No fuel price hike tonight, says Datuk Ahmad Maslan

Social media websites have been on fire today with rumours of a fuel price hike that’s supposed to happen tonight. A 10 sen hike for RON 95 and a 15 sen hike for RON 97 are the numbers being bandied about, but this has turned out to be not true. Deputy finance minister Datuk Ahmad Maslan has denied this on Twitter, so this should put the matter to a rest.

It’s not the first time the rumour mill has come about this year. On May, it was rumoured that the price of RON 95 and market float RON 97 was to be increased, reportedly by 80 sen for RON 97 (to RM3.70) and 40 sen for RON 95 (to RM2.30), which was proved to be untrue.

The last time fuel prices were hiked in Malaysia was on September 4, 2013, where RON 97 was raised by 15 sen to RM2.85 per litre. The last time the price of RON 95 was hiked was on September 2, where it along with diesel went up by 20 sen to RM2.10 per litre for RON95 and RM2.00 per litre for diesel.

However this just means it won’t happen tonight – it doesn’t discount the possibility of a hike in the near future. His subsequent tweets seems to prepare us for this.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Pontiac on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Who cares. I hope they will increase the price. So jam la nowdays

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 180 Thumb down 53
    • Paklah on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Do you remember my time when i increase it drastically? The federal highway become a true highway at last. U can drive 200km/hr summore

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 10
    • nobody on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:57 pm

increase price will cause more people use motorcycle than car, then soon or later Malaysia will become like Vietnam.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 6
      • Pontiac on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:10 pm

U make me laugh. U see singapore. There are around 100,000 malaysian motorbike day by day crossing that causeway. Do u see vietnam in singapore?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 30
      • Chris on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:57 pm

Why not Taiwan? Scooter country. I’ll happily ride a CBR250R instead of a car, easily 30km/L, 0-100 faster than most cars we can afford, easily do highway speed…

Well, except when it rains…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • maverick on Sep 28, 2013 at 1:08 pm

agree!!.. I do happy with my VFR800..macam moto polis..haha

• Ford_GT on Sep 28, 2013 at 1:15 pm

The Taiwan transport experience are very flexible whereby many citizens prefer to ride/drive smaller vehicles in lesser speed control and main sub-public transportation is very similar to developed South Korea and Japan.

• MrDDR on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Somehow people like to increase when price is not increase. When they decide to increase than bash kaw kaw. weird

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • agree! should be rm5 a litre! then it will force ppl to really have a long hard look at how they live and travel. and hopefully it will reduce the number of silly ppl sleeping in their cars with the engine on at shopping malls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
    • HonestguyOne on Sep 28, 2013 at 3:20 pm

Easy, for passengers car n taxi, increase it to RM20 per litre, no more jam, focus on public transport with the extra income saved on subsidy.

• Yes, it is not on today. However, it could be any days……30/9 or 1/10…….but very soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
  • Haiyyaaa on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Regardless how much the hike is, our road will still forever cramped with variety of cars (forgot the bike)..new cars, old cars..luxury cars.. remember the last time when Pak Lah time? The tense on the road is just last for a weeks..(many of us are turning to LRT/Komuter)before we are return to our ‘beloved road’. Regardless howhigh the fuel price is, we still drive & ride like hell just like we are having a free flow of fuel supply hahhaa……so ..moral of the story..don’t complaint lor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Joshua on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:08 pm

You guys are thinking too narrow. It’s not the matter of ditching cars for bikes to use less fuel. Its the fact that if the price of fuel goes up, EVERYTHING else will go up and NEVER come down. Teh ais, bread, nasi lemak, your favourite coffee, sugar, salt, electricity, EVERYTHING. Cost of living will impact more than anything else.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 6
    • RejimKejamGanas on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:21 pm

The more important things that most idiots forget.
      Even if we ignore the cost of living, it is not like our public transport will improve automatically with petrol price increase.

