Qoros GQ3 – first images of the C-segment sedan

qorosgq3-1

This is the car that young Chinese brand Qoros will debut at the Geneva motor show in March. Called the Qoros GQ3, it’s the first in a line of all-new models designed and developed by an international team of specialists specifically for the Chinese and European markets, under the leadership of design ED Gert Volker Hildebrand.

The sedan’s styling “introduces a brand identity that will make every future model instantly recognisable as a Qoros.” With its short overhangs, pronounced swage lines and tapered roof, we think it’s a car of rather handsome proportions.

The GQ3 is 1.84 metres wide, making it, Qoros says, one of the widest cars in its class. Those arches can accommodate up to 19-inch wheels; the standard alloys here feature a triple-split eight-spoke design – another Qoros signature. Horizontal LED bars sit at the upper edge of the headlamps as well as tail lamps.

qorosgq3-3

Inside one would find an in-house developed eight-inch touchscreen infotainment system that recognises finger swipe gestures. The system incorporates navigation and traffic info, cloud and social networking connectivity amongst others, and will be offered as standard across the GQ3 range.

How did ‘GQ3’ come about? Qoros takes this opportunity to explain its naming convention – G for sedan, 3 for the C-segment. The middle Q will always be there – something like Peugeot’s middle zero – referring to the brand. Despite what they say about names, they do matter

“During the development of the Qoros GQ3, we directed all our efforts towards the needs and expectations of today’s young, aspirational customers,” said vice chairman Volker Steinwascher.

qorosgq3-5

“They are very sensitive about design and quality, are highly sophisticated users of technology, and insist on the very best safety standards. As an entirely new brand, we have the advantage of being able to focus our efforts, without compromise or distraction, on meeting the demands of these customers.”

No word on the GQ3’s drivetrain yet, but Qoros’ first product is scheduled to go on sale in China in the second half of 2013, with the first cars arriving in Europe later in the year.

Best-looking Chinese car ever? Discuss away.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Looks like a Passat to me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • Vader on Dec 24, 2012 at 12:07 pm

the exterior still so so..
      but the interior so outdated!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
    • rear and side passat,front passat CC…

• QOROS.
      http://www.qorosauto.com/en/media/news/article7

1-strong support from world best supplier. 2-revolution in car entertainment system. 8″ screen with microsoft platform (smart phone experience in car)
      3-strong design and technical background from best of the world
      (ex head designer MINI, BMW AG. ex senior management/ engineer at BMW/ VW Group/ GM Group)
      4-strong PR and marketing team
      5-strong financial support

technical/ mgmnt team
      http://www.qorosauto.com/en/product/design/article3

D segment concept car

Partners
      http://www.qorosauto.com/en/company/partners

I think Qoros will became another Lexus/ Infiniti but from China.

Sayang sekali 50% syer Israel Corporation yang pegang.

• QOROS.
      http://www.qorosauto.com/en/media/news/article7

1-strong support from world best supplier. 2-revolution in car entertainment system. 8″ screen with microsoft platform (smart phone experience in car)
      3-strong design and technical background from best of the world
      (ex head designer MINI, BMW AG. ex senior management/ engineer at BMW/ VW Group/ GM Group)
      4-strong PR and marketing team
      5-strong financial support

technical/ mgmnt team
      http://www.qorosauto.com/en/people/members

D segment concept car

Partners
      http://www.qorosauto.com/en/company/partners

I think Qoros will became another Lexus/ Infiniti but from China.

Sayang sekali 50% syer Israel Corporation yang pegang.

• A bit VW + Skoda looks..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Dec 24, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Do not import ya?
      Even at 30% cheaper, I will not buy the watch if it is made in China under licence of Rolex.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
      • kadajawi on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:03 am

So your phone is from 1990? Because probably any recent phone is made in China… Same with your computer. Using internet cafe, right? Cause any computer will have parts from China.

• Looks nice, but not unlike any from a VW or Audi group of cars.

