Singapore examining proposed Malaysian VEP

singapore-coe

Late last year, it was reported that the Malaysian government has decided to implement a RM20 vehicle entry permit (VEP) fee for Singaporean vehicles entering the nation. The ruling is set to be executed in the middle of this year.

As a result, Singapore has issued a response stating that “we (Singapore) will consider matching in some form after details of the levy are confirmed, including whether it is imposed only at Malaysia’s border with Singapore, or at all its borders,” said the Singaporean transport minister, Lui Tuck Yew.

Lui had also stated that the current proposal by the Malaysian government appears to reflect that of a revenue-generating purpose more than any other. Singapore’s VEP fee, on the contrary, is supposed to equalise the cost of owning and operating a foreign-registered vehicle to that of a locally-registered one.

Thailand Sadao Checkpoint

Deputy transport minister of Malaysia, Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi, was earlier reported as stating that details regarding the implementation of the VEP fee was being revised and upon completion, would be applied at the Causeway as well as the Second Link. A separate implementation of fees for vehicles entering from Thailand and Brunei is also being considered.

Currently, Malaysian-registered vehicles entering the island nation on weekdays from 2 am to 5 pm will have to pay S$35 (RM93.80). Entry is free on weekends, Singaporean public holidays and 10 business days per calendar year – although there are plans for a revision of this. On the other hand, the proposed VEP entry fee by the Malaysian government is set to be active all day, every day.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• AngryMalaysian on Jan 20, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Shut up! Our Gov’t should charge RM93.80. Make it mutual. WTF they want to charge us for? Its not like they are paying for our fuel subsidy in Singapore. they drive like shit in Malaysia, like they own the highway.

F off.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 27
    • JB_KIA on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:28 pm

if we charge rm93.8, I think they will revise their fee to S$35+rm93.8. This is what I understand from the word ‘match’ mentioned by the island minister….I could be wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • George Abdul on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Simple just don’t drive car into that country, working or business “need to bear the pain” or again don’t drive to the city.

Take buses or airplane to the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Enjoy VEP on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:35 pm

You “F off” and “shut up” here any help? Even MALAYSIA gov can’t do anything on this. Everything was written in contract, Malaysia just go in blind. Just blame malaysia, what a stupid policy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
      • Tong Kosong on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:29 pm

BEWARE Singapore will “be an abandon city” if they CHARGE malaysian based on KIASU..eg Malaysian charge 100, Singapore charge 100+ extra SGD.

I don’t know what so magnificent about Singapore in 2015, better option cold city like Sydney, HK to feel the or hot city like Hadyai, Ho Chi Minh – where we can see natural people
        People hate it.

Your time has GONE Singapore. don’t charge or become abandon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • Lin Lao Pei on Jan 21, 2015 at 1:02 am

Ask your fellow Malaysians why they want to come to Singapore to work…. Oh, btw, they are earning waaaaay more than you are……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
    • just play the game Malaysia.. then whole JB especially Iskandar will be ghost city very soon. please SHUT up if you not staying in the south malaysia and dont know who can play the game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • Disappointed rakyat on Jan 20, 2015 at 5:45 pm

go ahead Singapore gov, cause in the end u will lose this game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
    • Teal Hammer on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:40 pm

Apparently you are still in the dark which side is playing game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • JB_KIA on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:23 pm

They forever have the upper hand…why? Because many of us need to go there for a better life (work). On the contrary, they can choose not to come here for holidays…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
    • Not a Kiasupore on Jan 20, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Upper hand? Stop giving Singapore some of our water then you’ll see who has the upper hand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
      • I believe u do not know Malaysia buy fresh water from Singapore, if Malaysia don’t sell waste water to Singapore, Malaysia will be the one who suffer… u will have to drink drain water…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 32
        • Not a Kiasupore on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:45 am

Talk and talk but no source..typical of kiasupore..check your fact and then come talk.

