Vehicle sales fall 0.6% year-on-year for month of Feb

Driven_Web_Series_2014_Honda_City_vs_Toyota_Vios_vs_Nissan_Almera_004

Vehicle sales for the month of February this year fell by 0.6%, or 328 units, as compared to the same period last year, according to the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA). A total of 50,390 units were sold – 44,917 passenger vehicles and 5,473 commercial vehicles.

In comparison, February 2014 saw a total of 50,718 vehicles being sold. A total of 45,704 passenger cars were sold during that period with the numbers for commercial vehicles peg at a, surprisingly, lower figure compared to February 2015, at 5,014 units sold.

As for production numbers, total vehicle build for February 2015 was recorded at 46,958 units – a slump of 722 units. Over the same period last year, a total of 47,680 vehicles were produced. As for the breakdown, production numbers for passenger vehicles were capped at 44,023 (a rise from 43,092 units in 2014) while the figures for commercial vehicles were recorded at 2,935 units (a fall from 4,588 units in 2014).

maa-february

According to the MAA, the reason behind the slip in sales can be attributed to the wait-and-see approach employed by consumers as the majority are still convinced that car prices are expected to fall following the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) come April 1.

The outlook for March appears optimistic, however. The MAA predicts that there will be significant discounts offered by various car companies to boost the clearance of the current stock of vehicles prior to the implementation of the GST.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• MAA predictions? MAA?? Seriously just shutdown this joker department already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rrrr on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:19 am

In fact, the sales my branch increase around 9% compared to Feb 2014. People know they won’t go wrong with Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • AHMAD on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Ooops…Kesilapan.. TIPU PUNYA Declaration…!
    1. DECLARATION BY PRINCIPAL….!
    2. DEALER STILL HOLDING AND CANNOT SELL TO END USER!
    3. 2014 NEW CARS (ALL THE BRAND)STILL BOUNDED AT DEALER GARAGE!!!!
    4.MOST ALL DEALERS NOW SCREEMING LIKE HELL!!!!!
    5. SIREN GST COMING…..PRICIPAL BLUFFING…..DEALER FACING DEBT……HAHAHAHAHAA

PRICIPAL SAID’GOOD LUCK DEALER, ALL THE BEST”
    DEALER ANSWER “……………”

omg….omg….omg….!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • spongewai on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:38 pm

will the car sales rise or fall after GST??!

the answer is…. well you all know

• eagletalon on Mar 20, 2015 at 9:27 pm

economy slow down with gst coming. save your money for others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • alldisc on Mar 20, 2015 at 9:27 pm

The only one reason for relatively good number of new cars sold is actually due to delivery of axia, which was outstanding for several months already. That factor alone could have an effect of 8-10k units. Otherwise, the numbers would have dropped.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Low Budget on Mar 22, 2015 at 10:45 am

Its interesting to know the number of units MyVi sold since the introduction of the Axia. I think P2 MyVi sales tanked during this period due to the introduction of Axia.

• tokmoh. on Mar 20, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Haha bodoh. How do u all feel now kene kencing by govt?

Carmakers run business, there’s no way price going down, so long all u suckers keep buying.

Mazda go up, vw go up, taxi/ktm/lrt/all go up, so much for gst exemption HAHAHAHAHAHA

Ada najib kesah? Now all u suckers pay for big mama’s private jet! Pay some more la, biar papa, janji negara aman!

Weaklings, cowards, stupiddddd

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on Mar 22, 2015 at 10:52 am

Where they talked about helping rakyat one?
      They only BS the people and said price will come down after introduction of GST, my foot! Go and eat chicken rice or franchise mamak restaurant now and you will know the food has increased by at least 30-50 sen per plate, they said GST coming so must increase price.
      Meanwhile the mainstream politicians only talking and fighting about Hudud and 1MDB daily, their brains got fried and got parkinson disease already.

• angah on Mar 20, 2015 at 9:44 pm

Its started already… yippy…

Nobody can easily take your money in your pocket if u did not let them.

Personally, I will maintain my current cars and stop buying any new cars (local, CKD and imported) say for 2 years or so, until I see a significant price drop (without compromising specification). I will also convince others in my influence to do the same. Healthy loan for cars is only 2-3 years, not 9 years as on now.

If we do this together, TIV will continue to drop, stock will pile and whatever taxes imposed and GST will become irrelevant. Surely price will drop…

Let do this together, and we as customer will actually control car prices, specs, features and everything.

What MITI, MAA, MAI, car companies, banks will become yada yada yada…

When the buying stop, the killing can too.
    When we work together we can win this…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 1
    • mythbuster on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:59 am

Well said. Thumbs up.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 1:43 am

You wish.

Suckers are born everyday. The fact Godcar Vios sells mean we should stop wishful thinking.

Taste the misery of being stupid, for the stupid reason of wanting to show off “success”.

Enjoy being insulted by UMW who value their pocket over your life.

Be the slave to the bank just so some CEO threaten u with lawsuit if u think their instrument panel is deadly.

There is no saving this country, all because of selfish stupidity of the masses. Just sit back and enjoy our country “moving forward”.

