JPJ operation on HID, strobe lights to carry on, operation on non-regulation number plates to focus only on “serious offenders”

licence plate

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) will continue the operation for HID and strobe lights as planned. However, the operation on non-regulation number plates will be carried out with a focus only on “serious offenders”, the department has said.

JPJ said it will carry out greater advocacy measures to ensure the public is well-informed, and that the operation is in the interests of safety and security of motorists. Enforcement cameras are unable to capture motorists who exceed the speed limit, run red lights, use mobile phones while driving and the like, if they use illegible number plates, it added.

JPJ’s operation against HID, strobe lights and non-regulation number plates, first announced in September, was initially set for full steam ahead on November 1. In the first week, over 5,500 summonses were issued.

The department then said it would review the operation to evaluate its effectiveness, and decide whether the operation would be continued or stopped after November 30.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• JB_KIA on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:00 am

going to have shitload of arguments soon….serious offender, how serious is considered serious. udang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Blaze (Member) on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:35 am

Good question… as serious as JPJ11 perhaps? Hehe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • JPJ _ Corrupted to the Core on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:43 pm

The JPJ is so corrupted to the core. Instead of wasting time with number plates, I hope the JPJ can sort out their corruption. 90% of lorry drivers in Malaysia are foreign nationals with no licence or they have licence but come in as gardeners but masquerade as lorry drivers for big companies who want to pay little for local talent.

Most road accidents are caused by drivers who have no licence or are supposed to be gardeners. When they are stopped by our JPJ crooks, they all give money for the JPJ officer to close one eye.

I dare whoever in JPJ to come out with the statement that our lorry drivers are legitimate and have licence to drive or are on a visa to drive a lorry.

Most deaths on the road are caused by there lorry drivers. They are reckless. they have no clue how to operate a 18 wheeler. But yet, they drive a big long lorry.

Remember, driving a lorry in Indonesia, Bangladesh or Pakistan is completely different from driving a lorry in Malaysia. Malaysia has laws. There countries have cowboy laws. So, these drivers come here and do their cowboy laws stunts in Malaysia which results in many deaths.

Also, a man who comes into Malaysia to cut grass or has skills to be a gardener, how the hell do you know how to drive a lorry?

Most JPJ road blocks, you see officers targetting lorry drivers. Here is where they make the money. I appeal to the transport monistry to have an independant body who can oversee the JPJ. The JPJ is too corrupted at every level to be left on its own to carry on matters dealing with transport matters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
        • JPJ11 - Godfather car on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Just saw the car today. Godfather Al Capone can do anything. We the rakyat must lick his feet and worship him. “Kami boleh buat sebab kami Godfather. Anda adalah kuli dan boleh di saman”

• Serious, should be like
      NAJ 113 = NAJ1B
      JEJ 41 = JEJAI

• Slicky on Nov 14, 2014 at 12:35 pm

The biggest offender will be

BAB 1
      PUK 1
      PEN 15

and

CUN 7 (upcoming)

• JPJ11 - Godfather car on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Just saw the Fortuner today. Set a good example. You yourself create big offence. Yet you are like Al Capone. Don’t care. Boss No 1 JPJ not bothered at all despite online criticisms.

Ministry of Transport, please strip his Datukship and also please replace him with new Director.

• kangkungking on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:28 am

Crap enforcement.
    This is not the firstday on non-regulation number plate.
    Now just start enforce?

• jelly on Nov 14, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Beautiful sport cars with sexy drivers also distraction. Ban them all too.

• Blaze (Member) on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:29 am

Should not only focus on illegal HID, but some cars with normal halogen headlamps are not properly adjusted, the settings seems to be in higher than it should. But then, does JPJ have the method or mobile test equipment to enforce it?

For the strobe lights, correct me if I’m wrong, theres no provision by law that we should give ways to VVIPs or convoys. I think the rules only covers Police, Ambulance and Fire trucks. Can anyone confirm this? All this while giving ways to VVIP is just a form of “courtesy”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • One more, should also look car install high power light at their tailgate especially right/driver side with “PURPOSELY INTENTION TO UNSIGHTLY CAR FOLLOW BEHIND”… Lately look like more car modified & had it…

• bashhh on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:05 pm

If I’m not mistaken, the ‘high power light’ is actually a fog lamp, installed as standard in all continental cars. It is purposely installed on one side to differentiate between fog lamp and brake lamp. However, there are also cars with fog lamps on both sides (Preve) and some in the middle (Suprima).

• Sorry I mean main Tail Lamp or Break Lamp…

• alldisc on Nov 15, 2014 at 2:17 pm

foglamp use illegal when there the weather is clear. u get SD1000 saman in singapore for misuing it.

