Porsche Cayenne S Diesel to come to Malaysia?

The Porsche Malaysia website seems to suggest that the Cayenne S Diesel will be joining the local line-up, as evidenced by the screenshot above. If it is the case, it’s interesting that they’re considering this model – with a 4.2 litre oil-burning biturbo V8 pushing out 382 hp and a mega 850 Nm of torque, does this mean the quality of our diesel fuel is not as bad as we think?

We have no details yet on when the car will be introduced, if at all, but we can speculate as to its price. The Cayenne S starts from RM700k; the S Hybrid from RM740k, so we presume the S diesel won’t stray very far from a RM720k base price, given that it’s positioned between the Cayenne S and S Hybrid in other markets.

The Cayenne S Diesel is set to launch in Germany next year. We’ve got some sound clips of Stuttgart’s most powerful diesel car below – use headphones for maximum aural therapy.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• H-TWO-O on Nov 02, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Damn that whistle sound so nice!

• sleepwalkerz on Nov 02, 2012 at 4:26 pm

ayaaa…come what may, but i still cannot buy…no enough money..work until die oso still cannot buy…

• Jimmy on Nov 02, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Porsche the name only, can justify the price already, just like Ferrari at which I used to admire.

• Gavin on Nov 02, 2012 at 7:43 pm

What the f is going on that all the great diesels are in cars that nobody can really afford

• Paul Tan on Nov 03, 2012 at 12:25 am

there’s still some stock for previous generation focus tdci left, brand new! :)

• Gavin on Nov 03, 2012 at 6:20 pm

But new generation no plans to introduce the tdci engine, hence another dying support for the engine

• Heng Lee on Nov 02, 2012 at 9:15 pm

Crap! Toyota RAV better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • presna on Nov 03, 2012 at 4:45 am

wait a sec here, i thought that the quality of diesel sold in MY is too low grade (high sulphur and the sorts…. i think..) for european marques to use n all, so how come we’re seeing more diesel options being offered?

i mean what gives? if cars like porsche can survive with our “so called” high impurity diesel fuel, how come we’re not seeing our market being flooded with more diesel engine options from the like of Ford (yeah i know there is the focus tdci, as mentioned in the conversation btw gavin and paul above me, but like the guys said…that car aint exactly affordable for just about everyone), Peugeot and the whole bunch….

is our diesel fuel suddenly became Euro4 compliant or something?? like what BHP is advertising, its petrol being (at times that is) equivalent to euro4 stds….

p.s. bring them diesel engines here already…. (and the rest of you naysayers to diesel powered cars…….why complain if this ends up giving more choice and hence more value for money to everyone….)

p.s X2- noticed i’ve rambled a bit too much…. but like they say, don’t shoot the messenger….

• And who shall flood the market?

The Japanese don’t have any modern diesels, i.e. Toyota is using Peugeot diesel engines in their European line-up and lately even signed an agreement with BMW about the supply of modern diesel engines? ;)

• Alex Chan on Nov 03, 2012 at 6:20 pm

lexus rx / TOYOTA harrier is lah..better buy lah..confirm!..this resale value oso very bad one..waste money only to buy

• skiborne on Nov 03, 2012 at 7:41 pm

but Porsche has that image. torota doesnt

• Alex Chan on Nov 03, 2012 at 9:02 pm

that where u are wrong..what image?..resale value drop almost 50% when just owning it for 4 days..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Ricky Chan on Nov 04, 2012 at 6:40 pm

Do you need RV when you want to buy a Porsche? Is just like when you plan to watch scary movie and afraid will get scare.

• And where can I buy a Lexus rx / TOYOTA harrier with 382 hp and 850Nm torque?

However: Don’t waste money, better take the bus. Bus ticket cheaper and you don’t have to care about RV ;)

• Hadi75 on Nov 03, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Don’t buy car la if worry about resale value……

• DArkerMarker on Nov 03, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Diesel quality in MAlaysia SUCKS big time…..

• GasGuzzler on Mar 07, 2013 at 9:50 am

Well, the mechanic at service center found considerable amount of water in my Colorado’s diesel filter. Clearly visible for me as well. He asked me where did I usually refuel, I said XXX (American company). He said, It’s been recommended for this vehicle to refuel at XXX (local). He added, to that moment the only company in Malaysia sells diesel with international standards is this local one. So I assume that not all American goods are good and not all local products are sucks. To make sure of this, why don’t we conduct a lab test independently on diesel quality? Mr Tan, it’s a suggestion for you ;)

• It is not true, I tried the local brand for my 320d,it came out a lot of black smoke( like lorry) ….suggest to go for the seafood brand…. My meter just clocked 100KKM & 99% of my time I use the seafood brand…. Didn’t find any water in my diesel filter……