Skoda UK unveils world’s biggest ice cream van

skoda ice cream

The scorching summer is well underway in Britain – but this ain’t your regular Mr Whippy. Skoda has launched the world’s biggest ice cream van at Great Yarmouth in Norfolk, where it served free ice cream to local children.

With five-foot monster truck wheels “to cope with the toughest UK beach terrains,” we’re surprised the 5.5-tonne, 21-foot tall leviathan didn’t make the children scream (not for ice cream). It took a team of engineers over three weeks to build, and boasts four mega speakers to announce its arrival – as if you couldn’t see the dessert storm from a mile away.

The van actually stars in the new advert for the new Skoda Octavia RS (vRS in the UK), which debuted recently at the Goodwood Festival of Speed. The commercial will also feature other souped-up versions of everyday gadgets including a giant toy trike, a lawnmower with multiple exhaust pipes and flaming go-faster stripes, and the vRS Mega Man-Pram.

“The Octavia vRS is not your average family car, so we created an ice-cream van that is also far from average!” explains Skoda UK marketing head Heidi Cartledge. “The giant ice cream van will be touring the UK handing out up to 6,500 servings of free ice cream, offering members of the public a fun sense of what you could experience if you vRS’d your life.”

6,500 servings – that’s a load of ice cream. Thanks Skoda UK, now I’ve got a craving that can only be satisfied by the neighbourhood uncle with a little fridge mounted on the back of his little motorcycle.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• not only the truck, the ice cream itself is a monster! almost half size of the girl..lol

• mason on Aug 22, 2013 at 6:47 pm

very nice icecream truck..creativewsy to promote..welldone

• sam nun on Aug 22, 2013 at 7:49 pm

What if the skoda breakdown….ice cream all melt

• Jimmy on Aug 22, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Nice if it is made into SUV style, with side protectors and wheel arch + front fender, and of course a lil bit less squarish. Like the superhigh ride.

• Gua Punya Rasa on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:43 am

gua rasa this is totally nonsense. boring.

• susahnye nak beli ais krim.. kena panjat tangga.. tak praktikal dan tak mesra pelanggan..

• OMG…LEGO ICE CREAM VAN….LOL

• uncertain buyer on Aug 23, 2013 at 2:54 pm

why would they create an ice cream van that need stairs to reach the seller? It’s difficult for buyers