Proton helps flood victims under Flood Relief Mission

Proton recently extended a helping hand to those affected by the severe East Coast floods through its Proton Flood Relief Mission to the East Coast initiative, together with Proton Edar. A total of 45 volunteers, all of them Proton employees, headed out to Pantai Timur on January 1 on a two-day operation after the waters began to subside.

The company helped undertake a large-scale cleanup of public spaces and houses of the poor and the elderly, as well as providing humanitarian assistance to the affected communities.

Aid reached Kelantan on the first day, with the cleanup of old folks’ homes, community halls and surau in Kampung Sakar Sungai in Pasir Mas, as well as houses of Proton staff in Pasir Hor. Essential items like food supplies, drinking water, toiletries, blankets and diapers were also delivered to 61 affected families. At the same time, 41 affected Proton employees received similar aid through the company’s Kota Bharu branch.

PIC 2

The following day, the volunteers moved to Kemaman, Terengganu, delivering more essential items to 142 families at PDRM Terengganu, 52 of which were stationed in Kemaman. Another 60 families received vital supplies through the Community Service Centre, while three more Proton employees in Kemaman and Dungun were assisted in the cleanup of their own houses and given essential items.

We hope our contribution will be able to support these impacted families and communities as they recover from the worst floods the country has seen,” said Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah, who was also there to assist. “Proton would like to reassure them that we are on hand to help them as far as possible, in addition to earlier announced parts discount and free labour charges to the repairs to their Proton cars.

“This is certainly part of PROTON’s social obligation, but more than that, we are giving our staff the opportunity to experience humility on a different level, and achieve a sense of personal satisfaction by helping those in need. I hope more Malaysians will chip in to extend their help to the victims so that they can get their lives back to normal during the aftermath of the flood.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ayooo on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Bashing in 3…2….1…..GO!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
    • Euro Five on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:37 pm

very commendable.

any kind of assistance is greatly needed at this needy time for those unfortunate Malaysians suffering from flood

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jan 06, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Thanks for Proton, I drive from KL to Australia also no problem. P1 jamin 100k miles.

Today I go kelantan no jam because I drive brand new Iriz everyone let me pass.

Toyota and Honda and Nissan all break down in middle road. Because engine masuk water.

Proton Iriz like super car all good and smoke them all. DrM saver and master of Bolehland AP cronies !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
  • Same L0rrrr on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Good one!

Proton can also do something to help every Malaysians: Improve Build quality!

Once Proton quality is up to buyers expectation, they will have more sales, and less begging from government, which eventually benefit all Malaysia tax payers.

Our tax money should be used on something more worthy, e.g. relief the flood victims.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • Samelorrr CCB on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:39 pm

What have you done for the country.. Shut up ASS HOLE !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 22
      • George Abdul on Jan 06, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Same goes to you… what u have done ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 06, 2015 at 7:10 pm

What have I done for the country, is NONE of your business. What did the government do with my tax money, is my business. You don’t earn enough to be taxable then it is NONE of your business here!!

Typical Proton fanboys. When they have nothing meaningful/informative to say, they insult ppl or ask ppl get out of Malaysia. They think being rude and loud ppl will scare. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
        • smaeloorCB on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:02 pm

You talk a lot but tax no pay!!

• Same Same Lol on Jan 07, 2015 at 1:27 am

Can you maju by paying tax?

• Raja Binatang on Jan 07, 2015 at 1:49 am

Samelorr … why you pay tax ? Aiyarrr

U don’t know meh… Donkeys no need pay taxes la … u not only donkey but a donkey bodoh…… patut u macam tikus masuk u buntot. .. tak boleh duduk diam

Takpe…I promote u jadi …. same heehoor @same donkey lorr

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 07, 2015 at 2:43 pm

At least donkey do its hardworking and earn its meal.

For Proton which sales bad, money burnt, quality bad, making loss, begging government and suck tax payer money, a similar creature named LEECH.

Its fanboys bluff here bluff there but don’t even buy an Iriz, are similar to leech: Spineless.

These no need promote one, all FACTS.

• p1 is improving, mind to tell me why T is going backward, now is 2015 but vios fl still has no VSC>?

Why? Why???? Why????????????

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 08, 2015 at 11:38 am

You guys keep on highlighting how safe is Proton HIGH end cars, and keep on bashing Toyota LOWEST end Vios has no VSC. How hilarious!

The same goes to Saga/Persona/Exora/Satria Neo/Suprima Standard, they HAVE no VSC too!!

