Nissan GT-R Nismo to hit 96 km/h in just two seconds

NISSAN-GT-R-5841

Next to nothing is known of the upcoming Nissan GT-R Nismo, at least not solid facts. Rumours are aplenty though, and the latest one coming from Auto Express is that it’ll cover the zero to 96 km/h (60 mph) sprint in two seconds flat. Yes, two.

If the astonishing claim is true, that will make it the fastest accelerating production car ever, beating the 1200 hp Bugatti Veyron Super Sport that needs 2.4 seconds to get to 96 km/h (100 km/h in 2.5 seconds). Talking about giant-killing performance.

The current 545 hp GT-R’s time of 2.7 seconds is incredible enough, so for the Nismo version to substantially improve on it seems scarcely believable. As will all go-faster models, the super GT-R is likely to get more power (over 570 hp) and less weight.

Williams Advanced Engineering (a division of the British F1 team) is deeply involved in the GT-R Nismo’s development, with one engineer telling AE, “You’d be surprised at how much room for improvement there is – even with a car like the GT-R.”

Nissan CEO Carlos Ghosn has already gone on record saying that the GT-R Nismo will be ‘special’. Two seconds; yup, that’s special alright.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• magnificolo on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:27 am

1, 2.. Where is the car??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • laju-laju nak pegi mana?..pegi mati ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 56
  • Joseph on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:37 am

legend !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • hanssen on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:50 am

THAT’S WHY I KEEP MY SUNNY UP TO NOW…LIVE WITH THE LEGEND

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 9
    • 2fast on Aug 01, 2013 at 12:57 pm

legacy

• oh really on Aug 01, 2013 at 2:53 pm

I’m sure GT-Rider will approve this since he only judge all cars based on 0-100 km/h acceleration time.

• GT-Rider on Aug 01, 2013 at 6:59 pm

I judge mostly performance and super-cars. They HAVE TO be fast. It’s NOT normal or day-to-day cars that top speed / acceleration is not really a concern even though some will go through that way.

At least most normal cars now can accelerate fast enough to get into roundabout, get out from junction, carry full load etc.

• my gudnes, Nissan is awesome! ….. bye bye toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • lolol on Dec 27, 2013 at 1:55 am

In sports cars Nissan has already win Toyota and just about every Japanese automaker for a very very long time already. Just segments like MPV/Sedan nvr win only.

• Wit that amount of G-force, ur tongue would probably get stuck at d back of ur throat.Crazy!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Wow…. I can’t imagine if it runs on semi slicks… 1.99 sec.. Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • kereta_lembu on Aug 01, 2013 at 10:57 am

Whoa! That’s near to F1 territory. Its gonna put a lot “super”cars to shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Tuned GTRs are already dominating hypercars in 1/4 and 1/2 mile drag races.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • GTR = awesome

• frenzyaustin on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:39 am

It might still used the same VR38DETT Twin Turbo unit but probably a bigger blower. That engine is 2x smaller than a Bugatti but achieve faster that it? This is real engineering marvellous! Not using biggest engine in the world and installing 4 turbo in it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • I really don’t get the Godzilla ,its numbers just don’t support the performance, it’s got neither the power haus of the mighty Veyron, nor the weight advantage of an Aventador, but it smokes the Aventador and manage to keep pace with the Veyron in the century sprint, and cost waaaay less than any of them. It’s like the engineer at Nissan took the big book of Physics and burned it into a thousand pieces.

Now i dont know weather the GTR Nismo will do that 2.0 sec FLAT, but if it does, I don’t think it will have over a 1000 hp under the hood nor a 700kg diet, it will be through pure Japanese engineering prowess( but I suspect witchcraft to be involve). It’s no longer a new car, it’s a new benchmark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • the benchmark that i think will make the porshe people hold a meeting and say ” folks, now lets try to do 1.9 seconds..”

• NISMO GTR, used to be the legend of Japanese.

and now it becomes legend of British? French (Renault)? or Mr Carlos’ Brazil?

Every body in this world has become mixed~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • cho ha on Aug 01, 2013 at 11:58 am

it’s sad to see these manufacturers racing to put ‘supercars’ on the road and boasting abt the power…how many driver can handle such power? is it necessary to out this kind of vehicle in view of high accident rate and amid energy crisis? get the priority right I urge all the vehicle manufacturers out there..don’t ever forget what the primary function a vehicle is built for…may peace be with all the motorists

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
    • kadajawi on Aug 01, 2013 at 12:13 pm

Car makers have developed relatively safe cars. Even Proton can do it. And they are putting in a lot of effort to improve these cars even further.

The high accident rates are more related to the driver education and law enforcement in Malaysia. If things such as fast lane is only meant for overtaking are enforced that would for example help. Kapcai drivers need to get a reasonable set of rules (like passing through traffic is only allowed with a 10 km/h speed difference) that is enforced. Punish people decorating or tinting their windows in a way that hinders visibility. Teach everyone to pay attention to their surrounding all the time (in some countries head movements and looks into the mirrors are observed during the driving test. Don’t do that all the time and you won’t pass) and to be able to gauge the speed of others.

There are features that help of course, but even overseas apart from ESP none of them is in all cars.

Now Malaysian cars are usually sub par, but that is not due to lack of safe cars but a lack of buyers who demand them. Toyota offers the Prius C, a reasonably safe car reaching conti standards. Not very popular here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • frenzyaustin on Aug 01, 2013 at 12:57 pm

And empty Vios and Almera flood the whole road.
        What we need the most isn’t safe car or many airbags. But a proper drivers ethics and safer road. Our highway quality is very bad compare to 1st world country. German Autobahn looks extremely similar to our highway but without a speed limit they still achieve lower accident rate than us! Why? Because proper ethics and road condition!

