Honda CR-Z facelift – more details and interior pix

More details about the facelifted Honda CR-Z, which made its surprise world debut a week ago in Indonesia. The car is being showcased in Paris, the venue where it was originally supposed to have premiered.

We reported that exterior changes were made up of a newly-designed front grille and front bumper, reworked fog lamps, new HID headlamps, rear LED combination lamps, door mirrors, rear diffuser and a new design 17-inch alloy wheel – no additions to that.

We also mentioned that the hybrid’s output had been upped, and the latest numbers have just a slight variation from that reported earlier, with the 1.5 litre i-VTEC mill offering 121 PS (earlier, 120 PS in Indonesia) at 6,600 rpm and 146 Nm at 4,800 rpm for the six-speed manual, while it’s 118 PS for the CVT, with the 100-volt IMA motor providing 20 PS and 78 Nm.

As for combined output from the IMA hybrid system, that’s pretty much spot on too, 137 PS (earlier reported as 136 PS in Indonesia) at 6,600 rpm and 190 Nm between 1,000 rpm to 2,000 rpm, a jump of 13 PS and 16 Nm over the pre-facelift. For the CVT, it’s 135 PS at 6,600 rpm and 172 Nm from 1,000 rpm to 3,000 rpm.

Aside from an interior pix and studio shots of the car in its Premium Northern Lights Violet shade, additional info reveals that the car now features a lithium-ion battery, and the change from the previous nickel-metal hybrid (Ni-MH) unit has helped increase the the motor’s power output from 14 PS (10 kW) to 20 PS (15 kW). Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 9.0 seconds (9.7 sec on current car) and a top speed of 200 km/h.

Elsewhere, the engine has been updated with changes to the variable valve timing system and ECU. An anti-vibration knock sensor has been introduced and the material of the crankshaft has been upgraded.

Finally, an explanation of how the Plus Sport (S+) boost system works, even though it’s not all complete. If the battery is more than 50% charged, the driver can activate the system using the S+ button on the steering wheel. When the accelerator is pressed, an electric boost delivers increased acceleration for up to 10 seconds.

A flashing gauge on the dashboard indicates when the system is active, and S+ can be used in Econ, Normal or Sport modes. No word as to how much it all is in specific numbers in terms of output and performance improvement, so that’s a pretty half-baked explanation thus far.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• mystvearn on Sep 28, 2012 at 12:42 am

1 PS! Really minor facelift.

• mystvearn on Sep 28, 2012 at 12:43 am

Opps, my bad, there are more enhancements

• Paul Tan on Sep 28, 2012 at 12:52 am

The 1PS difference was the difference between what we reported in our IIMS2012 story and this Paris2012 story, not the difference between pre-facelift and facelift.

• mystvearn on Sep 28, 2012 at 4:50 am

I was wondering if current CRZ owners could just tune their ECU to get more power from the engine. Of course the battery is different though

• confused with linear torque, why 190 Nm between 1,000 rpm to 2,000 rpm? the max torque only for IMA (78nm), not the engine alone. the engine only get max torque at 4,8000rpm

• mystvearn on Sep 28, 2012 at 12:44 am

That S+ Sounds a lot like KERS in F1

• ThePolygon on Sep 28, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Sorry pressing a button to get boost is not how KERS works… here is how it works on a Volvo
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5l4GNHhql8Y
        The S++ button is more of a boost of the battery power to the electric motor to push it (enable faster drainage of battery to provide more power to the motor). Up to 10 seconds probably due to the motor can’t take it for too long.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 28, 2012 at 1:10 am

Indeed, it is as Paul said. I have added the point about the 1 PS difference from the numbers revealed “in Indonesia” in the parentheses, so as to avoid confusion.

• now to those who still say Japanese-cars-are-boring-and-Korean-car-is-far-better, EAT THIS!!!!!!

• 2013 Kia Forte.. Back to you.

• TurboMan!!! on Sep 28, 2012 at 7:09 pm

I have no problem liking jap cars. They do make good cars internationally but too bad, most jap cars in malaysia are underspeced.

My beef is with ppl who spend all their time bashing things without proper points. Even if their points have been shot down 6 times to sunday, come next post, the exact same point will be brought up again and again with no end like a broken cassette player. Attention seeker, bashers, imbeciles, childish. Watever!!.