Want VSC? Look for Altis/Camry/Prius/Lexus lar!!

If you can’t afford, then at least don’t pretend these cars do not exist. It only show your ignorance to everyone here.

• Makahai on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:10 am

Samelorr is now officially an ass hole.. aka BUNTOT DONKEY

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Don’t like don’t buy. You can complain and criticize it. But since the buyer buy it even though they know the problem is there, I dont see any business related to your tax money. The tax paid by the buyers and you are definitely not one of them, so what business with your tax money here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 06, 2015 at 7:05 pm

When Proton didn’t sell enough car, they are making loss (common sense).

When they are making loss, what they do? Print money? They ask for government fund lar (common sense).

So you think government fund are from Najib personal account? Of course from the taxes we paid. (common sense again)

When government is running out of money, you will see 10%GST coming (like Japan).

Not my business? Is every Malaysian’s business!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
        • No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 06, 2015 at 9:27 pm

Even if they dont spend on proton, the money will go to hypo handbags and diamond. So your little tax still nothing for you. At the moment you paid your tax, your tax have no more business with you.

• No more Value(Ori ORI!!!!) on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:22 pm

i mean our beloved Hippo.

typo

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 07, 2015 at 2:09 pm

According to your logic, at the moment you paid for your Proton, Proton has no more business with you right?

With this mindset, no wonder no one (even the Proton fanboys) dare to touch the Iriz.

• samenob_ on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Common sense in its most stupid way

• No one must know on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Have u ever test drive any brand new Proton car(Preve,Suprima and Iriz). If you dont, then dont say Proton need to improve built quality cause their are improving it. I can quarantee you the built quality in no longer a problem. The only problem is Proton SUCK at marketing. Their should overhaul their marketing department. Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • No one must know on Jan 06, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Ops sori. I meant to reply Same L0rrrr comment, nit this comment. Sori. Cheers :)

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Of course I sat in the Iriz, Preve and Suprima S then I comment. I don’t call people monkey donkey and I comment on facts and figures instead.

I was a little bit worry (a little bit ONLY) worry that Suprima S and Iriz could affect my Toyota sales. Then of course I went test drive these cars.

But Proton… never failed on delivering disappointment! I am so relieved now looking on what Iriz/Suprima S can offer. Look at the sales figure then you look how “good” they are. Malaysian car buyers ain’t stupid, ok?

Instead I would say Proton is best on marketing. Look at the way they promote their cars… Can easily smoke others on the road, Lotus handling, Your very first Lotus, car tested in Europe winter etc etc etc. No wonder Proton got a group of die hard fans.

The problem is not with the Proton, but its die hard fans!!! They bluff here bluff there calling people donkey monkey but they NEVER buy Proton cars. How can Proton survive with their empty talkok?

You wanna show support? Show us your action!!

• What fact?
            You go to school la Same Lorrrr or go to psychiatrist before it’s too late

• Observer on Jan 06, 2015 at 5:33 pm

mana pulak si Maserati nih…senyap je…

• hahaha on Jan 06, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Im waiting for keyboard warrior to come and bash Proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • hahaha on Jan 06, 2015 at 6:03 pm

As expected, Same L0rrr are here.kah3…

• I applaud those samaritan but hopefully it is not during weekdays as I don’t know how a company can allow 45 staff to go for this – who is looking after the corporate office?

• All GOV MONEY GONE!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • triang on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:07 pm

Into your pocket?

• Crony on Jan 07, 2015 at 1:33 am

My pocket

• samelobbc on Jan 07, 2015 at 9:03 am

Evidence / proof?
          Not stupid common sense pls

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 07, 2015 at 2:13 pm

When the cronies know they are about to be exposed, they asking for evidence/proof. Bro, you don’t have to open your pants to show me you are a boy.

It is similar like running naked at KLCC but keep on thinking “no one see me! no one see me!”

• Lol what is that? Guilty without trial?

Are you an anarchist? If yes the better place for you is in prison.

• Please don’t mix build quality and lending a helping hand. I applaud for their kindness and also the special price to repair flood damage vehicle.

