New Porsche Cayenne Turbo S spotted in Malaysia – launch soon with Cayenne Diesel S and new Cayman

cayenne-spy-01

Porsche’s fastest ever Cayenne, the 550 hp Turbo S, will be launched here soon. One was spotted by yours truly just yesterday in fact, driving around Malaysia’s own automotive enclave that is Glenmarie, Shah Alam. Apologies for the blurry pictures though, as they were taken with a mobile phone through my car’s filthy windscreen. Nothing like my trusty old Nikon, eh?

True Porsche aficionados would have locked on to the Turbo S-specific quad rectangle exhaust pipes, body-coloured wheel arch extensions and bespoke 21-inch 911 Turbo II wheels with high-gloss black highlights, not to mention the great big ‘S’ logo. Not pictured here are the glossy black-finished grille, side mirrors and headlight housings.

To refresh your memory, the Cayenne Turbo S gets a 50 hp and 50 Nm hike over the standard Turbo’s 4.8 litre V8, accelerates to 100 km/h in 4.5 seconds and reach a top speed of 283 km/h – 0.2 sec sooner and 5 km/h faster than the Turbo. The icing on the cake is that it doesn’t use any more fuel than the slower model, averaging 11.5 litres per 100 km.

Also in the pipeline are the V8 Cayenne Diesel S and second-generation Cayman, all set to be launched alongside the ultimate Cayenne sometime next month. We’ve already speculated the mega diesel’s local arrival last November, and it looks like our assumption is about to come to fruition. Excited yet?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• I, the commoner, cannot afford this at the moment. Yet, I will not aspire to own something this ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
    • sepul on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:25 am

I think Cayenne is the best looking Porsche besides the Cayman.

On another note, recently many continental cars being brought in with diesel engine, and looks like this one will have one too (a very powerful one at that). Could this be a sign that our fuel grade is already comply with Euro 4?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • David Goh on Mar 08, 2013 at 2:55 pm

I don’t know about this car but the normal Cayenne is priced at US$49,600. It is sold here for RM580,000.

If tax and duties come to 130%, that will be (49,600 x 3) 148,000 + 193,440 = RM341,000.

You mean SDAC makes a cool $240,000 on this car alone? Oh btw, I am sure Porsche Germany gives their principal in each country cheaper. The example above includes Porsche US margin and profit, as well as sales tax and any duties and excise US imposes in the US.

So, how much will the Turbo S cost? In US, it cost US145,000

• People don’t buy Cayenne for its beauty, but for its performance and handling. This is by far one of the most capable SUV in the world. You can explore the nature with its 4WD system, but can also spend your weekend by thrashing it in the nearest race tracks.

• Sam Loo on Mar 09, 2013 at 11:21 am

Cayenne got terrible RV. Buy RM600,000, next day can only sell RM450,000. My Hilux can tapu this Cayenne Turbo anytime in busy roads of KL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Walau eh RV again?!ur Toyota is people car so cannot compared with luxury brand lah! ur car is fugly and cheap!

• The dude is here on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:20 am

This kind of mindset wouldn’t get anywhere. Its the same like saying an EX5 bike can tapau your ugly Hilux during jam -_- Please use some common sense before writing such comment.

• _xXx_ on Mar 08, 2013 at 9:59 am

must be very cheap coz it’s a imported car…

• Not my fav porsche…but cayman is sweet n more of my style…cant wait for the new baby 911…still a far-fetched dream though…dream on dreamer…

• Its ugly, but you can’t ‘unsee’ it because its huge.

• Expatriate VN on Mar 08, 2013 at 10:45 am

1) Cronies – order 1 unit for our Jaguh Kampung No. 2 Chairman as replacement of old model!

2) AP Kings – order this one if there are request from rich and famous like Tun2, Tan Sri2, Datok2, 2nd, 3rd, 4th wives including but not limited to playboy sons!

3) Poor and ugly consumers – continue with using 1 star NCAP rating Saga BLM, or at most 3 star NCAP rating for MyVi lagi best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • pelams on Mar 08, 2013 at 11:37 am

sooo mafia style!

• Since I’am not a porential buyer, I see no interest in the Cayenne range, especially something as ghastly as the Cayenne Turbo S. thou still ugly, a clap of hands has to be given to Porsche for making it better looking than the monstrosity that is the first gen, which is no easy challenge.

But since I am a car guy, the arrival of the Cayman make me twist in glee.

• well… already saw a lot of these from grey imports.