Volkswagen Malaysia recalls Beetle – 2,134 affected

volkswagen-beetle-12-tsi-review-7

A recall has been issued by Volkswagen Malaysia, advising all owners of the Beetle to bring their cars in to official service centres nationwide. A total of 2,134 units will be affected by what the company calls an issue on the trailing arm of the rear torsion crank axle.

In the event of a rear-end collision, it may result in a form of pre-damage to the rear torsion crank axle. Should it go undetected and not repaired, it may lead to a sudden break of the trailing arm and loss of control of the vehicle. In the context of the recall, metal inlays are being mounted on the trailing arm.

The inlays are said prevent a “direct loss of control over the vehicle in the event a pre-damaged trailing arm breaks.” Customers who own the Beetle will be notified by Volkswagen Malaysia, with the operation scheduled to start in the first quarter of 2015.

Customers with questions over the recall are advised to contact their respective Volkswagen dealers or the customer care hotline at 1800-88-8947 for a free axle inspection.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:16 pm

oh..pretty much expected from VAG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • Jimmy on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:56 pm

View it positively.
      No prejudice.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 20, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Toyota recall, VW recall, Lexus recall, but Proton never (hardly) recall.

So Proton better than Toyota/VW/Lexus?? think again.

You never do body checkup doesn’t mean you are cancer free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:40 pm

This is what Same L0rrr define as “Manufacturer responsibilities”..But if PROTON got recall, he said “kopi O talk”..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Power window defect = No need recall, not safety issue, give life time warranty.

• Macai on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Proton recall? No way! Proton is best in Malaysia and some say Sg

• Toyota recall cars around the world.. Malaysia’s Toyota seems like always not affected. Damn good hor.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 20, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Get your fact right!

You bought any Toyota Crown Majesta, Crown, Noah, Voxy, Corolla Rumion and the Auris from Toyota Malaysia?

Some Lexus owners are affected I admit.

No need sendiri cakap sendiri syok, everything on FACT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • berserker on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Problem again

• Gglosecontrol on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Lose control is so dangerous… Can u imaginee when u r driving halfway n all d sudden lose control. Omggggg

• lose control..lol…for expensive car

• Porsche guy on Oct 20, 2014 at 12:56 pm

This thing usually IS more than it seems to be… I bet death had already occured because of this defect… DSG DEATH IS OKAY BECAUSE CONSUMER IN MALAYSIA ARE WILLING TO PAY JUST TO WEAR PATHETIC VW KRAUT LOGO… Achtung…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • JackeyDeck on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:04 pm

What really amuse me is that…

the operation only schedule to initiate at early 2015 ? which is still… 2.5 months down the line ?

meaning to say… this Beetle guy & gal gotta drive with risk till then ? (well, in fact, they have been driving with risk since the beginning and only made known now.)

• Henry on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:02 pm

What do you expect when their SCs are clogged with cars waiting to be fixed?

• dr.terror on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:08 pm

hahaha VW Malaysia full with drama, gearbox, mechatronic, bla bla bla, pity those Datin’s, Datuk daughters, who think this bug is ultimate german maque

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Which car has no problem? Even Ferrari and Lambo have their own problem, but what separates the good and average car makers are their attitude towards their customer, the feedback, level of care and attention to details.

I must say Well DONE VM !! you have shown time and time again the high level of assurance on your customer service, I’ve no doubts your customers have great faith in you and your products.

From DSG to this issue, VM has shown the maturity they have in their customer service, and sets them apart from other car makers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
    • anakjambi on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Maserati, sounds like you own this car and trying hard to defend the recall . take it easy dude…it’s just a recall….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • AllCarCompanySame on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:30 pm

take it easy bro.hahaha

• sudonano (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Time to watch how they are going to handle this.

After all they are supposed to have “improved”…

• Normal lah, my dad Passat just got towed last week, need 3 weeks to fix. DSG…again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Radical on Nov 03, 2014 at 4:06 pm

What do you mean again?
      When did he get it fixed the last time?

• panjang on Oct 20, 2014 at 1:51 pm

It stated the trailing arm has the possibility to break after sustaining a damage first.

which means it needs to be pre damage in order for the break to occur.

still not an encouraging news as it stated that the metal inlay wont cause sudden loss of control which mean it will happen but gradually.At high speed…it wont matter

• Someone DD on Oct 20, 2014 at 2:18 pm

You know what VW will do? they will just attach another steel plate on the trail arm! what a big brand! please check China website, this is such a big shame and everybody laugh at VW owner….

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 20, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Some people just came straight to the comments section and comment something about DSG while the article didn’t mention anything about the DSG being at fault. The car also needs to be rear-ended to have a chance of losing control, whether immediately after being rear-ended or an indefinite amount of time afterwards. Come on, guys, read properly rather than go straight into bashing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Steve Jobs on Oct 20, 2014 at 3:06 pm

hayoyoyoyo tabuli ini machem laa.

• Read properly on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:29 pm

When VW and PERODUA have rear axle problem that can lead to fatal accident and suddenly peoples bash PROTON..

Are you retard?

• Berann on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:48 pm

VW owners, make sure you service your car on time and follow the mileage. A frz of mine once exceeded the mileage when servicing his Golf. Next.. he unable to claim warranty for his faulty DSG gearbox and had to pay few K to repair (All 5 years warranty void!) No more warranty for your new car if u missed out / late for servicing.

• AllCarCompanySame on Oct 20, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Waaa…komen all good2… I wonder if we change the emblem into Proton, what will happen? hahahaha… Malaysian minded…

• P1 Salesman on Oct 21, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Belilah proton, guaranty no problem

• Countman on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:12 pm

After that power window failure, gearbox issue… ok la like that

Used to own a perdana and wira…got so fed up with it and i dont see any recall also