• Albert on Jan 06, 2015 at 9:09 pm

Proton,at it again.Rm14k discount for 2013 preve just concluded.Now, another round of distracting relief for flood victims.
    Proton,insaf lah…it is noble to help disaster victims but leave it to those currently involved.You fix your DWINDLING SALES PROBLEM and screwed up deliveries of Iriz ,first.
    I hardly see Iriz on the road but lots and lots of BLOCKBUSTER AXIA smoking everywhere!
    Now UMW(Same Lorr very happy)overtaking you in monthly sales,inspite of steep car taxes.
    If nothing concrete is forthcoming,Proton’s sales for 2015 will dip below 100,000 units.
    These are facts Proton fanboys will find hard to swallow but facts will come true.Now ,you see,even with ABSOLUTE PERLINDUNGAN ,Proton is still going under.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • Observer on Jan 06, 2015 at 11:08 pm

WTH is wrong with you? This is a topic abt PROTON doing CSR by helping those in needs… even in this you find faults?
      Seriously you and some malaysians are pretty hopeless, selfish and cannot be satisfied with anything… don’t do it you bash, do it also you find faults….
      Please show me what kind of “ABSOLUTE PERLINDUNGAN” you talking abt…?? It next to non-existance at this moment… many other foreign makers gets incentive n benefits that PROTON does not received through CKD program etc… but do you see their cars getting cheap? No… if any they are only a few K cheaper than CBU…and with KOSONG spec above all… this is the dealers / manufacturers reaping profits from gullible Malaysians who always worship foreign brands… it has nuthing to do with whatever “perlindugan” u talking about…
      Whether u realise it or not or whether u like it or not, PROTON has been burdened with “NATION BUILDING” responsibility from the day it was born… despite the so called perlindungan this responsibility has hindered its progress bcoz anything it did “NATION” must come first…from vendor selection to everything else… go read n get real…

of coz it’s not in good situation right now… but at least be a litle bit grateful that the creation of PROTON has kickstarted our nation industrial revolution and make us on our way to become developed nation… yet you don’t PROTON moaning abt this “NATION BUILDING” responsibility…

YOU…yes you… who have been complaining here and there, finding faults with everything what has you done / contribute to our nation progress????

Keep mentioning tax money etc… you effing tax money not even enough to cover all the benefits you have received from the day you was born till now… from the almost free education to the roads that you drive today, the rice that you eat etc…. with the litle tax you paid… probably none of it ever made it to help PROTON previously… so STFU… get out of that “tempurung kelapa” will ya? and while you at that… stop acting tough on the keyboard as well…

peace…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
      • Proton is asking the R&D money because they deserve it. Other companies can also claim it if they do R&D in Malaysia but how many auto company do that? Zero. Even perodua just rebadge cars. Proton meanwhile developed their own engine, suspension, electric car, range extender car, hybrid etc.

Same as in pharmaceutical industry. Company that do their R&D in Malaysia can apply for incentive. This is our gomen way of encouraging R&D. Without R&D, we will be a consumer nation and that is not good for economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • Tell me what R&D did Proton do? Not the copy and paste or borrow from Lotus tech

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 07, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Proton R&D found out that round shape is best for car wheels, not triangle or rectangle. We should give credit for it. Well done!

Please note that Proton R&D has nothing to do with the VSC, airbags, TRC safety features, these are all from Bosch. Plug and play.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • Lotus is owned by Proton. So whatever R&D comes out of Lotus is owned by Proton. What is wrong with that? If you own a land and found out that there are gold deposits there, that gold is yours or not?

Lotus provide specialist advice. The actual R&D is done here locally. If you ever toured the Shah Alam plant, you will know this.

• Same Lorr, you really don´t know anything about car development don´t you. Since when the safety features are only plug n play!!

• Albert on Jan 07, 2015 at 9:43 am

Your Excellency Stupid Observer,”Proton kickstart industrial revolution”…what a stupid/bodoh comment.
        Without Proton,we will be driving Toyotas,Nissan and Honda at around rm50K for the base models.
        Proton ,under perlindungan has sucked Billions of Rm under the disguise of R and D,sucking your shit hole dry..for umpteen years until DRB is forced to do national service by buying this loss making car producer.
        We are not bashing for the sake of bashing.We talk facts.DRB under the mamak,will hive it off once they call it a day,due to bleeding Lotus tagging along.
        If all those car producers like Toyota,Honda,Nissan in Thailand relocate here 20 years go,then you can say Proton kickstart car industrial revolution.They ran away simply cos of unending dirty politics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
        • Observer on Jan 07, 2015 at 10:36 am

You are one delusional bugger…. you really think if proton is not here you will be driving RM 50K base models of japanese car maker?? keep on dreaming…those taxes and duties will still come into effect even without proton…because that’s how govt makes money to feed ppl like you…who wanted to be fed all the time…

• vanda on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:58 pm

Agree

• Albert on Jan 07, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Delusional Observer,If Proton is not around,those taxes heaped on other cars may or may not come,only the founder of proton knows.
            Are you happy funding Proton’s failed R and D efforts which did not even produce a single GLOBAL GAME CHANGER.
            Savvy,boxy mpv,tiara,preve,suprima all failed terribly after sucking your tax dollars,purportedly used to do research and development.In fact,insider sources said a big chunk of the grant is to make cronies fatter.
            I dont need this gomen to feed me,anyway….maybe you enjoy being spineless and always ask for handouts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • At least p1 is improving, p2 got what improvement in myvi facelift?
            New gearbox? No!
            New engine? No!
            VSC? No!

