Mercedes-Benz CLS 400 now on sale – RM598,888

mercedes-benz-cls-400-2015-facelift-previewed-malaysia 974

Would you believe the Mercedes-Benz CLS-Class was launched about a decade ago? The car that started the whole four-door coupe phenomenon is now in its second generation in facelifted form.

Previewed last week at a Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 driver meet and greet dinner, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia have finally announced the new GST pricing for the car. The new price is RM598,888 which represents a massive RM162k drop from the pre-facelift CLS 350’s RM761k price tag.

The new RM599k price tag puts the CLS 400 closer to the pricing of its German competitor, the RM585k Audi A7. We bet this will catch the attention of many who have been considering grey imported CLS before this since an officially imported and climatised product with four year unlimited mileage warranty is now within reach. This move leaves Munich’s 6-Series GranCoupe alone in the ambitious RM700k-800k price range.

mercedes-benz-cls-400-2015-facelift-previewed-malaysia 979

So what’s changed from the outgoing CLS 350? The CLS 400 does lose some equipment but gains some as well. What’s gone is the panoramic roof (replaced with a sunroof) and the Night View Assist infrared camera, but what’s been added on is an AMG Line exterior and interior kit, Steering Assist with Stop&Go Pilot for the Distronic Plus active cruise control, and a Surround View camera system.

The Malaysian-spec car gets the optional Multibeam LED headlamps as standard. Each Multibeam LED headlamp contains a module for the low-beam headlamp, which can be swivelled upwards up to 12 degrees. It can swivel to let you see around bends, allowing the road to be illuminated effectively as soon as possible.

This active light function will also swivel back to the straight-on position before the corner ends, allowing the driver to identify dangers earlier when entering and exiting bends. The anticipatory control allows an additional range of between 30 and 60 metres, depending on the traffic situation.

mercedes-benz-cls-400-2015-facelift-previewed-malaysia 1001

The outgoing 3.5 litre normally aspirated V6 has been replaced with a 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 producing 329 hp and 480 Nm of torque, driving the rear wheels via a 7G-Tronic Plus seven-speed gearbox.

The AMG Line kit has sportier bumpers, paired with striking 19-inch wheels wrapped with staggered 255/35 rubber at the front and 285/30 at the rear. Other than the new bumpers, the facelift brings a new diamond radiator grille, and slightly darkened tail lamps with multi-level function.

If you’ve always wanted a CLS-Class, the new pricing should be very good news for you. It’s also pretty close to the S400 Hybrid’s price tag so if you’re on the wrong end of the long waiting list for that one and tend to want to drive your own car, perhaps you can consider this instead.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ripcord on Apr 01, 2015 at 6:36 pm

And just like that, they drop 160k from previous listing price.

Come to think of it, is it really the distributors here in Malaysia playing magic show with us, the consumer?

That 160k is purely their profit. Non of it goes to tax. So, they drop the price just to compete square with Audi.

How about Toyota Prius which was tax exempted last time? It was not really that cheap. They priced it above Corolla so not to cannibalize their lower models. At the same time, they’re making hefty profits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • MrPoppyplants on Apr 01, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Yes. Anyone who can do simple math can see that even after our Malaysia’s hefty taxing on cars, it will only reach a certain level. You can just do it with UK car prices, tick all the options that we get and calculate away.

The prices we get are due to HUGE HUGE margins made by distributors. And this is especially true for the luxury marques, where they simply price them however they wish from one spec to the next. I’m not too sure about Merc’s pricing gaps, but just look at how BMW 320i price jumps to M3 price. And the gap of 3 Series and 5 Series, entirely up to the distributors.

Many blame the tax. While the tax does screw with our car prices, the distributors are the ones laughing because most are just blaming the tax structure blindly without doing some simple calculations themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • exactly. even with the maximum amount of tax, the M3 should’ve been around RM500k-600k

• Folger Penipu on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Folger don’t bull la. In the US, CLS400 is US$65k. That is about RM200k. At this price, MB USA still untung banyak. At this price also MB USA has already paid US Government taxes and duties.

MBM in Malaysia will get this car at country distributor price direct from Germany. Most likely, MBM will get this
      for US$40k.

So how Folger you selling for Rm600k? Even worse, the previous generation, MBM sold for Rm761k.

Come on Folger, stop cheating Malaysians. Our taxes and duties max out at 110%. Likely this car you get US$40k (RM150k). You plus taxes also, it becomes RM350k.

Folger, you mahu untung RM250k on this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • I still cant afford it!

• Sammy on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Price drop probably due to the smaller cc of the new engine and this may affect the tax structure.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Oh god, it is gorgeous. But unfortunately, only a 4 seat option :(

• Matty on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Wow, just below $600k. I can buy 2 units now. Thanks government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • monsieur on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:04 pm

u will see this car a lot more after this. for sure the gov control media will use this as their poster boy

• Awesome … way to go …
    Mercedes -> Winning the F1 does show that they are
    top notch performance choices …
    Mercedes -> Dropping the price and giving a 4 year warranty will give BMW fits…
    BMW -> Still giving 2 year’s manufacturer’s warranty only and try to give somekind of semi warranty with their BSRI…

Good job Mercedes …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • UMW in Hiding on Apr 02, 2015 at 2:12 pm

What for Mercedes dropping price but sales still less than Audi, don’t even want to mention BMW’s sales.

• BLT_Club on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Price drop also you all complain. WTH? Can’t afford, work harder, this is life, no-one owes you $h!t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • spongewai on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:11 pm

wah, so cheap

• Jimmy on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:40 pm

Will see more of this on our roads.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:08 pm

the new screen looks silly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • April Full promo on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:25 am

20%! biggest post-GST price drop!
    hoping CKD C-Class also dapat 20% reduction

• IrizX on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Buy this can get free Iriz ah?

• Sammy on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Tak payah hybrid ckd program also can drop so much.

• Nordin b Othman on Jan 09, 2016 at 11:15 pm

very love this car. merz benz cls 400 is my dream car

• JEFFREY YIP on Dec 26, 2016 at 7:05 pm

Definitely a much better buy as compared to Porsche Panamera and BMW GC 640
    Am going for it asap