Honda CR-Z facelift – first glimpse of Paris debutant

Click to enlarge.

Looks like the September 27 reveal date for the facelift CR-Z as teased on Honda Japan’s website last week is in line with things happening in Paris, because the car is set to make its debut at the show.

The company has revealed the first glimpse of the car, with a frontal shot all there is. No accompanying details, except to say that the updated CR-Z will feature revisions to the exterior and interior – what’s obvious are the LED DRLs on the headlamps and a restyled bumper and grille.

Honda adds that the power output of both the petrol engine and electric motor has been increased as well, all managed without comprising fuel economy or increasing exhaust emissions. Right now, the car has 124 PS and 174 Nm for numbers – Paris will show how much has been added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Omfg, don’t treat me like this, I got the current 1, power increase I wat I want

• Maserati on Sep 14, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Awesome car as usual from the Japs!

• iyer???b**ls**t..
      they are gettin’ boring nowadays especially design..

• Alpha on Sep 14, 2012 at 7:35 pm

The awkward moment when most CRZ drivers I’ve met thought they’re driving a sports car….

• lovesCARS on Sep 15, 2012 at 1:45 am

All I can say is this … you have not driven the car yet. After owning it I understand why some reviews say that some cars,despite not having tons of power, are such sheer fun to drive. Examples are the MX5, Mini Cooper.

The CRZ is a really fun car to drive. Great for the city, comfortable for long journeys and fun on twisty roads or the track.

Not that much power … not that much torque BUT there is so much fun in driving her. I own a sporty much much more powerful continental car but I still have a smile on my face each time I drive my CRZ.

• Alpha on Sep 15, 2012 at 11:40 am

I’ve driven the car and I myself am a Honda enthusiast.I’ve owned a bunch of Type Rs and other sports cars before.

I did not say that the car is in any way not fun.The fun factor is definitely there.But it’s far from being a sports car,a fact that some of the owners failed to realize.

The car is really sporty and fun to drive,but it’s not a proper sports car.It’s fine that it’s not a sports car as it wasn’t meant to be a sports car,but I just hope the owners acknowledged such fact.That’s all.

• lovescars on Sep 17, 2012 at 11:21 am

It’s 100% not a sports car, at rm100k no way la. It’s a mere sports hybrid. :0)

• Alpha on Sep 17, 2012 at 5:23 pm

Anndd..that goes back to my first comment.

• Rational on Sep 18, 2012 at 7:34 pm

I understand your frustration but, I don’t understand why are you telling it here. You said you met them, then just tell them right to their face.

In a way, it’s like you wanted to put on a negative vibe to this car just because they had a couple of stupid owners. Sigh~

• TurboMan!!! on Sep 16, 2012 at 10:41 pm

Your conti a E90 325i?

• The headlamp gonna be hard for us to distinguish a ct200, preve or cr-z.

• you comment on Sep 14, 2012 at 9:29 pm

preve is out of it ok.. not bright at all.. laughing out loud

• preve led is bright enough but not dazzling eyes like others

• BMW BEST on Sep 15, 2012 at 10:37 am

Depends what angle you look at the LED la,if you see it face to face,sure it will bright.

• Just me on Sep 15, 2012 at 8:52 pm

preve DRL is like using a rejected LED or the China mari LED. Very soon 1 by 1 went off just like 3rd breaking light for wira hatch back model. Kakakakaka….

• Sam Loo on Sep 17, 2012 at 1:37 pm

Preve engine block will crack

• blue-traveler on Sep 18, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Just to add also, they were a genius to create this “so call LEDs lights” that being use on Preve. The only german company in malaysia that makes cars’ LED lights, commented them on this tech design. If you want to know about the german company operating in malaysia, google; maker for leds light for audi, bmw, benz. And you see their wedsite, click the malaysia branch.

• blue-traveler on Sep 18, 2012 at 4:21 pm

bro, preve DON’T Have LED lights in the front ok. They ARE NOT REAL LED. But they, the front “led lights” ARE MAKE in Malaysia, ok. I DO know the guys who “wrote” and test them, FYI, they and their co. are in/from PG. However, the back lights ARE LEDs. So Proton DIDNOT lie about having LEDs on the car, ok. So please don’t compare and rise another heated topic here.

• Apa Macam on Sep 19, 2012 at 1:33 am

What? Preve’s headlights’ LEDs are fake! You mean that proton con us again?

