a notch by offering toys that some premium cars costing twice as much don’t offer. The range topping Focus side parks itself with Active Park Assist. I’ve only previously tried something like this once, and it was in a Mercedes.

Here’s how it works. If you’re looking for a parallel parking spot, press the APA button and cruise along the line (remember to signal). If there’s a spot, the Focus’ ultrasonic sensors will determine if the gap is big enough for the car (minimum 1.2 times the car’s length) and alerts you if it is. Then, all you need to do is take your hands off the wheel and trust the system, which displays instuctions on the main screen.

As you can see in the video below, the steering will DIY based on the data it has – all the driver has to do is control the brakes and gas pedal, based on the front/rear sensors (with audio and visual display) called ParkPilot. Can be quite unnerving for those new to it, but a few precise attempts is all APA needs to gain one’s trust. When the manoeuvre is done, you will be told so. Useful.

Another high end feature is Active City Stop (ACS), which is rather similar to Volvo’s City Safety. ACS works below 30 km/h and will auto brake the Focus if you’re about to kiss the butt of the car in front unwittingly, minimising damage. Under 15 km/h, ACS will auto brake to a full stop, eliminating fender benders once and for all.

The Titanium +, which is the top end sedan, adds on BLIS blind spot info system. Pioneered by Volvo, BLIS informs the driver of a car in his/her blind spot via a light, but Ford’s light is on the outer edge of the wing mirrors, and not inside the car. Volvo uses a camera on the wing mirror, the Focus’ BLIS uses radar detection.

We got to try all three headline features, and I’m very impressed by the Active Park Assist, which beats my parking skills any day. ACS is good to have – you may not need it often, but in the rare occasion when you do, your wallet will be thankful.

In our trial run, we had to consciously drive into a box with reflectors (that’s what the sensors detect, pedestrians not included) which is as unnatural as communicating to a cat by barking. My first run was a failure, as my instinctive right foot sprung into action on approach. ACS took over in the second run, as we dived to a tyre scrubbing halt. Less impressed with the BLIS, which worked, but not 100% of the time for us – another test on local ground is needed. In any case, I prefer Volvo’s big bright orange light over Ford’s rendition.

Other features exclusive to the + are bi-xenons with washers, follow me home lighting, power tilt/slide sunroof, auto headlamps/wipers, auto dimming rear view mirror and cruise control. It wasn’t too long ago when Mercedes highlighted Linguatronic and Volvo shouted City Safety and BLIS. Now, a RM130k mass market Ford has all that, and parks itself. It’s the right time to blow the dust off a headline I once used for an Autocar cover story – The Democracy of Technology.

Diving in, there’s a wide range of steering and seat adjustment, so the ideal driving position is easy to find. Once set (manual for hatch, electric for sedan), I found that the seat gripped well and went low enough. The hatch’s black cabin theme and part leather seats are fitting, but I found the sedan’s light hues very refreshing – the full leather seats are very cushy and the breezy feel relaxing.

No time to try the rear bench, but I didn’t feel too comfy in the front passenger seat, where the centre console was too intrusive for my right knee. I had to sit in an offset position as a result. It could be the fault of that “boundary” that cordons off the controls to make a “driver focused” cockpit.

Back in the throne, the button-rich steering wheel is to my liking, as it’s not too thick and the leather used is very supple. Clusters of buttons are everywhere, and there are no blank ones, so there’s a nice feeling of being in a full spec car. The layout of the Sony stereo isn’t the most straightforward, but then fancy design and best functionality rarely coexist.

Material quality should please the “knock-knock” Malaysian car buyer – unlike the ASEAN Fiesta, you can sink your nails deep in the soft dash moulding here, and the upper door cap plastics are pilable, too.

So how does it drive? It can’t be bad, it’s a Ford. The engineers at the Blue Oval consistently excel at delivering good ride and handling on mass market offerings, churning out best-to-drive in segment models like the Fiesta, Mondeo and last gen Focus. This new Focus is a big improvement over the old one in many ways, but it doesn’t fully kill our love for the old timer.

Petrol vs petrol, this new GDI engine rights one wrong in the old Focus 2.0 – its lethargic heart. It is not the most charismatic performer and doesn’t have a memorable sound, feel or top end flourish, but at least it has enough grunt to not stand out for the wrong reasons. The power/torque figures may be slightly above par, but the small advantage wasn’t felt on the road. Adequate nonetheless.

The Powershift six-speed dual-clutch gearbox is good to have at this price point – other than the VW Polo hatch and Ford’s own Fiesta, no other car offers DCT at this money. Compared to the Fiesta, the shifts are smoother and less perceptible in the Focus, which suits the much improved rolling refinement (over both the Fiesta and previous Focus) too.

However, the SelectShift manual override is a major disappointment for me. Ford has elected to incorporate a +/- button on the gear knob itself, instead of the tried and tested seperate slot with up/down movement. Using the button takes too much hand time away from the wheel in fast driving, because you need to hold the lever before pressing the small button – two actions instead of just one. Perhaps the process will get smoother with familiarity, but that still won’t make two steps easier than one. By the way, manual selection can only happen in S mode.

I cannot figure out why Ford chose to reinvent the wheel in this manner – the old way was fine, and if they wanted to provide more convenience, why not just give us steering paddles? Cost doesn’t seem like an issue when the Focus steering wheel has more controls than a luxury car. Mysterious.

The Focus feels really solid and planted, even when exploring the final quarter of the speedometer. We hit a major dip in the road when doing so, and it was us who got unsettled instead of the Focus. Low speed ride comfort is really good as well, with only the biggest of potholes or ridges sending a thud to the cabin. The sedan’s higher profile 205/60 R16 tyres were more cushioning, but the 17-inch wheeled hatch (215/50 rubber) wasn’t too harsh riding.

Ford is also keen to highlight Torque Vectoring Control, which uses electronics to replicate the function of a limited slip differential (LSD). The theory is that in a corner, TVC applies minute braking force on the inside front wheel with less traction, channelling drive to the wheel with grip for better cornering performance. Can’t say that I felt it work, but the Focus handles well enough. In a long sequence of bends with plenty of hazards (sand after a blind corner, funny cambers, etc), the agile and composed Focus acquitted itself very well.

The EPAS electric steering is very sharp and quick, but not tiring at a cruise. With zero slack and good weighting, it’s hard to criticise, but the old car’s steering felt more natural; less technically perfect but with plenty of good vibes. That’s a good way to sum up the drive.

The new Focus looks good, has plenty of nice toys, and is still the best driving C-segment car in town, but I feel that it has lost a little bit of that unquantifiable “good vibes” that made the last one so likeable despite its ugly interior. But as an ownership proposition, the new Focus is streets ahead, and the top spec + cars are great value at the estimated prices.

