Perodua Jaguh – ‘an elaborate hoax’ indeed

Jaguh_Brochure1

Much ado about nothing, as it turns out. The supposed Perodua Jaguh brochure leak going around the past couple of days may have caused a lot of hullabaloo, but it turns out that the entire thing is nothing more than a ruse – the Jaguh doesn’t exist, and this has been confirmed by the person who came up with the whole thing.

Rendering wiz Theophilus Chin came clean earlier today on what he says was “an elaborate hoax” with the Jaguh renderings. As he puts it:

“There’s no such model (yet) by Perodua. Though Perodua did say they are mulling the possibility of producing sedan cars. But no one knows if the Perodua sedan is going to be a rebadge of existing Toyota/Daihatsu model, a sedan variant of the Myvi (engineering cost will be too high for this), or more ambitiously, a total Perodua self-design car (perhaps a productionised version of the Bezza concept).

So in preparing this fake brochure, as many of you have spotted when the “spy picture” first went viral, was that I referred heavily to the Alza brochure. All the Toyota badges were replaced with Perodua’s, including the badges in the interior pictures.

As for the car’s exterior, I moved the side indicator to the mirror housing, and also gave the Jaguh door handles from the Myvi. I reshaped the rear lights, trunk and bumper slightly for a less slabby look. At the front, I gave the Jaguh slimmer lights, a more rounded bumper and most obviously, the smaller grille. On the side, the Jaguh gained some side skirting and again from the Alza, the wheels.”

Jaguh_Brochure2

We’d caught more than a few anomalies with the leaked pix, more so when the purportedly complete set came about. The initial front shot showed a lightly-modified Toyota Etios sedan with a Perodua face, and the slimmer front grille, Myvi-style pull-type door handles and Alza-sourced alloy wheels were noticed. The MyVAP rating and sliding second-row seats mention didn’t help.

The surfacing of the rear shot (and interior) made the argument that it was all faked even more convincing. Giveaway points were the manual shifter, non-studio shots and the model grades in the brochure, more Toyota-esque than Perodua. The chosen name was another – Modenas already has the name ‘assigned’ to its 175 cc two-wheeled cruiser.

Whatever the case, the ruse worked a charm, enough for it to be reported in the mainstream news and for Perodua to have had to respond to the matter with statements. We were told by the automaker that “a feasibility study has been completed for a sedan. Just come to KLIMS 2013,” which suggests that a concept should break cover at the show.

We’ve been told that a Perodua sedan is very real indeed, as company officials have previously said that they’re studying the idea of going down the sedan route.

Right, that should put an end to all things Jaguh for now, you think? And yes, very nice try, Theo.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• pipikiri on Jul 30, 2013 at 2:50 pm

tak cantik langsung…….belakang paling teruk…..!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 10
    • CarGuy on Jul 30, 2013 at 3:00 pm

indian mah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
      • Dr M and Cronies on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:29 am

HEY THEO…

With such talent, why don’t u go out & get a real job???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
        • Theophilus Chin on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:38 am

I do have a real job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 22
          • What kinda name is THEOPHILUS? on Jul 31, 2013 at 11:53 pm

Realllly?? Don’t look it…

Besides its just simple photoshop, even my granny could come up with this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 21
          • Winson on Aug 06, 2013 at 9:13 am

your granny know how to do it…. but too bad you cant…shame on you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Alpha on Jul 30, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Hope Perodua will put some efforts in redesigning the ugly. From what I see, they did a good job redesigning the bland Passo and Passo Sette in to the MyVi and Alza respectively.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Star Dust on Jul 30, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Still a better rendition than his stupid Proton Perdana Accord pictures

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
    • The most ugly sedan ever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Why not change to animal name like Perodua utan,
      the whole car look like orang utan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • ASDFGH on Jul 30, 2013 at 7:57 pm

lepas ni suruh perodua amik kau jadi designer diorang lah senang, hehe. lawa la nanti jadinya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • mokhlisnor on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:42 am

memang x cantik.. ianya bukan keluaran Perodua.. read article till finish. :)

• mr_em on Jul 30, 2013 at 2:56 pm

yeah.. yeah… all this while the phrase “www.theophiluschin.com” on some of the photos of the fake brochures prove to be the clue that this is the work of TC…

• Ahmad Izzat Khalid on Jul 30, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Ouchhhh. Too ugly!!

• Haha the person doing this is pretty Jaguh…So Perodua…now you know what our taste like for your next sedan…don’t screw it…

• LimPek on Jul 30, 2013 at 3:26 pm

very ugly car!
    Jaguh means FAIL !
    remember Mondenas Jaguh?

• Sick&tired on Jul 30, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Slow news week indeed.

• mamamia on Jul 30, 2013 at 3:35 pm

even paultan get prank…gud job theopilus…keh3

• So, are we gonna see Perodua take action against Theo for all the extra work they had to do because of this hoax?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • BLUR SOTONG on Jul 30, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Front view look like the current Vios
    Side view look like proton saga
    Rear view copy Chrysler .
    Jaguh = Jagong + Jaguar

• nasi lemak on Jul 30, 2013 at 3:56 pm

walao, used as teksi can lar.
    who wan drive this car out. better drive saga 90″

• Mamat on Jul 30, 2013 at 3:58 pm

fake facts!
    fail design!
    fool name!

• Peminat Perodua on Jul 30, 2013 at 4:00 pm

aduhh…awat lagu nih design dia..patut lg uptodated weii..

• mokhlisnor on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:30 am

oit.. ni fake brochure lah.. P2 x design keta sedan lagi pun..