• IniSemuaPoyo! on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:25 pm

do it! do it! cut the subsidies, abolish road tax, toll, reduce car prices now!!! i’m ready for it!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • kereta_lembu on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:31 am

Sorry to say, petrol price increase will not reduce car prices. Remember when the petrol price was RM2.80/litre? Were cars cheaper then? They wanna reduce subsidy for a reason…so by reducing car prices, it will not benefit them, what for they want to do it?

• Black Dog on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:29 pm

The more rumours there is of impending fuel rise, the more the Govt will do it, since it’s already ‘acceptable’ outside.

• pemikir kota on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:30 pm

it’s not today.. because they want to give a surprise to Malaysian citizen. they love surprise!!!!! hahahahha

• Lane tamer on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:49 pm

If the price does increase tonite, u better resign Maslan, dare to? A real man will stick to his promise, that if u’re a manlah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Green on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:00 pm

I am still waiting 20-30% car price reduction @ same specification.

not giving us Super Value car with low specifications.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
    • Saga SV have better specification…in safety..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
      • Are u serious??

SV doest even equipped with ABS, EBD…
        Not Even Safety Triangle.

So much safety features is removed.

• fbook on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:16 pm

Oh yes you don’t find it in saga sv but in milo tin underspecced overpriced japs cars, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
  • barang naik on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Damn. Why never up? Oi umno, you need to raise the petrol price. All the cronies is running out of money. Please raise to rm3 !!! My wife and rosmah gang need t buy new handbag and a new condo for my new batch of cows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 17
    • Tut Tut on Sep 28, 2013 at 3:11 pm

So tired with impotent, garbage, disrespectful comment like this. Very matured Msian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
      • RejimKejamGanas on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:25 pm

What do you expect from disgruntled people? Say something also wrong, say nothing also wrong.

• Peace Lover on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:57 pm

I’m 100% certain the fuel will become more expensive if not today. That’s the reality. 600k new cars per year on Msian roads = more fuel used = more subsidy govt has to give out. Ppl who drive big engined car certainly used more fuel than those who doesn’t. FACT. It’s time to consider a hybrid..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • hybrid is for rich people only. if so why is it here in the first place? it’s just a money machine for some greedy automakers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Peace Lover on Sep 28, 2013 at 2:50 pm

You probably don’t have a clue about hybrid at all. Hybrid for rich ppl only. Hilarious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • RejimKejamGanas on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:28 pm

How many can afford a hybrid car costing more than RM90K? Even at RM90K you can only get a small car at that price.

• _xXx_ on Sep 27, 2013 at 8:04 pm

“THANK YOU” [kneeling down and start to kowtow]

• Sadcase on Sep 27, 2013 at 8:11 pm

Price of petrol should not increase.Not everybody can afford it like you do. This will only burden the people who have only under-average-salary. Instead of increasing the price of petrol,transportation system should be improved in rural areas, not only in big cities. So that it can attract people to use public transport.

• Tut Tut on Sep 28, 2013 at 2:55 pm

It’s better for us to improvise for the worst that ‘hoping’.

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:29 pm

After all, we can only expect politicians and the govt as whole to serve themselves only right?

• i see the future now. Better resign n become hybrid car salesman. O wait..wait until proton produce hybrid car.

• distressed on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:24 pm

penerbit die,pelakon die,direktor pon die…
    alah bisa tegal biasa…
    apa U boleh buat?

• samlok on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:43 pm

maybe tomorrow night?

• benzs on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:59 pm

Rumors? Tat funny, must be intention to do it this way. Sooner or later sure increase as per few days article stated SMUGGLING? So now our country enforcement is down, should increase price to evade smuggling again… So why we are paying tax for enforcement since they cant battle smuggling issue. They will come out with new topic behind the scene of price hike again. Our country is like hollywood star now. They create story line for price hike n we pay for it. Should ask director from Malaysia to create this movie from real story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Why the govt. always penalise the upper middle income people. We already pay much more income taxes than the poor and still the govt. say it is unfair to subsidise us. Our take home pay is much lower than Singapore comparing the same gross income!

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Sadly it is a sin in this country to earn high pay even though you have to work much harder to earn it in the first place. The govt wants everyone to be poor and depend on their handouts.