If there’s a scale between the old Focus and the Golf, the new Focus has moved a little more to the VW’s side. No bad thing, of course!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Gabla on Jul 21, 2012 at 9:22 pm

Quite confused about what the non + variants lack. How do you know the voice is a caucasian? I saw a show on Discovery and thought that the presenter was is a caucasian male based on the voice but he is actually African America.

• Rajan on Jul 21, 2012 at 10:29 pm

So what if Australia and the US don’t have Ecoboost? If Australia and US eat shit, we also must east shit is it?

Your defence of not having Ecoboost in Malaysia is so silly. Why the US got no Ecoboost is simple. The US is used to big cc cars. 3000 to 5000 cc is very normal in the US. So if Ford tries to sell a car that has 1000 cc ie the Ecoboost 1000 cc, it will simply fail. The same with Australia. Nobody will buy it. People will think they are buying a Kancil when the norm of having a 3000 cc car is so common. Ford knows that. The people of US and Australia are so used to huge cc cars and brute force in their cars. They have no idea of the word “economy”.

But people in Europe are different. They are cost conscious and economy is prime importance. In Europe, other than supercars, most cars have reduced the cc. Europeans are aware the lower the cc, the more economical it is.

I am quite surprised why Paultan.org is not fighting for the Ecoboost and just so readily defend Ford Malaysia’s decision to give us the non Ecoboost engines.

I ask again, if Australia and US eat shit, we also must eat shit is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
      • greatlander on Jul 22, 2012 at 12:36 am

well, in US, gasoline is ron87, that is why they use a higher cylinder car and toll lots of stuffs around… I dont think malaysian need to toll anything… bare in mind if you have been to US, you know whats the difference between the CC and the power… most o fthe car with high cc goes on Flex Fuel, that the ethanol fuel as the alternative to petrol fuel. We are already moving towards electric car in US, there alot of people still use gasoline for their trucks….and older car just get tin up, and replace by Hybrid or Fully electric car in US. To be true, I will drive electric car, thats the future you cant deny the future from happening.

• put the engine hp torque aside, what are the things to consider before buying this car:

1.reliability – can get spare parts fast? if 3 months then it’s not favourable. if cannot get the spare parts then have to live with the cripple car

2.overall cost – how many years to use, if more than 5 years and the spare parts are expensive, so have to prepare money

3.resale value – how is it fair when sell back? depreciation value of ford is not as good as japs and local car. the car is not an investment but have to absorb the depreciation value more if used longer

• Chan Wing Kai on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:27 pm

They scared to sell ecoboost here lah. How to sell 1.0 (regardless of turbo or ecoboost) at RM130k? People’s mindset and price figures for a car are based on how many litres the car. Msian USUALLY based on whether 1.3 or 1.5 or 1.8 or 2.0. Specs and bhp are secondary.

SDAC knows this. So giving us 2 litre is a way to milk us more money cause people expect 1.0 to be priced less than RM70k. Most unlcles will choose a 2.0 with 170 bhp than a 1.0 ecoboost with 200 bhp (for example). Its all marketing strategy. End of the day, Malaysians are the losers

• artworks on Jul 22, 2012 at 2:18 am

will u buy if got EB? if not pls shut up n process ur preve turbo

• artworks on Jul 22, 2012 at 11:57 am

if 170hp 2.0 GDi dual vvt call shit, den wat better den this?

• Motor on Jul 22, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Golf 1.4 TSI laa, reigns supreme. Whatever 2.0, 2.5 also no fight.

• jaafar on Aug 14, 2012 at 3:48 pm

hello motor, the golf 1.4 tsi is overrated in Malaysia. In Europe it is a bread and butter car

• rbtio on Jul 23, 2012 at 3:38 am

because their ecoboost engine are not as reliable as japs engine, that’s why they don’t sell them here

• jaafar on Aug 14, 2012 at 3:50 pm

hello rbtio, the days of jap cars being reliable are in the 8o’s …wake up man!
          In the 20th C European cars are just as reliable or better!

• dirtyoldmen on Jul 23, 2012 at 8:38 am

Bravo. Its fascinating how you construct your arguments. Using banal, crude and twisted logic, you craftily spin your presumptions with shit-eating, painting a disturbing mental picture unto the reader. Judging by your votes, your tactics, no doubt appeals to the lower minds.

But let’s reconsider the crux of your allegations;
        1. R: Your defence of not having Ecoboost in Malaysia is so silly.
        PT: Still want Ecoboost + manual? You’ll have to wait for the Focus ST.
        D: Ecoboost WILL be available. You’ve poor comprehension skills.

2. Rajan: I am quite surprised why Paultan.org is not fighting….
        D: I do not represent PT.org but let me ask you. Since when did it become the duty and responsibility of PT.org; to lobby and make demands unto the final products of vehicle manufacturers? Can you show proof?

• Critique on Jul 23, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Nice Rebut D.O.M. !
          :D

I suppose if Rajan wants the Ecoboost engine that badly, he could always get the Mondeo or wait for the Focus ST..

Either way, kena sabarlar macha Rajan.. hahaha..

Cheers

• Ford Salesman in action! Trying to use hard and bombastic words but somehow can detect and smell a Ford salesman!

• napster on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:30 pm

The article DID NOT defend the decision NOT to have Ecoboost, Rajan. All it said was that the American and the Aussies get the same engine, and thus, its a good engine to have (“shortchanged”, did you notice? Those markets are more demanding as you acknowledged, and all the article wanted to say was that they are good engines. I love my Ecoboost in the Mondeo for its power and economy. Here it seems they have both power and economy as well. Granted, the Ecoboost may have given you more economy, but hey, at least its a good engine.

• Ford Malaysia is sourcing the Focus from Rayong and Rayong is not offering the Ecoboost at this point in time. It will come in due course.

PT is smart enough to know which fights to pick. What is the point of “fighting” for Ecoboost when Rayong does not allow for it at this juncture?

• klink on Jul 22, 2012 at 3:57 pm

our cfe beats ford “modern high class” n/a 2.0l engine, torque wise, 202nm, shy 3nm to preve’s 205nm. hp wise of course the ford’s wins but that’s not the case.

before anybody asks why compare n/a with turbo, well because cfe 1.6l turbo performance is made equivalent to n/a 2.0l egine. so why not the more “modern higher classs” GDI engine still cannot beat it?

we should get the ecoboost engine. ford wants to clear the old stock engine? malaysia is not the right place

• napster on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Tried driving the Preve yet bro? It can’t hold on to the power. It does not last. And really, comparing PROTONs to Fords? !@#$%^%$#@

• klink on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:09 pm

why not, proton has lotus dna ride and handing (now it’s proton rnh), not good enough to compare? i do driving both ford and proton (not test drive) and i prefer proton handling.