• toyota con us with overpriced cars, honda con us with outdated gear box and engine, nissan is toyota wannabe con us too.

if you don’t know about led position lamp, then google la. btw it’s baaeeeeuuuuutiffuuuuulll

• Hybrid supporter on Sep 17, 2012 at 10:20 pm

CT200 is in a different league!

• crz is definitely not a sporstcar. it’s just a sporty looking car driven by arrogant people who think they are driving a fast car while they are not.

• I owned a type r and a crz. While i do not think my crz is a sport car, i do enjoy the sporty drive everytime i drive her.

• lovesCARS on Sep 15, 2012 at 1:48 am

Kian … the haters will never understand as they do not own one or even properly put the CRZ through her paces. Best part is some who talk a lot prob drive a Myvi only la … Same old nonsense on forums. Slam something when you have never really driven it.

• _xXx_ on Sep 15, 2012 at 10:42 am

Just ignore and move on. X rugi ape2 pon…

• GT-Rider on Sep 15, 2012 at 11:40 am

i’m driving a GT-R, smoke crz and type R anyday anytime

• i’m driving a Veyron, CUCUK GT-R every morning.

• Bongcs on Sep 17, 2012 at 12:05 pm

im riding my kapcai, i can park anywhere i want

• POLICEMAN on Sep 17, 2012 at 10:10 pm

I’m driving a police car, can saman anyone i like.

• Cosmo Artemis on Sep 18, 2012 at 9:45 am

I am a police-traffic man, I can tahan anyone, any car at any time.

• polo saga on Sep 18, 2012 at 4:23 pm

i’m diring a motorbike, i can park between any cars i like, n scratch them anytime i like!

• im using LRT! i can sit anywhere anytime and dont have a driver!

• driving veyron?

tipu

• Alpha on Sep 15, 2012 at 11:45 am

lovesCARS,from your replies,I believe you do not know how to differentiate between a “sports car” and a “sporty car”.

And what you said is based on assumptions.There are a lot of people in the internet and not all,is as u assumed,people who “slam something when you have never driven it”.

• lovescars on Sep 17, 2012 at 11:23 am

Did I say the CRZ is a sports car? All I said was it scores high on the fun factor. For me sports cars are like the CarerraS … Exige … GTR etc.

• Just me on Sep 15, 2012 at 8:56 pm

Those are p1/p2/korean hard core supporter and salesman. Just like at other report on continental car, this people are not interested. It is not CRZ driver that pretend to drive sport car, it is p1/p2 driver that pretend they drive good car.

• speedster on Sep 14, 2012 at 9:03 pm

Your statement apply more to VW owner, especially Golf.

• Agree, most sissy Golf driver is very arrogant and trying very hard to put themselves some par with BMW, what a joke.

• Harakah on Sep 15, 2012 at 9:37 pm

at least Golf got enough power to pull the car rather than CRZ or any other malaysia car :-) .. Happy ?

• Na you see typical Golf driver, very arrogant, always look down at Malaysia car. To a Merc driver, Golf is way under power.

• oi name..a golf can smoke c200 anytime laa. a gti can fart c250 till dead. get your facts right k

• Let's talk about facts on Sep 17, 2012 at 9:28 am

Golf is same level with proton outside Malaysia, they also “cheap” car if you say proton are cheap ^_^

• seems like you have no idea what facts mean mr.. go n testdrive a golf and compare it inch by inch with your beloved proton. then only come n tell me whether they r ‘comparable’…which i dont think so.

• Let’s talk about facts.
            You are right Golf is a sissy CHEAP car, but its driver always think that his golf can FART everywhere, what a jurk.

• Whatever on Sep 17, 2012 at 10:01 pm

If you look down on Golf means you are not worth driving it, better drive preve!

• Let's talk about facts on Sep 18, 2012 at 9:34 am

i am not looking down at golf, but the fact is, it is same level with proton. VW is people’s car, their cars are cheap but only sell expensive in Malaysia.

• Utusan on Sep 18, 2012 at 3:12 pm

seriously compared C250 with golf gti ?? haha im laughing all day bro.. comfort only merc can win ? other aspect ? haha oo one more thing, yes i admit that golf are cheap outside malaysia, but comparing VW and PROTON is big time NO !.. satria neo compared golf gti ? are you serious ? preve compared passat cc ? are you joking ?? :-) .. please la admit proton are a big failed car bro :-) .. malaysian people buy proton because of “TERPAKSA”.. if malaysia dont have car tax i think malaysia a full of merc, bmw, jaguar, volvo and maybe youngster driving maserati to Uni :-) .. u cant find a single shit of proton !!