• PRK is coming soon!! not dare to increase maa..

• paparadzi on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:46 pm

He said there won’t be a price increase TONIGHT.

He didn’t say there won’t be any price increase.

• To Govt, just bring back RON92 at least Euro 4 Std or higher if want to talk about clean environment… Dont just talk cock with RON95 Euro 2M Std which has been outdated several years ago… RON92 still available in Singapore & Indonesia.. Even Japan Regular fuel was RON90 Euro 4….

• Hadi75 on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:26 am

No fuel subsidies for consumers…give market price….oil goes up…fuel goes up…oil goes down…fuel goes down….BUT NO ROADTAX FOR NORMAL CARS BUT TAX THOSE SUPERCARS….REDUCE CAR PRICES….GIVE SUBSIDIES ONLY TO INDUSTRIES ie. GOODS AND TRANSPORTS,BUSES ETC….EURO5 FUEL….CHEAPER SPAREPARTS…..FREE EDUCATION AND HEALTH….APALAGI……

• kereta_lembu on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:38 am

I’m not rich but to be fair to the rich people who earn an honest living and do their part for the country by contributing tax money, I do feel for them. No doubt they can afford Bentleys and Lamborghinis etc…but they do pay super high tax on the cars and personal income tax. No doubt, they can afford petrol even if its RM10/litre but is it fair to squeeze them every single time just because they are rich? Come on…again, I’m not rich but let’s be fair here. And we wonder how come all the rich people start to migrate away, all the highly skilled workers and talented people choose to work abroad. Why? Because, it does not pay to contribute to the country as the reward you get is to grab even more from them. I’m not against poor people also, but some people are poor because of their own doing. For example they are lazy or don’t want to work. So, these people are more eligible for subsidies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Amir Sufyan on Sep 28, 2013 at 10:08 am

WOW..look like someone defending the rich, i mean super rich. Bentley? Lambo? Y pity them. Those poor ppl not just ‘poor’ money, they are also ‘mentally poor’..some cant even find a way to earn money, some cant afford job coz of qualification, some can only do labour job that pay shit. If u ask them to further study, again money is the issue. U shud spend time at rural/undeveloped area in Malaysia then only will u understand. Dont be arrogant. Leave the super rich out of this issue, they wont be affected. If ur concern is about brain drain, thats totally different issue. Another point is politician using ‘helping the poor better’ in order to increase fuel price. This i think will only cause resentment among middle class..anger against the poor, its like blaming the poor because of price hike. Politician please think deep before giving reason of fuel price hike. We the middle class the one affected by this increase. Not the super rich who can afford 4.0/5.0 cc V6 V8 or v12 engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
      • kereta_lembu on Sep 28, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Come on friend, I support if the government wants to help the really poor folks and even the mid income earners like myself. The thing is, by raising the price of petrol or essential items, you think it will affect the rich more or the poor? Don’t forget that those people buying super cars and paying taxes are contributing to the country and its part of those money that are channeled back to the poor. SO, if you think by making the rich stop buying Super cars will help the poor more, then think again. Again, its not rich vs poor or pitying the rich. Its about being fair. The poor deserves to be helped, no doubt but if the country is mismanaged and everytime they screw up, they go back to the rich or even the normal rakyat to cover up for their mistakes is not right in my opinion.

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:51 pm

In this country anyone earning a RM10K gross salary the govt already considered rich. Never mind that most of the fools supporting this stupid thinking don’t care that it takes a lot of effort and skills to even earn that kind of money, the only thing they care that if everyone should be poor as them or only earn a 4 figure salary. To these people whether you are lazy or work hard to earn more doesn’t matter, you must be denied the right to benefit from you hard earned money and should be made to pay more or taxed more than them. After all, to these fools, no one should reward the hard working and the talented that want to have the highest quality of living possible by earning more. It is very stupid of them to think that people earn more because they want to pay more tax with even less benefits in return. Only time they will realize their stupidity is when they can’t find a doctor to treat their illnesses because nobody wants to pay for hard work and skills in the first place.

