Hyundai i30 Wagon revealed ahead of Geneva debut

The second-generation Hyundai i30 that was unveiled in September last year welcomes a new family member in the shape of this wagon. Revealed ahead of its Geneva world debut, the Hyundai i30 Wagon shares engines and running gear with the five-door C segment hatchback, but has a longer body.

Designed for European tastes at Hyundai’s R&D Centre in Rüsselsheim, Germany, the i30 Wagon, at 4,485 mm long, is 185 mm longer than the five-door hatch, making it one of the most spacious vehicles in segment. It’s also 10 mm longer than the original i30 wagon.

Compared with the hatch, the wagon expands trunk space from 378 litres to a best-in-class 528 litres – fold down the rear seats and cargo volume increases more than three fold to 1,642 litres.

Like the hatch, the Wagon’s front is distinguished by Hyundai’s hexagon-shaped grille and prominent “eyes”. From the B-pillar backwards, the wagon has its own style. The roofline slopes to add dynamism to the fluidic sculpture body, while a pronounced swage line runs horizontally along the sides of the body and rises all the way to the rear lights.

Click here for our previous post on the new i30 hatchback.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nice

• kimi_ on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:47 pm

Off topic: Hey Paul, please post the picture of Lee Chong Wei’s White ferrari !

• ss427 on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:26 am

Ahh…. very nice indeed… The new rear end looks sharp and sporty. There’s a hint of Opel Astra wagon styling in it but it’s another great execution from Hyundai.

It’s only natural SG will get the new i30 wagon. The current i30 wagon is already a pretty well design car.

But if you ask me, I’d still prefer the recently launched i40 wagon :)
    http://www.hyundaimotors.com.sg/ebrochures/i40.pdf

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:49 am

Borring !!

Elantra Head + Lancer Fastback Real.

Too many Hyundai Model begin to lok all the same just like Samsung Phone.

• Yea, maybe perhaps. The japs are not doing any better.

But I admit, japs are good at producing reliable dugongs.

• civic owner on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:44 am

BMW cars also all look the same..

• kadajawi on Feb 24, 2012 at 1:18 pm

WTF? BMW is trying to differentiate their cars so hard that they produce some of the ugliest ones, because there are only so many ways how to produce a pretty front end. If you say that about VW, Audi, etc. I can agree. But BMW? Look at X1, new 1 series, 6 series, … why don’t these look more like the old 3 series or new 5 series? Or even the new 3 series, which isn’t that bad either. But the new 1 series is so deliberately ugly that I know a few who won’t buy it, just because of that.

• Bro or sister whatever…if u think that BMW is ugly but i like the BMW design…yes the X1 and 1 series is not that nice for me but 6 series is an angle ! anyway if i have the chance to get a car for free in my dreams i’ll take the branded brand BMW first over a Hyundai !

• kadajawi on Feb 26, 2012 at 9:19 pm

6 series… mh, no. I’ll take a 550d. Or 535d. The Touring version. Those are gorgeous. If the 1 series would have been the miniature version of that, fine. But they tried to differentiate…

• ss427 on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:52 am

Oh dear… is Maserati Bro on MC today? His twin brother is here…. LOL :D

• I saw Kia Forte head especially around the side mirror area..

• dcarlines on Apr 20, 2012 at 5:11 pm

hahahahha… LOL
      like samsung, why not like nokia brad?

• Sprinter on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:57 am

hope they will bring it to Malaysia….nice looking car…..

• roadrunner on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:41 am

cantiknye kereta ni….

• rear light on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:43 am

Danny,
    Will you investigate when the Veloster will arrive in Malaysia? i cant wait anymore. i am also waiting for Focus Titanium.. the Veloster’s 1.6 Turbo seems delicious and Focus 2.0 Tdci is impressive.. Whichever comes first, i’ll buy… Waiting is suffering..

• ss427 on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:23 pm

Hi bro, I don’t know which part of Bolehland you’re from, but if you’re visiting SG one of these days, you may drop by any Hyundai showroom here.

The regular Veloster 1.6L GDI is here already…. with a 6speed dual clutch transmission. Official launch date is 16 Mar 2012.

The 201hp turbo version will be here in the 4 quarter as a 2013 model.

• wolfsburg on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:55 pm

Hard to believe that Komoco is bringing the GDi Veloster to SG. Even their i40 is a non-GDi unit.

• ss427 on Feb 24, 2012 at 5:01 pm

I know, but somehow they’ve brought in the Nu 2L GDI i40 in SG

See here… this is the local brochure
          http://www.hyundaimotors.com.sg/ebrochures/i40.pdf

The initial few units for testing were standard non GDI Theta II.