• you are such a dumbass la. cant even tell whether golf is same level as preve or not. aiyyoooo…

• bengs on Sep 18, 2012 at 8:46 pm

please keep yourself update, spec wise newer proton cars are not that bad.

even in the so called country with cheaper cars like thai, sylphy is more expensive than 2.0 performance preve with tax.

honda? already downgrades civic with sohc engine with 5 speeder. what else, toyota altis? continuously famous with its overpriced car. 3 months to get spare parts of other brands is a big no no if you don’t have spare car at home.

don’t tell me if tax removed, malaysia will be flooded with bmw, merc, golf, it’s all bull shit. if price wise is affordable, how about spare parts wise, maintenance and service wise?

even warren buffet has very moderate car, go and google, then you will realise there’s more than cars in life, get a life dude!

oh and simple words, people who are rich enough to buy and maintain luxury cats don’t bother to complain here about tax, lol.

if you not the one, feel free to talk. i dun mind and dun care

• bengs teacher on Sep 21, 2012 at 12:51 am

“maintain luxury cats”?

• now i feel bad for putting up the comment. i respect crz owners for owning such a beautiful car. who knows i might buy one, only if they pump in some steroids in it one day hehe. just don’t cucuk other cars in front. being arrogant on the roads does not justify crz’s special place in many of u out there. happy msia day!

• Extremis on Sep 16, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Your statement apply more to Myvi owner, especially Myvi Extreme Edition. They think that their car is extreme like taking some steroids.

• myvi owners who like to bully other cars are simple retards who don’t know what is A or what is B. they are just…retards.

• OMG the front look like PREVE, proton now we believe you…the real global car!!!

• Meesai on Sep 14, 2012 at 8:29 pm

Am I the only one seeing the front of the car look something like this smiley? *__*

• Why... on Sep 14, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Does this go head to head with the naturally aspirated veloster ? If so , i Think theyre on par wit each other

• I love the front part. Look so sexy! XD

• Zippy Polo on Sep 14, 2012 at 10:32 pm

This looks better… no more looking like a “Fish” mouth… Increase power? wow that is good…shd give up my Polo and get this when it comes..

• Davincci on Sep 15, 2012 at 2:05 am

Honda city is better than CR-Z

• Not sure when will it only launch in Malaysia since CR-Z just launched here not even 1 year while the CVT variant just launched like 3 months ago. I wonder would there be a price increase for it?

• u mad bro?? on Sep 15, 2012 at 2:22 am

Nice one there…but still i’m not a biggest fan in term of practical..can’t fit an adult size at rear seat and the rear visibility is not that good ..sorry CR-Z..referring to the old model..hopefully for the face lift its the other way around.

• Suarez on Sep 15, 2012 at 2:40 am

Where is the diff???

• NoIdea on Sep 15, 2012 at 5:13 am

Why Honda use Preve lamp on CRZ?

• Civic hybrid better, more of everything

• seriousdude on Sep 15, 2012 at 9:15 am

i wish they tone down on the bling bling headlamps LED

• BMW BEST on Sep 15, 2012 at 10:41 am

The only different I notice barely is…the design of front bumper changed a bit…

• maganeRS on Sep 15, 2012 at 10:56 am

hopefully those ahbengs don’t spoil the image of this good car with those fake mugen kit and spoiler that are so high you can use it as a goal post

• kimikira on Sep 15, 2012 at 11:49 am

as owner crz im glad to hear update interior and exterior, most excited is power cuz crz is too low horsepower and plastic interior(seem honda realize it make improvement),in differ aspect my 1.4tsi scirocco beat it in no time, now i hardly pickup time to drive crz until it worth it

• Nice car..

• Nice to look at but not nice to drive just like the girl you met.

• Maserati on Sep 15, 2012 at 1:22 pm

And all the korean fags comparing this beauty with their crappy Kia Forte Koup! KOUP doesnt even come close to this lovely CRZ!

• Davincci on Sep 15, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Both Abang adik.

• David D on Sep 15, 2012 at 5:03 pm

CR-Z is a car for the single person who wants great fun. Forte Koup is a practical coupe for the family man who still wants a dash of style and reasonably good handling.

SO until now, im’ still baffled with your attitude in calling the Korean car fans fags. Does that make you a gentleman? No. The fact that you talk so much rubbish already makes you look like a bastardized fa***t who needs to be put to sleep. Geez.