• Azure on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:42 am

Apparently JPJ afraid non-standard number plates material can bamboozle their AES camera. Maybe its so shiny and expensive the camera flash can’t handle it. lol.

I wonder is there is real basis/proof for JPJ’s concern.

• eddy fadzil on Nov 14, 2014 at 11:56 am

totally agreed with JPJ to nab down on modified HID headlights, it’s irritating & seriously GLARING our eyes when driving at night….especially to older drivers…

• How about DE8055?? I think that is one serious offender!!

• weeee on Nov 14, 2014 at 12:24 pm

In my book, ‘serious offenders’ are those who has no. plate with 7 characters squished in 4 inch. lol

• anakjambi on Nov 14, 2014 at 12:34 pm

in addition to the fancy number plates, please check vehicles for the following offences:
    1. there should be no stickers on the car plates- some put EU and all sort of stickers should be removed
    2. some cars don’t even have brake lights and 3rd brake lights. I recommend JPJ don’t penalize them but give them 1-month notice to repair and report to the nearest police station for validations the lights are restored to avoid being penalized.
    3. JPJ should be clear on rules on windows lamination or coverage. Are the use of sunshades allowed? if yes, that what’s the difference with dark tinted windows?
    more will come ….

• Roger Tan on Nov 14, 2014 at 12:55 pm

This I agree. Going after obviously illegal plates instead of measuring gaps on standard looking ones

I’ve seen some that are so small and grey in font, it’s practically a blank plate at night!

• CL Wong on Nov 14, 2014 at 12:58 pm

what kind of standard of this ? based on what & how measurement of “serious offenders” ?

What a law of jungle(Malaysia)!

• Well it’s obvious they cause they realized it’s mostly the cronies with the fancy plates that are breaking the laws and hence the typical wide meaning of ‘serious offenders’ only. in other words, yet another law that only screws Joe and Jane public while letting the elite go.

I personally know a person that drives a Porsche 911 turbo that uses a real euro plate style number plate (White plate with black lettering) that drives through police stops all the time without any issue because he’s got connections.

Not hating on him as the fault is on the system and enforcement of the rules. Im truly sad for the future of this country if the current state goes on.

• panjang on Nov 14, 2014 at 2:23 pm

With no one monitoring the plet production or making process then almost none will be an exact match to jpj’s spec.
    By serious offender i guess they refer to those whom mash all letter and digit in a space no longer than 6 inch long.those with character size up to spec but spacing is not up to mark will be let go.
    Then again,its just words.Enforcement is a whole different thing.

I would appreciate even more if they start enforcing against que cutting.will really make the road a bit more happy place to drive on.

• bashhh on Nov 14, 2014 at 3:11 pm

I’m not sure is JPJ really looking for ‘retrofitted HIDs’ or any kind of bulbs that look like ‘HID’.

But I know for sure it is not easy and not cheap to retrofit HID, at least not as easy or as cheap as changing to HID-like bulbs.

If I can read correctly, JPJ will only nab those with retrofitted ballast on their headlamps and let go the more glaring and annoying cheap white bulbs.

• ben yap on Nov 14, 2014 at 4:45 pm

catch those also with big exhaust pipes. they create noise pollution.

catch those that lowered their cars, that are a nuisance when they go over speedbumps.

also, catch those who stick their car logos with other manufacturer’s car logo such as Perodua – Toyota/Daihatsu, Proton – Mitsubishi, toyota – Lexus. they are trying to deceive people.

• alldisc on Nov 15, 2014 at 2:51 pm

lowered, especially potong spring is true enough an offense in JPJ book even back in 1990.

but nowadays, there is a loophole with those kakis using road legal adjustable spring/absorber combo.

• jpj so high on Nov 14, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Cant JPJ decide earlier wat kind of no. plates r being classified as standard? Wat about those proactive goodie two shoes whom hav changed no. plates, which is unnecessary waste of money?!! My neighbours & I hav ady changed our original plates and now JPJ announces dis abrupt change of plan?!! Even more pityful r those who got ‘saman’, bcause JPJ might not saman those whose plates r original frm nxt mth onwards… SO HIGH JPJ!

• Don’t really care whatever rules that they set as they will U-turn and U-turn if people bising loud enough. Don’t care about the summon as the summon may end up being cancelled or at least have 50% discount. What for the worry then??

• Aiyo, manyak susah buat apa? Follow Australia, JPJ issue number plate mah gao tim lo… Then everyone follow one standard.
    So many big issues waitin to be solved, this number plate kuci miow issue make such a fuss to resolve…
    Focus on serious offenders? Ada kah ini macam. Sounds more like depend on the JPJ officer eye sight.

• okavango on Dec 30, 2014 at 6:08 pm

can Philips X-Treme Vision can be use?