Lamborghini Aventador LP700-4 Roadster previewed in Malaysia – 18 months wait list, from RM3 million

The new Lamborghini Aventador LP700-4 Roadster was unveiled online to the world just last week, so it was a big surprise to see the topless bull pay Malaysia a visit even before its motor show debut!

KL is the open-top Aventador’s third stopover after Miami and Singapore, and Lamborghini Kuala Lumpur hosted a preview of the hypercar this afternoon at its Glenmarie showroom, attended by Deputy MITI Minister Datuk Mukhriz Tun Dr Mahathir. Is Malaysia that important a market for Lambo, you ask? Yes, the Sant’Agata Bolognese company would have delivered 50 units to Malaysians by the end of 2012.

As previously detailed, the Aventador Roadster can immediately be recognised by the unique profile of its upper area, which extends along newly designed geometric lines from the removable roof to the engine hood.

The rear pillar has been redesigned to offer support for the removable roof, accommodate an automatic protection system for passengers, and provide the engine with ample ventilation.

The engine hood on the Roadster also differs from the lid on the coupé because of its central “spinal column” with two pairs of hexagonal windows. We didn’t get to see the new and model exclusive Azzuro Thetiis colour, though, but a matte pearl white paint job.

The two-piece roof is made entirely from carbon fibre using various tech such as RTM and Forged Composite. Each component is very light, weighing less than 6 kg. The two parts are removable, easy to handle, and being lightweight and simple to attach, can be stored in the car’s front luggage compartment.

The manual process was demonstrated at the event, and it looked easy enough, although one has to get out of the car and DIY – no button pressing auto folding here.

Like the coupe, the 6.5 litre normally-aspirated V12 makes 700 hp, and when paired to Lambo’s ISR seven-speed gearbox, the Aventador Roadster can do 0-100 km/h in three seconds flat and a top speed of 350 km/h. The V12 has a cylinder deactivation system and the Stop & Start system includes high-performance capacitors (known as supercaps) to wake the engine up.

Like the coupe, demand will outstrip the limited supply, so those who place orders for the Aventador Roadster must be prepared to wait for up to 18 months, says Lamborghini. Prices start from RM3 million.

Pics from the event and the official gallery are after the jump. Click here to read about our experience going flat-out in the Aventador.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 3 million bucks???…it makes buying one such a sin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • Kalun on Nov 21, 2012 at 12:11 pm

1.5 Mil Ringgit in Brunei.
      Seen it twice in 2 different colour already. White and Orange.

• Kalun on Nov 21, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Want a Sport Car that is Cheap and can drive as fast as a Bugatti Veyron? Get a Caterham Superlight R600.

• 3 million bucks????……its a sin to buy one at this price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • well it’s an Exotic car,
      if this is a sin, what bout those people with LV bags that cost more than my car and Jeager Le-Coltre for the price of my house

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • I recently placed my order for one unit in Grigio Estoqe grey….
    … But the next thing I knew after signing the contract was was my head lying on the table in front of the laptop drooling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
  • Naza should be able to bring this in faster and cheaper

• perodua on Nov 20, 2012 at 4:40 pm

This car is only for Minister’s son, Royal family and BN cronies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 21
  • yay! can i have 1 in matt grey with red interior. if possible, Hannah Tan in the passenger seat as well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Seriously ? 3 million ?

• Seriously ? What did you expect ?
      The coupe already cost RM 2.2+ mil without option and tax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • car driver on Nov 20, 2012 at 5:07 pm

potential buyer includes those that already have a veyron in their collection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Medic on Nov 20, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Only a billionaire can afford this.That said,Beautiful piece of machine.

• _xXx_ on Nov 20, 2012 at 11:52 pm

why need to be a billionaire? do u know how much 1 billion is? do u mean to buy a RM30,000 saga I need to have RM10,000,000?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 33
      • Zapruder on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:11 am

Duh.. it’s obvious isn’t it? Even if u can buy it cash, Medic is considering about the road tax u’re gonna pay annually, the fc, the maintenance of the car, in case if it’s suddenly caught on fire. Lol.
        N why la u bring up saga for a comparison?

• johnny on Nov 20, 2012 at 5:18 pm

rich boys have new toy in town… but have to say an absolutely stunning piece off machinery.. but 3 mil for this.. absolute madness.. hmmm now let me see what can i do with that kinda monay… hmm drooling :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • propa on Nov 20, 2012 at 5:41 pm

with that kind of money, I will buy a truck of double down burger. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • toyol on Nov 20, 2012 at 5:46 pm

The gap between the ultra rich and the ordinary malaysian is getting wider and wider… need to buy 4d more frequent :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
    • that is exactly one of the reasons why the gap is getting wider loool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • Kalun on Nov 21, 2012 at 3:54 pm

Not just ultra rich. Ultra Smart as well to avoid taxes.

Smart eyy!