Say what you may about China, but at least they have the will to be visionary with their product. Unlike PROTON, which (perhaps understandably) was born with a local market skew, the Chinese look at the global market as the target. PROTON, after the first few years of heavily coddled existence, are finding it hard to breathe these days.

If there was someone with vision in PROTON, they should be challenging the likes of Kia and Hyundai today. Instead, the Koreans are the ones challenging the Japanese, and to some extent, the smaller models of European carmakers. Maybe there was someone with vision, but with heavy government influence, the free entrepreneurial spirit couldn’t thrive.

I still hope for PROTON as nothing would make me prouder than having PROTON mentioned (positively) alongside the current global brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 15
    • You’re aware that the domestic market in China is 41 times bigger than the domestic market in Malaysia?

They don’t need to focus on export too much… ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
  • DUnno on Dec 24, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Did I just see a VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • VWPASSAT owner on Dec 24, 2012 at 12:24 pm

Yeah la…..reminds me of my Passat….no creativity or identity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
    • Honda lover on Dec 24, 2012 at 8:27 pm

Yeap this useless junk takes everything from Volkswagen.Junk is junk from Cinaland.Compare it with Protong,and not Honda or other carmaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • kadajawi on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:06 am

It looks unique enough to me. Yes, they take a few design cues here and there, but then again, so does everyone else! The flame surfacing that BMW introduced? These days most manufacturers use it. Old Lexus had a lot of Audi and Mercedes in them, one of the older Accords is very Merc inspired, etc. And vice versa.

The Waja has the rear of a Citroen Xsara. Would you say it’s a copy? Would you even notice?

• riswan on Dec 24, 2012 at 12:30 pm

the good about Chinese they don’t care what ppl would say went they just copy what ever euro do.
    for me is just copy and edit and walllaa my brand…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • Black Dog on Dec 24, 2012 at 12:32 pm

Things can only get better and better in China.

These cars are targeted for the European market thus the interior looks more towards VW, BMW or Volvo, NOT Japs or Korean taste.

Just came back from China, even their ‘villages’are now more modern than our cities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
    • I have been working in China for a year and worked in Japan for another 1 year… to be honest, I still remain caution and skeptical about products produced in China (mainly products of their own brand) but other popular brand like toyota and VW produced in China still have good QC..

Having seen both worlds and working with them gives me a good understanding about their culture, mindset, and integrity.. No doubt Japan is superior with their product mainly driven by their culture which are high integrity, accountability, and morality.. China is just cutting corners and level of commitment towards their job still losing by a thousand mile compared to the Japanese.. Technology advance and refinement no need to say.. losing by a million miles.. look at the Chery sold here, not fuel efficient at all..

The level of “Copycat” by the Chinese shows their level of integrity.. they dont care much as long as they are meeting the demand of their customer who wish to have a car which looks like another more establish car but at much lower cheaper price..

1) fake Toyota Altis
      2) fake Chevy Spark
      3) fake Mini Cooper
      4) fake BMW M5

and the list goes on…

no China cars for me…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • anti vios and camry on Dec 25, 2012 at 2:21 pm

go back to drive your ‘high quality’ plasticky overpriced japanese car with ugly design and stop bashing china company here. why don’t you bash the kia for copying f10 design as their flagship sedan instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • That is more like UMW’s problem for not packaging it well…

Toyota “world #1” title doesnt just fall from the sky..

As for KIA, I cant really see how they copy F10, maybe minor similarity… but chinese’s copycat skill is far more superior ..

• kadajawi on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:10 am

Yeah, selling D segment cars with 2 airbags and no ESP (even removing it) shows Japanese integrity and moral. No one is better at cutting corners than the Japanese. If they can save a bit money by leaving away a crucial safety feature, they will. As long as the customer doesn’t demand it…

And accountable? Like they were in Fukushima? Not telling the population how serious the situation was and still is? Trying to cover up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • That’s UMW’s fault. Japanese makes in countries like the US, Australia for example have a full compliment of safety features (6 airbags with ESP).

