JPJ to enforce new tinting rules on May 1 – report

Current (left) and reported new tint regulations effective May 1.
VLT expressed in percentages; the lower the number, the darker the tint

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) will enforce the new window tinting regulations starting this Friday, marking the end of a six-month postponement, according to Harian Metro.

The new rules specify minimum permissible visible light transmission (VLT) levels of 70% for the front windscreen, 50% for the front side windows and 30% for all other windows (rear side windows and rear screen), as opposed to the current 50% for all side windows and rear windscreen.

Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad, JPJ director-general, said that the authorities will not hesitate in nabbing drivers who fail to comply with the new ruling in future operations.

llumar-tint-off-watermarked-5

“These six months that were given have been sufficient, and there are no excuses after the enforcement date beginning this Friday,” he said. “Owners who fail to obey with these regulations will be fined according the tint standards set by JPJ.”

According to Ismail Ahmad, JPJ was supposed to have begun enforcement on November 1, but it postponed the date to May 1 after studying the various consumer needs. “The six-month period that was given has been long enough for owners to perform inspections and change their window tints according to the new VLT rates that were specified,” he said.

He added that JPJ has so far only given tint approvals to 3,500 vehicles involving celebrities and other individuals for safety as well as health reasons – the latter requires confirmation from health professionals.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Sam_Value_no_more_value on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:54 pm

I have a feeling original tints on reconditioned vehicles would still fail the ammended ruling.

If this is the case, I get the impression the govn is still trying to make life difficult for recon car buyers.

The new 50% VLT for front and 30% VLT for rear window ruling still seem rigid compared to most other 1st world countries.

If original windows on recon vehicles does not pass the rules, please ban it selling(bear in mind this would also affect the profit of AP holders).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
    • Open Letter to Datuk Ismail Ahmad on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Datuk, firstly, as with all other enforcements in the past, it will be a joke. Everytime you JPJ officers will do enforcement for 1 week, after that, it will be long forgotten story.

Even when enforcement is done, 9 out of 10 of your JPJ officers and road block gangs will ask the offender to settle on the spot. Your officers will ask, Encik boleh settle sekarang, tapi encik mesti bagi dengan ikhlas”.

Nowadays, although corruption is 2 ways, JPJ officers are very brave. They always ask. And the rakyat, finding the easy way out, always just give.

So, there is no real enforcement at all. The purpose of this operasi is just a sham for the officers to make more pocket money for themselves.

Then, there is also the fact that your officers have no telur. They see big car or any car with single number plate, they just say, “Lalu lalu and lambai their tangan”

I have even seen JPJ officers carrying balls also, big tinted Mercedes pass, the officer can salute also to the offender. Then the poor kancil fellow at the back, kena tahan and saman. We all Malaysians know, big car or some Datuk or Tan Sri, the JPJ officers telur will kecut.

Datuk, pls sort your JPJ first. Be fair. Saman everybody. Also, make sure your officers are clean. Clean up your officers, that is more important.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 262 Thumb down 5
      • Derek on Apr 29, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Also, before u try to enforce all this new rules. Please make sure that Malaysia is safe. Due to work. Some ppl need to drive home alone during the night. If the car tinting is not dark enough. That’s really dangerous when some robbers or who even wanted to do something bad saw that, there is only a female driver in the car.. Please make sure they will be safe before u enforce new thing. Care about the rakyat is important than care about ur wallet. Because u have families too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 8:48 pm

Lucky my 2006 camry is not tinted. Good quality RV car no need to tint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 60
        • Sometime when the tinting is too dark might help the bad guys escape from police easily

• unforgiven on Apr 30, 2015 at 9:53 am

If you try to be cleaned, the JPJ officer will issue an inspection letter to you. You then need to apply for 1 day leave (if you are employee), spend whole day waiting before you are being let go.

I once have to tear off the front passenger tint before they let me go. Although the 4 sides and rear are with the same tint. Just that the tint meter do not like my front passenger tint.

So all in all, if rm50 is able to settle on the spot might be a better choice. The JPJ officer might already aware that I refused to give kopi money in the first instance.

• tony boloni on May 02, 2015 at 2:18 am

please make sure your daughter don’t get married with these jokers from JPJ, Customs and other corrupted agencies. As a parents, must do hardcore due diligence before marrying them with any of these government agencies…..