Guess they have to being in fully loaded and top of the line engines models since the i40 costs a heady SG$160k these days no thanks to the $80000 piece of invisible paper… !@#$%^ :(

• rear light on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:13 pm

Bro wolfsburg,
        I have no intention to take a peek..I have no intention to test drive..i want to marry them..But if Veloster 1.6 Turbo is not coming,i have to marry with Ford Focus Titanium 2.0 Tdci..but if both of them not coming,my 3rd choice will be Sonata or Audi A4 (ex-old-gf)..but, i need to marry with one of them by next month..so,hyundai malaysia and ford malaysia, whoever wants me to be your next son-in-law,bring your daughter to malaysia quickly..

• Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:35 pm

Patience is a virtue :) The cars will be coming, but perhaps not in the spec that you’re salivating over!

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Beeeeppp ! Bingo !

Veloster will come with 1.6 NA Engine not even GDI moreover Turbo, They don’t drink our Euro 2 Fuel, so dream on until Euro 4 Fuel is implement maybe arround 2015.

ss427
        Maserati alway shoot blank. my posting is lethally loaded, definately no twin of my.

David D
        Shut Up ! Don’t answer my posting, put the pacifier back in to your mouth.

• David D on Feb 24, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Ah, a self appointed moderator here. What gives you the right to ask me to shut up, when it is you, a baseless basher who keeps bashing the Koreans of whatsoever for no valid grounds, when it is you who needs to grow up. Judging by the downvotes you get from your comments in almost every posting of hatred you’re trying to make, it is you, with a rather silly name to make yourself famous, who is the one who should get a pacifier right in your mouth, and get your facts right before you keep spewing such lies and rubbish comments.

Think before you start opening that mouth of yours, Junk. You reap what you sow. And blogs like this won’t really be nice to you if you keep having this pointless attitude. And give credit where it’s due.

Anyways, back to the i30 wagon, it’s nice, but the front doesnt really work for me. And it’s too early to give initial assumptions as the car isn’t even out yet, so i’d reserve my comments until the proper thing is put on sale.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 24, 2012 at 8:38 pm

The truth is alway hard to swallowed by Korean Car Salesman/Lackey/Fanboy & Pacifier Sucker like you.

David D posting can only be spotted in Korean car related article, as usually he will shut his eye & mouth when there is baseless bashing on car of other country origin, but cry like a baby lossing his pacifier when a Korean car receive bad comments.

Grow up Boy ! Maybe by shutting your mouth, more energy can be channel to your brain to make it more effective & start thinking.

Back to car again, still boring nothing new, i mean how many segment Hyundai intend to use the same facial design, Ion, i10, Accent/Verna, Elantra, i30, i40, Genesis,Tucson now this, don’t that remind you of Galaxy Mini, Ace, Y, W, S, S2, R & etc which merely different in size but same design, even if the desgn mike look atractive initially but soon it get bored, how would you like to be serve with Kimchi for Breakfast, Lunch, Tea, Dinner & Supper every day ? i am sure in 1 month time you would be having Kimchi Phobia.

• David D on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:59 pm

Well, let’s get this straight. The reason why i start reading more on the Koreans is because of the strides they had made, which 10 years back, i didnt really bother. And it seems as the Koreans and Contis slowly start rising and improving bit by bit, the number of anti-Korean people who try to talk rubbish in every single Korean car post really riles me up. Same thing goes for donkeys who try to talk garbage about other cars.

All companies have a design theme, so if you may notice, why does Audi have a similar corporate face. How about Nissan, Toyota, even Proton for the matter. Your innate picking for the Koreans shows who’s the more biased person here, and the more illogical person.

In a way, as how regulars here on Paul Tan may notice, is the unwanted appearance and ranting from a really foolish person like you. Yes, i understand you want your voice to be heard. But look at yourself. Pathetic to the core. Always attacking people for voicing out towards your baseless opinion.

I don’t even know what to say, just that i want to point out that i could be younger than you, one who tries to think of other cars rather than calling this car junk, that car junk, or whatsoever crap. Another lolly for you. Grow up, for heavens’ sake. This attitude isn’t taking you far.

Let me put it in this way, the Japanese have received too much glorific attentions over the years, so, like how like-minded commentators feel here, that credit has to be given to the Koreans for their progress which even an Accord owner like me never expected. Mind you, i drive a Toyota and Honda each, so i’m not trying to be too much of a nit-picking here.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 25, 2012 at 12:28 pm

I provide basis to every bit bad comment on Korean Car, those word turn garbage/bashing or what ever craps when it turn out in your posting.