• Who said the GDI engine is old stock?

• we want ecoboost, we want ecoboost, we want ecoboost. GDI engine is such rubbish, torque like snail

• jaafar on Aug 14, 2012 at 3:59 pm

Cmon klink,
        Dont embarrass the rest of by comparing ford focus ( a global car to proton preve ( jaguh kampung)….
        nuff said

• Walao, go n test drive the pervert, i doubted where they get the 205nm, i dont feel any torque like 205, haha, the figure makes me feel funny

• Ford focus Owner on Jul 23, 2012 at 9:43 am

I own a 2011 Ford Focus Ghia. I can confirm, normal parts take a long time to come. My side window got broken into, Ford took 2 months to get a replacement. For 2 months, I had to drive with plastic on my window like a clown. I had to selotape plastic on my window. Every laughed at me. Even when I drive on the road also, people laughed at me. They must have thought, “ada duit beli kereta mewah tapi tak ada duit ganti cermin”

My advice to those buying Ford, think ten times. The car is super good. It drives better than a BMW F10. Handling superb. Leather posh. Everything about it was perfect. Real continental feel. Only big problem is the service centre. They are slow and full of lies. They lie through their teeth. Another problem is parts. Parts are super duper expensive. I amtalking about BMW prices. So, unless you are rich and have opted to buy a Ford because you personally like the brand, it is very costly to maintain the car. Don’t be fooled by the thousands who bought the Fiesta. Ask the Fiesta owners who have changed parts and see what they tell you. 3 years warranty and free service is one thing, but after that, make sure you are wealthy and have the abiility to afford to maintain a BMW or a Mercedes because that is the prices you are going to be paying. Don’t be fooled by the cheap 120k price of the car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • hmm..i’m thinking of getting a 2008 Focus Hatchback 2.0..coz its juz around 60K..guess it wont be a good buy if the spares are expensive as im not a wealthy person..what your say?

• napster on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Clearly a penipu. The Fiesta is hardly 3 years old. Nobody has had to buy parts post warranty. And the Thai plant has cheaper parts now, compared to the (soon to be closed) Philippines plant.

• fiesta or ghia ?

• Chan Wing Kai on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:14 pm

wahai si dungu, puasa affecting your head? Parts also can mean wear and tear parts which are not covered by warranty. Also, you accident also involve parts. Windscreen, bumper, wiper are all part, lights….

• Wear and tear items like wipers and brake pads are covered by Ford’s Extended Service Plan.

• Ponorogo on Jul 24, 2012 at 9:04 am

It’s a ghia la bro…not fiesta. Start reading and stop bashing…

• napster, you don’t know how to even read basic text and you go on giving nonsense comments here and other places.

• Besides the side mirror, what other parts did you have to purchase that were outside the free servicing offered by Ford?

Personally, I find the service advisors at Ford PJ very sincere in discharging their duties. Yes, it takes a long time get served but once they serve you, they do a good job.

• WooGoo on Jul 23, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Pray tell what parts have you changed that were super duper expensive?

What lies did the Ford service told that made you mad?

• jaafar on Aug 14, 2012 at 4:03 pm

dear ford focus owner…i too own a ford focus but i doubt your story tells the whole truth. Parts are not as pricey as you exaggerated, certainly not at BMW prices….are u on medicine man?

• Ford’s latest 2.0 GDI petrol engine with 170hp is really impressive seeing that most 2.0 liter engines out there like the NEW Camry which can only produce a sad 140hp. Even Toyota’s new 2.5 liter produces around 180hp and it’s gonna be so much more thirsty.

• kelvin on Jul 21, 2012 at 9:29 pm

Hatch or sedan it is a beuty. When it comes to Malaysia, for me is just a dream.

• division93 on Jul 21, 2012 at 9:30 pm

any idiot who would still go for the japanese manufacturer can just go jump of a cliff. 2.0 direct injection NA engine(170HP),torque vectoring system plus dual clutch transmission and all the safety features included.

If I am given the power to slap people in the face,any idiot who would dismiss this car would be slapped so hard.

NO OFFENSE.there’s just no other sub RM120K-RM140K car with better value than this.

• I quite agree with u.. but the peugeot 408 Turbo is also not bad..

• merepek on Jul 21, 2012 at 10:48 pm

both Peugeot and Ford poor after sales.. very expensive maintenance.. and ….

• napster on Jul 23, 2012 at 1:37 pm

Of course, you own both the marques so you’re speaking from experience. NOT.

• no need experience, you can google around and find same problems

• Rajan on Jul 21, 2012 at 10:45 pm

So immature. Most people whom you term as “idiots” think about other things such as after sales service and parts cost. Not everyone whom you want to slap is as fast as you are to commit RM120k. Many of us, who work hard for our money, think other factors too. For example, waiting 3 months for a part to come in, will hinder our movements should the car be unavailable for 3 months. You should learn about other things such as cost of ownership, resale value and after sales service before you seek the power to slap people very hard.

• artworks on Jul 22, 2012 at 2:20 am

thats y u just buy other than ford den leave no comment here

• ae101 on Jul 22, 2012 at 10:08 am

have you own one? if the car is so easy to maintain why owner wana let it go at so cheap? talk is cheap. wat rajan said is indeed very true especially here in malaysia.

• artworks on Jul 22, 2012 at 11:52 am

yes , i have 1 of ford fiesta. i didnt spend any cent because ford gv me 60k km free maintenance. if spare part is really make ur life uneasy…just fxxk off and go for other. life just once…enjoy wat call driving..

• ae101 on Jul 22, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Fista first ford car already so proud and syok sendiri? I dont blame budak baru belajar :)

• saddr on Jul 22, 2012 at 4:03 pm

no 5 years/100,000km warranty, no money for ford

• vinlo on Jul 23, 2012 at 3:41 am

what car do you have ae101? sure you have japs car with underpowered old engine

• Khalid on Jul 23, 2012 at 11:06 am

Artworks, do you own a Datsun 120Y but in your small mind think and fantacise it is a Fiesta?

• Gabla on Jul 22, 2012 at 9:56 am

I wonder where this “parts need to wait a few months” come from? Sounds like a propaganda from competitors since Ford is offering a really good value for money.

I’m sure that normal wear and tear parts are not a problem. Most Ford cars now come with 3 years free maintenance.

When talking about resale value, you would only talk about selling a car before buying it when the car is not good enough. If the car is good, you will be looking at a long term ownership. If you are already thinking about selling the car even before buying it, it shows that you are not really satisfied with the car, you are only buying it as a stop gap for something better.