• _xXx_ on Sep 28, 2013 at 11:00 am

Agree. Rich ppl’s $ don’t drop from the sky. There’s no sin for being rich if $ are earned via legal channel. Yeah, I started to wonder who entitles subsidy more, a rich co CEO or a broke kaki botol+judi….

• KillBox1Alpha on Sep 28, 2013 at 9:24 am

Raise it….then abolish road tax, less cars on the roads…less traffic jam…dont have to wake up 5am just to drive to opis!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • RejimKejamGanas on Sep 29, 2013 at 12:21 am

No, you will still need to wake up at 5am to catch the bus. Expect the roads to be jammed with buses and motorbikes instead.

• High fuel price to curb the traffic congestion? Want it to go up to rm3? Come on. ..look at our public transport system and think abt those ppl living outskirt….”genius”!

• _xXx_ on Sep 28, 2013 at 11:04 am

Kg ppl in Thailand r buying fuel at almost RM5/L. I don’t see ppl making noise there…dun talk bout cars, even their bikes are way advanced and way cheaper than ours.

• ordinary malaysian on Sep 28, 2013 at 1:46 pm

If thailand ppl dun feel the pain, who wanna buy from petrol smugglers?

Furthermore what’s the logic tt if thailand ppl dun make noise then we cant complain as well?And as u mentioned they r enjoying better cars/bikes compared to us. Why malaysian hv to pay higher car price for lower spec cars while the fuel price keep on increasing? Shouldn’t the gov bring down the car prices(as they promised b4 pru13) or set higher safety requirements for cars?

Nice to meet u GENIUS!

• _xXx_ on Sep 28, 2013 at 6:32 pm

u r utterly naive. U know how big Thailand is? Smuggled fuel is probably enough for ppl living in towns close to the border. Petrol kiosks in Thailand are doing well esp PTT. Ppl there dun rely on smuggled fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • the poor who have to buy a car is PROOF that the government failed!!! the system failed, the public transport failed!! and you want to blame the fuel price???? lame excuses minister!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • ordinary malaysian on Sep 28, 2013 at 1:36 pm

If thailand ppl dun feel the pain, who wanna buy from petrol smugglers? Furthermore what’s the logic tt if thailand ppl dun make noise then we cant complain as well?

And as u mentioned they r enjoying better cars/bikes compared to us. Why malaysian hv to pay higher car price for lower spec cars while the fuel price keep on increasing? Shouldn’t the gov bring down the car prices(as they promised b4 pru13) or set higher safety requirements for cars?

Nice to meet u GENIUS!

• ordinary malaysian on Sep 28, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Sorry 5050…wanted to reply xXx but dunno why it replied to ur post..

Hate using PT mobile version….

• norman on Sep 28, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Unfortunately Taiwan and China a danger place to ride bikes let alone scooter..First day when i rent an Accord i almost had a brush with a bus then 2nd day when i rent a Taiwan made Yamaha FZR150 a Van was tailgating me on the slow lane even when im travelling at 110kmh

• benzs on Sep 28, 2013 at 2:56 pm

We as Malaysian no need to put the word “Hope” for fuel price hike. G do like they wanna do just do things. Never think of ways to solved but to hike. So everthing hike, everyone burst anger n everthing increase like no control. 1 liter of petrol increase cause a cup of tea or a bowl of noodle to increase the same par as petrol. What the hack! Subsidy now less being paid, now G is happier coz got more money to developt. Oops, did I mention developt… yes! But I couldnt see much development at all. Any? Not sure where the money gone. As far from my concern, this CIA Malaysia / FBI issue if comment too much. Will end up like no tomorrow!

• Please please on Sep 28, 2013 at 3:21 pm

By all means remove the subsidy.
    Place all fuel prices under the floating or true market level.
    Once and for all we can adjust to the nightmare. Employers and business bosses will have to increase our pitiful monthly income and all shall have a equal share of the situation.
    I dare you 1M….

• Honestly. In terms of business, the delivery fees hike. Transportation to rural area especially. All the goods have to increase the price margin in order to earn back.

