Ferrari 458 Speciale makes local debut at Sepang

Ferrari-458-Speciale-Sepang-front-models

Ever driven a Ferrari 458 Italia – all 562 hp of it – and found yourself thinking, “This is great, but I just wish it was faster”?

Well, good news: Naza Italia has just introduced the Ferrari 458 Speciale, as part of the Ferrari Racing Days event in Sepang taking place throughout the weekend. The Speciale finds its way here six months after making its world premiere at the Frankfurt Motor Show last year.

The previous article has already gone into detail the changes made to the Italia to give it a harder edge, but here are the specifics.

Power from the 4.5 litre direct-injected V8 jumps by 35 hp to 597 hp (the highest specific output of any naturally-aspirated production engine ever produced, at 133 hp per litre), made right at the screaming 9,000 rpm headline, although peak torque remains at 540 Nm at 6,000 rpm. Weight drops by 90 kg to 1,395 kg dry.

These changes enable the Speciale to go from 0-100 km/h in three seconds flat, on the way to hitting 200 km/h in 9.1 seconds. The lightweight special (hah) also lapped Ferrari’s Fiorano test track in 1 minute 23.5 seconds, 1.5 seconds quicker than the Italia.

This is due in no small part to the active aerodynamic appendages fitted to the Speciale – movable flaps front and rear balance downforce and cuts drag at higher speeds. A new side slip angle control system (SSC) analyses side slip and optimises torque management and distribution between the rear wheels for better control at the limit.

Ferrari-458-Speciale-Sepang-side

Now that you know about the car, you should know about the price – the Ferrari 458 Speciale will retail at RM1,238,800. Now, those of you who think this is a bargain compared to the RM1.9mil price tag of the Spider, hold your horses – this price is before import and excise duty – Naza Italia will announce the full price at a later date.

If you’re interested in the hardcore 458, you better hurry – there’s a 12-month waiting list already, with Naza Italia expecting it to double after the launch. As with all new Ferraris, the Speciale is offered with a seven-year scheduled maintenance at standard service intervals (every 20,000 km, or once a year with unlimited mileage).

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• nadia nadira on Feb 22, 2014 at 1:25 pm

car is verygood

• Nice but can not fight with Renault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 36
      • praveen on Feb 22, 2014 at 4:50 pm

this car can easily beat Renault. don’t have to discussany further unless u state what sort of Renault .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
        • Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 23, 2014 at 10:44 am

shut up u cant even afford a renault

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
          • oh really on Feb 23, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Shut up, you can’t even afford a 2nd hand Viva.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
          • Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 24, 2014 at 3:07 pm

from where u make such assumption ? u dont even know me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • oh really on Feb 24, 2014 at 11:55 pm

Cetak Tak Mati and you don’t even know praveen. From where did u make such assumption that he can’t afford a Renault? LOL

• Poopmaster on Feb 23, 2014 at 12:16 am

Tell me you are joking Mr Gary.

• What joke?? Every time on the TV, what I keep seeing was Vettel overtook Alonso like MAKAM KACANG sahaja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • That is F1 la brother, all cars from all teams are standardized, only minimum difference. #Facepalm
            We are talking about specific model, 458 Speciale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Poopmaster on Feb 28, 2014 at 6:16 pm

We are talking about road going cars Mr Gary, not F1. Even in F1, there are so many variables, including drivers that you cannot assume one make is better than the others just based on race results.

• I know Renault produces one of the best and fastest front-wheel-drive cars on planet. But which Renault model that u said can beat this 458 Speciale?
        U’re kidding, right?

• I think he mean Renault engine powerful than Ferrari.
          Proven in F1.

• ScuderiaVincero on Feb 24, 2014 at 10:25 am

Last year’s Ferrari V8s were more powerful than their French counterparts, but not nearly as powerful as the Mercedes ones. Renault units were the most fuel efficient though.

• Italian better then French on Feb 24, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Ask Vettel, which car will he hang out with hot chicks? Ferrari or Renault? Need more explanation?

• Annoynimouse on Mar 14, 2014 at 7:11 pm

Err, he’d probably go for a Porsche or a high end BMW or Mercs…

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 22, 2014 at 2:07 pm

car is very good but i am disappointed at the models , i mean u are promoting a berjutajuta car but the quality of model is like dubai nightclub. i mean come on i am sure they could have spend more to find at least not overweight models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
      • Most people don like lidi n keping model..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Poopmaster on Feb 23, 2014 at 12:13 am

Dude, you must be smoking crack and having eye sores. The models are gorgeous and they are NOT overweight. If they are are even thinner they will be like Mak Enon (if that is your taste). Peace out.

• Samad Jain on Feb 23, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Cetak Tak Mati,

Please refrain from commenting about the girls. There is nothing wrong with those models. The topic is about performance exotic car, Ferrari.

There were plenty of bad comments from you (again about woman. What else) in Lowyatt and Zerotohundred forum. The nick you used in both forums is the same named used here. Some even posted your own photos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • Cetak Tak Mati is a typical malaysian pervert who hang around sg.wang and lowyat and whistle at girls in an annoying ways. aka rempit style.

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 24, 2014 at 10:58 am

dont be an idiot, i lepak pavilion only :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 24, 2014 at 11:01 am

then why paultan posted the girls picture if they r not worthy of discussion? and besides exotic cars and woman are correlated

• Lace Up on Feb 24, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Cetak Tak Mati
            1)Your name is as stup!d as you are lol,
            2)Of course you hang out in pavilion u the security guard!