Here’s the fact from Singapore government about the state of the water import;

http://www.pub.gov.sg/water/Pages/ImportedWater.aspx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Do you think some of the highly confidential will be posted on websites? You do not know the technology that the filtering of water they have… Y they still buy waste water from Malaysia is just because of the agreement…and think again, if they really rely on the waste water Malaysia is selling, Y wouldn’t they renegotiates to prolong the contract? Isn’t it obvious tat they don’t need it anymore… another reason they continue to buy is because of the price, it is fairly cheap… think again the pipe on causeway, there r 3 pipes…2 r supplying waste water, 1 is fresh water… if Malaysia do not need it, y would the fresh water supply pipe still there? I’m not supporting either side, just talking about facts…
            Increase the toll fees which obviously is Malaysia’s government fault… Singapore is a small country, of cos they have to limit the number of cars entering into their country… but on the other hand, Malaysia government collect higher toll fees is because of what reason? I believe everyone knows… is it for all Malaysians or into someone’s pocket? Since when Malaysia government take care of u? It is rather naïve to think increase toll fees to charge on foreigners… it will only damage ur own economy, since Malaysia is still a third world country… it is useless to debate here, ever since the raise of toll fees u can see the business is getting poorer in JB… if this continues, the one who suffers will b those who works n live in JB…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
        • Singapore buy raw water not waste water from Malaysia, then Malaysia buy treated water from Singapore. But the problem is our “inexperienced” minister signed a agreement which causes us cannot increase raw water price after “a particular date”.

• Not a Kiasupore on Jan 21, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Still no source? your words are meaningless if its not backed by hard facts. So stop insulting our intelligence and come with real hard facts rather than pull something out of ur a$$.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • Not a Kiasupore, u r such an asshole… so which means u can’t provide the information of a certain Minister misuse the fund in government project in a website equals to he is innocent? I believe u just lived in some rural area without much view on the world… not everything will be written on websites, if ur still think everything is able to be found in website then ur really a childish asshole…

• nonono on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:27 pm

please keep your stupidity there. don’t bring it to malaysia/brunei border. i don’t want brunei to charge me to pass through their country when i drive to sabah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Not a Kiasupore on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:08 am

Dear Nob, serious allegations require hard facts; whether it be from respected journals, articles from well known, authoritative websites or a quote from well known insiders. Sensational tabloid doesn’t count. Now you said a lot of things and yet you can’t give not one single fact, even worse you resort to attack my person which has nothing to do with the discussion. I don’t have to resort to your standard and start a personal attack. I believe people know a wrong when they see one.

• susukotak on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Mari fikir bersama. Lepas April rakyat Malaysia akan kena 6% caj atas kebanykan pembelian & perkhidmatan. Adakah caj sama akan dikenakan atas pelawat asing? Seingat saya di Australia, pembelian min AUD300 dan tinggal tidak lebih 3 bulan kita nole tuntut balik gst tadi di pintu keluar. Sapa yang jimat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • MalaysianPride on Jan 20, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Revenue raising?? ofcourse it is… anything wrong with it?? absolutely not! Lui Tuck Yew and Singapore should stop whining like a mule, be gracious and respect Malaysia’s move. Any ‘retaliation’ from Singapore would just look childish…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
    • Lin Lao Pei on Jan 21, 2015 at 1:09 am

Erm…..it was your garmen who started this price matching first? So who’s the childish one here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Genuinely Confused on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:26 am

Really? a one off fee of just S$7.39 when entering Malaysia vs. S$35 per day minus the weekend and off-peaks when entering Singapore? U do know that the most Singaporean has to pay is S$20 for a round trip to Malaysia vs. what the Malaysian pay which can total up to a few hundreds MYR if they decide to stay longer.

• come to singapore and see how those malaysian biker ride in singapore, they are death trap. and if they met with an accident we are unable to claim from them. So stfu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 32
    • MalaysianPride on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:13 pm

You obviously have got some growing up to do. Every country have motorists that we are not proud of. So stop throwing stones when living in a glass house and go clean your mouth with some soap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • Singapore Rationality on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Once again the comments about VEP matching never fail to illustrate how hypocritical some of you are.

1) saying Singaporean drive like shit but turn a blind eye to Malaysian motorist running amok in Singapore

2) talking about retaliation when they have no idea who retaliated in the first place. With VEP and Toll increase.

3) talk about water but fail to realise that SG is about to be self sufficient in terms of water management within a few years and yes, JB buys treated water back

4) lastly, the endless stream of workers entering SG everyday who clog up the causeway both days and these are the true people who suffer, instead of you keyboard warriors.

