RON 95 and RON 97 – NO increase in pump price

Fuel_Wallet_GaugeSometime yesterday night, rumours began circulating through the social media channel as well as through phone messages about an impending fuel price hike at the pump, beginning from 12am today.

Word was that the pricing of both market float RON 97 (RM2.90 per litre) and regulated RON 95 (RM1.90 per litre) was to be increased, reportedly by 80 sen for RON 97 (to RM3.70) and 40 sen for RON 95 (to RM2.30).

With no confirmation forthcoming and the murmurs getting louder, I decided to go out after midnight to find out for myself – I’ve just come back from visiting two gas stations nearby, and can confirm that there is NO price increase to either RON 95 or RON 97 petrol, which means it’s still RM1.90 and RM2.70 per litre respectively. I even topped up the ride with RON 97 to verify things with a purchase, and snapped some pix of the per litre pricing while at it.

petrol pricing pump May 9

The last time a price adjustment was made was on March 7, with RON 97 – which works on a managed float, with pricing determined according to market forces – having its retail price increased by 20 sen to RM2.90 per litre.

RON 97 petrol May 9

Meanwhile, both RON 95 petrol and diesel, which is subsidised by a government allowance, have remained unchanged for a good while. It would seem that nothing is beyond rumour-mongering in this current climate, even the price of petrol. Or rather, especially the price of petrol. In any case, attempting to raise prices by such a substantial jump at this juncture would be quite a silly thing to do.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• ferguson retired on May 09, 2013 at 1:40 am

Now boleh nasional better make up their promise to drop down car price !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 194 Thumb down 4
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 168
      • alldisc on May 09, 2013 at 1:27 pm

bila dah menang, ia jadi janji.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
        • Abg Long on May 09, 2013 at 2:23 pm

BN said their manifesto is janji. PR said their manifesto is not janji, just manifesto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 29
          • Hmm ok.. let’s see if it’s janji dicapati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 21
        • For certain party it stays as manifesto. Just don’t get your hopes up. The higher you hope, the harder you fall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
          • Black Dog on May 09, 2013 at 3:03 pm

The whole election is filled with rumours and Anthony, you still believe in it?

Most FB postings turn out to be fakes, don’t be so gullible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
      • AKUJANJI on May 09, 2013 at 6:17 pm

BN yang tak habis2 dgn slogan kempen Akujanji & janji ditepati….skrg macai ckp manifesto bukan janji?

the nation has had enough of empty promises and lies..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
  • People are so ready to consume any rumours that is against government nowadays, trusting everything there is on facebook.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 218 Thumb down 223
    • Anti-racism on May 09, 2013 at 1:50 am

better than trusting government-controlled media..at least facebook provides a fairly open discussion, although some facts need for confirmation

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 291 Thumb down 196
      • Dawja on May 09, 2013 at 2:30 am

Yeah if you say that open discussions are open curses and some facts that need confirmation to be filling up every inch of your Facebook news feed.. Yup.Sounds about right.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 30
      • amroll on May 09, 2013 at 2:41 am

nope.now all that i see is facebook just as dirty as mainstream media.maybe worst. creating viral everyday. good job peeps!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 268 Thumb down 235
        • green on May 09, 2013 at 4:47 pm

yeap. I agree the mainstream media is dirty.. such as Utusan and TV3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 36
    • vionce on May 09, 2013 at 8:43 am

anthony lim said “In any case, attempting to raise prices by such a substantial jump at this juncture would be quite a silly thing to do”

agree with anthony lim, besides that believing what-so-ever rumors in the net is also quite a silly thing to do. people in the net should exampled anthony lim by doing own research and has evidenced the rumor is anyway just a rumor, nothing more except to please the rumor starter.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
    • adv IT nowadays, everyone became news broadcast, msg forward too fast, no time to distinguish right or wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Latuk Bandar on May 09, 2013 at 1:43 am

So many fake articles in Facebook, people need to investigate before sharing them.