• Jimmy on Nov 20, 2012 at 5:54 pm

You have to be super-rich and young(control and judgement), otherwise it is truly a toy. Bill Gates perhaps cannot afford to drive this car himself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • _xXx_ on Nov 20, 2012 at 6:05 pm

as usual, nothing beats preve….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 8
    • not a vios lover on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:13 am

Ha ha.. a good one. Preve wins in overall category.

For non-domestic car category, which this Aventador also falls into, the winner is undoubtedly Vios.

• Wow Fantastic Baby.

• Tall Pan on Nov 20, 2012 at 6:17 pm

lol all the money in the world and u make them wait 1.5 years??
    i hope those rich ppl got their ‘jalan’ to get it faster :P

• KillBox1 Alpha on Nov 20, 2012 at 6:22 pm

I bet its probably fully booked….RM3 million and you have to stop and remove the roof your self…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Troulle on Nov 20, 2012 at 6:31 pm

Make mine red. 3 million rupiah I can afford one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • shawal on Nov 20, 2012 at 6:33 pm

see in you motor traders in 30 years~! in general cars section

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • 50 units to be delivered?..Hmm how many billionaires reside in Malaysia now?

• Anti-fuel-Price on Nov 20, 2012 at 6:51 pm

That’s a lot if u ask me for 50units with min 3Mil. Meaning 50x3Mil = 150Million, damn**** almost our Kuala Lumpur Budget hahahaha!!!!!
    Anyway work hard bloggers, this show we Malaysian still have potential to be rich ^_^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Leonon on Nov 20, 2012 at 10:45 pm

I believe the 50 units includes the other models in the Lamborghini line up…

• hmmm i just need to sell 300,000 kg chillies to own this car. sad fact..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • kingston on Nov 20, 2012 at 7:22 pm

Just another boy’s poster,to dream about.

• I’m trying to wrap my head around the price of the car. RM3 mil? That’s 3 order of magnitude more than my monthly pay. If I put RM5000 deposit and get a RM500 monthly installment, without interest, that would be 5990 months or 500 years loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • start-a-fight on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:10 am

kamon man.. who pay RM5000 to buy a RM million car?

later on, for services oso need to do installment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • With Malaysia unpredictable weather…. This car can drive or not…. Just imagine driving in the slow moving road in bukit bintang and it rains suddenly… This billionaire need to get down and get the roof done…. Just get horn like hell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • nighttrain on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:53 am

hahah.. Armani suit running around in the rain trying to figure out the Lego piece on the roof, and then the mamak roti stop, also trying to help, hahah..

• dass G on Nov 20, 2012 at 8:09 pm

Anybody wants to buy both of the kidney and a part of my heart?
    Eyes are on sale too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • limbo on Nov 20, 2012 at 8:10 pm

actual just 1M, the other 2M for G colony

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
  • Ekspresi Ruang on Nov 20, 2012 at 8:19 pm

looks like only the minister and their cronies can afford those big boy’s toy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
  • DArkerMarker on Nov 20, 2012 at 8:20 pm

18 months wait…..maybe at that time, Ferrari got better cars on sale oredi….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Ekspresi Ruang on Nov 20, 2012 at 8:32 pm

for those billionaires in Msia, this RM3mil is just like us who got RM1k and give up that RM3. doesn’t feel any shortage, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • kevin on Nov 20, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Dear Santa,
    I have been such a very good boy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • droll on Nov 20, 2012 at 9:17 pm

eh, the pics show it as left hand drive only??

• 3 millions? I’ll choose property better. At least 2 houses.

• The roof will probably never be off in Malaysia weather and road and poor air quality.

• I guess Lamborghini has hit the target of 50 unit mark as predicted beginning of the year. Malaysia has d most number of rich ppl(millionairres, billionairres, cronies…) according to Forbes. So whats d big deal when oni 50 unit sold.. Look at Singapore. I bet more than 60 will be delivered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Loo on Nov 20, 2012 at 10:16 pm

No RV. You will lose RM1 million after 1 year. better buy camry or alphard/vellfire.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
    • Turboman on Nov 20, 2012 at 11:01 pm

Losing 1 million is only 33 percent per year.

But according to Sam, depending on his mood, it should lose 50-75 percent per year for vehicles with low RV.

So after 5 years, i can finally afford my lambo.

• kereta lembu on Nov 21, 2012 at 12:14 am

You think somebody who can afford a 3 mil+ car would worry about resale value? By the time they lose 1 mil after a year, they would have made millions more elsewhere.

• Can this chap be barred from posting? This is one annoying spammer/troller… wanna sell car go to oto.my

• Sam Loo on Nov 20, 2012 at 10:19 pm

No need to wait. Come my showroom and order your camry 2.5v now!! Immediate delivery guaranteed!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
    • immediate delivery, and loose your happy faces forever

• Medic on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:40 am

What? order stupid crappy Camry?To be a good SA,first don’t put other car models down.Even if i wanna book toyota car,definately not from SA like you…A disgrace to Toyota!

• lollipop on Nov 21, 2012 at 11:10 am

i don’t see any wrong in his comment, toyota is a good car, probably is UMW make it worse, your reply is Worse then your personality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Loo Jr on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Those that got no money can get lost to perodua showroom. the rest is welcome to buy our latest model camry.

