Vehicle sales up by only 1% in Jan 2015 over same period last year, but down 22% from last month

car-sales-january

Sales of automobiles for the month of January 2015 recorded only a one percent increase – or 329 units – compared to the same period last year, according to the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA). A total of 50,602 units were sold – 44,697 passenger vehicles and 5,905 commercial vehicles.

In comparison, January 2014 saw a total of 44,702 passenger vehicles being sold, though the retail figures for commercial vehicles were lower, at 5,571 units, making for a total of 50,273 units sold in the first month of 2014.

In terms of production, total vehicle build for January 2015 was 56,654 (52,387 passenger vehicles, 4,267 commercial vehicles), an increase of 1,513 units for PVs and a drop of 362 units for CVs over the same period last year.

The sales volume for the month of January 2015 slumped by 22% compared to December 2014, however, no doubt aided by “excessive year end offers given by car companies,” according to MAA. The organisation also added that “the announcement that car prices would be lower once the Goods and Services Tax (GST) is implemented has caused consumers to hold back purchases,” further contributing to the drop in sales figures.

Things aren’t looking too rosy for the month of February, either. The MAA has forecasted that due to the Chinese New Year celebrations and the short working month, the total sales volume is expected to be lower than that of January.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• justsomedude on Feb 18, 2015 at 6:48 pm

sadly i believe the trend will continue with the fear of gst and no clear statements from the govt. on how and if gst will affect car prices. Well done govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
    • Gargantia on Feb 18, 2015 at 8:08 pm

And not just Rakyat can’t own a proper nice good branded car.

That’s the price of Bolehland make Rakyat suffer low quality and out dated car.

Thanks to BN supporter and cronies Rakyat suffer expensive car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 16
      • tiadaid (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 11:03 pm

Yada yada yada – go on the road see how many non-Malaysian cars out there, the Peugeots, the Volkswagens, the Fords, the Kias, the Renaults etc etc. So suffering la the “rakyat”

Nothing but TCSS only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 38
        • Gargantia on Feb 19, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Go out of Malaysia watch how others country able to own above c-segment car more then Malaysian… With better equip and safety fixtures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
          • Tongkat Ali on Feb 19, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Budaya Tongkat bukan budaya kita, budaya tongkat merosak bangsa dan negara

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
          • Gargantia on Feb 20, 2015 at 10:19 am

Cronies Right will always have your support… Thanks for making them Richer !!!

• Tongkat Ali on Feb 18, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Pro-Tongkat sales berapa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
    • I went to a GST seminar, basically, goods that previously have attached with sales tax will replace by GST meanwhile things that without sales tax will have new tax on it which is GST.

Currently, our sales tax is 10% and our car price is inclusive of sales tax. Then now our GST is 6% and it will soon replace the sales tax. So the difference is 4% off once GST is implemented (I`m talking about cars now), technically the car price should be reduced by 4% but those car dealers can actually maintain the price of the car or even lower it.

• alldisc on Feb 19, 2015 at 10:51 pm

basically yes if the car comes in as a CBU but if its a CKD with some content of local supply by local vendors the price may actually goes up instead and this especially goes to P1 and P2. this is because every vendor has to charge GST bringing up the base cost price.

• kl fella on Feb 23, 2015 at 3:27 pm

CKD cars, with components sourced locally, will be charged 6% GST.. do you think NAZA, simedarby, DRB will happily absorb the 6% gst paid for the locally sourced components to assemble the ckd cars? my bet is that car prices will either maintain or goes up

• ironic bcoz MAA forecasted TIV of 700k this year..still bullish now??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Sirim on Feb 18, 2015 at 10:26 pm

MAI and Madani are just a bunch of clowns.
      Nothing they say makes sense anyways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • bryan lee on Feb 18, 2015 at 8:08 pm

The car sales will continue to drop not juz because potential buyer holding back due to probable lower price after gst, it’s because people would like to know how much it affected them after implemented. Gd luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • karipap basah on Feb 18, 2015 at 8:09 pm

swemua barang naik, who in the right mind to buy a car?? Oredi such as big financial burden….and later GST?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Teksi Drebar on Feb 18, 2015 at 8:31 pm

Perhaps we should only buy car triggered by necessity. Otherwise stop buying car. Just defer the plan for the next 6 months. Then we’ll see car manufacturer stop taking buyers for granted and really do the extra mile to reach us. Government would also fell the pressure which is good. Stop selling us junk sardine vehicle with our hard-earned money!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
  • Teksi Drebar on Feb 18, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Perhaps we should only buy car if it is really really damn necessary. Otherwise postpone buying car altogether for the next 6 months. That would hurt the market and they would no longer take us for granted. Government would also feel the pressure. The message is clear, stop selling junked tin sardine vehicle to us in exchange for our hard-earned money! It is just to return the buying power to consumers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • I think you underestimated the greed and influence of the car manufacturers. If their sales are badly affected, I am certain they will pressure the government to create laws to boost demand, such as introducing scrapping program. And the government have to lie to justify the program such as to boost the economy, job creation, bla bla bla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • That 1% is due people buying 2014 car with huge discount!

