Hyundai i30 three-door hatch for Paris world debut

This is the newest member of Hyundai’s ‘New Generation’ i30 family – which already consists of the five-door hatchback and Tourer estate – and, dare we say, the sportiest-looking, for it has the least number of doors.

If you’re one of our regular readers, you may be trying to recall where you’ve seen this before lately. Yes, the Kia cee’d and Hyundai i30 share the same platform, so it follows that the Kia pro_cee’d and the three-door i30 are practically blood brothers – both will make their first world appearance at the upcoming Paris motor show.

The three-door i30 is offered with a choice of four engines and five power outputs. Six-speed manual and automatic gearboxes are available. According to the Korean company, the U-II 1.6 litre diesel delivers the best ratio of power to efficiency in the segment – 128 PS and only 97 grams per km of CO2.

The exterior gets some brief updates all round, most noticeable of which are the daytime-running LEDs and exclusive 16-inch alloys.

Hyundai says the three-door i30 is “designed, engineered and manufactured in Europe, for Europe.” The car is built in the Czech Republic, and R&D is done in Germany. Suspension setup is specific to the Continent, and a FLEX STEER feature allows drivers to control the amount of steering assistance.

As always, more details when the wraps officially come off!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• hello on Sep 17, 2012 at 11:39 am

hey it’s a 308!!

• mentari driver on Sep 17, 2012 at 12:39 pm

its 308…
      but this one is made in Korea…

:)

• kimikira on Sep 17, 2012 at 2:03 pm

bro ,i suggest you go eye surgery to check up.

• I think you need it more..

• hello on Sep 18, 2012 at 12:18 am

there’s this thing, people call it as a joke.

If you don’t know what joke is, look up the dictionary, the meaning of joke is you.

• gkool on Sep 17, 2012 at 4:28 pm

so what’s the power output? don’t tell me ir cannot even beat 205nm cfe torque. i want it has at least 240nm like prince. other than that, it’s rubbish

• Hyundai De La Junk on Sep 17, 2012 at 5:21 pm

Pug 308 ripped off ! These Korean Pirate have sense of shame, Pthui..

• cutester on Sep 17, 2012 at 6:17 pm

Nice but where is the ix20? The one replacing Matrix.

• 308 mix with VW Scirocco ! but it’s ok bcoz this is one good looking car.

• Mario Gomez on Sep 17, 2012 at 11:48 am

Better than the ugly Focus Sport hatch.

• Ekspresi Ruang on Sep 17, 2012 at 11:48 am

A very sleek design.
    Very nice.
    It should be no problem selling hot in Malaysia.

• accordmania on Sep 17, 2012 at 11:50 am

front view looks like 308

• Mario Gomez on Sep 17, 2012 at 11:50 am

Hyundai Elantra euro version.
    Will consider it when come to Malaysia

• Philip on Sep 17, 2012 at 11:57 am

Front 3 quarter look so similar to Peugeot 308 prefacelift

• omg peugeot!

• Drebar on Sep 17, 2012 at 1:09 pm

Where is Preve not show-off in Paris autoshow kah?

Any global car must participate in most global autoshow lah…unless it’s a pretending fake global car lah

• izz ariff on Sep 17, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Thought it was 308..

• they should release i20 here first.

• kimikira on Sep 17, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Korean domestic conquer global…oppa hyundai style

• Lemonguy on Sep 17, 2012 at 3:41 pm

Spec is ok but depends the price, below rm85k should be ok

• thebosssedangbercakap on Sep 17, 2012 at 6:14 pm

ripoff from audi’s q7 and q5 bonnets. boo korea.

• MechanicOlet on Sep 17, 2012 at 6:51 pm

308 mutated !

• Danda on Sep 17, 2012 at 7:46 pm

Wtf. A rip of 308! Korean are only good at copy cat! Must sue them like apple stevejob sue korean samsung until they finished 40 bilion just to make them bleed like hell

• lolz... on Sep 17, 2012 at 7:52 pm

Ya I know rite !!!….It looks so much like the 308.They both have Hatchback bodies,4 wheels………

• a new car cant avoid looking like other outgoing models on the road bcoz whatelse can u do to be totally different unless u hv a better idea making a car with 5 or more tyres idiot!!! Alwayz complain this car looks like that car lah n that car looks like this car lah….build yur own bullock cart la idiot if u want yur car to be completely different!!!

• So in order to avoid copying you design a fugly car like what Toyota and Honda is trying to do? ROFLMAO…

Good things deserved to be copied, bad things no. You get sued or not that’s another matter.

• what… 308?? where is Kia’s “signature” tiger nose grill?

• oh its Hyundai.. I messed the hell up with these Korean copycats..

• Carwash on Sep 18, 2012 at 4:33 pm

Those korean car bashers are k-pop luvers….lalalalala

• Sam Loo on Sep 18, 2012 at 7:46 pm

I love Korean Cars, after they depreciate 50% within the 1st year

• Peugeot cars have poor reliability…might as well get this..Korean cars are more reliable than the old days.

• Obviously Korean design/styling will have European influence. Both Kia and Hyundai designers are Europeans. Their design studios are in Germany if I’m not wrong…I don’t think they are copying any other make. Similarities will be there..that cannot be helped. At least it’s not a clone line what Chinese manufacturers do.

• hyundai user on Sep 19, 2012 at 8:13 am

I hv seen this car on the road in Brunei, why Malaysia is also behind others?

• hyundai accent on Sep 19, 2012 at 8:15 am

I hv seen this car on the road in Brunei, why Malaysia is alway behind others?

• Paultan’s mostly full of korean supporters, when other cars, they said copied, if korean then said similarity in design. Admit it pls…

• Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:14 am

That’s because Korean Car owners are in desperate need to create a positive perception on their low RV ride in hope that when they sell, they can get the kind of trade in prices for Toyota on Honda.

Sad to say, all their effort has failed miserably

• Hyundai Fan on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:44 pm

If you anti Korean car, then don’t use Samsung handphone or buy Samsung TV.