Why? Because they need to comply with local regulations. In both countries, you can’t sell a car without ESP and at least 6 airbags.

• UMW problem.. not Toyota..
          I have great respect with their culture, they had taken a lot of details in the things they produce.. just that when Toyota fall into the hands or malaysian dealer, “malaysian style and attitude” (tak apa la, dua airbag tak ada ESP pun tak apa, asalkan rakyat suka Toyota dan kita boleh untung) embedded into our Toyota cars.. but you see Toyota of other countries are better equiped.. sad….

• About Fukushima, I was there working for a year when the earthquake struck.. What other ppl see outside and ppl experience in the country are very different…

There are times when government had difficulty to deal with the issue and its not easy to handle such massive disasters… We are constantly fed with news on radioactive measurement report from various point of Tokyo everyday..

Ppl still line up according and act accordingly during disaster period.. cars still line up in 1 line to fill up petrol… If malaysia, minyak besok naik, petrol station chaos.. see the difference

Toyota showed their high integrity by recalling and fixing their cars to ensure consumer safety, even though they know the cost of doing so is high..

Proton?? will they recall to fix your engine and power windows?

For China, they just dont care…

Toyota didnt get their #1 spot for no reason.

• Ong chin aun on Dec 24, 2012 at 12:37 pm

what is the SPEC. ? and the price ?

• Kaizer on Dec 24, 2012 at 1:37 pm

At first glance I thought it was a VW facelifft or something.

• Abuya on Dec 24, 2012 at 1:38 pm

Korok!

• worst than Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 47
  • gOOsh on Dec 24, 2012 at 1:58 pm

biasa-biasa aje…
    but if put on sale in Malaysia, sure there are potential buyers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • portnoy on Dec 24, 2012 at 2:39 pm

bad rendering..noise everywhere..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • kadajawi on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:14 am

Do you know that for shows like Battlestar Galactica they add noise and blur the CGI renderings? Makes it more realistic.

Some noise adds to realism, too smooth and it looks bad. These renderings are quite ok.

• nabill on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:00 pm

its jus a skoda…one more manufacture/brand from china to copy out european designs….way to go!

• LatukBandar on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:37 pm

The logo looks like a button more than a logo. As if I push the logo to open the hood and bonet. or insert the key to open it…

• MeSedis on Dec 24, 2012 at 3:47 pm

Ehem ehem… just to remind that this car has strong link with ‘Little-big brother of the middle east’!

• It’s collaboration between Chinese and Israeli.. so, faham2 lah kereta ni siapa yg beli kalau dijual di Malaysia.. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • LOLz.. Check out The Interior la guys.. Lookz like similier preve interior to me… How nice if Preve’s tail light lookz like this car.. I think it would be nicer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • interior looks like that of preve

• sub_zero on Dec 24, 2012 at 5:26 pm

Does nobody realize the whole car almost identical to prevent? Especially the side mirror lololololol

• C’mon people, what’s wrong with looking like a VW? If they brought it in and give it a good marketing team, this would sell like hotcakes. Well, if only the brand is allowed to come into Malaysia…

• yamaha sikoru on Dec 24, 2012 at 7:34 pm

great design, interior even impress especially Gear knob part, still heavily similar like VW

• Iniesta Leong on Dec 24, 2012 at 10:00 pm

The design of the car whether the exterior interior and side view is so similar to vw even the aircond dial and vent dashboard look identical

• Alan Tan on Dec 25, 2012 at 3:55 am

Exterior Passat lookalike, Interior Preve lookalike

• preve 7/10 on Dec 25, 2012 at 3:57 am

Beautiful car.

Yes very Germanic, not too flashy and the interior oozes class unlike some jap cars- techno themed for the boy racers.

So some honta lovers will say the interior is outdated, no class, don’t look like transformers or spaceship. Toyotak lovers will ask why no plastic wood inserts or the cluster meters centred in the dash.

