First photos of Peugeot 2008 make their way online

Peugeot-2008-crossover-blanc-2013_1_zps82654e18

These are the first four photos of the new B-segment Peugeot 2008 supermini, which will compete against cars like the Nissan Juke and the Opel Mokka. It is likely based on the 208 platform, and was previewed in September 2012 as a concept car at the Paris motorshow.

The 2008 Concept had a 1.2 litre three-cylinder petrol engine with a turbocharger, which can do 110 horsepower. There is no such production engine in the Peugeot stable for now, but this suggests a possible introduction in the future. If it doesn’t debut with the 1.2 litre turbo, we’re guessing it’ll probably share a similiar engine range as the 208 hatchback.

The Peugeot 2008 will make its world premiere at Geneva 2013.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DewaSemut on Jan 05, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Yum yum.. It doesn’t run too far from the concept…

• carlos on Jan 05, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Either european cars looking like Korean or
    Korean cars looking European. Anyway, it seems Korean carmaker getting European designer and making news. And latest peugeots are losing their front character. You can put any badge on the grille – hyundai, nissan, kia, tata and it goes…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
    • Roger Tan on Jan 05, 2013 at 6:15 pm

Definitely Koreans looking like Europeans when it comes to current car design

I do agree regarding the generic designs nowadays, especially the front end

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawi on Jan 05, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Thank god. That gaping mouth was hideous. This is the new, admittedly not that inspired new face. But it does look better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Jan 05, 2013 at 10:19 pm

Ditto with RV too. Very poor indeed.

However, trading used kimchis is far more profitable than trading used sui kwan contis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
  • intermilan on Jan 05, 2013 at 4:29 pm

not bad at all..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Semut on Jan 05, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Cun oooooo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Jesse James on Jan 05, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Simply stunning!

• Looks good!

• thequestion on Jan 05, 2013 at 7:21 pm

On design alone I’ll put money on it without bother to test drive or think about any disaster I put myself in investing on it !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • The good one

• chrisjoe on Jan 05, 2013 at 8:49 pm

it looks like an SUV…or is it?

• “There is no such production engine in the Peugeot stable for now”

Possibly a downsized BMW engine? As Peugeot already manufactures engines for the Mini and BMW will bring out a new turbocharged 3cyl. engine soon?

• sepul on Jan 05, 2013 at 10:14 pm

wow.. nice one, peugeot!

• shawal on Jan 05, 2013 at 11:33 pm

with d current weather trend, any jacked up vehicles is a viable choice, ckd this , equip it well n price it right, shud prove to be popular

• ProtonJawa on Jan 06, 2013 at 2:18 am

Proton shud hire korean or european designer that can come up with a “car” design. Preve is so ugly, ezora is so 70s, others are total bull.

Helo proton/drb/ whoever behind or keep sabotaging proton. Change la ur design house. Revamp. Get rid of the whole dept. or was it those who own proton/drb is the one to be blamed? Whatever & whoever it is, i dont care. Just start producing real car soooon, otherwise change your name from proton to moron.

Note: ferrari user club kuantan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
    • kimchi on Jan 06, 2013 at 9:29 am

If preve is so ugly then almera and vios is what?
      Is it like a ferrari or lambo? What a bullshiate comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
      • Ramm051 on Jan 06, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Almeira? Vios? Preve? If you like you buy la. why making fuss? Stupidos. Preve beautiful ka? Where u put ur eyes? On ur arse?

Cannot agree more, after so many years proton come up with budak skolah punya design. Damn ugly, low quality.

Dei kimchi, go eat your rotten vege. Go become proton salesman, or you are a actually a proton salesman. You are as stupid as a stick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
        • pamkins on Jan 06, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Prolly another Pumpkins dupe. Yes preve is beautiful, elantra is beautiful, k3 is beautiful. Almera and vios are ugly, you have problem with that?

Please say ugly to upcoming vw cars too because they are designed by Italdesigned too lol

• I bet you drive an ah beng vios

• skyrim on Jan 07, 2013 at 8:21 am

dunno what you guys are arguing about but I think the best looking proton car until today is still the wira!

• Defined “car” design, it must be like ferrari right?
      Then other cars are total bull

• i totally agree with u

• huang on Jan 06, 2013 at 11:11 am

ezora? i’ve never heard of it

• Stuart on Jan 06, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Even Koreans are getting European to design cars for them and you want Proton to get them back to design car for them? You didn’t know Proton did hired Korean designers more then 10 years ago? They ditched them because the Koreans came out with those design you guys are complaining. One of it was Savvy which is a major disaster.

• silver on Jan 06, 2013 at 10:52 pm

pls bro korean employs european designer….

