Audi Matrix Laser headlights – going better than LED

Audi R8 LMX

Audi has formally announced its Matrix Laser headlights, which means the lighting system will soon be making its way onto the brand’s series production vehicles. The Matrix Laser technology is based on the LaserSpot for high-beam lamps that was first introduced to production in the Audi R8 LMX last year.

It’s a step up from the Matrix LED headlight tech that debuted on the Audi A8 facelift in late 2013, and the system is set to rival the BMW Laserlight system. Here, bright lasers are integrated into a projector-based system to come up with a compact, powerful and headlight with very dynamic characteristics.

At the heart of the Matrix Laser system are blue laser diodes – built by Osram – that have a wavelength of 450 nanometers, which project their light source onto a rapidly-moving mirror that is three millimeters in size.

audi matrix laser

This mirror – a micro-optical system developed by Bosch and featuring electro-mechanical control and based on silicon technology – redirects the blue laser light to a converter, which then converts it to white light and projects it onto the road.

The automaker says that activation and deactivation of the laser diodes in relation to the mirror position is lightning-fast, which allows a dynamic and highly variable broadening or narrowing of the luminous beam being projected.

At low vehicle speeds, the light is distributed to a larger projection area, and the road is illuminated with a very wide range. At high speeds, the aperture angle is reduced so the intensity and range of the light can be increased significantly, advantageous in highway driving. The company says that compared to the current Matrix LED headlights, Matrix Laser technology units will offer greater light throw ranges and even finer dynamic resolution.

Audi R8 LMX

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 8:56 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 143
  • Samad Jain on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:02 pm

if damaged in car accident, the hi tech headlamp replacement cost would probably be equivalent to secondhand kancil.

Anyway, big boss owners would consider this small matter…..as their wallet is sooo thick

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • venven81 on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:42 pm

one piece of full LED headlamp on the A6 hybrid cost around RM14k. With all this tech, you know what that figure would be. Well, technology is always a double-edged sword. You win some and you lose some. Even for the rich, it will still hurt their wallet a little (no big deal) but it will always be wise to cover it with insurance (if one does exist). hehe.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:04 pm

Rich people go for Lexus. They are smart business who knows how important RV is. This car RV is the same like hailat kimchi , I will show the owner my hilux. I can buy Lexus with cash with all this hailat trade in car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
      • You can be rich but still a tight arse..

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 30, 2015 at 3:06 pm

When I am rich, no one care what kind of arse I am.

When you die die have to stick with Proton/kimchis since you get nothing RV from your car, you so scare the new car can’t fit your arse.

• Aaron on Apr 30, 2015 at 4:07 pm

This Same L0rrrr is such a troll. No point being serious with his words, folks. Although I disagree on what he speaks, his ridiculous statements always put a smile on my face. Time to take things a little less serious people, that will make your day better, cheers!

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Sounds very much like a typical DLP projector with a laser light source, just without having to display different colors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr (Member) on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:46 pm

I’m still on xenons…and they moved from LED to laser…crap haha. By the looks of it the LED tech is short lived compared to xenon tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • dodgeviper88 on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:56 pm

i’m still on halogen reflectors!

• Thule on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:32 am

Bro.. Even Porsche is still on bi-xenon headlight so no sweat as it works perfectly :) we can skip one technology ahead when we change our car.

• Paul Tak professional on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:13 pm

Will our double standard jpj would approved this headlights?answer will be within us.guess everyone know what I am saying

• Logical Sense on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:45 pm

It must be hurt our eyes when this kind of headlamp high beam others. Can sue them for causing blindness

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • zamer on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:46 am

weird when the put the testing at older R8. should have the newer model instead..

• Jay-Z on Apr 30, 2015 at 9:38 am

will my cat chase the laser? hahaha

• Bobby (Member) on Apr 30, 2015 at 10:53 am

It would be more practical and safety contribution by fixed (can not be adjusted by anyone) height of the dim and headlight than whatever type of lights to introduce into the market. Try driving at night in Malaysia, anywhere along the by-ways and high-ways, some 70% of the drivers are either partially or largely blind at night, judging by the high adjusted dim or headlight they implemented, without really knowing they themselves are also at risk if the coming car drivers’ eyesight are affected by the heightened lights! Add to the half-past six driving skill, not one is safe driving at nights.

Forget about the authority cracking down on this low-life behaviour. They are bigger than god!

Look at your own car lights height b4 u go personal on this issue.