Prasarana to introduce suburban feeder service, working with COMOS for EVs at LRT, MRT stations

prasarana-lrt-kj27-glenmarie

Prasarana Malaysia Bhd is looking at introducing a new feeder service for suburban commuters possibly by early next year, The Sun reports. The first-mile service could fill the gap between taxis and buses for suburban areas lacking in public transport services.

“We are looking to introduce options like the motorised tricycle or little scooter. We may re-brand it in some other way to make it more attractive,” the daily quoted Prasarana group MD Azmi Abdul Aziz as saying. He added that Prasarana is ready to provide such options to the public, subject to approval from the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD).

“Apart from that, we are also collaborating with COMOS Malaysia to introduce electric vehicles (EV) on a ride-sharing basis to LRT and MRT stations soon,” he said. COMOS recently opened registration to the public, with yearly subscription at a limited promo rate of RM50.

The COMOS service will start May 16, and you’ll be able to pick up the cars at Asia Jaya, Bangsar, Pasar Seni and Ampang Park LRT stations, amongst other locations.

“Prasarana as a public transport operator can propose to us and we will look into whether it is economically viable and can benefit the public. Any kind of new proposal should be seen as a service to improve public transport access for the public,” SPAD CEO Mohd Nur Ismal Kamal told The Sun.

The Prasarana group MD also called for mutual public confidence in order to realise an excellent public transport system in line with Vision 2020, saying that everyone, stakeholders included, must be prepared to perceive public transport more in a more positive light, while showing more responsibility, Bernama reports.

“Previously, when we talk about public transport, everybody says it is the government’s responsibility… yes, that is correct, but that doesn’t mean we have to wait for the government’s allocation to get it done,” Azmi said, adding that Prasarana is also looking to understand the expectations of the future generation on public transport, as more of them enter the workforce.

“Those are the things we are putting up just to refine further so that it will be attractive for public transport in the future to cater to the target market,” he said.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:22 am

HA HA HA HA HA HA !! BURNING MORE MONEY !!
    Malaysia should get the bus transport system right first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 34
  • no more BN! on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:33 am

another project for the close people to flom so can buy more ring and handbag? rakyat is suffer with gst and ringgit fall, now time to change gov!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 33
  • superboy on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:59 am

No surprise, as election coming near, they announce qualities rather than their absence, be emphasize most development come with word ‘Looking and expecting’, don’t be deceived, my people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
  • i wish these pakatroopers would leave…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 10
    • rajeev on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:25 pm

i think they are high on something. definitely makes me wonder if i voted right last time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • BN wasting money on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:21 pm

more projek for the crony while rakyat suffer gst but make look good for coming election! jib gang think we believe the con! we not need any more public transport please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
  • Painter on Apr 30, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Good. But don’t limit to just COMOS. In the future maybe new ideas might crop up, somebody else might offer better service.

Maybe throw in dedicated Uber line as well. Looking forward to efficient public transport in Klang Valley.

• fighter on Apr 30, 2015 at 2:33 pm

new idea projek only for crony and jibby family. u think gov will let uber come here? too many taxi man put money in bn politician pocket. we rakyat suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • COMOS has shown the willingness and the inventiveness to create a new market segment for EV cars. How many others could think that? Did you?
        So COMOS has prepared the base for EV passenger cars of course its logical to see if that can be expanded for EV buses too. Dont you want a cleaner environment?
        Or do you prefer to wallow in your stupidity and just listen to PR Marketing strategies?

• Syukri Lajin on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:35 pm

uber and myteksi could do good work. i think myteksi can expand and provide services that is more like uber(not just limited to taxis)

• altimatesss on Apr 30, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Why it always has to be about klang valley all the time.. when are we going to look at improving public transportation in other cities in so many other states ?..

• Momok Tomok on May 01, 2015 at 3:40 am

I hate when haters are everywhere. Please put your negativity to somewhere else. This is a place for professional and gentleman discussion.

• budlee on May 02, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Its a good start. But maintaining the quality of it will be the measurement of how good it is.