• Gaviny on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:58 pm

You should know the new ruling follows international standard and it was amended simply because of recon cars

Saje nak complain, tapi but no facts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
      • 4G63T DSM on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Just what international standard it follows? Tint laws are as varied as there are Tint VLT%s…

In Canada and US, even different provinces/states have different laws. But generally, no tint on the windshield and front glass and no limit on the back glass after the B pillar (some limit the side glass to 20%). You could have painted it all black and still be legal.

Afterall, we allow panel vans right with no windows? So why is a car different?

The only concession you must have if you do indeed go dark past the B pillar is that you have at least 2 working side mirrors.

I don’t have any tint on my car, but I wont go more than 30% anyway, even at the rear….makes visibility poor during nighttime. However, as my car is pretty low, a dark tint on the rear significantly cuts down on glare from those poorly aimed HID and LED lamps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • hadi ahmad on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:33 pm

If you like USA, go and migrate there. In Malaysia, you still can “you tolong gua, gua tolong you”. No problem have uniform tint of below 30% all round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 46
      • Bodohlah on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:01 pm

International rules my foot? Pls go and visit UK US and Australia.

People over there tint their cars darker and it is allowed.

Simply because darker tints have more benefits than not having tints. Eg safety issues and health issues

If tints are harmful why does ministers themselves tint their cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • JB_KIA on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:02 pm

so after 1 May the back ones can be darker…

• zuchie on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:05 pm

WHAT THE HELL…

• thebosssedangbercakap on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:08 pm

how about jpj starts focusing on something more “serious”, like those lori hantu driving like a sports car?

or even better, collect some data like a google street view car to improve the road flow or etc. at least tax payers money are well spent rather than these fellows wondering around like nothing better to do.

tinted is a mere problem la. lead by example before you enforce the law. if you get what i mean.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 2
    • carry on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:08 pm

FULLY AGREED!! Tinted tu apa lah sgt. Klu jpj really want to do their job, tu hah byk lory n bas drive macam sport car. This is truly dangerous to other road users. Tint is merely a tint lahhhh…LOL

• Sammy on Apr 30, 2015 at 5:37 pm

And you know what is the ironic part??
      These officers are makan gaji from our tax payers money… so technically we hire them to come out with brainless law to enforce it on us so that we get to pay saman (or kopi money) for something that’s not even illegal in other countries. Shocking!

Lorry and buses with smoke are illegal everywhere in the world, but in Malaysia is ok!! Why?? Because lorry driver don’t normally settle saman on the spot!!

That lalang liow doing what now? Please do something that’s benefit the rakyat. Grow some balls for a start!

• hanssen on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:10 pm

can original vell/alp privacy wwindows (second side windows and rear) passes JPJ new regulation?

• Dont think so, usually theses glass VLT is around 15 ~ 30%

• That never pass one.. Usually dealer change it to clear glass (Ori Made in Thailand) before go to Puspakom for Test.. After Puspakom Test, dealer change it back to ori glass came with the car.. I know one shop at Cheras area do provide this service to recond car dealer coz I use their service once before after one dealer introduce them to me last time.. So.. This is how those car (with ori black glass) you see on the road can registered at JPJ..

• Seangi on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:32 am

No. Those are 21%.

• kenzai on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:10 pm

thumb ups..

• donkey J on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Since GST, no plan to replace my tint liao…

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Happy! I can officially darken the rear windows to VLT 30%

• 1MALAYSIA on Apr 29, 2015 at 3:29 pm

No wonder our country is falling down the drain. These bunch of smart fellow can’t even make simple decision and stick to the decision made without flip flopping!

Why are we even talk about tints? Why not go after those trucks and buses that are polluting our air? Why not go after those trucks and buses that is putting roads user life at risk?

WAWASAN 2020 is just 5 years away. Everyone will be laughing at what Tun Mahathir wrote and planted in the time capsule

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Good & Bad on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:01 pm

standard should not like roti prata.
    Most ppl will welcome this new standard.
    However, if the standard change in near future again, who will suffer?

Winner are officer and tint shop.

• Kelvin on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:02 pm

What is the definition of a celebrity?

Where do I register to be one?

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:28 pm

Do you earn your money through your time and sweat and your money can sustain public audit?

Do you pay your taxes accordingly?

