SsangYong Korando – fourth-gen gets facelifted

The fourth-generation SsangYong Korando has been given a mild facelift, with the rework package consisting of a wider choice of new powertrains, an upgraded exterior and interior as well as improved refinement.

The vehicle, better known as the Actyon here, debuted in Geneva, and brings along two new engines for the ride, a 149 PS 2.0 litre eco diesel unit and a 2.0 litre petrol mill – these will be available in 2WD and AWD form, wearing manual transmissions.

External revisions are minimum, led by a chrome-coated mesh radiator grille and contemporary-looking hybrid wiper blades. Inside, the trim has been upgraded to a carbon grain pattern in line with the car’s active look. The switchgear gets a high-gloss finish, and the instrument cluster gets improved LED illumination.

As for improvements to NVH, a revised gearing along with a new engine casing helps to reduce diesel engine noise, while an enhanced transmission control system improves the overall driving experience.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jerry tan on Mar 08, 2012 at 6:18 pm

yuckie….. still better than before

• the Korando is offcially sold in Malaysia right? I see one or two on the road and they do look quite good.

• no flash on Mar 08, 2012 at 7:18 pm

korando?macam keranda..

• no flash on Mar 08, 2012 at 7:18 pm

korando?macam keranda.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 0
  • Saab 93 - Hirsch Tuned on Mar 08, 2012 at 10:22 pm

hopes tis version had improved d gear shift issue encountered by few owners [early bird]

FC will be less than 10l/100km

power window issue solved

tune it via Vector-Tunning will make tis compact SUV “fast & furiuous”

CRV will feel WOW, how come can goes so fast?????

• viciouscougar on Mar 29, 2012 at 2:56 pm

hi , i recently bought this car and have been using it for 2 mths. i doubt they have improve the window screen and the gear . overall the car is ok but the air cond coil is making a lot of noise at time during the heating or cooling im told. i have been goin up and down to the service centre to rectify the so called absorber . strange… it is a new car but well as long as they willing to rectify it , i guess im ok . the first 2 weeks i felt so ‘terkilan ‘ frustrated with the whole thing . well maybe im the unlucky one …

• dodohbirdz on Mar 09, 2012 at 2:27 am

korando? mcm kerandut da bunyi dier.

• zacharygibson on Mar 09, 2012 at 7:19 am

In Negeri Sembilan malay dialect, Korando means coffin. The Malaysian distributor should seriously consider changing the name for Malaysian market….

• asmara on Mar 09, 2012 at 12:56 pm

korando??? tak nak den naik keto ni, apolak korando namo he?? korando tu kan “coffin” baso orhang putih he! Den tak nak mati laiii….

What a funny name, for us the Negeri Sembilan folks, we like the name Kia “Rondo” because it means “patrol” not petrol dear!!! So when they say “marhi pogi rondo”, it’s simply means “let’s go for a joy ride”. Korando???, who want to get into a “coffin”???…alive! ha,ha,ha….ssang yong….ssogan den…..

• unnon on Mar 09, 2012 at 8:35 pm

ssang yong team are not from nogori sombilan.. so, you cannot complain anything about that coffin name.. huhu.

• d driver on Mar 11, 2012 at 5:03 pm

Since it is called actyon here, i dun see it as any issue. Am considering diesel now cause the current model gives 175bhp n abt 350 torque, that’s pretty powerful for a 2.0 liter diesel turbo. Next is the test drive, try to work it out this mth

• Kenichi on Apr 06, 2013 at 7:40 pm

Good quality car, body steel compact n tough. Try use ya car and hit the korando? I m sure it safe than yours. Good job Ssangyong Team.