Mitsubishi GR-HEV Concept previews the next Triton

Mitsubishi GR-HEV-05

You’re looking at the Mitsubishi GR-HEV Concept Sport Utility Hybrid Truck that is currently being shown at Geneva. The official line is that MMC is proving that its electric vehicle tech can be adapted to a truck, after doing so on an SUV with the Outlander PHEV. But one can also see this as a preview of how the next Triton pick-up truck will look like.

“Rugged, handsome and eminently usable, this 4WD Sport Utility HEV Truck show car was developed as a conceptual successor to a long line of one-tonne Mitsubishi Motors pickup trucks – from the original 1978 Mitsubishi L200,” reads the press release.

Under the hood is an all-new proprietary Hybrid EV (HEV) solution, featuring a 2.5 litre Mitsubishi Clean Diesel engine and a front-mounted electric motor, powered by a battery pack located and protected within the truck’s ladder frame – further protection being provided by cross guard bars.

Mitsubishi GR-HEV-07

MMC says that the electric motor helps the diesel engine in a few areas – instant low end response, high-end torque, quieter acceleration/high-speed cruising and lower emissions.

The combo can also provide electric power on demand with available AC supply (100V to 240V), to replace a generator or to allow the use of a 100V winch for instance, as well as the ability to drive in pure-electric mode over short distances.

The Mitsubishi GR-HEV Concept also uses the brand’s Super All Wheel Control (S-AWC) integrated vehicle dynamics control system to deliver high stability traction and driving performance under all conditions. This HEV-dedicated driveline uses S-AWC to tailor output and braking to each wheel for every drive mode, whether in 2L, 4H, 4HL or 4LL.

Looks very futuristic, but also unmistakeably Triton. Like what you see?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Dr Cooper on Mar 06, 2013 at 10:22 am

Nowadays that ‘forehead’ front have become something in common

• Sam Loo on Mar 06, 2013 at 5:01 pm

Hilux can tapau this car anytime. Mitsubishi better stick with making fridges and aircons and leave the car industry.

• tkling on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:17 am

Mitsubishi is more than a car company or fridge maker, it is one of the largest industry conglomorate in the world!

• pelams on Mar 06, 2013 at 10:25 am

oh no… i juz booked my triton

• sam loo junior on Mar 06, 2013 at 10:27 am

Sweet looking triton !!! me like but can our diesel be used since it needs clean diesel, lol

>>featuring a 2.5 litre Mitsubishi Clean Diesel engine and a front-mounted electric motor

• Woahhh!!!

• tkhawk on Mar 06, 2013 at 10:49 am

Fugly! The Ford concept looks much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Jürg Hölzle on Mar 06, 2013 at 10:57 am

I like the design! Hoping most of it will arrive in the production model…

The Triton was really ahead some years ago. But I recently bought a Mazda BT-50 because of its up-to-date technology.

• tkling on Mar 07, 2013 at 12:18 am

to me, Mazda BT-50 may be also time ahead of other… time will tell….

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 06, 2013 at 1:25 pm

next Triton perhaps.

But we still have not seen anything akin to the 2004 Mitsu sport truck concept. It did however have a safety feature that I would really like to see on all high riding pickups… which is that the 2004 concept has 2 bumpers – which the lower bumper is made to contact the side impact beams of normal cars.

as it is now, your head is the impact beam, if any of the new larger and higher riding trucks (Triton/navara/ranger) T bones you.

• Katung-Katung on Mar 06, 2013 at 5:26 pm

OMFG! Front bumper is so redicolously ugly!

• albag on Mar 06, 2013 at 7:30 pm

still curvy and girly looking truck.. real men drives Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Door-handle-size side mirror, I doubt it’s useful.

• Ganeson on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:45 am

Pickup trucks already low tax, if this lobs in in Malaysia, it will be priced like around 150 k to pay for the electric power train. Only die hards need apply.

• Ed Ocampo on Mar 08, 2013 at 7:02 am

When can we expect the release of the production model?