• MatLimMutu on Jan 07, 2013 at 5:55 pm

ezora???

• Sometimes the car is looking too good, that we forget to update the current year :)

i guess it is suppose to be, Geneva 2013?

• Sometimes the car looks too good, that we forget to update the current year :)

i guess it is suppose to be, Geneva 2013?

• Peugeot should go back to their iconic smiling mouth design…..else it would just look like any ordinary car out there

• Kalun on Jan 06, 2013 at 9:02 am

How could you compete against juke with that engine.
    Come on! Fitted it with a big engine.

• Avenger on Jan 06, 2013 at 10:32 am

Memang cantik…tapi enjin bagus ke…saya dah pernah bawak 3008 selama lima hari…daripada 10 markah…saya bagi 6 aje…pick up sangat mengecewakan…mungkin sebab diesel kot…stereng agak tidak responsive dan cengkaman jalan adalah meragukan….pendek kata….cantik je tak best juga…ia harus disertakan dengan upaya enjin dan kawalan yg setara…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • pamkins on Jan 06, 2013 at 11:59 am

enjin prince tak bagus kah?

• Sam Loo on Jan 06, 2013 at 12:15 pm

RV lagi mengecewakan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • Deprec value how many % ?

• Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2013 at 7:27 pm

Pugs profit margin in the used car market is not as great as kimchis.

Furthermore, the turnover is very slow

• sepul on Jan 06, 2013 at 2:11 pm

3008 kt malaysia tak pakai enjin diesel encik.. cuma 508 je ada diesel kt sini

• neutral on Jan 06, 2013 at 3:23 pm

diesel? mungkin u guna fuel yang salah…btw…i think 3008 is damn ugly…but the prince engine is good and provides enough thrust for 508…just a bit unreliable probably due to our weather

• Avenger on Jan 07, 2013 at 10:27 am

Saya sewa 3008 tu kat Budget Heathrow….memang tulis kat penutup minyak tu ‘Diesel Only’….mungkin lain kali saya cuba yg petrol pulak….

• gungho on Jan 06, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Memang cantik…tapi enjin bagus ke…saya dah pernah bawak X selama lima hari…daripada 10 markah…saya bagi 6 aje…pick up sangat mengecewakan…..mungkin sebab underpower kot…vibration je lebih….stereng agak tidak responsive dan cengkaman jalan adalah meragukan….pendek kata….dah la tak cantik…maka ia sepatutnya disertakan dengan upaya enjin dan kawalan yg setara…

*feel free to fill in, fixed*

• vader on Jan 07, 2013 at 7:34 am

Komen anda sama ada cerita buatan sendiri atau u pam diesel kepada petrol THP engin!!!

• iLoveFord on Jan 06, 2013 at 11:19 am

that’s 2008?
    2 series meaning cheaper than 3 series.

expect tome to malaysia CBU well below RM90k.
    hope to see CKD 2008, RM75k.

• Maserati on Jan 06, 2013 at 4:44 pm

At least peugeot engine is much better than those korean rubbish. Goodluck to those who bought elantras, kias and the rest of the junk from korea…

But peugeot engine still loses out to engines from VW!

• crkery on Jan 06, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Many primary school students minded people here gave half-baked comments. It’s either wrong or stupid

• Got 3 DRL ahh?

• Jacksonkua on Jan 06, 2013 at 8:23 pm

No point on arguing which cars is more beautiful.

Just go to “Most beautiful car of the year” website,

Buy one of the car from that short listed list.

No one will argue with u anymore.

I did that and that’s why now I am driving DS4.

• Well ,congratulation on your DS4, you’ve just made the road a more fresher place one car at a time [although I prefer the DS3]
      As for that website, I think is better to purchase a ride that suit your taste, because I don’t think looks can be judge, beauty befalls on the eye of the beholder. If you truly want a sexy car, a classic , probably before the 80s, will beat any modern car for sheer beauty. Well that’s my opinion [and to fill up my spare time]

• gOOsh on Jan 07, 2013 at 9:16 am

cantik arr…

• intermilan on Jan 07, 2013 at 2:59 pm

A just release news reported that Ford EcoSport, a B-segment compact SUV (which is similar with the Peugeot 2008) will be manufactured in Rayong Thailand for ASEAN market and most probably, scheduled to be launched this year.

If that is the case, Nasim could only realistically sell the 2008 here, if they CKD it. A CBU 2008 will be at huge price disadvantage compared to its rival above.

PSA is seriously behind Ford on this one. But then, there is no words whether Nasim want to bring the 2008 here in the first place.

• MatLimMutu on Jan 07, 2013 at 5:59 pm

smart design :)