Poor thing you have eye sight problem at your age, since when Toyota, Honda even Proton have the same facial design from A – D segment ? at most maybe 2 segment, do you see same facial for Brio, City, Civic & Accord ? or Vios, Corolla & Camry ? or Saga, Persona, Exora ? make an appointment for eye specialist & a shrink, you are having Hallucination.

As i said if you can’t stand those negative comment on Korean car, you can either shut you eye or start up you our blog which talk about Korean Car only & accept only good comment on Korean Car.

It is the people like you that praise those Korean Car even it is no good & repetitive facial design, i believe you are old enough to have heard of Empreror New Cloth Story (which i will not go details), it is people like you who prevent Korean car from progress by not knowing the mistake they made & try to sweep it under carpet.

Earn your own money buy your own car, then start bragging, as if every body do not know Dear David D Boy family have an Matrix, Accent & Innova, Accord, which you need to advertise on every posting you made.

• kadajawi on Feb 26, 2012 at 9:23 pm

Kia has hired the chief designer from VW (boss over all VW owned brands) to give Kia a family face, before he got hired they all looked different. That is what car manufacturers want. A VW has to be recognizable as a VW, instantly. Audi too. BMW to a degree, also (they have had that liver up front since the 50s or so). Mercedes does the same thing. So does Ford, Opel/Vauxhall, Renault, Citroen, Peugeot, … basically all big manufacturers try to keep a design line, have the cars look somewhat similar, so that you can recognize them as being of a certain brand in an instant.

And now you bash them for exactly that? The only brands that sometimes fail doing so are the Japanese ones. Which aren’t that popular anymore in Europe.

• rear light on Feb 24, 2012 at 8:50 pm

Can’t wait anymore..everyday thinking of Veloster and Titanium..if both of them are girls, i’ll marry both..Love Hurts you know..

• YooHyuk on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:14 pm

Saw this on Running Man, at the first, i thought it is veloster the interior almost same like veloster… then i realize this is new i30.. plz bring this baby to Malaysia to replace the ugly old i30 and the price, please dont overpriced like the current i30…

• Jerry on Feb 24, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Is station wagon the new MPV according to Hyundai?

We haven’t seen a new MPV in the Korean slate for a long time since the forgettable Trajet from the early noughties.

• ss427 on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:09 pm

You’re right. Seems like Hyundai is in no hurry to build a new MPV. Perhaps there’s not much market for it

They’d refer you to the Starex (aka H1 in some markets) if you want a full size passenger van. Perhaps not in the same lux league as Alphard or Elgrand, but the Starex can certainly sits 8 comfortably.

• wolfsburg on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Actually a new Hyundai MPV is on the way already and may be called ix30. The side line looking quite similar to the ix20 so maybe the ix30 is a stretched version.
      http://www.worldcarfans.com/112021641217/hyundai-ix30-mpvcrossover-spied-dancing-on-ice/lowphotos#2

• Hikayat Protongkat by Tun Sri Ajaw

…Unfair to compare Hyundai-Kia and Protongkat on when they setup business (Hyundai-Kia 1950s, Protongkat 1982)

…The correct, fair way to compare is when both Hyundai-Kia and Protongkat enter global market (1980s) and how what they gain from that

Look at Hyundai-Kia went to USA, Euro markets in 1980s, 1990s even with crappy shitty cars but it’s ok they go for volume economics

After 10, 20 years later Hyundai-Kia learn the hard way as jokes in USA but now American redknecks begging to work in their big factories Alabama

Now look at Protongkat…very silly stupid excuses saying USA is evil satan kafir country cannot enter market…but can go to UK market hmmm isn’t it UK also ally with USA then UK also evil satan kafir country…yet Protongkat enter UK market evil satan kafir country…how hypocrite eh..???

There you go Protongkat lost volume economics in USA market…but how many volume economics gained from puny tiny UK market to Protongkat so far???