• Extrimist on Jul 22, 2012 at 11:55 am

Written by “Ford Focus Man” in:

http://paultan.org/2012/03/27/ford-focus-third-gen-makes-asean-debut/

“I have a Ford Focus 2010. My side mirror kena langgar motorcycle. Ford took 3 months just to replace my side mirror.

Yes, 3 months. I can understand if its an odd part but the side mirror is the most common part to kena langgar in Malaysia. Nearly everybody has got their side mirror knocked by a motorcycle. I have to idea why Ford does not stock it, especially common parts.

The same thing happened to my Honda. My side mirror kena langgar motorcycle. Honda took 2 hours to replace the whole part, including fixing, labour etc.

So, now you know why people buy Honda. 2 hours vs 3 months. I wish all those enthuasiatic Ford Fiesta buyers thinking they are getting excellent after sales service.”

• civicking on Jul 21, 2012 at 10:58 pm

Seriously if i were to choose one now, and i m sure many malaysian will do this, between new focus, vw jetta, peug 308/508, elantra..i will choose honda civic anytime anywhere. better build quality, more powerful ivtec (previous focus and jetta cannot match its performance), robust gearbox and good resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • artworks on Jul 22, 2012 at 2:23 am

pls dun dreaming…previos focus TDCi and current jetta can smoke FD2 far far far away…. u think k20 ivtec in FD2 fast? LOL..
        p/s; new civic use sohc vtec , R20

• Rajan on Jul 22, 2012 at 9:19 am

Only a small boy, who probably lives off his father’s money still talks about cars “smoking” other cars. Grow up lah. Learn to piss straight first or finish your SPM, then you will know our roads are not for “smoking” or racing

• 4g63tdsm on Jul 22, 2012 at 7:51 am

Haha… A Honda for better build quality??

I think you need to try out more cars.

• myviT on Jul 22, 2012 at 8:35 pm

honda civic is nothing in handling if compared with ford, 5 gears with sissy i-vtech engine is obviously light years behind contis, even proton

• wklii on Jul 23, 2012 at 3:43 am

honda salesman detected!!!!!!!

• rbcgt on Jul 23, 2012 at 5:35 am

………..honda civic anytime anywhere. better build quality, (poor assembly), more powerful ivtec (weak sohc engine, even proton has turbo) robust gearbox (old archaic 5 gears, already seen 6,7 speeder here) and good resale value (even bolehland cars have good ones).

-fixed-

• Idaho on Jul 23, 2012 at 10:01 am

Civicking,

You must be promoting the new Civic cause the current booking list not up to expectation?

I went to see the car. It rubbish. Period.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 22, 2012 at 12:18 am

Wol!, choose this small car already want seek power to “slap” some-one. Luckily this chap can’t afford Bugati, otherwise seek the power to kick ass all other cars on the road!!!!

• what car you use? if you have beemer or merc you won’t be barking here

• jalan54 on Jul 22, 2012 at 3:30 am

The price is not expensive with all these features. Please bare in mind that the maintenance cost for ford is very expensive compare to other c segment car out there. If after warranty period, and you have something broken in the car and need a replacement parts, you’ll knocking your head to the wall. My brother was one of the victim for owning the previous focus. I’m not saying that this is not a good car, it s a good car. If you have very tide budget to buy a c segment car, please don’t buy this car, you are only asking for trouble in the future. If you have more money to spend then go ahead, it is value for money if you do not have to worry about the maintenance cost and parts cost in the future.

• pingy on Jul 23, 2012 at 3:46 am

and prepare for bad resale value

• My mechanic friend told me the spare parts are more expensive than BMW or Merc! Sime is following Naza style. Sell the car cheap, whack you for spares. Too bad coz I’m really interested in the Focus ST.

• Bring on the 1.6 & 2.0 TDCI, i’m sold…more torque than the ecoboost but less fuel consumption.

TDCI PLS

• sonyman on Jul 22, 2012 at 2:48 pm

you may be wrong, majority go for a japanese is not because of they got ripped off. It is because of security of owning one.

i will also go for ford.

• ex5er on Jul 22, 2012 at 4:05 pm

just wait for the spare parts for months,
      in the meantime use your beloved kapcai ex5

• John Player Special on Jul 22, 2012 at 4:56 pm

Oh… please slap me. And then, I will give you the meaning of a slap truly is. U think everyone here is 5 years old like you eh?

• ben yap on Jul 23, 2012 at 9:34 am

people’s money is their own business on which car they want to buy. Since you are not paying for their cars, you better keep your mouth shut and go read your Doraemon comic, childish freak!

• moothoo on Jul 21, 2012 at 9:46 pm

ford focus using 2.0 gdi with 170hp… but volvo s40 only using lame 145hp 2.0, aiyoyoyooo

• merepek on Jul 21, 2012 at 10:52 pm

cant compare; different generation.
      but HP/NM figures its only a figures.
      its how the car is able to utilize them which makes them different.
      also volvo is a luxury brand rather than ford.
      go test drive feel the difference.

• Volksawgen Lover on Jul 22, 2012 at 6:04 am

It is a little hard to lump everything together. Well, if you only look at the horsepower, you also need to see what the car can give to the buyer.

Ford wins over VV S40 in horsepower, but can F-Focus drive as far as VV S40? I read about the car had one attractive technology that can actually bring you as far as 1400km with the comfy ride.

Have you think about price wise? Well, who cares whatever car one person buying. I will feel happy for that person even though it is a cheap new car.

• sonyman on Jul 22, 2012 at 2:50 pm

ya, it is true, but s40 will be replaced soon, so it is about the end life of the s40.

New V40, XC 40 will be coming in in a few years time. By then it be a ecoboost engine. probably a 1.6T4 and 2.0 T5, same like the s60 now.

• underskinned on Jul 22, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Err, hon? 2nd gen Volvo S60 uses 2.0T which produces 203hp while the T5 produces 245hp.

• droll on Jul 21, 2012 at 9:47 pm

not too shabby. here’s hoping this will raise the market perception of the blue oval brand in m’sia.

now i wonder how much it’ll be. price it wrong and it’ll end up in the dumps!

• Couldn’t agree more…. If Ford Malaysia wants to capture more followers, pricing is a critical factor for this new focus…. With bad perception of their service support, marking up too much from the current focus would deter newbies away – No matter how good this car is doing elsewhere in the world…

• Kalun on Jul 21, 2012 at 9:50 pm

Good Job guys! Awesome Review!

This could be a direct competitor to Proton Preve in Europe.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 21, 2012 at 9:52 pm

So, where is this jaguh kampong Preve first global small car to compete !!!! Talk cock 1.6 L delivered 2.0 L power!

• mejgr on Jul 22, 2012 at 4:11 pm

what? preve has 205nm, focus gdi only 202nm, still lose!