• VWPASSAT owner on Nov 20, 2012 at 11:19 pm

Did someone so “smart” try to compare this car with T Camry…wow ….joke of the year!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • so when are the two mahathir’s fked-up sons buying?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • Nicholite on Nov 21, 2012 at 3:20 am

Why having bring into malaysia convertible? It makes the car less aero dynamic and cause more probability of death upon impact. And btw…. Coupe is cheaper than convertible? When convertible is slower…. Lol

• uncle on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:38 pm

Convertible cost more because you need to pay “upah potong” to cut out the roof…. heh

• Those who place the order will never read review from Paultan. Only from their golfing buddies..

• pelamd on Nov 21, 2012 at 6:45 am

last night buletin utama reported theres already 1 booking made n they r targetting to sell 8 units of this baby in mlysia..

• gOOsh on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:12 am

hanya manikam yang mengenal JAUHARI…

• ramun on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:54 am

Guess the Deputy MITI Minister will sambar one. heh heh. Siapa mau beli 2nd hand Veyron? Selling fast! Ok Datuk?

• start-a-fight on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:15 am

50 unit. 10 belong to the rental car business…

so, why buy when u can rent it for a day. Owning this is a disaster, just rent it just to have a feel… don hav to worry about the maintenance cost later on… and uncle sam loo no need to think about RV..

anyway, my friend rent out his ferrari for product launch or commercial shooting just to cover for his car maintenance(i.e periodic service/insurance/roadtax)… well, he can afford the car, and yet he really knows how to save as well…

• ben yap on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:01 am

for RM3mill, i rather put it in fix deposit and get 3% per annum and that equates to 90K per year. that’s RM7500 a mth and i can start goyang kaki at home.

• SushiMonster on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:07 am

Of course RM3 mil! if it were RM30k it would make 70 horsepowers and comes with 13″ steel rims. Would you still want one? :)

Having said that… the LP700-4 looks stunning. Looks better than Ferrari Italia

• CARtoon on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:53 am

…and i still wonder why im not in politics …

• Bongcs on Nov 21, 2012 at 11:04 am

Malaysians are not poor actually, we are “Kiam Siap”

Kiam siap = kedekut.

• Zero Sum on Nov 21, 2012 at 11:30 am

Does 250, 000 pounds convert to RM 3 million?

• I was driving a 13 years old car along the Jalan Genting-Klang (after the Genting Toll), and was pouring cats and dogs. Saw a yellow Lambo, 3 red Ferraris and a Jaguar park at the side of the road under the overhead just like the motorcycles. Will probably see them more often now in Malaysia. LOL

• kamaji on Nov 21, 2012 at 2:12 pm

Who needs a RM3 mil machine with 700hp & a top speed of 350km when most freeway in Kl has speed limit of 80km.Maybe minister & kronies will cos they dont need to pay summons.

• One can almost buy 2 units of Gallardo with the price of this Aventador Roadster…

• Shiok Sendilli on Nov 21, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Any gomen projects to tender ah ?

• Sushimonster on Nov 21, 2012 at 4:46 pm

I wonder if it can survive our Malaysian speed bumps and mall carparks. After 1 month skirting all cracked and undercarriage needs to be replace. keh! keh! keh!

• There are already plenty of Gallardo and Murcielago running around Malaysia now. So, this shouldn’t be much of a problem surviving the road conditions in Malaysia.

• Jilbaber on Nov 21, 2012 at 4:58 pm

too many raptor wannabe curvy line makes it look so ugly and ridiculous…Ferrari much better looking..

• Sant’Agata Bolognese company would have delivered 50 units to Malaysians by the end of 2012….

this fact shown us that there are a huge gap between rakyat which struggling due to higher life cost,

yet there is ‘some’ rakyat does not effected at all. Still can purchase lambo’s…..

need another goverment than current.

• Drebar on Nov 21, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Why MACC not invited to this launching?

Much easier to spot, catch those big fish kronies…

• supercar rich man on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:47 pm

what? you this wan is lousy sport car not buggatti car,i can buy one rolls royce lor.

• Heskey on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:49 am

I’m going to trade in my 2008 vios G specs for this. Hope the dealer accepts trade in.

• maserrati on Nov 23, 2012 at 1:42 pm

what, this car is so easy to burn the fire.

• ferrai on Nov 23, 2012 at 1:45 pm

when i use bentley and this lamborghini race , i win.ha ha ha!!!!!!!!!!!

• Jay123 on Dec 25, 2012 at 1:43 pm

What!?? RM3 million!!??
    A Lamborghini cost me 3 million!?
    What about Bugatti Veyron 16.4???
    Is it cost about RM2 million ++??
    This car is not a supercar but cost a plenty!!!
    How dare they annouce the price like this??!
    What is the price of lambor in other country??

• Ray Teo on Jun 05, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Sam Loo what’s make u such an asshole always condemn other brand n praise Toyota for what? Bcos u are Toyota salesman? Pls STOP