• iPhone on Mar 21, 2015 at 2:55 pm

I always appreciate Toyota car.

Fuel Saving, Low Maintenance cost and Peace of mind reliability.

No Hidden ownership cost.

If i need a 7 airbags, I already have the most expensive C-segment – Toyota Corrola Altis 2.0V.

Exciting to buy Camry 2.5 Hybrid at RM200k.
        now CKD hybrid is tax free. once expired..
        fuhh.. Camry 2.5 Hybrid will be RM270k ++.

my camry 2.5 Hybrid RV will be so dayum high.
        Extremely Good Equipped with Safety, Luxury Features, extreme fuel saving and even Extreme low maintenance cost compared to the budget germany cars like BMW 3 series or Benz C-class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
        • jaggs on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:52 am

Ok I understand you have them in your showroom, noone cares to buy.

You can korek hidung and post comments here all day

• Low Budget on Mar 22, 2015 at 10:56 am

Whatever lah, not many readers in this forum will buy >RM200K cars, whether Toyota or not.

• MrNyx (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Well said brother.

As our Government eagerly wants to become a developed nation then let me quote an example from the car loan itself. I have been to Australia and look at their citizen, they can easily afford a car, let say, Toyota Vios, with loan of probably 1 year or at most, 2 years. Forgot the mention with a work as a waiter in restaurant only that doesn’t require a University degree. They even have the capabilities to save the money within’ a year to cash-buy it.

Meanwhile in Malaysia, with the sky-high taxation on our imported cars as well as LOCAL car manufacturer’s cars, I have seen my friend bought a myvi that within’ his financial capability, need to take a 9 years loan, almost a decade, just for a car that has less than 100 horsepower, so pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • viosjunk on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:56 am

Why Toyota Vios? Is it too good?

• Low Budget on Mar 22, 2015 at 11:00 am

Can’t you read he wrote, “Lets say, Toyota Vios…”, this means he quote Toyota just as an example not that he supports Toyota Vios.

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 21, 2015 at 1:18 am

Forgive us that has been shown the Hilux.

Kimchi owners like us have no choice but to badmouth sushis. The RV of our rotten cabbages is already so bad that my mother cannot recognize me.

So, I would take my anger to cyberspace and whack the sushis because I am jealous that their RV is so good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Sam proton on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:03 am

Haha….that’s why Sam bought his 25yrs old son proton for good RV

• lalang on Mar 21, 2015 at 7:40 am

Saya setuju 100% pakai apa yg ada ,jangan beli kereta gunakan wang anda pada jalan yg lebih manafaat utk keluarga dahulu. Semua barang memang naik umno bn kan naik kah kah kah bagus apa yg macai umno pilih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • MrNyx (Member) on Mar 21, 2015 at 12:40 pm

Correct me if I’m wrong.

In scenario of old stocks are cleared and selling the new ones. The car price should/must or if I am right, will be reduced by 4% because previously the dealers have been paying 10% of sales tax on the vehicle. Now, the 6% of GST will replace the sales tax, which the dealers will get new stock with 4% less in the future. If the car dealers do not reduced by 4% or less than that, that’s where their increased net profit margin comes from.

However, according to Anti-Profiteering law stated that business vendors cannot increase their net profit margin for 18 months after the implementation of GST (Correct me if I’m wrong).

So as a conclusion, I forecast the car prices will drop. Otherwise, I will buy popcorn and visit paultan.org :D

• karipap basah on Mar 21, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Not surprising at all…..
    Sales figure will drop even more for March 2015.

Have another posting and see about that…

• protonsucks on Mar 21, 2015 at 7:45 pm

dont invest in any assets in malaysia, we are putting too much input for such a little output, we want to progress further but our gomen is pulling us back, y invest in expensive tax car ? y send to our stupid education in malaysia ? y buy house when its so expensive… there are so many opportunities in other countries

• kthxbye on Mar 22, 2015 at 12:58 am

So go there live there dun come back
      Kthxbye

• Low Budget on Mar 22, 2015 at 11:05 am

Wrong! Go overseas make more money, then come back have capital to invest here and may be try to become cronies rather than work here and get low pay.

• CyberPatrol on Mar 21, 2015 at 11:57 pm

We had financially suffered lately by falling oil price (will there be another 2nd round of price war), weak ringgit (export affected), huge projects losses in billions (big capital B), wastage, corruptions,etc. Govt’s in a denial stated of credit rating reported by Int’ credit rating agency. And people worried about basic lively hood are not protected how you expect them to change a new car or purchase new cars. On 2nd QTR to make up the volume of sales, if not achieved then another round of ‘lelong’ price promotion.

• GST price drop??? on Mar 26, 2015 at 10:04 am

Please correct me on GST 6% price drop compare to Sales tax 10%

Sales Tax 10 % case (Cost RM 6 + Sales tax RM 0.60 + Margin RM 4.00 + Transport RM 1.00 = Final End user price RM 11.60)

GST 6 % Case( [Cost RM 6.00 + Margin RM 4.00]= RM 10.00 + GST RM 0.60 + Transport RM 1.06 = End user price RM 11.66)

End user price drop ???? and yet this just simple calculation, in real life more operation cost increase due to GST.