• it’s GDI, if cfe comes with GDI, it also can beat this engine in hp. in torque, cfe still wins lol

estupido

• I shud stop buying Japanese car from now on. I want to be a contributor to increase European car on Malaysian road to beat Japanese in term of number and market value

• Mario Gomez on Jul 21, 2012 at 10:24 pm

Sedan nicer than the hatchback..

• Extrimist on Jul 21, 2012 at 10:25 pm

Current Ford Focus 2.0L doesn’t come with ESP. Hope this new Focus will offer ESP for all variants.

• policeman on Jul 21, 2012 at 10:47 pm

Danny,

Handling and stability wise, which is better, Focus or Preve?

• YeapyEvo on Jul 22, 2012 at 2:25 am

Any significance difference in handling between Focus sedan and hatchback?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jul 23, 2012 at 12:13 am

There’s not much in it. The sedan’s higher profile rubber should provide better cushioning, with a little more flex

• iLoveFord on Jul 21, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Danny, As a 6 Speeder dual Clutch yet 170hp, What’s the 0-100km/h time taken?

• darkness on Jul 21, 2012 at 11:10 pm

Daffaq, waiting either ecoboost / TDCI kind a stuff..

Wasted for waiting, I’m looking to other machine than

• darkness on Jul 21, 2012 at 11:11 pm

Dafak, waiting either ecoboost / TDCI kind a stuff..

Wasted for waiting, I’m looking to other machine than

• Double post and your English still sucks it hurts my eyes..

And yes I think you’re KINDA WASTED..if you know what I mean..

And go on.. Why wait then..

• what is daffaq, dafak?

• New Ranger and upcoming Focus were decent car indeed BUT buying car is a way beyond the machine per se. After-sale service, parts availability and competitive pricing of the car/part beside decent residual value too.

Take after-sale service, I afraid even at SDAC PJ the standard of the 3S not on par with VW, Toyota, Honda, Nissan etc.

Having said that l fancy these Ford. Buying car not only one variable but beyond that point. Understand your prospect. Put yourself in customer shoes, Ford.

• wow what a great buy.
    i just cant see why anyone should buy a civic anymore. i was considering a jetta before, but now i’m thinking twice. plus, i cant resist the cream colored interior! honestly i’m not a fan of dark grey or black interiors, but not many makers are offering light colors in the price range that i can afford. well, not anymore.

• JeremyNg on Jul 22, 2012 at 12:00 am

Honda that’s how you design interior !!!! and look at Ford the equipment and engine technology ~ Brilliant little car but the manual mood abit “weird” wont we press wrong button when driving fast ??

• Ive experienced using 2007 model focus hatchback s.. Their service centre (SDAC) is no better than any honda service centre~ or even proton COE to be honest. i wonder what they keep in da warehouse when parts takes more than a week to arrive.. Not to mention parts r quite expensive too, like volvo which is quite burdening as da car’s value depreciate a lot compared to japanese makes. Hope later when more ppl using ford, then they will reduce da servicing & parts’ price to compete with other makes :) tq

• You’re not alone dude that share same sentiment. Except those Ranger owners everyone l ask about Ford ownership experience gave me “a big no no” for a Ford when l told my intention to purchase 2006 Focus for my dad since the car has solid built and cheap price tag.

Pity such a great car like Ford Focus can’t enjoy but everyone.

Ford ASEAN under Peter Fleet should take some clue from these deprive Ford owner and must answered their prayers ASAP.

I had a Nissan and I’ll always remember how they entertain me. Impressed though none of their car share the driving pleasure like Focus, esp TDCi. I’m looking for new car that have ESP and I’m ok with resale value but hate the unpreparedness of a distributor like SDAC.

Ford need volume. Fiesta, new Ford Ranger will fill the void but another model Focus esp in EcoBoost guise easily will sell very well if right pricing, adequate 3/4S service centers and parts availability and competitive pricing come with the car. Make the ESP standard definitely 8,000 to 12,000 units per year is achievable.

Now, the decision is on Ford ASEAN and SDAC. Invest in 4S networks, make Glenmarie as new HQ to replace old smallish Ford Concessionnaire old premise. Ford need new business model and revamp their status quo.

PS: Focus TDCi anytime better than Golf TSi but VW certainly a sensible choIce than the Blue Oval.

• A Ford SA told me that many new Ford dealers/3S will be open soon. RM110-130K for Focus Titanium.

• Aiced on Jul 22, 2012 at 12:52 am

Is Sport+ and Titanium+ have same spec?

Is navigation system included? If ford stress that 80% of the feature will be retain globally then it should include navigation ad us and europe got it.

I wonder if Titanium handling package that optional in us/uk will be available here in asean too

• those triangles are quite ugly.

• Nicholas on Jul 22, 2012 at 1:11 am

guys, when you say parts take long to arrive, are you talking about the parts that you need when you met with an accident, or parts that you need when you service your car,

the reason im asking is that im looking to buy this car, and i wonder if this problem persists even for service parts

• terence toh on Jul 22, 2012 at 1:20 am

I am driving tdci, a superp car to drive. Why not tdci for new focus????

• ichibawa1 on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Mk 3 TDCi needs minimum EuroIV or EuroV diesel to run. The injectors run at very high pressure, about 25,000 psi. The impurities of our EuroII diesels will kill the injectors very fast. If only Gomen would push for EuroIV compliance sooner rather than in 2014(and hopefully not pushed back again when the time comes)

• nighttrain on Jul 22, 2012 at 1:21 am

Excellent hatch. Looks department definitely lose to Elantra. Otherwise, excellent car, only Europeans deserve EcoBoost. Dunno why.

• YeapyEvo on Jul 22, 2012 at 2:21 am

I like the back design of the sedan more than the hatch, seems like a good buy at 130k than a Civic, but after sales services and parts availability remains a concern. Wait for parts <2 weeks is probably what people can normally tolerate, 3 months is totally unacceptable, moreover price cost like BMW is insane.

• kancil on Jul 22, 2012 at 6:07 am

some people said go and look for
    the maximum output..hp and nm… but how about low rpm torque and torque distribution along rpm 1k to max 7k….better check or it will be like our 1st generation campro…remember?

• likkn on Jul 22, 2012 at 8:43 pm

we only check it for brands like p1 and p2. if there are badges like ford, honda, toyota and kia we don’t have to check it. we say just it’s powerful even it’s “underpowered” on low rpm

*sarcasm*

• 2-Fiesta buyers will compared their ownership experience with their friends’ Japanese or German or even Korean car aftersale service and maintenance cost. Fail to address this nature, Ford brand will doom again though new Focus, Mondeo, S-Max, new T6 Ranger on par if not better than other competitions’ offering. Same Darby at least should consolidate their brands together (Ford, Alfa, Land Rover) at least in Juru, Glenmarie, JB, Kuantan/Kemaman, KK and Kuching. This is inevitable since people can witness VW presence anywhere. Customers not easily find SAC at Federal Highway and relocating to Glenmarie is easier for everyone.

