RM number plate total tenders surpass RM7 million

rm-number-plate 1060

Perlis’ RM number plate series garnered 1,507 winning bids nationwide, with the total tender surpassing RM7 million – the highest ever received by the state Road Transport Department (JPJ), Bernama reports. Bidding opened on February 23 and ended March 10.

The largest bid was RM297,000 for ‘RM 8’ by a company outside of Perlis. ‘RM 1’ went to the King of Perlis, Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Syed Putra Jamalullail, under His Majesty’s quota, while ‘RM 7’ went to anggota pentadbiran kerajaan negeri (government administration personnel), under the Chief Minister’s quota.

According to state JPJ director Zulhasmi Mohamad, the total number of bidders for RM number plates was 6,272, comprising individuals and companies from within and outside Perlis, accompanied with a deposit of 50% of their bid values.

All bidders will be informed of the success or failure of their tenders through letters which will be sent out from today. The winners are required to pay the remaining 50% of their bid values within a month, and will then be given another six months to register the number plate. Failing that, registration will be opened to others and the winning bidder will not be entitled to make any claims thereafter.

The remaining 8,491 RM number plates will be opened to the public once the remaining 648 RL number plates have all been issued to the applicants, which is expected to be later this month or in early May. In comparison, the RL number plate series collected a total of only RM1.7 million in tenders, Zulhasmi said.

The most recent series that made ‘number plate news’ was of course Selangor’s BMW plates last year, the tender procedures of which came under question. In May 2012, ‘WWW 1’ set a new record for Malaysia’s most expensive number plate at RM520,000, beating RM300,100 for ‘MCA 1’ in 2010.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Henry Tang on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:37 pm

Did you know? RM is stand for ‘Rosmah Mansor’

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 9
    • hahhaha.. Henry Tang, good one!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Same Lorrrr Lingerie Sdn Bhd on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:00 am

I have no idea why people waste money with these numbers. Better you come to me, I will spice up your love life.

I am a former UMW salesman. Because sales are so bad due to people realising UMW has been cheating people with low quality cars and minimal safety features (ie no VSC and 2 airbags only), sales in UMW has been very bad.

I and my buddy Same Loo (ori1) have now joined Parkson as ladies undergarments promoter. I am doing very well here.

I invite all PT readers to come and see me, I can give you good discounts and good RV on brands like Sorella, Triumph, Wacaol, Bee Dees, Skiva.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
  • Woot Woot on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:38 pm

And one of the RM plates bought at RM6,999,999.99 by none other…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Economist on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:43 pm

It shows that there is no recession economic gawat as predicted by the doomsayers. Cukur lah!

• old dog on Apr 06, 2015 at 7:40 pm

RM is depreciating, bad luck to own those plates..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 5
  • Teksi Kangkung on Apr 06, 2015 at 8:38 pm

who says businessmen in malaysia are making loss due to bad economy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • elson on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:00 pm

stupid people spending to buy RM, smart people sit there waiting for free USD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • ben yap on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:11 pm

I wouldn’t bid for RM number plates. I think SGD number plates also better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
    • tailong on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:39 am

who cares whatever u want to bid.. ur money, u do as u like..

• ben yap on Apr 07, 2015 at 7:15 pm

who cares what u are talking. it’s your mouth. talk as u like.

• People who pay premium prices for plates that cost over RM1000 are completely and utterly retarded.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • people in malaysia are like that ma. They see number plate liddat, associated with power and wealth. cuz they want people to suck their buntut and target for robbery and show face

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Normally those who say this is:
      1) cheapskate; or
      2) can’t afford to bid for nice number; or
      3) like he said “completely and utterly retarded”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
      • tailong on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:42 am

yeah bro.. no money no talk lah.. more like talk cock.. i bet if they have the resources, they’ll do exactly the same, if not more…

some people spend thousands on mods & ice.. those don’t last forever, (i’m not saying they are retarded, it is their choice to use their own money) but number plate, many generations can use.. u can pass down to your kids, etc…

• Pfffft If i have the resources i would spend on making my car faster, not show and tell, you know like how the stance kids show their cars when its parked but everyone knows it scks to drive?
          Getting Premium Number plates are literally just showing off, if im so worried about showing off, i would get a better car in the first place.
          Even if im stinkin rich i would’nt give a rats *ss about some numbers on a plate.
          Any real car enthusiast would spend that money on making their cars faster and better.
          Fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • You are literally paying money for letters and numbers, yes, utterly retarded.
        If im worried about the way i look, i would spend that money on a more exotic car, paying 1,000 or more for a number plate is so incredibly idiotic.

• Sammy on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Is a free market man, everyone is entitled to spend money on things they like.
          And frankly, those special numbers hold value much better then cars and can fetch more money then the turbo you just added.
          Besides, don’t you think it is something wrong if someone drives a Ferrari but their plate is just some random number like 9413 or 5354? Is like wearing a suit but go with a slippers.

• poor people pay rm300 for a plate and give free to next owner when they sell their cars. rich people buy a RM20,000 plate and later sell for RM25,000. Who is more retarded?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • benor on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:00 am

yeah.. one of my friend also says like that when he was poor (but those days dont have internet so he did not posted it online). Now he is rich baba with his best friend ali, he spent 50k for a number for a 500k car.

ben, if one day you become ali or baba, to you 50k is a peanut. most likely than not, you would be in those list.

• Stonor on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Al-kisah di suatu negeri di Negara Pasir Berdengung.

“Beta tak sangka negeri beta sudah maju. Rakyat sudah mampu beli harta bernilai 300 ribu!!”

“Ampun Tuanku beribu ampun… Mereka beli nombor plat kereta, bukan beli rumah”

• kenot on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:46 pm

W1N- the most expensive plate number at RM748K. can RM bid this record? I don’t think so.

• rockybalboa on Apr 07, 2015 at 12:50 am

Reveal those bidders’ name and have anti corruption officers waiting at their doorstep!

• TheDean on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:09 am

I still do not agree with some of these ‘special’ plates being reserved for the royalties and federal/state governments. The royalties do not even need plates, and the goverments are to serve the rakyat. Some items and positions need to be reserved only for the rakyat.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 07, 2015 at 8:47 am

There should be a special perlis plate for a super sorhai kimchi owner RM0. Because kimhcis will have near zero resale value after 3 years

• Same Lorrrr Lingerie Sdn Bhd on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:24 am

Brother, now we selling undergarments in Parkson, time to stop condemning Kimchi la. In the past we play dirty but now, lets play clean. Even when we sell ra and panties, lets say all brands are good quality eventhough we are promoters of Triumph

• JB_KIA on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:20 am

JM plate was introduced more than 40 years ago…

• kereta_lembu on Apr 07, 2015 at 10:17 am

To me, spending money on number plates is a very subjective and personal matter. If a person is rich enough or works hard to pay for it, then why not? The bigger question to me would be, what will happen with the money collected from the sales of the number plates? Will the money be used for a good purpose?

• cost of living very high lah.. barang simua naik harga lah.. this n that lah.. so this? pay so much money for a no. plate?????

• Annoynimouse on Apr 07, 2015 at 11:43 am

Crazy…

• Rock On on Apr 07, 2015 at 2:13 pm

I totally agree with bidding for number plate. It is honest way for G to generate income. If you want nice number, you pay. Else, just take what was allocated. Not sure why people want to complain. Nobody is forcing you to buy it.

• The Gov should make all number plates biddable and all vehicles purchased must come with a num plate, and start the bid price at 5k (becoz if u too poor to buy the plate then u too poor to own a vehicle), and would be owners should show proof of available parking space (otherwise Gov should charge them for it)