Another famous fake news is the Utusan Rosmah’s Menabung Sejak Kecil front page. Here is the original vs photoshopped:

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-T2KLyxwRzN8/UV1i48-ob5I/AAAAAAAAQNg/uuj6H3CBebo/s400/utusan.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 82
    • jeremy on May 09, 2013 at 7:20 am

Aiyoo, that Rosmah one everybody but you know its fake la…somebody had too much time on their hands, so they just “trolled” by using utusan frontpage…ever heard of harian metroll?? also the same…and the name itself says so much about it….get a sense of humor dude…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
    • tokmoh on May 09, 2013 at 9:53 am

So “apa lagi cina nak?” pun is fake la? propaganda anwar to paint utusan is racist scum la?

Utusan brought it upon itself with its slanderous lies and racist remarks! So what if people chop fake headline? Its real headline is worse than the chopped one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 34
      • idaho on May 09, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Apa lagi cina nak? – depending on how u read it, if you yourself racist, then you will consider it racist.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 8
        • well, to me and most youngster. it sounds ridiculous. However, it wont have any effect on us. Just another racial remark made by G. its their daily habit. so yeah, but some Bumi so narrow to believe it. One of my friend who is a teacher gt a remark of “Chinese Traitor, Go Bak China” made by a student of primary school which his father is a Tan Sri. Well, u see, usually the highly educated or the elite are the one who are narrow minded while ordinary rakyat take it as a joke. So wat Cina mau? We wan more Malay fren. boleh? lol!

• nah…many people don know about the cartoon in sin jit poh right…people in their right mind may find that cartoon offensive…

• Thank goodness i had a major heart attack when the rumours of petrol price hiked up:( this just brightens my day up

• tokmoh on May 09, 2013 at 1:50 am

Biar harga minyak naik, jangan hilang BN.

Serious: it’s just a matter of time. When the cabinet’s formed, work begins, maybe 2, 3 months time, then we’ll see the price hike. I’d expect between 10-20 sen max. 30 sen is too steep, and BN’s just asking for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 41
    • AUTA IS SOdap on May 10, 2013 at 12:34 pm

You yourself is a fake bomoh & just a typical victim of a political ploy played by a desperado.

Oil price is nothing to do with who won or who lost the GE13. It’s depend on the world oil prices & it is indeed stable now, not too high or too low. No reason for our G to hike the price now. Please check the fact before saying anything unless you really love to ‘auta’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 104
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on May 09, 2013 at 1:54 am

Please people! stop circulating lies, first said price increase for Gardenia bread, NOW say Petrol, in my fb said parking at Tesco 6% GST, blah…blah….
    I know lots of ppl hating our G now but be in a professional method & ethical. Creating false rumors not only ruin other ppl worried but ownself too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 9
    • James on May 09, 2013 at 8:02 am

All this rumours may not be the opposition spreading… nowadays political tricks very dark and scary… so no blaming anyone but judge yourself since first you are in this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Those rumour start when milosuam, amenoworld spread the no so true news..both r hardcore pr supporter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
        • Yes the only thing non-rumour/truth is the dude that tahan berak 3 days. Good job!

• vionce on May 09, 2013 at 8:46 am

what to do, creating rumors are their bread-and-butter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Cosmo Artemis on May 09, 2013 at 11:07 am

Why attack Gardenia? Why not other bread which came with some ‘sounds Italiano’ brand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 12
      • idaho on May 09, 2013 at 1:48 pm

Go and search for campaign to boikot Gardenia on facebook.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • U mean massimo rite….the bread factory beside the chemical polluted battery recycling plant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • green on May 09, 2013 at 4:51 pm

the saddest case is Gardenia is operating in the battery recycling plant..

maybe u dunnow the Gardenia is putting 2x msg to prevent bacteria growth.

they will take back the bread and change the code, and sell as new.
          else, u may go test it out yourself, keep a Gardenia at home, can last 10days easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
          • berombon on May 09, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Are you sure? Gardenia bread that I buy must be consumed by the expiry date, otherwise, moldy la..I have thrown out half eaten loaves countless of times already…

Err you also spreading false info arr??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • this is a biggest lie ever.. ive eaten gardenia since forever.. and it will get moldy just after 3-4 day depending on the exp date..

YOU MUST ME THE ONE THAT SPREAD ALL THE FALSE INFO IN FACEBOOK, FREKIN A-HOLE

• Use google map if u don believe

• dugong on May 09, 2013 at 11:13 am

All this false rumours can be either:
      1.) BN cyber troopers spreading to tarnish PR supporter’s credibility. To get ppl to distrust social media like the mainstream media.