Have a bigger heart than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 22
        • Malaysian Rationality on Jan 21, 2015 at 1:02 am

There’s an answer to all your arguments;

1) Malaysian motorist running amok in Singapore? this is a non-issue for Singaporean because of the strict traffic enforcement in Singapore. All Malaysian motorist pay for their misdeed in Singapore. the same are not true for Singaporean because of Malaysia’s almost non-existent traffic enforcement.

2) talking about retaliation? Malaysia impose very marginal fees in the so-called retaliation. Few Sing. Dollar also cannot give ah?

3) Of course Singapore is striving towards self sufficiency in the FUTURE (The contract ends around 2060). But for now it needs much of all those H20 from Malaysia. Johor did get some treated water from Singapore but not as much as what Johor gives.

4) The workers suffer, The Malaysian worker especially so because of the exorbitant VEP.

So please put things into perspective and see it from our side of the causeway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
  • holofanboi on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:08 pm

“On the other hand, the proposed VEP entry fee by the Malaysian government is set to be active all day, every day.”

Now that my friends, is one of the few good decisions to come from our government. Bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Lin Lao Pei on Jan 21, 2015 at 1:06 am

Good luck to your fellow businessmen in JB…. They suffer the most….As well as the Iskandar project…… You guys really fail to see how your fellow countrymen suffer and you applaud this kind of stupid move……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • linear_system on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:20 am

ok.malaysian govt.just impose the new VEP rate. let’s see if Singaporean still come to JB to eat,shopping,wash car,buy houses..etc..because the increase of the VEP not much to compare the increment by Sing govt.

• Nia Bu tokok on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:47 am

Don’t think highly of yourself la, other parts of Malaysia which do not receive my kiasu money has no problem of surviving.

Malaysia don’t need Singaporean in order to stay alive.

• byfun on Jan 20, 2015 at 8:42 pm

The way to solve this is, Malaysia don’t allow any foreigner vehicles to drive into Malaysia and vice versa for Singapore.

Then no citizens from both side will complaint about paying toll or dangerous drivers from any side and both government will not get to profit anything from it.

Whoever want to go Malaysia or Singapore can do it by plane or public transport. Everyone happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • It will not be an ending game if Singapore match them. In the end, the people will just suffer more.

• Sikit sikit mau galuh, sikit sikit mau galuh… aiyo

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 20, 2015 at 9:27 pm

i think we should ban singaporeans from driving here…or charge them ERP all the way. take their car away and make them toll it back to singapore when they break our traffic rules. stupid kiasus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
    • JB_KIA on Jan 20, 2015 at 10:10 pm

i think u dun even have half….how bout calling u quarter-value or 1/8? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Josh Ling on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:18 am

malaysian govt cannot ban singaporeans from entering malaysia, because johor, more accurately, the iskandar project, needs a lot of singapore wealthy people to come and invest. and johor’s medical care earns a lot from singaporeans too. so, our govt do need singaporeans, unless they want to throw johor under a bust, which i don’t think they will after getting so much support from that state during election.

on the other hand, i don’t think singaporean govt has any better reason to raise the tariff other than to earn more money, that’s all. let’s face it, economy in singapore is taking a hit as well. big one. just admit it, singaporean govt.

• go Ahead and ban it, then you will see Najib adjust our budget again as the whole iskandar collapse and JB population will decrease by at least 50% and all move to KL.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:04 am

i don care…cos iskandar project not my crony one…

• Not a Kiasupore on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:13 am

u know before the Iskandar project in Jb there were people who stays and do business in it for many-many years. why now u think if the project collapse suddenly the population will decrease by 50%? excellent logic u got..can be a minister of finance oso.

• These so-called ‘matching’ concepts will serve each other no good. What both sides want to achieve? Ding dong ding dong in the end want to shut the border & create another 38th parallel? We are #brothers weh!

• wet end boys on Jan 21, 2015 at 12:23 am

it all started from Malaysia increase the normal tambak johor bridge toll charge to cover up the EDL cost and ofc lah our PAP neighbour got butthurt jelly and increase theirs too. BECAUSE STUPID GOVERNMENT THE RAKYAT SUFFERS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • kalam on Jan 21, 2015 at 8:23 am

add counter traffic summons at our border. Nak balik, bayar dulu….