• Howling on Feb 22, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Yes its a Ferrari… but the 458 is one UGLY looking Ferrari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
      • oh really on Feb 23, 2014 at 2:22 pm

This is functions over forms. This car is about shaving seconds of lap time each lap. Not for you to sit at Starbucks and stare at your flashy car.

• Aventador > 458. Nuff said. Lambo know how to make supercars than Ferrari.

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 23, 2014 at 10:44 am

true bro , ferrari got their asses kicked by renault in F1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • motorhead on Feb 22, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Interval service every 20,000km? Good. Once a year. Can drive her everyday to work.. but this one not under my budget. Big boys are welcome to buy.

• Cetak Tak Mati on Feb 22, 2014 at 2:05 pm

buy brand new for what? the resale value is very bad , on the road surely will become almost 3juta 2 years after purchase will drop 1juta in value. better buy recond from iktikadraya and save the 1 juta to get yourself a brand new CLS incase your recond ferrari from iktikadraya break down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
    • Tok Berlagak on Feb 22, 2014 at 2:48 pm

When it’s Rich Man toy.

We dont say RV.

but RV is very important for most of the Average Joe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • you buy a ferrari but concern on resale value?? clearly you’re not their target mkt..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • HAVOC on Feb 22, 2014 at 7:14 pm

RV ? Seriously you buy a car for future investment ? don’t be ignorant dude, think before you write otherwise you look like a ret@rd like how you look right now haha, car is a “depreciating” asset, wanna talk bout resale value go n buy yourself a property it’s that simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Congratulations.. you are nominated as one of the lucky dude who can appear in Paultan’s next video like Sam Loo last time.

• droll on Feb 22, 2014 at 2:14 pm

eh? “(the highest specific output of any production engine ever produced, at 133 hp per litre),”

there are examples of cars with more power per litre (forced inducted though – but your quote doesn’t say force inducted or NA). the new S3 – 300bhp from 2.0L engine. that’s 155bhp/litre. there’s also the AMG A45 etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • droll on Feb 22, 2014 at 2:15 pm

then there is the anomaly called the rotary engine – rx7. ridiculous amounts of power from a 1.3L.

• Speciale is NA…

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Feb 23, 2014 at 2:24 am

Ah, forgot to mention it. Yes, I meant naturally-aspirated. The article has been amended. Good eye and thanks for pointing it out.

• Syukur dapat BR1M. Boleh buat downpayment. Esok saya pegi book 1 biji. Tak perlu byk2, membazir.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 7
  • Guan Yin Ma on Feb 22, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Whats the point of giving out price before duty and taxes ? Want us to buy it in langkawi and smuggle it out to mainland just like other kronies ferarri owner? HAHAHAHA. Good idea . But we are not kronies, kastam will buat kacau .

• Edwin Li on Feb 22, 2014 at 3:27 pm

Left hand side driving position? Why dont make it right handed?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Feb 23, 2014 at 2:28 am

The car at hand in Sepang was brought in just for the launch. The one you’ll be able to buy from Naza Italia will of course be right-hand drive.

• kangkong on Feb 22, 2014 at 3:51 pm

was about to go out and book one just now but have to cancel because they bring in left hand drive as in the pictures…stick to my p2..

• jteoh on Feb 22, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Same car selling at GBP 208,000! Shows how much crony AP King makes from each car. Maybe Rm 220,000+? Great business to be in.

• Guan Yin Ma on Feb 22, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Actually with the current currency rate, 1 pound / RM 5.5, the amount after conversion is RM 1.15mil. Add up all misc amount, will be RM 1.2mil, nothing wrong .

• anakayam on Feb 24, 2014 at 3:28 pm

the price stated in UK is the base price only

• jteoh on Feb 22, 2014 at 5:11 pm

What happened to my comments?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Wah so special, I like but cannot afford. Just admire only lohhh!

• Painter on Feb 22, 2014 at 5:43 pm

20,000km service interval, better than Perodua.

• Leornad Tan on Feb 22, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Upset that GSC is rumoured to be delayed, I am setting my sights on this.

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 22, 2014 at 5:51 pm

am i able to buy it just for the sole purpose of track car use? If so then it would be tax free isn’t it? just wondering if anyone could verify if it’s true?

• Guan Yin Ma on Feb 22, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Yes. You can. 1 car per person . Only can use on track. So you need a garage in the race track, which I dont think you have. Then you will need a lorry to transport the car from your garage to racetrack, easier.

• superbird #43 on Feb 22, 2014 at 7:23 pm

good on the race track.
    good on the street.
    what more can we ask for?

• spongewai on Feb 22, 2014 at 7:26 pm

hmm, yesterday launched 458 Speciale

next month unveiled LaFerrari during F1 event

California T coming in next 6 month starting this month

• AUSNSW on Feb 22, 2014 at 10:40 pm

I wonder when the Lamborghini Huracan will be revealed.

• the auto enthusiast but not quite on Feb 24, 2014 at 10:37 pm

thanks johnathan for the lovely high res photos. on top of that, all photos have perfectly named filenames! double thumbs up!

• MOGAN.S on Mar 01, 2014 at 5:12 pm

I adore all Ferrari’s even at times their flaws look unique to me….i some how still choose the 430 Scuderia over the 458 Speciale.

• Bakers on Jun 27, 2015 at 10:42 am

(the highest specific output of any naturally-aspirated production engine ever produced, at 133 hp per litre)
    Thats cute. A literbike can produce almost 200hp nowadays.