• The mainland chinese do not care about r&d and orginality all they want is to make big bucks in the shortest possible time look at their business culture they dont care about how they are regarded they can copy anything that can sell, in their mind why spend so much time designing a new car better spend time copying others. That way you can launch a car half the price and capture the domestic market easily. Reliability and quality is not important to them.

• looks like passat, with tail light copied partially from BMW 5 series.

I don’t like having a navigator so low in the middle, it takes your eyes off the road more than 5 seconds to read the map. It should be at slightly below eye level.

• kadajawi on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:20 am

This looks quite good actually. The proportions are absolutely right (something the Chinese really used to struggle with), and the design is on the same level as European and Korean car makers (Japanese are usually quite terrible). They did take some ideas here and there, but so does any other brand.

Stick on a European brand name and people wouldn’t be complaining that it is copying everywhere. Of course, this car was probably designed by a European design studio, not by a Chinese (are there any good Chinese product/automotive designers? I doubt it… creativity and taste is not their strength. I blame it on the Chinese school system and the way the young are raised. Good at learning and repeating, bad at coming up with a creative and new solution/idea).

I believe Qoros basically hired all sorts of talent from Europe/US to design and engineer their cars, the only part that is Chinese is probably where it is made and the boss/investor. So it is basically as Chinese as Volvo for example, or as Malaysian as Lotus is.

• kadajawi on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:33 am

Btw., a list of inspirations (but you can give that with most cars):
      At the rear: The chrome stripe is very Opel, like the last Vectra, or now the Insignia.
      Rear lights are obviously inspired by recent VW, but look nicer IMHO.
      Placement of the logo at the back, and the Logo itself is similar to Seat.
      Side line is a bit BMW, VW.
      Front overall reminds me of a China only VW, but I can’t remember the name.
      The way the headlight goes to the back is a bit BMW-ish, like the E90. Much more stretched out here though.
      Air intake at the bottom is a bit like the F30 (excluding the M bodykit). However it is much narrower and wider looking on the F30, plus the chrome bit is unique.

But all these ideas are taken, fitted to the car and molded into a COHESIVE design that looks just right. And it is a nice mixture, they don’t just copy one particular car, so that it is recognizable as such.

Ps: Would you say Apple is a copycat? Johnny Ive clearly takes tons of inspiration from Dieter Rams. There are few original ideas in Apple’s design.

• nighttrain on Dec 26, 2012 at 1:59 am

Dafuq is up with Chinese car fanboys? Goudy design, tacky build quality, you boys are getting paid or what? Why would you support these low tech fuel guzzlers? If these cars enter our country, they’ll become dangerous hazards. Don’t let Mainlanders come in! This is negara maju you know.

• “This is negara maju”? Which country is that, the obvious thing is Bolehland and Mainland are cliq in the sense that they both sucked out ‘dirty money’ out of their homeland almost as much as their whole fiscal budget! FYI in this case, China is ranked #1 and Malaysia #2, leaving all drug mafias in Mexico to #3. (Malaysia 2013 budget stands at MYR250 bil compared to ‘dirty money’ being sucked out in 2010 which amounted to MYR200 bil… our 30mil population can each get a spec.ed Yamaha LC135 with this amount for use to/fro our hard-jobs)

• yayaya on Dec 26, 2012 at 12:41 pm

Do not be so biased- beautiful means beautiful regardless whr you are from.

We are not talking abt the tech or quality here..it may or may not be good.but the chinese just like us malaysians definitely hv the capabilities to produce good cars. The resources are there.

Looks and the whole package is very important. Toyotak has the tech but selling ugly and low down pacakged cars. Koreans balanced it almost right bar handling, protons good pacakge but quality issues and reputation, European cars still set the bar.

So we never know Chinese flavour. It takes time to gain market trust but based on the looks alone i would rather have this than a viosss.

• Jilbaber on Dec 26, 2012 at 3:56 pm

It does have Preve dash dna there albeit look much nicer..

• Better than PROTON la lol…