Do you work out your career yourself without family/friends/parties connection (aka lubang)?

If YES for all above, sorry you are not qualified.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:13 pm

I earn my money that just enough to buy saga for my son thru talking coxk and like shit at Toyota showroom, so I am qualified. Want discount, come look for me Danny at subang showroom.

• JPJ should spend more time catching pollutants, over-overweight trucks/lorry, no brake lights vehicle, improve the road tax sticker and eliminate corruption!!

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Eh…celebrities can apply for special permit?

Anyhow….boo on JPJ…tinting is a minor if not, non-issue here in a hot country like ours. I rather they go fine overloaded trucks, vehicles whose exhaust fumes are killing the environment and those f***ing illegal HID light users. Let’s not forget vehicles n bikes whose exhaust are modified to be as loud as an airplane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • I’m just hoping you see this because you know your BMW stuff and have been around a long time.. do you know the VLT on stock BMW F30 glass? I’m getting my first BMW in a while.

• Samad Jain on Apr 29, 2015 at 9:09 pm

hahahahhahha…again these bunch of jpj jokers….All talk, no action. Just minum kopi oni.

JPJ aren’t even serious about their action and enforcement all these while.

Do you think the rakyat is serious about the rules??

• To me, the old percentage are better, gangters, bullies, Yb, rich people and etc, won’t be able to hide their faces, don’t say heavier tint can cool the car, it take a few mins for the air-con to cool inside, so many excuses to have darker tints, don’t drive in daytime, better drive at night or stay indoor, what if your air-con rosak on that day, you will be expose too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 23
    • hadi75 on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:13 am

Klc…you just got out of the cave is it..those that you mentioned already tinted their car darker than this new ruling is enforced. Darker tint may not cool the car faster but it sure as hell prevent prying eyes from looking inside and it will benefits nursing mothers too.

• old dog on Apr 29, 2015 at 10:53 pm

all accordana is 100% dark i guess…and they still allowed..

• cendol (Member) on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:59 am

Laws are nothing without proper enforcement.
    We all know JPJ officers are paid peanuts as salary, some of them even moonlight as pasar malam traders just to buy milk powder.
    Until our salary can increase, corruption is inevitable due to economic conditions.
    With current GST, those who does not pay tax previously are now paying tax indirectly through GST and we know who are the ones affected the most .

• Navind Chitty on Apr 30, 2015 at 10:43 am

There goes my RM3500 tint. Can refund from raytech? lol

• sammy on Apr 30, 2015 at 5:14 pm

Those Tan Sri for security reason get to tint… even they already have body guard..
    Other poor lady driving alone get to fend for themselves.
    This is how you take care of the road safety of the rakyat??

• Zammmm on May 01, 2015 at 11:36 pm

Ayoo, kerajaan buat duit paling senang. Respect you, my kerajaan.

• tony boloni on May 02, 2015 at 2:10 am

Dear JPJ, summon tinted care should not be your first priority. This is because you guys want to do easy job on rakyat expense. Please prioritise. Where is the statistic that shows most of the crooks are driving tinted cars? Don’t blame on tinted. Normal untinted car also you cannot catch the crooks, you have appetite to summons tinted car. Even fake license plate also you are not capable of catching offenders….what a joke. First come first, figure out how you can catch the crooks, the tontos. Not tinted car. This is a master joke to the world….there is a purpose for tinting….don’t be an idiot….

• tinmilo on May 04, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Ya… you are right.
      The function of car windows are for the drivers and passengers to look out… not for this dumb ass to look in and catch crooks.
      If they let panel van with no rear window to be legal, what’s tinting??
      Other smarter countries will actually ask the driver to wind down the window during a road block.
      They might as well ban sunglasses while driving because it covers your face.
      And I am not even sure those Tan Sri mercedes with rear blind is legal now..

• tony boloni on May 02, 2015 at 2:16 am

please make sure your daughter does not get married to any of these monkeys whether its JPJ, Customs or other corrupted agencies….

• EngSL on Aug 01, 2016 at 2:01 pm

Hi Jonathan, i could not find the relevant JPJ rules that allows 30% VLT for rear windows & rear windscreen from JPJ portal.
    http://www.jpj.gov.my/pengubahsuaian-kenderaan-persendirian
    Pls share your source.