Cabinet asks SPAD to scrap taxi fare hike, taxi drivers say they may charge the new rates anyway

easy-taxi-super-easy-taxi 268

Remember last week’s taxi rate hike? Apparently the case is not closed, as the Cabinet has told SPAD to shelve the fare hike as the timing of it was unsuitable, since it would coincide with the implementation of GST on April 1.

SPAD had announced on March 19 a revised taxi and express bus fare structure. While the flag down rate for budget taxis remain at RM3 in the Klang Valley (RM4 in Penang), the time and distance rates have now been revamped to cost 25 sen for every 200 metres or and/or every 36 seconds. The flag down rate for Teksi1Malaysia (brown Proton Exora), on the other hand, has been revised to RM4. It will now cost passengers 30 sen for every 200 metres travelled.

“The Cabinet has discussed the matter and agreed that there is a basis for the hike due to the rising costs of operation and maintenance and the last fare hike was six years ago. However, the timing of the hike is unsuitable because, with GST being implemented at the same time, it would further burden the public. Therefore, the Cabinet has asked SPAD to postpone the hike,” said Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin in a report by NST.

DSC_0136b

Naturally, taxi drivers are not happy about this. Some of them have already recalibrated their meters and are saying unless there is an official circular from SPAD on the matter, they are going to go ahead and charge the new rates anyway. Apparently recalibrating the meters can cost up to RM150 and if they went back to the old rates, the money paid would now go to waste.

“For us, that view is not in line with what we are facing. We have to pay rent, operational costs, repair and we also have the daily cost of living to take care of. Many speak up wanting to be the people’s champion. But they should also think of us. When we get this increment, people start to question it,” said Meter Taxi Drivers Action Body (BBPTB) chairman Amran Jam in a report by Astro Awani.

“Do not think we will be lavish. We need to cover some costs and we can not benefit 100 per cent  from this increase. If people want good service, it can be done. But we want our rights and income to be protected as well,” said Malaysian Taxi Drivers’ Transformation Association deputy chairman Kamarudin Mohd Hussain in the same Astro Awani report.

Amran added that if SPAD abides by the Cabinet’s request, BBPTB may go on a strike.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nabill (Member) on Mar 22, 2015 at 8:29 pm

Haha… Classic case of lawlessness… I think there is not much that hasnt been said abt this topic… Im tired of giving a fxxx already…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • Always give back short change and pretend like nothing. Always drive incredibly slow. Always over charge and don’t use meter most of the time. When they see got tourist they take full advantage to over charge. Always a disgusting smell in the car. And they wonder why people prefer Uber.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 1
  • The Scrutineer on Mar 22, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Like it makes a difference….they are already charging more than the new rates during rush hour.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
  • They may? They already have…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • AnakMalaysian on Mar 22, 2015 at 8:42 pm

Whatever la, SPAD…
    Whatever la, taxi drivers…

Existence of you both is nothing to Malaysian.
    If both of you ceased to exist, it is good riddance.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
  • MitchelJohn on Mar 22, 2015 at 8:54 pm

“recalibrated their meters”

Righttttttttttt

Like we’re gonna believe what you suckers say

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Farker on Mar 22, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Since they said increased, sure they will charge the consumers immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Henry on Mar 22, 2015 at 9:05 pm

Yes, scrap the fare hike. Please also scrap the forthcoming GST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • “…with GST being implemented at the same time, it would further burden the public. Therefore, the Cabinet has asked SPAD to postpone the hike,” said Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin in a report by NST.

I thought BN said GST will make life easier 1 Mr Muhyiddin, why now you say it would “FURTHER BURDEN” the public. SLAP YOUR OWN MOUTH EH…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 3
    • Feeder on Mar 22, 2015 at 11:12 pm

They will get a much better life but rakyat yang suffer. This is what they meant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • aconcerncitizen on Mar 22, 2015 at 9:13 pm

Speaking of this.. No wonder Uber beat taxi anytime anyday. Sweat.. But then.. the main person who earn the big bucks is the company who rent out license to taxi driver

• Farker on Mar 22, 2015 at 9:13 pm

And also, with my RM2300 salary only, minus the rental, foods expenses, insurances, PTPTN, I don’t buy shirt and don’t have car. Also hard to save money even with no GST. Really don’t know how to live better now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • Ah Beng Vios TRD turbo godcar on Mar 23, 2015 at 1:43 am

Are you kidding? You must be going to spa and massage parlour alot. I earn only a few hundred more than you but I can drive a Toyota Vios TRD. If you spend less on massage and eat maggi you can achieve the same status as me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 44
      • 4G63T DSM on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:14 am

You own or the bank own?

If someone needs to eat maggie mee to “rent” a car from the bank, I rather sit a kapchai.