This is clearly stupid logic employed by Protongkat…Loss of volume economics means loss of long-term funds needed to develop lots of car models platforms…

Where else now Protongkat look for volume economics? China? Forget about it how much youngman sells now. China drive Ferrari Lambo to go to pasar sayur just like rich Pak Arab in pink Veyron check his camel ranch. India? Do you think Maruti Tata folks give easy Indian market access no way lah macha. Our ASEAN market? Heh heh heh look at how Thai buyer cursed their Protongkat already…ever heard how loud Thai screaming insults heh heh heh even the elephants will fly off lah…

Sorry lah Protongkat…it’s all too little too late now…

Either close shop or sell-off to Hyundai-Kia at least the Tanjung Malim, Shah Alam factory running at full capacity…

If Hyundai-Kia can produce cheap car with great design so let them be they deserve it and car buyer happy worth buying it…

That’s all my story for today…it’s called Hikayat Protongkat by Tun Sri Ajaw…jgn marah nanti kena jual he he he…

p/s.Hey Protongkat better close their Thailand business lah he he he big joke already bikin malu betul lah kawan…

• ss427 on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Well said bro. In the P321 thread someone claimed that the Exora was considered pretty good by the Thais and Indonesian… Well… what were they comparing the Exora with?? The CMI Avanza and Innova right? Potong can only select the lowest, crappist opponents to compete with and then proclaim how good they are…

Well no one said that the Avanza and Innova are great cars… And these cars were build by Toyota to reap max profits from emerging markets as they’re all based on cheap and crude delivery van and truck chassis. If you enjoy truck like driving experience even though its only a subcompact with a 1.5L engine, then perhaps the Avanza is for you.

Do you know why Potong failed so miserably in SG? Becos Potong (Exora in this case) was expected, or rather required, to compete with well established mainstream models eg Toyota Wish 2L Valvematic, Honda Stream RSZ, VW Touran etc…

There’s no crappy designed Avanza or Innova here. So Potong can’t select the lowest competitors and gain any adv from them. For their Gen2, Persona and the OMG Saga, the cars are too poor built and the styling is just too much of a niche market. It’s virtually impossible for us Sillyporeans to consider Potong since we’re all used to the excellent styling from the western, Japs and now Korean offerings.

And as I’ve said before, when Potong leaves Bolehland where it is pitted against everyone else on a level playing field, the inherited shortcomings becomes apparent immediately…and like I said earlier, something is not right when the Persona costs more than the Forte 1.6SX in SG!…. LOL

Cars in SG is the highest in this planet no thanks to our $$ faced gov and their blood sucking policies. Yet Hyundai and Kia managed to do very well here even though their $$ went through the roof too. We now pay almost SG$80000 for a piece of invisible (and intangible) paper called COE..

As I’ve suggested in the P321 thread, Proton needs to follow and study the Koreans on how to succeed in the car making biz. I’m aware there are many red tapes in Proton and many suppliers were accused of graft with Proton too.,,, supplying Proton with crap parts at high price yet Proton will buy from them.

If somehow Proton can overcome all these nonense, they can start by setup R&D centers in USA and Euro, and maybe China and Korea too.

Proton needs to understand and built what your customers want, not what Proton CEO wants. Your malay centric styling is not going to get you anywhere far. Non malays certainly won’t accept such styling…more so if you’re a westerner.

Tell me people, why is it that the Korean can build an ‘american’ car (eg Sonata, Azera, Optima) almost as good as the US Big 3 can do, and why the Koreans can build cars eg the i30 series, Cee’d in Europe and they looked and feel Europeans?? It is becos they hired their country’s talents to find out what the general public wants.

• nice one, there is a little bit of Volvo in the front bumper.. overall….another ‘freshly-baked product’ from the hyundai oven! love this

• What ever people say about Korean cars design is nice ke,….futuristic ke I’m sticking with Japanese cars due to its reliability and cost of ownership. PS I’m not a fan of Toyota……..dugong ..

Peace…..

• This Hyundai easily can sell if they offer 1.7crdi engine plus third row seats.

• hyundai and kia design very futuristic and nice. not like old fashion Honda and Toyota anymore.

• Nadav on Feb 27, 2012 at 12:11 am

Amazing work, foresight, and engineering by Hyundai.
    This is precisely what I (and I can only imagine thousands of American families need). As a family of 4, the new 2013 Elantra GT is indeed sporty, but doesn’t offer enough cargo space for longer trips and camping gear even for a small family.
    The outgoing Elantra Touring had great functional design, but with the new engine and interior of the GT, it leaves it in the dust.
    What is the deal with the obsession Americans have with gas guzzling/awful handling of SUV’s?
    With that said, there is not a single affordable and functional wagon here in the States. I will give the Mazda CX-5 a serious look when the diesel configuration, with a crazy 310(!) lbs feet torque – CRAZY.
    I would love to get another Hyundai as my 2002 hatchback has been great value and served us well.
    Anyway, I have already emailed Hyundai several times, and this is just another venting into cyberspace.
    Bring the i30 wagon – I’m all in!