Great product must have best aftersale service and peace of mind ownership experience, isn’t?

• Paultan.org and Ford ASEAN team:

Frankly, based on the residual value of Ford’s, no significant increase of new Ford 4S/3S and very discouraging response and remark from Ford owners l dare to make a generalization: NOT REALLY SMART TO BUY A FORD UNLESS YOU’RE LIVE IN KLANG VALLEY OR HAVE EASY ACCESS TO THAILAND.

1. Ford ASEAN must set up an office to oversee Malaysia operation or perhaps, involved directly to have own 4S in four regions in Peninsular and each in Sabah and Sarawak. Use UMW Toyota or Nissan business model. I doubt SDAC will have 4S like VW business model since Ford models portfolio fewer than the German’s. Only Ranger and Fiesta got sizable volume.

• MycarMylife on Jul 23, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Agreed , Ford must kick Sime Darby ( Jack of all cars and Master of none) out. Open your your own distributorship under your own control to ensure good service and fair pricing of parts to ALL .

• bobob on Jul 22, 2012 at 6:40 am

Specs n interior are good (feel lux) but Exterior failed.. Espclly front design..

• Rags1968 on Jul 22, 2012 at 7:24 am

Ageed that ford parts cost a bomb, the gov’t tax structure for car parts imported from europe is so darn high does not help, also local importers do not want to stock ford parts as the brand penetration in c and d segments are too small, but in b segment, the fiesta is slowly gaining momentum. Well everyone who has bough cars after proton brand was first introduced in Malaysia has been helping it to no end due to the tariff slapped on non national cars, I hope the NAP supposedly to be released soon will let market forces determine pricing on automobiles in Malaysia instead of a select few sitting in their plush offices belonging to MITI.
    I hope SDAC will slowly but surely look at offering total cost o ownership packages with 5 year unlimited warranty with 5 year service to entice the masses to be tempted to move to the blue oval brand

One thing I hope and wish for is for SDAC to officially bring in the focus ST in Malaysia. Let’s keep our fingers crossed for this to happen.

• brimm on Jul 22, 2012 at 8:45 pm

b segment fiesta sedan has ugly back, too high like it’s designed badly from the hatch variant

• Rags1968 on Jul 22, 2012 at 7:26 am

Ageed that ford parts cost a bomb, the gov’t tax structure for car parts imported from europe is so darn high does not help, also local importers do not want to stock ford parts as the brand penetration in c and d segments are too small, but in b segment, the fiesta is slowly gaining momentum. Well everyone who has bough cars after proton brand was first introduced in Malaysia has been helping it to no end due to the tariff slapped on non national cars, I hope the NAP supposedly to be released soon will let market forces determine pricing on automobiles in Malaysia instead of a select few sitting in their plush offices belonging to MITI.
    I hope SDAC will slowly but surely look at offering total cost of ownership packages with 5 year unlimited warranty with 5 year service to entice the masses to be tempted to move to the blue oval brand

One thing I hope and wish for is for SDAC to officially bring in the focus ST in Malaysia. Let’s keep our fingers crossed for this to happen.

• Gavin on Jul 22, 2012 at 9:02 am

Man man man a whole host if electronics that I’m very sure third world Malaysia mechanic in ford,have no idea how to fix even if a simple software update . I think I’m just gonna steer clear of this one

• Nicholas on Jul 22, 2012 at 9:15 am

my friend is driving a fiesta ad she said normal servicing is taking the same time as Honda and the cost is free currently, may i know when you say wait for long is it the service parts?

• artworks on Jul 22, 2012 at 12:03 pm

90% of them actually not a ford owner

• The Ford owners itself disseminate this story. If Fiesta’s owners ok with their car then it’s good but ask any Focus owners dude.

• Ponorogo on Jul 24, 2012 at 9:17 am

It’s spare parts….not service parts…is changing your side mirror is one of your service maintenance?

• bullo on Jul 25, 2012 at 2:57 am

ford has to give us full warranty for every parts and service parts. it means ALL will be FREE for 5 YEARS or 100,000km, understand

• Great story bro~!

• Drebar on Jul 22, 2012 at 11:54 am

The price should be similar to Preve if not lower…

But after agreed with AFTA zero tariff rules, gomen switch the import taxes to higher local excise duty 75 percent rate

From left to right pocket tactic…

NAP suppose to make our car cheaper but the opposite happens…

Wonder when the excise duty gonna based on fuel mileage and emission level rather than engine capacity…

• for normal service which includes air filter change etc, there is no need to wait for parts.. service is as usual.

but for parts due to wear n tear after few years of ownership takes time to arrive such as door handles, fuel pump kit, hoses, seals etc.. never had accident on this car before, not sure how long major parts like bumpers would take to arrive.

another problem is that, unlike other popular makes (jpnese n korean, mercedes etc), there is not much third party spare parts seller tat offers cheaper price than authorized parts supplier.. maintenance for first 3 years is ok.. but when it reach the 5th year, lots of parts need to be changed n this is when owning a 5 yrs old ford feels like owning a Volvo.

imho, ford focus, even the previous model is a good car, n im sure the successor is even better. just tat they need to improve the after-sale service n revise the price for spare parts. i think they should also upgrade their service quality cuz now they’re selling passenger cars which includes premium ones like Mondeo n S-Max, not only commercial vans n 4X4 many years ago. despite all these drawbacks, im still looking forward to upgrade to this new model =)

guys, if u think u like this model, just purchase. when there are more ford users on the road, there might be high chance to get upgraded service on par with toyota n honda.

• Nicholas on Jul 22, 2012 at 5:41 pm

thanks bro for your advise, im considering this car, if only ford can go down a bit on the price to 110k would be wonderful

• frdpv on Jul 22, 2012 at 8:54 pm

if i damage my bumper, i will use it for 3 months before new one arrives?

that’s a big NO

• btw, in 2007 my car comes with only 3 years warranty. in the book i think got 6 times free service parts n labors until 60,000km. as usual cars will show up wear n tear after over 100,000km n 5 years above. lucky for new buyers, they will get extended warranty plan which includes more free parts..

• Kevin on Jul 22, 2012 at 1:25 pm

Happy to see more good models from ford. If this new focus is priced around 120-130k, it would be a good buy considering the spec is close to luxury cars. But…. Looks like were sharing almost the same prob. SAC need to revamp Pj SC please. So slow, cannot rectify problem, like so-so onli doing work. my fiesta in n out SC many times just to solve brake noise. Sayang.. Good car bad service.