• niterunner99 on Jan 21, 2015 at 11:26 am

not too long ago I’d said that GOV from both sides doesn’t care & will implement VEP…bcoz citizens from both sides need to work in both countries!
    well, looks like we hv to pay very soon.
    As for water, SG’s Tuas side is building a sea water distillation plant…soon, SG will be self sufficient.

• saladin on Jan 21, 2015 at 5:39 pm

jangan gaduh2. buang masa je. senang cerita both gov abolish vep. gov malaysia mesti kata tkde hal. gov sing pun kata tkde hal. kata gov byk duit. tkkn posen2 pn nk berkira. lain la klau miskin sangat hadap gila. semua rakyat happy.

• Sam's Best Friend on Jan 21, 2015 at 5:49 pm

So by matching… Singapore will lower its VEP to $7.40 Sing dollar instead of the current $35?

Is is single entry? Does it have non-applicable hours and days?

• FocusST on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Whether

Singapore Charge Malaysia
    Malaysia Charge Singapore
    Malaysia Charge Brunei
    Brunei Charge Malaysia

Who going to lose and who is going to win ??? See facts below :

1) Malaysia people go to Singapore or Brunei to work/business to earn a better money, So extra cost for those Malaysian. (Malaysian Lose)

2) Singapore or Brunei People don want to come to Malaysia to Spend they money because Malaysia Government impose the VEP and not encourage them to come to spend money, Business people at Malaysia got less business. Business Owner got no business, so less jobs for Malaysia People. (Malaysian Lose)

3) For Singapore or Brunei Peoples, they are rich and currency is strong. RM after convert to SGD/BND is very cheap only, they cannot feel the pain but enough to STOP them to come to Malaysia for spend they money. They can spend they money in they own country to generate better economy. (Malaysian Lose)

4) the reason Singapore government impose VEP because the island is small and congested. They do not need more vehicle at city that why they even got ERP fee collected at city area. Malaysian don bring vehicle go to Singapore is better and that is what they intent for. (Singapore Win)

5) Malaysia Government collect VEP and toll, good for those crony who got the projects. Normal Malaysia People have to pay more and got less business (Crony Win)

So very clear here, Who win Who lose

• I fully agreed what you said. Singapore impose VEP only during the working hours from 2AM till 5PM, others time is FREE including Public Holidays, 10 x days free and weekend while Malaysia VEP is 100% must pay, unable to avoid..

• Not One Sided on Jan 22, 2015 at 4:58 am

I hate all these syok sendiri comment about how Malaysia desperately need Singapore to survive and not mutually dependent on one another.

Here, take a look at the ranking of Malaysia’s biggest investor in 2014 based on the Foreign Direct Investment Confidence Index;

1 United States
      2 China
      3 Canada
      4 United Kingdom
      5 Brazil
      6 Germany
      7 India
      8 Australia
      9 Singapore

Singapore is not even on the top 5. So be fair and accept the current predicament for what it is; as a neighboring country they both need each other to thrive and prosper. And don’t act like Singaporean and Bruneian didn’t really go to Malaysia for holidays or business. Malaysia can offer many things which Singapore doesn’t have; real estate, Investment opportunities, etc.etc not to mention the many wonderful and unique place to go too for holiday and for escaping the rat-race of the daily business grind. Look it up! the facts are all there.

• Genuinely Confused on Jan 22, 2015 at 5:15 am

All these Singaporean Drone..did the PAP pay u to infest these forums? I want to join oso make quick buck

• niterunner99 on Jan 23, 2015 at 11:44 am

To Mr. Not One Sided,
    Yes, SG may not be the top 5 investors to MY, but mind you, those countries you’d mentioned above SG are all having much bigger economies than SG.
    Odd that why Thai or Jap who are closer to MY (geographically) are not in the list….hmmm.
    Oh, mot sure if you’re informed of this.
    There’s a guy named Peter Lim from SG, I think he’s too free, why I say so is because he is building a medical hub & racing track in JB.