Volvo Cars, POC and Ericsson to showcase cyclist safety tech at 2015 Consumer Electronics Show

World-first technology by Volvo and POC connects cycle helmets with cars

At the upcoming 2015 International Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in January, Volvo Cars and renowned safety gear manufacturer POC as well as technology firm Ericsson will showcase a revolutionary safety system that aims to reduce the rate of accidents between drivers and cyclists around the world.

The system sounds simple enough as it essentially “connects” the driver and the cyclist via a two-way communication layout. Employing apps such as Strava, which tracks an athlete’s activity via GPS, a cyclist’s position is relayed via cloud computing to the car and vice versa.

Should the system sense a collision, a warning will be sent out to both the driver and cyclist – the former receiving a visual cue via the head-up display and the latter, a helmet-mounted alert light. Ample warning will also be provided should a cyclist crop up in the driver’s blind spot or in other low-visibility conditions.

“The partnership between Volvo Cars, POC and Ericsson is an important milestone in investigating the next steps towards Volvo Cars’ vision to build cars that will not crash. But now, by exploring cloud-based safety systems, we are getting ever closer to eliminating the remaining blind spots between cars and cyclists and by that avoid collisions,” said vice president and CIO at Volvo Cars, Klas Bendrik.

Volvo Cars remains at the forefront in championing safety features for cyclists and drivers alike as evident by its City Safety system. The technology features the ability to detect, warn and ultimately brake the car to avoid collisions with cyclists – and is standard on the all-new Volvo XC90.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 23, 2014 at 3:17 pm

This car is trash. Why buy this car when you can buy a good quality Proton for quarter the price?

Proton is a good car. Malaysians should stop complaining about Proton quality and be grateful that we even have our own national car. Be proud of it and let us stop buying these Swedish trash.

Also, thank you to our good Government for giving us cheap cars and cheap fuel. I hope our Government does not reduce the price of cars and the price of Petrol. It is already cheap.

To all those who are crying about car prices, do you know why you cannot afford expensive cars? Let me tell you why. It is because you are LAZY and don’t want to work hard. If you work hard, you will have the ability to afford a RM150k easily.

Stop complaining and work hard. I work hard so I am able to afford my luxurious VW. I don’t sit around complaining about car price and fuel price. Only lazy people do that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • Jimmy on Dec 23, 2014 at 6:05 pm

That your vehicles have minimal resale value is least of our concern if you do have good after-sales service and spare parts availability.

XC90 is good. Volvo Malaysia is …

• Polestar on Dec 23, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Volvo Malaysia MD is quite good actually. That guy is quite jovial and works hard to improve Volvo’s image here. It is the Malaysians at VCM that we need to worry about, especially senile senior citizens and their dumb lackeys.

• Low Budget on Dec 24, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Some more har, the Swedish jail the Hero from Malaysia for beating his kids in Sweden, don’t respect our culture at all.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 23, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Cool…but here in Bolehland we need something to avoid hitting those mat rempits and some safety mechanism to stop them from beating us up after we hit one of them flying monkeys.

• Volvo Trucks advances this pedestrian detection one step further. It predicts if a collision is about to happen and automatically brakes before it happens. Just search the video in Youtube