VIDEO: First ‘Fast & Furious 6’ official trailer debuts!

Fast_Furious_6

Car manufacturers aren’t the only ones blowing millions of their marketing budget on some screen time during America’s biggest television event of the year, Super Bowl XLVII (check out the car-related TVCs here). It’s high time for big time movie promoters to showcase their upcoming releases too, and us motor heads received a bonus treat with the first showing of the official Fast & Furious 6 movie trailer.

From the looks of it, long-standing franchise director Justin Lin obviously does not grasp the meaning of “bigger isn’t always better”. This 60-second spot features more explosive action than a few Transformers movies combined. Take that, Michael Bay!

From larger than life car chases to the team crashing down a moving plane only to allow Vin Diesel to emerge from the burning wreckage in a glorious fireball, the movie seems to bend the laws of physics even further than ever before. And if you remember the previous movies in any detail, you’d recall that Lin has bent the rules so far to have Sir Isaac Newton perpetually spinning in his grave.

Fast & Furious 6 opens in the US of A on May 24. Expect the local release to be within the same week or so.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Alfisti on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Wow!! Finally an Alfa in the F&F franchise! The Alfa Giulietta QV turbo!

• BMW Fanboi on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:07 pm

meh…….. no Preve featured.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 23
      • jolly_idiot on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:32 am

You don’t see Preve in there? Too bad, it’s just a quick shot that it’s at the junk yard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
      • Ah Beng on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:33 am

Preve turbo lag too slow, get crush by the tank before it can accelerate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • Dr Cooper on Feb 05, 2013 at 9:51 am

if featured then it become extra road cars dummy car that got destroyed for stunt action

• Rakyat on Feb 07, 2013 at 12:51 am

Vin Diesel no like it.

• Car companies should not waste their money on marketing. They should be giving discounts to people. This is what really matters. Honestly, nobody is really interested in stunts, rather have some excess money from paying my silly monthly car loans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
      • jolly_idiot on Feb 05, 2013 at 11:55 pm

We prefer good movie sponsor by car manufacturer rather than subsidicing you on your car discount. Face the fact, you’re paying extra to government on taxes but not manufacturer. Cars are cheap in european country.

• I.ME™ on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:46 pm

H@@LY SH*T. A JENSEN INTERCEPTOR. Can’t bloody wait.

• can’t wait can’t wait can’t wait !

• Simon Ng on Feb 04, 2013 at 9:23 pm

How many cars can you identify in the trailer? The only car which I think I can identify is the GTR and some sort of Alfa Romeo. LOL my bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • tikus on Feb 05, 2013 at 6:30 pm

it is not GTR…It is Charger lar.See carefully again,it got a “cross” grill leh.

• kelvin on Feb 04, 2013 at 10:30 pm

This film is not yet rated.

• kakarott on Feb 05, 2013 at 12:14 am

Some how I feel like I am watching a G.I Joe trailer

• Allen on Feb 05, 2013 at 12:14 am

The director name is Justin Lin instead of Jeremy Lin. Was that a typo or purposely done?

• paparadzi on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:06 am

Look out for the 1969 Dodge Charger Daytona replica.

• jolly_idiot on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:37 am

Getting more and more GILA. This time got TANK somemore. Awesome!!!

• dass G on Feb 05, 2013 at 9:09 am

I am as excited as a kid in a toy store..
    Cant wait!

• Ekspresi Ruang on Feb 05, 2013 at 10:15 am

Looks like some Avengers is shitting their pants this year

• azreen on Feb 05, 2013 at 10:46 am

An Escort Mexico at last. Kind of tired of seeing overrated American cars in Hollywood movies. Escort Mexico is a legend by itself. This is the car that is close to heart to most Malaysians as opposed to Dodge Chargers, SC Ramblers or any American muscle cars for that matter.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Escort Mk 1, 2 door, a rare species in Bolehland. Nostalgic rememberence of owning Mk 1 and Mk 2.

• frenzyaustin on Feb 05, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Where is Han’s Lexus LFA?

• Hadi75 on Feb 05, 2013 at 10:37 pm

When you go to the cinema and watch this movie….leave your brain out at the door and enjoy…. :)

• Sam Loo on Feb 07, 2013 at 12:37 am

All the movie cars have low RV!

• drebar on Feb 07, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Did I saw Ferrari FXX?