• darkermarker on Feb 18, 2015 at 11:09 pm

Not just refrain buying cars, we should boycott unethical traders and business men in Malaysia that take advantage and hike up prices of goods.

Let them know the power of consumers! Consumers are Bosses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Jonathan on Feb 19, 2015 at 1:50 am

Year To Date January figure is meaningless.
    Should be omitted to avoid confusing readers.

• angah on Feb 19, 2015 at 8:20 am

Nobody can easily take our money in our pocket, unless we let the.

Lets ignore them and together we stop buying any new cars for 1-2 years. I suggest we see a considerable price drop (3-5 year loan only for average car).

If we do this together, the data will show, TIV will deteriorate, and stock will not moving. Then we as customer will actually control the car price. What the gov, MAI, MITI, manufacturers, banks will be irrelevant.

When the buying stop, the killing can too.
    When we work together, we can win this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • salam on Feb 19, 2015 at 9:26 am

My preve turbo cfe premium bought 2012 pun chk semalam …market rm30k+ only… tudiaaaaa jatuh……

• eimsperfume on Feb 20, 2015 at 8:58 am

Agree to avoid buying new cars at this time, with the G trying to make car price looks cheaper. And many rumours about GST. If U buy new car now, I bet your car value will drop quite a value in a short time. Any car, not local car only.

• Braveheart on Feb 19, 2015 at 9:57 am

My Chinese New Year wish is for the price of cars to be reduced to a reasonable level minus all the exorbitant taxes. This is basic human rights. I pity my fellow Malaysians. A majority are forced to take a 7 years or 9 years loan to ‘own’ a car. This type of loan was unheard of 20 years ago. By the time we sell the car, we hardly get any money back since interest is calculated at a flat rate for the 7 years or 9 years period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • KerataLama on Feb 19, 2015 at 10:35 am

We need to stop buying new cars for 6 months. Something will happen..
    Let’s see what will happen by then.

• panjang on Feb 19, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Funny how Malaysian are too focussed to get cheaper car when they should really be focussing on getting their own house.

What are u going to say about nonsense pricing of new houses?
    Crony oso?

I dont mind owning a ‘crap’ car by normal Malaysian standard but lives in my own nice house.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • yes sir u r rite..but since this is car blog, maybe that is why they focus on car price…hahhaa

• USDfan on Feb 20, 2015 at 10:48 am

yup…im prefer nice house with cheap price…

• tiger on Feb 20, 2015 at 4:32 pm

why cant MONTHLY SALES FIGURES BY INDIVIDUAL CAR MODELS STILL BE REVEALED??? why SO SECRETIVE??? Can MyCC (Malaysian Competition Comittee or something) who banned MONTHLY CAR SALES by MODEL answer us??

• CyberPatrol on Feb 22, 2015 at 8:37 am

Lower sales of cars can also be contributed by Banks does stringent checks on individual credit rating before approval of loans. GST issues are short term setbacks of vehicle sales for 2-3 months after April, as consumers are trying to adjust to GST to their monetary spending on products with GST.

Of course without detail break of vehicle report, data analysis can cannot be fine tune for example by segments or drill down to specifics. Nice to know which household income rakyat are really affected.

• December sales was the lowest in 2014 October – December period. from above 700 units/months dropped to 2xx units per month.

now another drop of 22% in January?
    Bye VW…

We buy car to serve us well.
    We dont buy a car to spend time and money to serve u VW.

Such a bad Asset.

• urban runner on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:52 pm

sales drop doesnt mean that car makers were bad. i think not only vw drop their sales, other car makers also drop.. it depends to people and their econmomy situation.. if they want to buy, they just go buy what they loved and liked..

• weiseng.9122 on Feb 25, 2015 at 2:57 pm

This article is not related VW sales also.. It’s the whole car industry sales. Why so sudden to only mention VW leh? How about other car makers’ sales? The economy condition and personal preference is the most important factor.. People tends to buy what they like maaa.

• pelams on Feb 23, 2015 at 2:03 pm

more cars = longer traffic jam!

• eagletalon on Mar 03, 2015 at 10:22 pm

Economy down,.