There is no shame in buying a cheap used car. Afterall, there are plenty of deals around with the dealers desparate to get rid of them before GST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • You may want to think twice about your life choice. Car is just a tool to get you from A to B.

If you are required to save a few hundred by eating Maggie mee, you are converting your health to sustain your need for materials.

• What happen to your baby face icon???
        Don’t like it any more after being heeavily bashed?

• Acrix on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:35 am

Since you say you earn a few hundred more lets say its RM2800. So your take home salary will be RM2500. Most likely you gave 10% downpayment and 9 year loan for your Vios TRD which would account for RM1000 monthly in installments. That is like 40% of your salary going to a car!!! I must say you have made a really good choice in life.

• jacksonljs on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:15 pm

also don’t forget to repeat infinite times Namo Amithabha daily once owning a Vios ‘Total RetarD’ spec as everyday is a hailat day until the day that junk is disposed as a result of ‘i am about to kwai tai’ at a very good trade-in price that they will yell out 8 times of “Hailat Lorrr” (fact is brand new 2014 – 2015 Vios quality is much more worse than most of lauya/old buruk national cars).

• Just a few hundreds more than RM2300 and you are driving a Vios? No wonder household debts and bankruptcies are at all time high.

• gold avanza on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:52 am

I started with RM2200 8 years ago and it was tough. Have patience. Don’t buckle to societal pressure. Don’t be enslaved to usurious, riba contracts for a car. Save up and buy with cash.

• Jimmy on Mar 22, 2015 at 9:57 pm

If I were the vice president and my president whom I fully support give me contract to renovate his Dewan, I will make sure I get sufficient keuntungan, fair, and I will do my best to achieve the industry standard & fulfil what he wants. My president is good to me and I must appreciate that.
    Janganlah orang kasi kontrak and you take for granted (tak tau kebaikan orang), makan 80% and only use the 20% left to do the job. In this case, you do not need to repeat 5000X Namo Amithabha daily.

• Calibrate the meter? Why?
    You are not going to use it anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 4:26 am

What a bunch of thugs really.

• Sisa2 on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:07 am

No Sedition charge?

• PlugcableMan on Mar 23, 2015 at 8:33 am

Why did the taxi man drive his car to the other side?

Becoz he could con the mat salleh man with higher taxi fare, with added flag-on rate.

• Daniel Ng on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:15 am

This stubborn behavior are to be boycotted. Ismail Sabri, it is time to call for boycott. Hope u know n understand better, since oil price still at very low point.

• Teksi rempit on Mar 23, 2015 at 9:35 am

Taxi drivers have been acting like thugs because of weak enforcement of the law. They should be categorised as ‘samseng jalanan’ too.

• sepul on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:03 am

Taxi drivers should recalibrate their discipline first.

I think too much government agencies doing the same thing these days, so each of them have conflict of interest.

• momoi on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:33 am

Screw Malaysia SPAD..

Why all GILA Kuasa?

• cendol (Member) on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:36 am

This shows how weak our government it.
    The SPAD can announce any new law without consulting Cabinet.
    SPAD is directly under Prime Minister’s Department, which our PM should say something.
    And why SPAD is not under Transport Ministry?
    Can you imagine the Transport Minister Liow can’t do anything with SPAD.
    And what is the use of SPAD when we already have Transport Ministry?
    Is it just to create a job to Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar to shut him up so as not to spill beans??

• AKoNGz on Mar 23, 2015 at 10:56 am

Owh great, these upper management cannot make up their mind… Pihak ni nak ini, pihak tu nak itu… in the end everyone get confused and implement their own version of the story…

Taxi driver confused, orang ramai confused, negara sendiri terumbang ambing

• Jason Lim on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:30 am

they give the “take it or leave it” attitude
    very very inconsiderate

• Meter Calibration Guy on Mar 23, 2015 at 11:57 am

Taxi re-calibrate their meter for what? Almost 90% in KL never used them before? Will be using them now?
    What is the difference?

• CyberPatrol on Mar 23, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Same story, spoke person of taxi association claim good service can be done. Let put your customer complains on the tables for past years, and tax fare hike. Is there any improvement to service in relation to quality of service? If not, what you have been doing behind your desk? Kindly speak about your KPIs in public on how local taxi operators are lovable by Malaysian and tourist. It’s all about good service and public pay for good service and experiences. Bring rights issues and income protections in picture of taxi price hike. Then who will voice for rakyat rights and income protection when given a bad experience by taxi operators?

• I was once quoted RM50 for 8km journey, right in front of JPJ Padang Jawa. I then told the driver, Bang, Saya Anak Selangor. He said he suddenly felt tired and mau balik rehat kejap. In the end i walked 700m to Federal Highway for Bus.

• shaunD on Mar 23, 2015 at 3:22 pm

is it just me, or Paul Tan himself is getting more active nowadays contributing to articles?