• paparadzi on Sep 28, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Remove all fuel subsidies, but also remove road tax and most importantly remove the car taxes as well. Lets reward those who use the fuel efficiently. Find another way to help the poor but BR1M is not the answer.

• kg boy on Sep 28, 2013 at 6:26 pm

This fella talking cock about rich people enjoying the subsidies most…But, I thought 80% of malaysian are eligible for BRIM…

• kereta_lembu on Sep 29, 2013 at 11:15 am

I agree with you bro! What is the percentage of the really rich in Malaysia? If a person is ultra rich and owns 10 cars, how many cars can he drive at one go? So, at the end of the day…its the mid income and lower income group that is affected badly. If the people are now saying subsidy is bad, then why offer BR1M? Isn’t that some form of subsidy too? Or can we say, because of BR1M help, traders cannot raise the price of teh ais, nasi lemak & transportation etc? When petrol price or sugar price goes up, it causes a chain effect, which again hit the middle and lower income group.

• lanjan on Sep 28, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Fuel price hike may come at the earliest after PRU kecil DUN Sg Limau. His statement is a lie, rich people use ron 97, so much of pretending to help the poor.

• RVP20 on Sep 29, 2013 at 10:12 pm

my rant….read it at your risk hehehe :D

IMO, the most pressing issues are not about the amount of removed petrol subsidies, but rather the manner of its being removed and how it’ll be channelled back to society. I’m not a great thinker, but here’s some of the points that I think gov’t need to address:
    1) the savings for 2 years 1.1b + 3.3b = RM4.4b (the saving back then from increase petrol price of 20sen), what will the govt do about it then? need much more reason than just ‘subsidy rationalization’
    2) if we want to save/need that amount of RM 4.4b in 2 years (for whatever reason), isn’t there another ‘way’ to do it before cutting the petrol subsidy? example, increase further tax on the smoke & alcohol goods, increase excise duties of imported cars (luxury one), increase tax for those PLC companies who haven’t pay zakat, etc.(i’m sure you are well capable to come with that initiatives)
    3) why reduction in RON95 announced first, then news on reduced subsidy on RON 97 are announced later? seems like ‘knee-jerk’ reaction from govt POV. Btw, why are we still subsidize RON97?
    4) why increase 20sen (plus romour of additional 10 sen in less than a month)? can’t our G increase the price gradually? first 5 sen, then next 3 months another 5 sen so on so forth till 20sen. it seems too sudden of increment, event the last time the petrol price just increase 5 sen
    5) if the savings of RM4.4bil, govt wanted to use it for BR1M/baucer buku/etc., IMO, this is not ‘very helpful’ in the long term to our society. although it worth to point out that it may help/ease some of the burden for the poor but for how long? Say BR1M being offered RM1k per household per year, it’s equivalent to RM83 per month or RM3 per day (equivalent to milo ais one cup). with that being said, do you really think that BR1M will solve the poor’s life for a year, let alone in long term? I think most of us are doing quite ok even BR1M is not offered back then, just need to control the commodity goods’ price, that’s all. “Dun give the person a fish, teach him/her how to fish”

all in all, I think that govt or Mampu can do better in terms of coming up with more innovative ideas to get/save/recoup back the said RM4.4bil, and not just hack & slash the benefits that rakyat get in terms of petrol subsidy since we’re one of the oil-producing countries and one of the OPEC member. the hike in petrol price will resulted in hiking in most (if not all) the goods & services price…it may and will supersede the BR1M benefits to the poor anyway.

• marcus on Oct 01, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Taking away fuel subsidy also has ripple effect on our daily usage items.
    Especially food, recently food also gone up by 50 cent. And some hawkers even make their food portion smaller to absorb the raise in goods price.
    Public Transportation and so on also increase.
    Buying furniture price also increase due to malaysia ringgit currency became smaller.

I curious why our government take out the fuel subsidy and end up paying for other projects such as the new MRT?

Not to mention our PM very ambitious in projects such as nuclear plant? Isn’t our country in heavy debt. And the reason he remove fuel subsidy was to curb deficit in our country? Why spend more then?