SPYSHOTS: Nissan GT-R Nismo on the ‘Ring

Nissan-GT-R-Nismo-002

The Nissan GT-R can currently hit 100 km/h in 2.7 seconds – already a mind-blowing number. A relatively more extravagant Bugatti Veyron tops that number by only about 0.2 seconds. But Nissan isn’t resting on their Laurels, they have something even faster planned.

The prototype you see in these Nurburgring spyshots is the upcoming Nissan GT-R Nismo, which is said to be capable of doing the century sprint anywhere between a Veyron-beating 2.0 seconds to a Veyron-matching 2.5 seconds. Power is rumoured to be hiked to 570 hp, but there will be power-to-weight improvements via weight reduction as well, thanks to increased use of carbon fibre. The Williams F1 team is working with Nismo to develop the car.

Big things coming to the GT-R, which has been around since end-2007. By the end of the year we would have seen it in action for five years now. So on the one hand we have a Nismo GT-R which should be out in 2014, but on the other hand we also have the next generation to look forward to, which could come in early 2016. And that car could be a hybrid, since the company has moved to register the R-Hybrid trademark recently.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jolly_idiot on Sep 03, 2013 at 10:25 pm

Making the fast faster.

Nissan gtr is now king on the road. It beats most conti, american and japanese car. Yet it price is so affordable.

Those who drives a ferrari should aware of this gtr. Ah beng can own it and beat the ferrari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Luqman_HKM on Sep 03, 2013 at 10:54 pm

Tell that to Caparo T1, Caterham (range topping variant), KTM X-Bow, Lotus Elise, Lotus Exige, Lotus Evora S, Lotus Esprit, Lotus Carlton, Prodrive P2 and Brabus SL V12 Biturbo. They aren’t supercars but still accelerate 0-60 less than 4-5 secs.

Prodrive – 3.8
      Evora – still less than 4
      Brabus – 3.7
      Carlton – less than 4
      Caparo – 2.5
      Exige – in the 3 seconds range

NOT EVEN SUPERCARS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
      • Tanner on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:45 am

Many of those cars you’ve mentioned are pretty lightweight/track day cars except for 2 of them. The GT-R is pretty heavy @1.7tons… and the cornering grip is pretty insane as well.
        Oh, it’s a supercar that you can use daily, unlike those you’ve mentioned that will probably break down faster than the Nissan.
        Your argument is invalid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • At the 24h Nurburgring race, the GT-R blew up it’s engine just after a few laps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
        • your argument is just as invalid, the GTR is reliable but nowhere near as reliable as a toyota sourced engine in the lotus, especially when the turbos in the GTR are the size of planets. Also, the evora and new exige is far from a track only car. However your point still stands on the GTR being slightly more practical.

• Luqman_HKM on Sep 05, 2013 at 2:25 am

Ok fine, Im wrong, you’re right. But here’s the thing : Why do you need to reach 100kph in 2 secs? Even then Sultan Johor never drives his Bugatti Veyron at its top speed

• Luqman_HKM on Sep 05, 2013 at 12:31 pm

And also, how does it get to 60 mph in a mere 2 seconds? Even the Pagani Huayra that is far lighter (1.2 tonnes) and more powerful (730hp)does it only 3.2 seconds?

• Nekko on Sep 09, 2013 at 3:02 pm

GT-R is heavy at 1.8 tonnes therefore it has more grip at starting point. Other supercars depends on downforce for grip which is zero at starting point. You will see the supercars unable to exert full force to the wheel at start if not the wheel will start spinning

• Luqman_hkm, ben and mohd I assume that you guys dont know anything about cars. you are just european fan boys who just read wiki articles. At least drive a sports car before blogging,your comments show the lack of knowledge in cars.

• Affordable?

• Too bad when this thing saw a Aventador or Bugatti on the road! need to play hide and seek.

• frenzyaustin on Sep 04, 2013 at 6:47 am

If rumours is true regarding 0-60mph in 2 second, then GT-R will show it middle finger to a car cost much more than it.

• habiz on Sep 08, 2013 at 12:02 am

@VS
        go back to your imported car (tata nano), lol

• gtralltheway on Sep 02, 2014 at 2:27 pm

get over your european fan boy mentality. I know your mum has a bmw 318 but riding in the passenger seat in that wont make you a judge of an almighty GTR. Just saying.

• this time maybe the GTR neeed a wider body?

• drive so fast for what…everywhere also jam.
    got money buy ferrari, supercar for showoff only la..which is good

• Joe Radzif on Sep 04, 2013 at 8:07 am

Got more money than buy helicopter la kan…
      no jam…
      kikikiiii

• NISSpengAN on Sep 03, 2013 at 11:41 pm

Well done by nissan,hope it can become world unbeatable super car

• mango on Sep 04, 2013 at 12:50 am

By looking at the Plate Number…i believe its not 2.0sec car…but its 20cents car..!

• Just A Nobody on Sep 04, 2013 at 7:13 am

NissanMotosports version aye? Hmm, this would probably be the ”last or final hurrah” (sort of) for the GT-R before joining in the super hybrid crowd like the P1, 918, LaFerrari, SLS AMG Electric Drive, etc.
    Should name it Nissan GT-R Nismo S (S for ”Sayonara”)

• Joe Radzif on Sep 04, 2013 at 8:08 am

btw, nice camo…
    kikikii

• The number just don’t add up, 1.7 tones, only 560+bhp and dat price tag. Comparatively that’s the same number the E63AMG 4matic has but that does 3.5 second to the sprint and is still (slightly) more expensive than this. This in its bread and butter form does 0.7 sec faster! Add to that, from what the forums says, the engine seems to live up to Nissan reputation for reliability (gearbox not so) And can still handle more than double the stock horsepower figure without a sweat. Honestly what sorcery is this Nissan? This are the people that green lighted the Almera, the Micra and whole bunch of beige CVT appliance. This is what happens when dull automotive companies cut their caged engineers loose, the results are shocking.

• a gtr is not to replace ferrari,lambo or porsche but to add to ones collection of the finest automobile of all time. GTR’s great capabilities has bee around since 1989 in r32 gtr. They are great machines to do just one thing, to go very fast, the current 35 has been honed by nissan engineers continuously since its launched that it deserves a place in on of the greats cars ever built..owning one be an honor rather than going out rempit whacking everybody on the road..

• Is it me, or does the wheels on those GTR looks pretty slim? Based on the pictures, it looks like they did some small revision on the bodywork, but would be hoping for more externally. In powertrain wise, Nissan really knows how to surprise people. Keep it up!

• FINALLY!!!!! been waiting for this, not those stupid pointless special edition spec Vs that are only a fraction of a second faster and cost 3x as much.