SsangYong Actyon Sports pickup and Actyon SUV facelifts launched, RM86k to RM129k

Competitive Supreme has introduced the facelifted SsangYong Actyon Sports XDi 200 XVT pickup as well as the Actyon AWD e-XDI 200 XVT SUV. The vehicles were launched last night at the company’s main facility in Petaling Jaya.

First up, the Actyon Sports, which is available in 2WD and 4WD forms, both guises powered by a 2.0 litre e-XDI turbodiesel mill offering 155 PS at 4,000 rpm and 360 Nm 1,500 to 2,800 rpm. This is mated to a six-speed automatic transmission on both variants.

Exterior-wise, the styling gets tightened a fair bit, especially at the front. Rakish would best describe the nose, which gets a taut-looking hood, mesh grille, trapezoidal bumper and black headlight bezels for elements. The 4WD version wears 18-inch alloys, while the 2WD variant goes with 16s.

The cabin has been spruced up too. The overall theme is set by a combination of black and metallic finishes, and the seats are finished in leather. Interior kit includes a powered driver’s seat, electrically adjustable and power folding door mirrors, rear parking sensors and a leather-wrapped steering wheel.

Other elements include Bluetooth connectivity, an LED illuminated instrument cluster and Eco cruise control. Elsewhere, a bed liner comes as standard fitment, and there’s also a sunroof in the mix. Safety kit includes two airbags, ESP, hill start assist, among others.

Pricing-wise, the Actyon Sports XDi 20 XVT 4×2 automatic goes for RM84,888, while the 4×4 automatic is RM89,888, both on-the-road without insurance. Seven exterior shades are available for the pickup.

As for the SUV, the facelifted fourth-generation C200 (known as the Korando in most markets) arrives in all-wheel drive form, also powered by a 2.0 litre e-XDI mill, though the D20D TF offers 175 PS at 4,000 rpm and 360 Nm at 2,000 to 3,000 rpm. It’s matched to a six-speed automatic tranny.

Plenty of kit on the 1,747 kg vehicle, with six-way powered driver’s seat, leather seats, sunroof, roof spoiler, electric power steering, cruise control and 18-inch alloys wrapped with 225/55 series rubbers (with full-size spare) part of the item inventory. As for the boot area, it offers 486 litres of cargo space.

Safety kit includes two airbags, ABS. EBD, traction control, ESP, brake assist, active rollover protection and hill start assist. Also on, first row active head restraints and ISOFIX points on the rear seats.

A choice of tan and black interior themes can be had, while six exterior colours abound, the palette list reading Tonic Grey, Vitamin Red, Silent Silver, Sable Grey, Grand White and Space Black as the available shades. The Actyon AWD e-XDI 200 XVT goes for RM128,888, again on-the-road without insurance, and comes with a three-year/100,000 km factory-backed warranty.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I guess 130k for 175ps is pretty powerful for the money, but 130k for a Ssangyong? pretty expensive.

• theanswer on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:22 am

agree and disagree..175ps is powerful for 2.0 diesel. 130k for diesel means the cheapest diesel suv around right? but still it’s a ssanyong.

• Wow. The cheapest SUV almost-full featured available, and far cheaper than its fellow Koreans.

Too bad parts availablilty seems to be only widely available in KV area. Don’t know how it fares outside of it. My friend is facing a big headache trying to source for spare parts in KK, which there are none.

• Bell&Ross on Sep 07, 2012 at 1:16 am

not sure if good cars or not, but they look rather interesting.

• KELUANGMAN on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:25 am

They’re good reliable cars. I have the previous actyon, served well for 5 years already. No problem servicing at NSS Glenmarie, cost is reasonable. Among the most comfortable pickup truck in market, no thanks to its rear coil spring. Pretty frugal with diesel too.

• incognito on Sep 07, 2012 at 1:25 am

Saga BLM on steroids :P.

Anyway the steering wheel on the Acyton pickup looks kinda cluttered with those buttons all lined up on each sides.

• is it just me, or the actyon has Jag’s nose?

• alex chan on Sep 07, 2012 at 8:57 am

hilux is a better buy lah..

• confused on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:07 am

Clean looking design.

• isuzuki on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:50 am

Saw one around Serdang this morning (the Ute)

• Jilbaber on Sep 07, 2012 at 10:24 am

SsangYong design start to improve

• scoobydoo on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:17 pm

the suv not bad.
    i still remember those days when rexton came out we can see it quite a lot on road.

• Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2012 at 8:20 am

Well, you see a lot of Rexton in the repair yard now covered in thick dust while waiting for parts to arrive

• Laura Teoh on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:19 pm

Thanks for coming to our launch! Was an honour having you!
    Should anyone need more information or a test drive, kindly do not hesitate to contact me @ 0124727002 :)
    Happy weekend!

• gOOsh on Sep 07, 2012 at 2:56 pm

another options for SUV… I LIKE… :)

• Should have an option of 2WD……town use no need AWD…..

• Laura Teoh on Sep 08, 2012 at 10:45 pm

hi Andy. 2wd will be available again soon.
      if you give me your contact details, i can inform you when the cars arrive :)

• Laura Teoh on Sep 08, 2012 at 11:20 pm

oh, i forgot to mention, that the Actyon AWD features a Torque on Demand four wheel drive system which constantly monitors the level of grip available and distributes power to the wheels that need it most, normally driving just the front wheels to aid fuel consumption (i.e. a 2WD). that’s why most of our owners prefer the accessories and features loaded AWD :)

• Sam Loo on Sep 30, 2012 at 6:30 pm

This Brand does not have LOW RV, but it has NO RV at all.

Avoid at all cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • there is no ESP in the actyon sports , please clarify .

• Peter on Jan 14, 2013 at 3:01 am

Hi, anyone knows where I can get accessories for the Ssangyong Actyon Sports eg. rear guard, bumper guard, step up bar, roll up cover and sports bar.

Many 4×4 accessories shops say they dont have the fittings foe a Ssangyong.

• harun on Aug 21, 2019 at 3:43 pm

used to have an actyon pickup, sold it and bought the actyon suv. Bought it used and has been serving me loyally for 3 years. It is reliable and comfortable and the engine is one of the most underrated diesel engines out there. If you are looking for comfort this suv is the way to go