• leekowchai on Jul 22, 2012 at 5:57 pm

120k is too expensive :P. i am hoping to see 90- 100k range. If forte can sell below 100k, y can’t ford?

• plikne on Jul 22, 2012 at 8:50 pm

because ford loses a lot of money after giving 7 airbags in fiesta lol

• ichibawa1 on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:59 pm

I serviced my TDCi under the ESP at PJ SDAC on 27/8 – oil and oil filter change, inspection – took about 1 1/2 hours, including a car wash. Six months ago, also 1 1/2 hours. In terms of service, so far, no problem.

• ahmadfaris93 on Jul 22, 2012 at 1:45 pm

I really hope that the exact spec will come into Malaysia especially the rims on the hatchback. That rims looks good enough. I hope they dont attempt to cut cost here and there and compromise looks and features. Looking forward to the launch of the Focus here

• Anticipating, should cOme earlier so can have it for Raya holidays. And hope we can have bigger and sportier alloys on the sedan. The one on the hatch is not bad actually…

• OilChange on Jul 22, 2012 at 2:33 pm

i’m thinking to sell my fiesta and buy that hansem looking new sportage as suggested by wife, but looking at this… my wife can bit her lips and say goodbye to the sportage… i’m buying focus

• RM110-120K IS THE SENSIBLE PRICE though considering the features and amenities is most generous coz SDAC somewhat substandard service experience make it harder in the Altis-Civic pricing.

It’s mind-boggling to understand how a car selling company has a bad aftersale service like SdAC. Only better than Skoda or Renault, perhaps.

• you have to spare some money if you want to use this car, after warranty this car needs extra money

• ben yap on Jul 23, 2012 at 9:40 am

SDAC should just concentrate on their expertise by the entire group, Sime Darby. They should just go building houses.

• wow..is ford sdac that bad?

their SD hyundai counterpart are quite ok…almost up to Honda stds, i owned both the straight & slanted “H”.

• sonyman on Jul 22, 2012 at 3:14 pm

half of the time i read, it sounds so much like a Volvo.

• yeah sounds like volvo, pay like volvo, depreciate (resale value)also like volvo

• YeapyEvo on Jul 23, 2012 at 12:13 pm

But is not a volvo …

• ichibawa1 on Aug 29, 2012 at 2:03 pm

FYI, the current Focus shares its chassis with Volvo (S50) and Mazda 3. Not sure about the Mk3, but would not be surprised if it did. The Duratech engine was originally developed by Mazda. There are some differences in certain components.

• leekowchai on Jul 22, 2012 at 5:48 pm

hope SDAC will price this baby aggressively like fiesta. I hope to see more blue oval cars on the road, and spare parts will be more common and less expensive. Fingers crossed.

• i also hope the priced will be about fiesta price 80k-90k.. but this focus, i dun think so. i scare about 100-150k

• helmi on Jul 22, 2012 at 10:59 pm

To SDAC, please listen why nobody here want to drive Ford despite Ford is a good car. The biggest issue is that your spare part price is crazy. For instant, the tail light for Escape is about RM1,200 per set. The intake flow parts (the devise near air filter) is about RM2000(yes.. TWO THOUSAND RM!), reverse light bulb RM40. If Toyota not even a quarter of that amount.

• ben yap on Jul 23, 2012 at 9:43 am

aiya, bro… don’t you know anything from Sime Darby is expensive? Look at their houses they sell? so expensive also. Their medical line, SJMC is also premium in price.

• helmi on Jul 22, 2012 at 11:02 pm

To SDAC, please listen why nobody here DONT want to drive Ford despite Ford is a good car. The biggest issue is that your spare part price is crazy. For instant, the tail light for Escape is about RM1,200 per set. The intake flow parts (the devise near air filter) is about RM2000(yes.. TWO THOUSAND RM!), reverse light bulb RM40. If Toyota not even a quarter of that amount.

• Extrimist on Jul 22, 2012 at 11:46 pm

In thailand, Focus 2.0L Ti-VCT GDi Sport (Hatch) is priced at 34% higher than Fiesta 5Dr 1.6L Sport+ PowerShift.

• terence on Jul 22, 2012 at 11:59 pm

Why no TDCI?? My remapped TDCI 173HP 410nm…. I am driving a monster..

• vengie on Jul 23, 2012 at 3:27 am

because it’s not reliable, it will break down in 2-3 years

• the spare part pricing is insane and waiting time for appointments is long…
    3 years is just masking the issue and malaysians are already paying for it in the price of the car. its not free in case all of you are wondering.

• matlimmutu on Jul 23, 2012 at 9:54 am

nothing special. front design is also not nice n ugly.

• Max.Sid on Jul 23, 2012 at 11:47 am

wait. I noticed something here: http://paultan.org/2012/07/21/driven-new-ford-focus-hatch-and-sedan-in-krabi/dsc_0141b-14/

The focus does not have Ford’s Easy Fuel thing like the fiesta. I wonder why.

• Garfield on Jul 23, 2012 at 11:57 am

There seem to be a lot of debate on the positioning and resale value of the car. A good point that if I’m not mistaken Oh Toh put in CBT yesterday was “if you’re looking at a resale value of a car, you’re only concerned about what other people value your car in the future; rather than putting a smile on your face every time you drive it”, or something like that. In the past I did say something similar to friends looking for advice in buying a car.

Personally, I applied what I mentioned with varying degree of cause and reason. And usually even if there were any tinge of regret, there are always positives to be taken away from each ownership.

Pity that for us due to high prices of ANY car sold in Malaysia, resale value lists very high in anybody’s concern and limits the experience we can have with motoring; and the very main reason why we’ll keep debating…..

• ichibawa1 on Aug 29, 2012 at 2:10 pm

It is very sad that many Malaysians are thinking about selling the car before they even bought it. I had no intention of buying a new car until SDAC started advertising the TDCi. I finally succumbed to the call of the 320Nm stock torque and went for a test drive. At the first drive, my decision was made. To hell with resale value. I am still driving with a smile on my face. I have also doubled my annual mileage since owning the TDCi.

• friedtapeplay on Jul 23, 2012 at 2:28 pm

hello
    imho,
    ugly on the outside
    beuuuuuuty on the inside.

thats not a gud situation dude.

