VIDEOS: The Ferrari 458 Speciale is all kinds of special

We’ve already covered the Ferrari 458 Speciale before it made its Frankfurt debut, but here’s a new video of it in action for you to enjoy. At the very least it will serve as a reminder as to what makes the new hardcore Prancing Horse so special.

If one clip is not enough, there are four more below after the jump. These are more technical than artsy, focusing on each of the 458 Speciale’s core aspects: active aerodynamics, vehicle dynamics, performance and powertrain.

A quick recap on the Ferrari 458 Speciale: it’s a lighter, more powerful and a thoroughly more advanced version of the 458 Italia, weighing 90 kg less at just 1,290 kg, while making 35 PS more, with a total of 605 PS from its 4.5 litre V8 engine.

Zero to 100 km/h takes a mere 3.0 seconds, while 0-200 km/h is completed in 9.1 seconds, while its top speed is 325 km/h. Like the 360 Challenge Stradale and 430 Scuderia that came before it, the 458 Speciale features plenty of advanced racing technology that you can see below, or read about here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdKp1Lb6cDA

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Standard top speed is also 325 kmh right?

• Sam Loo Ah Kong on Sep 13, 2013 at 2:03 pm

My toyota camry is better than this italian horse.

No resale value :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
    • Guan Yin Ma on Sep 13, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Even my 20 years old Ferrari 355 makes everyone drooling on the road compared to your brand new 2013 toyota camry . Can your high resale value camry do that ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • Why not you go buy a chicken. Chicken lays egg, eggs can be sold. At some point of a time you can chop and sell the chicken too. In total, resale value better than your toyota camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • What a gut you compare 458 with your HIGH resale value camry. RESPECT

• Don’t siao here! u just want ppl to thumbs up and down ur nonsense comment!

• Doing 3 second flat in a 458 is phenomenal, considering its more powerful brethren F12 is about that fast too. But I have put my motor head pride in the lone and say…..it looks rather hedious, square on from the front.

• If just merely speed, Nissan GTR can do 0-100km/hr in less than 3s.

• Well, AWD vs RWD with equal power. Quite obvious who will win.

• Obvious? No, The Ferrari has 596hp compared to the Nissan’s 560hp, add to that the Nissan has 400kg more weight to shift and the weight is position more awkwardly than the Ferrai MR layout(the Nissan is still nose heavy). Add to that the Ferrai plays with a 7-speed DSG compared to the Nissan’s 6.

It’s really a technological wonder the GTR, for potentially half the price you get a better performance and it is more reliable(there is no recorded GTR sponteneously combusted). And with this Speciale, I find it hard to see the beauty a Ferrari should have. sure is still better than a GTR, but from the front, its not a significant lustful advantege the ‘normal’ 458 possesed, purely my opinion. Just a shame that the Nissan is overhype by every school-kids and nerds alike, its really a respectable car.

• but GTR need 3x fuel in order to beat F458 & etc… especially Porsche GT2 & GT3… this are the fact in Top Gear, Fifth Gear also got menyion it…..

• frenzyaustin on Sep 13, 2013 at 7:08 pm

A fantastic car, but what I hate is Ferrari are mostly driven by douchebags. Most Ferrari owner are bad type rich people, and they don’t know how to drive. I watched more Ferrari crash video than any other car, so automatically, people drive Ferrari = rich people who don’t know car showing off. That’s why my favourite car brand are McLaren.

• BarangNaik on Sep 13, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Nissan gtr secret is its fat mid rpm horsepower, just look at stock gtr dyno graph. Ferrari have more peak hp but gtr have more mid rpm hp.
    Naturaly aspirated engine such as this ferrari have linear power increase relative to rpm, unlike most turbo engine which its dyno graph “swollen” at mid rpm.

• GT-Rider on Sep 14, 2013 at 7:33 am

My GT-R is anytime look more fierce than this

• Intoxicating on Sep 14, 2013 at 9:16 am

The sound of that engine at full assault mode is enough to make me have goosebumps. No turbo engine can ever comes close to that sound. Oh, the sound…

• langdon on Sep 14, 2013 at 4:08 pm

458 is not a good number for a car.
    DSG flappy pedals give me a stick shift anytime
    Only 4 airbags…

not as comfortable as a Camry..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9