• sky pirate on Aug 01, 2013 at 1:47 pm

empty vios and almera roaming the roads in malaysia are due to the lack of political will from the government to enforce say for example strictly a minimum of 4 air bags in a car.

those are car companies we are talking about here, they are here to make money and that’s their main priority. you need the government to come in to enforce safety requirements in a car. if there are no enforcement of safety requirements, those companies would not be bothered to make their cars safer, when they can kiss good bye to their profit margin. the government needs to do better!

• kadajawi on Aug 01, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Germany for example doesn’t have rules that say a car has to have ESP (some cars don’t), or that it has to have even 2 airbags (some cars don’t). Yet almost all cars have 4 or 6 airbags and ESP. Because the buyers demand it. To put it simple, cars that don’t have competitive safety specs and ratings simply won’t get any sales.

• almera is considered empty?if yes,i dunno what to consider vios is..vios is emptier than almera..vios is just like tin milo..we all knew that..lol

• Autokennzeichen on Aug 01, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Yup..im agree with you. survived in germany for 5 years and im practicing almost alike german driving attitude here in malaysia.after this while, many motorists in KL know how to use the blinker, but some other city part..still brainless. speeding just when there is only less traffic road and know your car power and safety well. the germans who drive sportscar still can waive and smile at pedestrian if they noticed it. not like in malaysia, even the normal folks who drive b-segment cars are rude as hel*.

• kadajawi on Aug 01, 2013 at 5:25 pm

The German Autobahn is a bit wider than Malaysian highways. To be honest, I don’t think Malaysian highways are that bad, at least when I travel on them. It is the other roads, those that are free to use. Bad condition, drivers with bad attitude or a disregard for their environment (i.e. what is happening around them).

Also, cars that have no stability control are easier to lose control and crash, and when they crash the result is more devastating due to the lack of passive safety features.

• frenzyaustin on Aug 01, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Well, a sudden hump on right lane. Does it mean safe?

• normalguy on Aug 01, 2013 at 7:27 pm

@kadajawi
            How to make consumers have the power to request car manufacturers to fulfill such demand?

• WOW! Can’t imagine how much faster this beast can achieve down the years…

• Ahnaf Irsyad on Aug 01, 2013 at 12:02 pm

i see that the GTR is losing its heritage and passion slowly. the last ‘proper’ GTR the R34 was made to win heart of motorhead, not to show off of how fast can you do. and the GTR is getting brainier than ever so it lack soul like the previous GTRs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • kadajawi on Aug 01, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Hasn’t the GT-R always been a very high tech sort of sports car? I mean from the R32 up at least.

• Ahnaf Irsyad on Aug 01, 2013 at 12:56 pm

it does, it is the soul that the R35 lack.

• nightyknight on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:41 pm

Tell me how do you define soul and passion on car?
          It’s just your personal view anyway.
          For me, this car is full of those characters.

• nightyknight on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:28 pm

You clearly dun understand GTR at all, the previous GTRs was fitted with clever high tech computers too. People bought the car not only to show off what it can do but also the driving experience. The current does it way better than before, so why did you said the GTR lost it heritage and passion? You should drive both generation before giving such no brainer comments.

• nightyknight on Aug 02, 2013 at 12:28 pm

You clearly dun understand GTR at all, the previous GTRs was fitted with clever high tech computers too. People bought the car not only to show off what it cfan do but also the driving experience. The current does it way better than before, so why did you said the GTR lost it heritage and passion? You should drive both generation before giving such no brainer comments.

• 96km/h in 2 sec makes horizontal force experienced by driver is about 13.35 m/s2 or 1.36G.
    about the same G-force when hard braking.

• erwinkarim on Aug 01, 2013 at 12:09 pm

it can only be done w/ launch control. but impressive nevertheless..

• kadajawi on Aug 01, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Impressive, but how many attempts before the gearbox breaks? I heard it is very fragile and easily overheats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • wiralution on Aug 01, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Can achieve same speed result with RON95? I doubt la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • I need a 0.5s car

• silver on Aug 01, 2013 at 12:51 pm

To me the spirit of the r32 still life on .. the only reasont hat they sue to have such low hp in japan and ppl mod it like crazy is due to the pack the japanese manufacturer made to stop againts the hp war.. thats why they are so many after sales parts available during those time to by pass this pack ..

• this car will make all lambo, porsche and ferrari drivers feel embarrassed

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 01, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Good god. 2 seconds. Colour me impressed.

I can only imagine the torture the drivetrain is subjected to.

My old car only does 0-100 in 4.8 secs, and even with 4WD and on a drag strip with traction compound, it spins all 4 tyres (actually 3, since the front is an open dif).

This monster must be using MT Slicks…or it must be some really amazing tyres.

• Nicholas on Aug 01, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Technology trying to beat gravity.

• Bongcs on Aug 01, 2013 at 5:40 pm

“Dick Balls will Shrink”

• lembu jinni on Aug 01, 2013 at 6:55 pm

going sub 2 seconds, NISMO needs to tweak the aerodynamics of the car & shed a lot of weight!

• Azamiruddin on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:13 am

No need to tweak Aerodynamics because speed only 96km/h maaa…but weight yes, shed a lot of it.

• Azamiruddin on Aug 02, 2013 at 10:12 am

Wow, only 4wheel can achieve this.

• 2 secs!!! that’s like being shot out of a cannon…in a car!

• Efairy_Theta on Aug 02, 2013 at 11:55 am

Then… we need G-FORCE SUIT..!