• Axia is much cheaper car and delivery time is faster

• Sammy on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:43 am

Proton, I applaud you for the effort, really.
    This is much more then TCM giving 30k donation.

But Proton, I also want you to realise that the rakyat expect so much more from you. The rakyat has been behind you since 1985. You are suppose to be the crown jewel of our heavy industry, coming out gun-blasting each year with your new and much anticipated products, and all Kimchi and Shushi admire in awe…

You are suppose to help the development of this nation, so there will be no more flood like this, that’s the expectation.

• There is hope but guy like Same Lorrr lost hope because he is a LOSER!

• bangun harimau on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Good job Proton! Keep it up.

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Good guy Proton when helping people but become bad guy Proton when build their own car.

• Alex Chan on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:49 pm

Complain complain complain..thats all but no action!
    Complain of car price so high..rakyat suffer, no money to eat, but yet change car every 3-4 years..and still complain car price is damn too high in msia..
    DO your part laa dei, boycott the car industries for 1 year, and we can surely see how the gov and car manufacturer will kelam kabut one reducing the car price ..let show them the consumer power..
    me myself HATE the car price structure.
    when we purchase a car, there will be so many gaining profit in just one car purchase, ok ill show u
    1. Car manufacturer (of course they deserve a portion of profit)
    2. Distributor
    3. Goverment ( Tax and tax and tax)
    4. Sales man (comissionss..and its a lot)
    5. Insurance company.
    6. car Accessories company (free tinted?, no plate?..got the idea?)
    7. Transporter company (The lorry that brinf new car to chow room, u think all the lorry belong to the car company?..its mostly rented)

I really hate when guys from PR or BN says the gov tipu us..ripped us apart..make us suffer by high tax on cars..BUT ironicaaly they keep on changing cars for every 2-3-4 years, its like supporting all the cronies..but still keep on complaining car price high…bullshit.

Play your parts..BOYCOTT,malaysian..Dont but new/used cars for ONE year only..

Ive played my part – i finished my car loan 3 years ago, im still using the same car for 8 years now.
    I WILL NOT give my hard earn money to the profiteer that i mention above.

• IrizX on Jan 07, 2015 at 1:25 pm

Proton should give everyone a free Proton to replaced their Proton destroyed by the flood. Who says Aye???

• Albert on Jan 07, 2015 at 2:39 pm

IRIZ x,I sokong you.Even 2nd hand or bank repossessed Protons will certainly help those in Kelantan.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 07, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Yes, want public to have faith in their build quality. Let the public tried the car then. Talk is cheap, show the nation some action, after years the whole nation feeding you.

• lopcs on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:29 pm

The whole nation feeding p1?
          Come on other companies also get incentives from gomen.

And does T give such freebies?
          Talk a lot, no action!

• almighty lim guan eng on Jan 07, 2015 at 6:12 pm

The flood is because crul BN gomen. They cut down tree in Kelantan and sell them over sea. Poor Kelantan gomen got no income from tree and oso must face flood every year. Royalty oso cannot get, how to help poor rakyat? That is why sir Ngeh help to buy jungle in Kelantan, can help to sell tree and give money to Kelantan gomen. Now they fitnah saying Ngeh sell tree for profit. Oso now Kelantan gomen betray DAP and want to join UMNO? Look at Penang, when my leader take over from BN, got flood or not? No more right? That is because we care for alam sekitar unlike BN gomen. That is why we oso fight against linas so that there will be no more mutant in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Observer on Jan 08, 2015 at 2:12 am

Flood because BN supports Proton. The profit goes to Proton cronies pocket

• Observer on Jan 08, 2015 at 9:52 am

Lol are you that offended that you resort to copy my nickname? What an A-Hole…

I understand the sarcasm… lol

• Observer on Jan 08, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Let’s be honest, did you copy someone’s nickname first? Who’s the A-Hole now?

• all the hutan sudah kena gondol by rich n rude DAP.. abis suda banjir..