New Chinese brand Qoros to debut sedan in Geneva

Next March’s Geneva motor show is set to welcome a newcomer to the motoring world. Chinese brand Qoros will show a compact C-segment four-door sedan with European-inspired styling.

Established four years ago through a 50:50 partnership between Chery and global industrial holding company Israel Corporation, the automaker is focused on “state-of-the-art technology, with high levels of user-friendly in-car connectivity and vehicle safety standards which compare to the best in Europe.” Some history of this relationship can be found in our earlier report.

Aiming for young buyers in China and Europe, Qoros plans an initial production capacity of 150,000 units, rising to a maximum output of 450,000 cars at an all-new facility which is currently being constructed in Changshu, Jiangsu Province.

Qoros says all of their cars will be designed and engineered for maximum Euro NCAP ratings as well as other global safety, quality and environmental standards. The company’s executive team is headed by chairman and president Guo Qian, who is also COO of Chery Group.

“We are a new company without any legacy or previous history, which gives us a great advantage because we are starting from scratch with a clean sheet of paper. By recruiting experts in all the essential fields of our operation, we can create a globally competitive product and service network that is designed to fit the lifestyles of modern metropolitan customers,” said vice chairman Volker Steinwascher, a senior European automotive executive.

Where did they get that name? The Q stands for quality, and the whole name echoes the Greek word ‘khoros,’ reflecting the multi-national nature of the company and meaning a collective musical voice – you know the English equivalent.

The automaker’s first car is scheduled to go on sale in China towards the end of 2013 and in Europe by early 2014. New models are expected to be launched almost every half year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• leklu on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:24 pm

Indah khabar dari rupa

• High expectation of its “European ” styling and 5 star NCAP ……. But seriously, Qoros ,what a name

• Proton not any better. if they can make a better car than proton, i will surely get one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • confused on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:29 pm

So, this is what Jeremy Clarkson & James May are talking about..

“In the future, we are going to drive a Chinese car.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • looks like a Volkwagen Passat. hmm…

• kemio on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:36 pm

whooaa dude.. Qoros, if change the Q to S sure got lots of money… $oros

• astroboy on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:42 pm

Hofmeister’s kink spotted..

• George Qoros on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:43 pm

looks promising…can’t wait for the launch…

• ae101 on Nov 08, 2012 at 3:51 pm

looking at our jaguh kampung, i really feel shame. new kid on the block like china car is going to enter internation market but p1 still syok syok sitting at comfort zone sucking rakyat money and hope this will last for another 10yrs maybe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
    • _xXx_ on Nov 08, 2012 at 5:12 pm

The name itself tells, champion in his own village. How can u expect a village champ to compete in Olympic? BTW, to be fair to the J/K, they are NOT sucking rakyat’s $. They dun force the blind-supporters to buy at gunpoint….

• vader on Nov 09, 2012 at 7:31 am

Haha.. they are not forcing some1 to buy its car, but having heavy tax on other cars..
        To be fair to J/K, let us say they “indirectly” sucking our blood!!!

• ae101 on Nov 08, 2012 at 6:10 pm

smart ppl don’t use gun force people to do something. as simple as that :)

• China has a large technical base and they have massive amounts of resources at their disposal. Malaysia is a small country with a tiny population ( 28 million compared to China’s 1,300 million ). In metaphorical terms, if you channel an ocean of opportunity into a lake of dreams, you’re going to fill the lake up faster than if you channelled a river of opportunity into the lake instead. Proton took a long time to reach their level today because of the limited resources in our country. Chinese car makers don’t have this problem, that’s why they went from copying to innovation in just 10 years. Don’t lose faith in our Proton, they can still make it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
      • vader on Nov 09, 2012 at 7:42 am

Come on, small population is not an excuse for the poor performance of the potong. If it really a fact, then why we are having the potong at the beginning?
        Besides, pls do remember that the potong also not started from zero, they are having strong technical support from Mitsubishi during that time!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Yes it is. Look at the Czech Republic with their Skoda. They were absorbed by Volkswagen in the end. Look at Australia’s Holden, absorbed by General Motors. UK’s Vauxhall, also General Motors. Just 3 examples of many. What do you have to say for this ?

• Mp_drucker on Nov 09, 2012 at 10:47 pm

You sound analytical. However, in one hand you said that Malaysia have relatively small base of resources to work on and therefore has its limit with overseas examples quoted. On the other hand you hope that people will still have faith in Proton and hope that Proton will rise against the “odd”. I am fine with your call to support Proton but if you really hope that Proton will rise against the competition, then you “in fact everybody especially Proton’s Top Management” should discard the mentality that Proton is playing in a small “pond” unlike the automotive giant who are playing in the “ocean”. It is this kind of mentality that halt Proton’s growth. Look at korean car manufacturer, their population also not that great. They are definitely outnumber by the Indian or even Indonesia. By your reasoning, the Indian or Indonesian should do better than the Korean. Am I misintrepreting your comment?