• kedidi on Jul 30, 2013 at 4:06 pm

nice job TC. you have fooled everyone…
    ha..ha..ha….P2 should hire you as part of their designer team…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • the driver on Jul 30, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Goes to show that Toyota/Daihatsu/Perodua designs are pretty poor or uncharacterful to begin with, that even an average rendering artist can fool the masses – mind you he does not design cars for a living.

• So we should gather everybody with pitchforks, hunt down Theo and hack him to pieces for giving us false hope?

• saiful on Jul 30, 2013 at 4:34 pm

the jaguh is not a beauty in any way. neither is the hoax. but hat’s off to Theo’s rendering work. in any case – ugly or masterpiece, that’s up to each individuals taste. to me, some actual ‘ugly’ cars in my eyes, surprisingly still make way into some or plenty of home and garages, here and anywhere in the world – so its more than meets the eye. say, fiat multipla, or renault kangoo, or even p2 kenari.

• Vishnu Anand on Jul 30, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Praise the lord it’s a hoax… coz that thang be fugly yo!

• Mou Mou Ren on Jul 30, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Anyway, Nice and PRO Photoshop.. Anyway,joke of the MONTH….

• Jagung on Jul 30, 2013 at 6:40 pm

the objective of this hoax is?
    a. showcase theo’s photoshop rendering skills to future employers (P1/P2..get the drift?)
    b. give netizens something to talk about
    c. just for fun

anyway, theo’s skill is better than P1’s R&D design team IMO.
    What is Theo’s day job anyway?

• Theophilus Chin on Jul 31, 2013 at 9:39 am

I’m a graphic designer with a charity organisation.

• retard on Jul 30, 2013 at 7:39 pm

never mind about the fake, what if p2 really want to sell sedan to compete the b segment, im 199% sure buyers of proton blm will terminate their orders even they have paid the deposhit.

• haha this is fake la.. try search Toyota Etios..

• Luckily this is a hoax, i can imagine seeing this ugly car on our road

• Hahahaha Theo totally trolled us all ! xD

• jneist on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:27 pm

i believe majority knows it’s a rendering. but still people will give comments, either it’s real or hoax. there is no hard feeling here, they just love to give comments, that’s all.

• ilovecandy on Jul 30, 2013 at 10:52 pm

design belakang mck bontot lori je..huhu

• Giveitarest on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:40 pm

what’s the point of theo’s renderings again?

• Tok Kok on Jul 31, 2013 at 1:05 am

Theo,
    Go get a real job at Perodua :)

• frankie on Jul 31, 2013 at 10:12 am

cuba perodua buat kereta 4 wheel mcm navara n hilux ke, ni x asyik2 upgrade myvi je

• Ahmadfaris93 on Jul 31, 2013 at 12:10 pm

I dont know how lifeless is the person who actually spread this false rumour. On the bright side, this car is ugly and thank god it is not real

• greenwave on Jul 31, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Front like old Saga BLM while rear like old pickup lorry..

• Anton Sevidov on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:23 am

Looks like a bloody Chinese car. Effin UGLY

• west end boys on Aug 02, 2013 at 3:57 am

slogan says,time to move up to the next level.I rather move down and buy a viva or kapcai instead

• zaidy on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:16 pm

ugly car!!!dont like it!!

• Master yoda on Aug 02, 2013 at 8:57 pm

What is this oddly- looking thing? It looks like some kind of a machine to me.

• disliker on Aug 03, 2013 at 4:22 am

Fugly

• so many Haters … well haters gonna hate …

• samlok on Aug 05, 2013 at 5:29 pm

fuuh! luckily is a fake news. Please perodua, focus on what u do best – rebadging

• Guys1313 on Aug 06, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Who the hell design this car….look like shit and sounds like shit…redesign it lah….and give a nicer name for it…..dun put a name that sound like lousy car…the design should put LED head lamp and the body should look like sporty sedan…some more I think perodua should use a more powerful engine and a harder body…coz safety is more important ..I’m sure that this product will be hot selling in malaysia……try to make is more like Japanese car or Europe car….

• The rear side look very HODOH. Hodoh drp Proton Saga. Perodua pls redesign la.

• bro chua on Aug 15, 2013 at 5:03 pm

better dont lounch ..very ugle rear face..lampu belakang 3 segi.. hahahahahha

• Yusrie on Aug 19, 2013 at 4:27 pm

doesn’t look like a Perodua items for me.. better not be..

• alan C on Aug 21, 2013 at 3:03 pm

jaguh, sama nama macam modenas.. bentuk.. nampak gaya servis kereta sama harga dgn toyota.. lagi cantik kalau mavy baru dan viva disedankan,,

• aloyshark on Aug 24, 2013 at 8:32 pm

adoi.. sape la punye design cmni? kete cm org tua. x updated langsung. dpn blkg huduh. kemon la produa, buat la design yg up to date skit.

• Datu ok on Aug 27, 2013 at 3:02 am

Kereta org dah jual murah pun kau org nak bnyak songeh nti dah keluar kmu yg bnyak songeh jg berebut rebut nak beli…..so listen carefully to me…..stop complaining…..understood …..ur all not baby ok……..hiks3…..

• Dàtu ok on Aug 27, 2013 at 3:16 am

Stop complaining ok…..harga dah murah pun nak bnyak songeh lg……ur all not baby ok……

• The rendering is just for fun and hobby , I think. No point to pin point. Complaining is always easier than doing it

• RavenAii on Nov 17, 2013 at 6:41 am

Toyota production models :
    Etios – Toyota India
    Vios – Toyota Thailand
    Innova – Toyota Astra (Indonesia)
    Avanza – Perodua Malaysia and Toyota Astra

So now I know Toyota isn’t 100% Japanese carmaker anymore.