• nice car, good review =) but am i the only one who see the front looks like catfish..? that 2 small pillar at bumper….

like this:
    http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_GdYIA6GiDko/TLi8ojjPedI/AAAAAAAAAvo/arP2JdP7RBA/s1600/fish_mouth_catfish.jpg

and this:
    http://www.google.com.my/imgres?q=ford+focus+sedan+ugly&um=1&hl=en&sa=N&biw=1280&bih=699&tbm=isch&tbnid=meqi1X6c0GqUyM:&imgrefurl=http://forums.focaljet.com/showthread.php%3Ft%3D641438&docid=kC0v_io66jp-0M&imgurl=http://i481.photobucket.com/albums/rr175/focustarmac/Catfocish.jpg&w=720&h=540&ei=dO8MUMeGNIXUrQe8_O3ICA&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=392&vpy=161&dur=290&hovh=194&hovw=259&tx=187&ty=94&sig=109615431949959620475&page=1&tbnh=158&tbnw=197&start=0&ndsp=15&ved=1t:429,r:1,s:0,i:75

….but the design grew on me very quickly, nice..

• mystvearn on Jul 23, 2012 at 4:18 pm

I missed this article when it first came out.

Danny, can I know if the rear seats fold flat? Not mentioned in the review.

The sedan version is ok la this time, compared to the last version which was an afterthought, though when you see the hatchback, you still want that one.

• gerald on Jul 24, 2012 at 2:27 pm

I like ford but after reading about spare parts and after sales quality, I am a bit worried. maybe Sdac should come put and give some assurance that ownership costs will be reduced and after sales quality will be improved and more centers opened. not like they are a small company, surely they can do it.

here’s hoping for the better.

• lemon on Jul 25, 2012 at 3:02 am

no, a lot of service centres are not enough, ford should supply the spare parts in 3 WORKING DAYS. who wants to be humiliated seen with pricey but cripple car?

• ichibawa1 on Aug 29, 2012 at 2:13 pm

Had my fuel pump replaced under warranty in 24hours at PJ SDAC.

• optimus on Jul 24, 2012 at 8:49 pm

like to auto parking assist ^^
    however that front lower bumper is too ugly. if its wider, maybe better looking. but its just to tall-ish.
    perhaps a front that looks like focus electric would be more nice.

• dilemma.. should i get a pug 408 1.6turbo or wait for the new ford focus

• Focused on Jul 25, 2012 at 12:29 pm

What about the legroom for rear passengers? Couldn’t find any info about it. Must be a weak selling point for this car.

In addition to tech, interior styling/space/comfort are also very important. It’s a shame when such a good car is giving higher ownership costs, due to poor after sales.

If Mazda could be turned around in M’sia, I really hope Ford too.

• Currently own the 2nd gen focus… have the pleasure to drive the car for almost 5 years now..
    I agree with most commenter that the spare parts and service charges at the SDAC are generally expensive.

To be honest I don’t encounter any problem or delay during the replacement of parts (I do make lots of parts replacement couple of months before the warrant ends just for the heck of it) and the service center personnels are easy to deal with. I have even change the whole rear bumper due to accident (charging the other party insurance of course) and it took SDAC PJ 2 weeks to replace it.

But after the warranty period ends, for any repairs or part replacement I went to my regular trustworthy workshop. So far parts ordered only took about max 1 day to arrive at the workshop and able to choose original or generic parts. Plus many of the parts are actually similar with Volvo S40 ( I think due to sharing the same platform).

Also any good workshop can service the car and there are also alternative ford service centers beside SDAC which are cheaper and can bring our own preferred engine oil.

Just sharing my experience.

• biglama on Jul 26, 2012 at 2:54 pm

Good, now i think i can buy that MK2 FOcus which now selling cheaper at 98k for new pre-owned one.

• The front of the Focus looks SO UGLY. Look at top gear’s august edition Ford Focus ST. That’s much better.

• A Yasir on Aug 01, 2012 at 8:00 pm

Danny, a couple of questions :
    – the third picture, the strip of red light near the interior door latch, what is it for, and how it is activated? Seems from the picture, it’s located at the front door. Does the rear door got the same as well?
    – IPI only works for parallel parking is it? Does it works for reverse parking as well?
    – how is the steering feel when pushing the car during corners? I used to own a JDM EG6 and during my time owning it, I transplanted DC2R’s front crossmember and steering rack. No free play, easy during slow drives + parking, and surprisingly the steering will become heavier and yet yet offers superb feedback and control when going faster, and in bends. Is the Focus’s steering rack offers the same as well [ seeing that it’s connected to the IPI system ]?

Thanks!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 04, 2012 at 5:04 pm

The red strip of lights is part of the ambient lighting, I took that pic from a low angle.

Active Park Assist is for parallel parking. Reverse parking should be straightforward enough to DIY

• Go get this! I am a very happy Ford owner, they are producing very good quality and to drive car…

• A Yasir on Aug 21, 2012 at 1:51 am

http://www.google.com.my/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&ved=0CEMQtwIwAQ&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Diib8F0XSg18&ei=SXgyUIC0B4rOrQfM7oEQ&usg=AFQjCNGfUDJfVj4XfHjaQMmvvqLEEWrKNQ

It’s only UKP 50.00 to install this option! Very cheap for something that’s really ingenious! Although I hope that this option will be available to MY units, I fear that it’s not available.

• I was so sad when read the negative comments regarding the SDAC..most people were talking based on hearsay and not actually experienced the bad except for those unlucky owners..i owns a fiesta and already went for a first time service at 10k (first time since i bought it 6 months ago)..made an appointment a week earlier, and service completed around 2 1/2 hours..FOC..guess it’s a normal..i still retain a good relationship with my SA until today and he is always available to help with anything regarding my car ..

one of my friend owns a Vios and the other one own an Insight..my fiesta wins a point in regular service department as they only got free service up until 10k but mine until 60k.. ;)

regarding the parts, i’m aware of this and always pray that the motorcyclist will never hit my side mirror :P ..it also made me really being careful when driving and increase my alert..surprisingly, ever since driving a fiesta, i started to think about enrolling to the advanced driving academy,because of the driving pleasure..

btw, its good that people keep bashing SDAC.. i think they have taken notice on this and improving gradually..

really looking forward if i can afford a focus someday.. :)

• gerald on Sep 09, 2012 at 7:56 pm

just want to know whether ip penang they can deal with the technology if need fixing.

would it be expensive to own?

• GPS? Multifunction TFT can play DVD? No HDD?

• kuzak on Sep 18, 2012 at 12:34 am

danny, how long does it take the car to move 0-100km/h? both for hatch and sedan. would extremely appreciate if you could help me answer that.

• nj lottery on Oct 24, 2012 at 9:29 pm

There is definately a lot to know about this subject. I love all of the points you made.

• Michael on Jan 02, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Dear all, do anyone have any information whether the MyFord Touch will be deployed to the Malaysia’s Focus as an upgraded feature than the 4.2″ multi-function display?

• Gonna get either ST or Titanium soon. Resale value is not an issue if u have good RM in your wallet :)