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 09, 2012 at 9:04 am

I’m sure Proton can still make it. But before then, there would be a trial by fire.

Get rid of the protection, get rid of the crony links and if it survives, it would “make it”. Proton needs to learn how to compete as a private business instead of a GLC.

Limited resources?
        Malaysia had a hugh advantage in terms of educated manpower, resources, infrastructure, and strategic location in Asia. If it were not for the NAP, we would have been the Detroit of Asia. You don’t even need to look to China to pull excuses, even Thailand is doing good.

Once the industry gathers momentum, it would be able to generate its own talent pool from experience and tech transfer. If you have a triving industry, you will attract talent if not pay for it.

• I agree that all the tax protection has to go. I also agree that Proton needs to hire better talent and function as a private company for better efficiency.

I don’t agree with your 3rd paragraph. Thailand became the Detroit of Asia because they didn’t force foreign companies to partner with local companies. Toyota in Thailand is handled by the Japanese, in Malaysia Toyota is handled by UMW. The reason why Malaysia forces foreign companies to cooperate with local companies is because we wish to preserve some of the profits gained from sales. We don’t want foreign companies to suck out all of the wealth gained from selling their cars here. Even U.S and most of Europe practise this policy. Thailand, like Detroit will benefit in the short term, and lose in the long term. Just wait and see. Thailand will crumble just like Detroit did.

• Peter on Nov 10, 2012 at 3:13 am

“The reason why Malaysia forces foreign companies to cooperate with local companies is because we wish to preserve some of the profits gained from sales. ”
            Wrong, very wrong and illogical.
            Proton is a project initiated by Dr M to lead Malaysia into automotive industry. It’s a national agenda. If you want to just gain profit, do like PERODUA. Go compare the financial report of these 2 companies … have PERODUA ever made a loss, bailed out by Khazanah all these year?

• Peter on Nov 10, 2012 at 3:20 am

You can always gain profit from tax, not by join venture. Enforcing local partner aim to promote local industry.

• tokmoh on Nov 10, 2012 at 12:38 pm

Tak habis-habis dengan ketahian ni

Compare with Singapore: small country, very easy to manage

Compare with China: big country, big resources.

Because fuck logic, that’s why!

Meanwhile in Malaysia, cronies: u mad bro?

• Qoros is a word created for the new company. Q represents quality – we stand for quality at international level. The pronunciation of Qoros is very similar to the Greek word khoros, which means the chorus of many voices. Qoros has many voices from all over the world and we work together as one team to create quality products: I got this from their website. Looks like there are into serious business from scratch. The more players the better for consumers. Initially I though was by SOROS! hahaha.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 08, 2012 at 4:40 pm

Good luck Qoros …

• Change Q to B…. Boros

• drchan on Nov 08, 2012 at 4:52 pm

Haha Tun Mamak and UMNO gang will ban this coz it’s Israel joint venture and funded by Soros hence the name Qoros! Btw will the next Proton model be named Boros!? Meaning boros ( wasting) tax payers money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • GTR 2.0 on Nov 08, 2012 at 5:01 pm

It seem that they have set their target to be a global car manufacture and not just only for China. To achieve that target, they hired people based on the expertise that they need. Same as what hyundai-kia did with their designer. Hopefully we can see more from our beloved proton than just the MOUs in the future.

• _xXx_ on Nov 08, 2012 at 5:05 pm

how to pronounce “Qock”

• qoros badan

• vomitz on Nov 08, 2012 at 7:48 pm

looks fine design. Would the new management team @ proton make a better quality CAR. Now the people are force to buy a cheap quality car at very sucking high price. Aren’t they listening the people screaming PLEASE BUILD A QUALITY CAR! or boycot proton

• AsapHitam on Nov 08, 2012 at 10:19 pm

mmm… dah tak nampak pun krete china kat jln malaysia nih!!

• The Godfather on Nov 09, 2012 at 2:23 am

New Lexus in the making…

• looks like a upmarket expensive brand…nice

• faizul on Nov 09, 2012 at 9:56 am

cheap lexus in the making..if price is right, customer service is good, reliable and full of upmarket features definitely will give a run for other makes in malaysia.

• Ryan L. on Nov 09, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Somehow the front reminds me of the passat CC

• gen y on Nov 09, 2012 at 7:56 pm

It may look like Passat or Lexus or anything else, but it’ll be no where near Jap brands

• MatLimMutu on Nov 10, 2012 at 3:23 pm

the design looks smart like vw passat from the side.. but i still don’t prefer a china brand car.. sorry.

• wanjamakwanjusoh on Nov 10, 2012 at 7:47 pm

join with israel corp? they should named Soros then. btw, for those chinese car lover out there here who commented so much, how many of you driving a chinese car? probably none.