Kia koup is an auto cruiser while this is still not a bruiser but 9 sec is decent. This car has no direct competitor in the market. Koup is not a direct competitor even the price is the same due to one is a C segment coupe and this is a 2 seater small hatch with a decent powerplant. It cannot even be compared to a swift sport as the swift has 4 doors and can seat 4 in decent comfort.

Bashers like to compare this and Koup, because they are of the same price. But few years down the road when the battery needs to be changed, the extra commitment down the road, calculated using present value ( study some economics if u don’t know the term ) will skew the value proposition of a CRZ, even though its the same price as koup.

Its still not a sports car, unless they can bring the century sprint down to <8sec and RWD. AT this stage, its a fun to gun car in the corners with decent power. Heck, a swift sports fits that bill too, and sits 4. So your money your choice.

• Peyno on Sep 29, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Japs car?? Vios, city, avanza?? Unser??=cr z???

• Ah Beng on Sep 28, 2012 at 1:59 am

my vios trd can easily smoke this crap!

• Kalun on Sep 28, 2012 at 8:49 am

Boohoo! This car has Formula 1 tech in it call KERS!
      Just press the S+ button and you have a boost for 10 seconds

• AhLian on Sep 28, 2012 at 9:33 am

If a crash appeared. I’d bet you’d die in your vios before any of my 6 airbags hit my face.

Sincerely,
      Ex-vios owner, crZ now.

• What if Ah Beng purposely supports Toyota to get more dislikes on Toyota..

• Ah Beng on Sep 28, 2012 at 12:26 pm

how to crash when my handling is tuned by the renowned TRD? you must be joking or seriously have poor driving skills

• TurboMan!!! on Sep 28, 2012 at 7:11 pm

Based on your logic, no modern proton should crash cause their handling is tuned by Lotus.

THink before you talk buddy.

• TurboGuy on Sep 30, 2012 at 12:25 pm

Agree,TurboMan – “Based on your logic, no modern proton should crash cause their handling is tuned by Lotus. THink before you talk buddy”.

Personally tested on CRZ and the handling is pretty sharp but suspension is a little bit soft.

• AhLian on Oct 01, 2012 at 12:32 am

TRD all you want, there’s just a fine line between a sexy car and a salesman car when the valet drives your car infront of the lobby..

It’s like saying Evos are just as fast and just as good as a ferrari is and sh!t.. well, sorry to burst your bubble.. chics dig sexy cars, not “fast” typical 2F2F high schoolers

• TRD Vios that uses a 4 speed automatic gearbox versus this CRZ that uses a 6 speed manual gearbox? The 1NZ-FE engine in Vios that produces only 107hp with 141Nm of torque versus the CRZ that has 135hp with 190Nm of torque? I’ll just leave it to the figures to do all the talking.

• TaroPearl on Sep 28, 2012 at 3:05 am

Question! When and Price?

• yesterday contact to a dealer.jb. 1st batch will only reach 2013 about march. price increase 500-1k.believe it ?

• _xXx_ on Sep 28, 2012 at 4:32 am

Morale of the story – don’t rush for newly developed cars…

• looking at that dashboard, it’s look i am driving a spaceship rather than a car…..lol

• Hukaka on Sep 28, 2012 at 9:36 am

Hahahahahahaha,my wait it’s worth for it.
    But lot of friends don’t be sad if you are ready brought the pre FL model.
    Cause CRZ are good quality CBU car.and I like the pre FL looks.

• JeremyNg on Sep 28, 2012 at 10:17 am

There are power lost between engine and battery (4 PS and 34nm loss)and it’s CRZ, you will have no problem attract girls because girls do think that it’s a sport car by the look of it. BTW still prefer the latest suzuki swift sport which is much faster and lower maintenance car although it has a terrible interior.

• zebulun on Sep 28, 2012 at 11:17 am

wow..the dashboard looks so messy with all the buttons

• i was wondering whether in both transmissions can accelerate from 0-100 in 9.0 seconds. since the hp n torque not the same?

can anyone clearifies this for me? thnx..

• AhLian on Oct 01, 2012 at 12:34 am

The moment you close the door of a Cr-Z, you will know the how to distinguish a quality built car.. its as solid as a conti car.

• Ahmad Ihsan Bin Fazri on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:27 pm

is it good ?