• JeremyNg on Sep 15, 2012 at 6:28 pm

KOUP ??!! that 1 is coupe leh not hot hatch leh ….. why don compare it with suzuki swift sport ??!! the suzie can easily eat CRZ on the straight and corners

• More power please “……”……………

• TaroPearl on Sep 15, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Am I the only one who prefer the old straight strip front grill? Honeycomb is not bad regardless. Big big hope they make some decent space in the backseats !

• A Yasir on Sep 15, 2012 at 3:18 pm

Dimensions will be the same, so it’ll still be a 2 seater car with 2 seats for children.

Power – wise, an increase of between 3 to 6 bhp, torque – wise, similar numbers too.

Reverse camera will be a standard fare, but I’m not sure whether it’ll apply to MY models.

As always, remember, it’s only rumors lol.

• paparadzi on Sep 15, 2012 at 4:17 pm

Will the engine still be the IMA, or something new that can compete with Toyota’s Prius engine?

• Nelson on Sep 15, 2012 at 8:53 pm

This is not a sport car. This is just a hybrid car which can produce max torque of 174Nm at an impressive 1000 to 1500rpm (in sports mode) and the curb weight is only 1160kg even with 6 airbags.

This car is good for initial acceleration. Blame the car, don’t blame the driver.

• A Yasir on Sep 16, 2012 at 1:11 am

It’ll still be IMA ( it’s only a refresh and not a full model change mate ), but probably comes with Li0Ion battery like the latest Civic Hybrid.

• Change the logo to “Thunder Cat” please.

• CRZ or RCZ is better?

• Unforgiven on Sep 16, 2012 at 11:25 am

Wait, all of us will be driving good car soon, let’s make it next year 2013. Please choose now to lower the car price, don’t wait for another 5 years that’s never ending.

• Better buy Toyota 86 than this “sporty” car.

• RM120k vs RM 270k. You must be joking…why not get a Ferrari?

• At least the Toyota is a real sports car, not half baked. It is the cheapest real sports car money can buy. Blame the G for the big price difference.

• lovescars on Sep 17, 2012 at 11:28 am

If got 240+K to spare for sure the FT86 is a better car what …

• kopi o on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:03 am

By your logic, if i got 1 mil to spare, i would rather get a porsche. Dats a real sports car….

• http://www.ft86club.com/?p=1671. Still think Porsche is better?

• tyota_suck on Sep 20, 2012 at 10:40 pm

yes, toyota = sampan handling lol

• tyota_suck, such a brand noob. Better keep your preve as you don’t know what is a sports car.

• Sam Loo on Sep 17, 2012 at 1:38 pm

Yes, Toyota (and Honda) never lets you down

• Vinnie on Sep 18, 2012 at 5:07 pm

If only I were still single, I’d get it…. I’ve driven the car and like may say it’s a fun car to drive. Yes, it lack power. But, at least the power window still works after 6 months.

• Give me a reason why i should buy this car? If i want a hybrid, i’ll buy a full hybrid like a Prius. If i want a practical car, i’ll buy a Golf. If i want a sports car, i’ll buy a real sports car. CRZ is not a sports car and cannot carry 4 people. What’s the point?

• Intomecint on Sep 19, 2012 at 9:11 am

Because in Malaysia, CR-Z is the cheapest manual transmission car comes with stability control.

• Mechanica on Sep 21, 2012 at 12:30 am

No, preve is the cheapest. If want to buy CRZ, better buy preve since the style is the same and the rear seats can sit people.

• Intomecint on Sep 21, 2012 at 6:28 am

Preve is the cheapest car with stability control in Malaysia, but only for the CVT variant. MT’s Preve doesn’t come with ESC.

So, as I said, the cheapest manual transmission car, comes with stability control in Malaysia is Honda CR-Z.

• thetrystero on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:48 am

The Euro CR-Z already had LEDs and sunroof come standard way back in 2011. Asian markets are so much behind the times. WHY HONDA WHY????!!!!!

• kopi o on Sep 20, 2012 at 2:58 am

Sports car is not all about power la. Sports car must be agile, good at handling and good at accleration. Discovery channel also once define a good sports car must be affordable to all. Dats why they rank the mazda miata as the 2nd greatest sports car ever built.It’s never about top speed la. Maybe super cars or super performance car talk about top speed la…

• kopi o on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:01 am

Ya toyota is a real sports car. Especially in malaysia, the vios trd and city moduli is the best car around, can cucuk volvo, merc and bmw. Vios and city is almost god like in malaysia…