2.) Angry voters just trolling. Yes it may not be true today, but i’m sure BN will raise those prices in the near future when ppl forget about the recent election. GST and fuel/toll increase is inevitable considering their huge expense in campaigning and handouts.

Actually i think they should do it ASAP so that some sleepers will wake up and smell the stench.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
      • start-a-figt on May 09, 2013 at 2:51 pm

since 2008, Grand Saga close two toll plaza in both way and KESAS reduce 20 cent from the toll charges..

let see if second term PR-lead Selangor will be able to government-ize LDP as the project basically sit on State road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 50
        • Nilam Sari on May 11, 2013 at 12:27 pm

Although the highway sits in the state, it does not mean the state owns it. The highway concession was signed between federal government and highway operator. Any ownership claim about the road should has been resolved before the concession contract being signed. Hence to re-negotiate the contract, it is wholly under federal’s power, and not under state government. Please get your facts right before giving your comment.

• jacksonkua on May 09, 2013 at 2:06 am

no choice,

BN spending too much in GE13,

It is the time to reimburse from Rakyat…

Kelantan RM150
    Perak / Terengganu RM200
    Johor RM200

Really hard to recover…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 66
    • unforgiven on May 09, 2013 at 9:48 am

It’s deficit, borrowed money where grandchildren willneed to pay back eventually! In our life will never be able to pay back!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • No laaa.. terengganu rm 300..comfirm

• Superman on May 09, 2013 at 2:19 am

This is becos govmen cheated the rakyat first so dont expect rakyat will trust the govmen again..

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 157 Thumb down 147
    • Cosmo Artemis on May 09, 2013 at 11:08 am

Like you never cheat your wife or parents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 23
    • Alson P on May 11, 2013 at 11:09 pm

RON 95 and RON 97 – NO increase in pump price… Some people use Facebook for curses and unfounded accusations…

• Too many half-truths and even more whole lies in medias (mainstream or online) nowadays. Its really up to us to judge for ourselves which is the truth using logics and not purely on emotions.
    Considering the tense situation after GE13, stoking the fire of anger among rakyats by raising prices on anything is certainly the last thing on Najip’s mind.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 5
  • jilbaber on May 09, 2013 at 6:47 am

For a while I thought the first 2 pictures told us RON95 original price 1.90 suddenly hiked to 2.90 !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Ppl nowadays only believe FB news without verifying the truth, so pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
  • Aku Benci Fitnah on May 09, 2013 at 7:47 am

To all the G haters, everything news about bad things from the G is the truth and otherwise all lies…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
  • fourwheeler on May 09, 2013 at 8:11 am

..pls be carefull …so many fake info in fb… more high blood patient looking for treatment this year maybe ?…..

• Keyrul on May 09, 2013 at 9:18 am

It’s not the gas, do check on the petrol by products, ie lub oil, brake oil etc… They increase significantly n queitly. Suddenly you service ur car…” Why so high????” Pe price maaaaa”” then you said ” haiya… Sudah kena….”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
    • Cosmo Artemis on May 09, 2013 at 11:12 am

Who increase the price? The G as well? Last time when the G decrease the fuel price, why harga barang doesn’t go down as well?

Please check your tawkey’s la bro. What car they drive. Where they go for holiday every year.

Malaysia’s economy is ruled by cartels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • Harga barang never turun because of inflation lah bro. Some of our stuff are kept at an artificially low level with those subsidies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Thanks for the clarification. I was about to go out to confirm on this matter.

• _xXx_ on May 09, 2013 at 9:29 am

u filled 4L???? u r either broke or have lotsa time to waste hehe…

• Oblivion52 on May 09, 2013 at 10:25 am

Higher the prices better. coz less pollution in the longer term. ppl will start walking n cycling. good for planet earth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Hadiah BN on May 09, 2013 at 10:33 am

Don’t talk happy so soon. BN will punish us all.

Now after so much budget wasted on BR1M, 1M programmes yet still BN cannot get 2/3 majority it’s time to recoup the cost back.

Firtst, petrol naik. Next, GST. Even car tax remain same mana boleh kasi Proton bungkus.

HA HA HA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 66
  • Hope is gone on May 09, 2013 at 11:22 am

Just wait and see!!! …..the sentence is just waiting to be announced ….once he feel ok i gained the power for sure …..NAH harga minyak naik, harga barang harian naik…..all naik….semua rakyat turun!! lol……the amount of expenditure for election is in top peak this year….every 1meter from the first flag there is another….and they still didnt even bother to take the flags down….every flags will be charged to be taken down….every flags that were polled was also charged…..every flag that has been left will be charged……all money coming from where?? RAKYAT LERRR……..Car price if they drop it that will be the first step of raising the petrol price and daily groceries price…..SO every body start preparing your wallets for what to come in the future…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • Alson P on May 11, 2013 at 11:06 pm

RON 95 and RON 97 – NO increase in pump price… Some people use Facebook for curses and unfounded accusations…

• ntahla on May 09, 2013 at 11:42 am

haih.. roti naik pun salahkan government? shame on you guys, why not do a research first, go to the factory, ask their Board of Director. for what reason naik harga roti? untuk government pay subsidi to them? same as like gula?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • Sgt Scoop on May 09, 2013 at 11:54 am

Why did you fill up with RON97. At a ringgit a litre more expensive it seems like very bad value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Wonderland Online on May 09, 2013 at 12:01 pm

ehh.. u take pic use handphone kah…? bahaya ohh.. later the gas station will meletup hehehe but nice post, now people will know the price not yet increase

• SOMEONE WANT TO DESTROY THE TRUSTY OF SOCIAL NETWORK BECAUSE THE SOCIAL NETWORK MAKE THEM IN TROUBLE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Jongil on May 09, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Yes govt should cut off internet…We all live happily just like the North Korea…happy happy Dear Leader…feel hungry? just wait the army brings rotten cabbage for dinner…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • start-a-figt on May 09, 2013 at 2:58 pm

hahaha.. when i first read Dear Leader I tot u are talking about Penang.. then I re-read, its about North Korea… :P

• 14U14M on May 09, 2013 at 1:49 pm

SOCIAL NETWORK RUING THE SOCIETY.
    UNTRUE STORY SPREADING I A MINUTE.
    SPIN LIKE A SPINNING MACHINE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Simon Sez on May 09, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Yes the last time I check North Korea without much internet freedom also have enough grass for its people to eat. Bersyukur lah

Don’t believe, go ask Dennis Rodman he he he

• Do you know why there is no price increase in fuel prices? Because there is no “black-out” yesterday. Just find the main switch at the MDB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • armandd on May 09, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Too many rumours on the facebook nowadays. The sad thing is almost all people believe it. Pakatan Rakyat is 100% good and Barisan is 100% corrupt? Bulls**t. It must be somewhere in between lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • anand on May 09, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Yalah very true. But if petrol naik you also panic go jam the petrol station refill stock while curse yourself for voting BN. Ha Ha Ha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • armandd on May 09, 2013 at 11:45 pm

When you have so much hatred towards the government, your cat die also you wanna blame the government…

• Government should lift the subsidies on fuel and let it floats at market price. The benefits are higher.

• Abg Long on May 09, 2013 at 6:59 pm

they said roti gardenia also naik harga??? u go to kedai n see, no price increase maaaa.. btw, i luv roti gardenia :) enak dimakan begitu sajaaaa :)

• pelams on May 09, 2013 at 9:00 pm

this year’s br1m will b increased to rm1000. they need d money

• armandd on May 09, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Malaysians all want everything to be cheap or even better, free. So few ever ask themselves what have they contributed to the society/country.

• Anti Gaji Buta on May 10, 2013 at 7:53 am

Worst of all those gomen staffs that lepak kedai mamak but still get Gaji Buta every month…tak malu kah

• Nilam Sari on May 11, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Malaysians do no want everything cheap, we just want reasonable price for everything, no more and no less, especially on the necessities. Those are including the prices of car, house, electricity, fuel, education, foods, etc. Currently everything get priced higher and higher. I don’t know about you, but I paid my taxes amounted to thousands each and every year. Now, why I cannot complain if there is unjustified hike on fuel price?

• Lain Kalilah..

• Hope is gone on May 13, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Well the price didn’t increase but the fuel consumption of cars increased !! So I wonder did the quality of 95’s just went down!!!!

• yamani on Sep 03, 2013 at 1:52 pm

is up already hahahahahahahha…look at the date….