Tesla Model S 70D and S 85 EVs to be introduced in Malaysia later this year, but no, you can’t buy one

tesla model s 01

So, the brand is finally officially coming to Malaysia, but not quite in the manner you expect – if all goes according to plan, the Tesla Model S 70D and S 85 models are set to make their Malaysian debut towards the later half of the year, but they will not be available for purchase commercially.

The cars are set to be available only through a leasing scheme, and will be offered on a two-year leasing period to government-linked companies (GLC) for use as official cars. The Teslas will be brought in by Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia), which will run the entire operation directly.

The non-profit organisation under the Ministry of Energy, Green Technology and Water (KeTTHA), which purpose is to catalyse green tech deployment, plans to run the initiative to allow policy makers and persons of influence to better understand the merits of electric vehicles (EVs) by sampling the technology for themselves.

tesla model s 02

The programme also falls in line with the organisation’s current push to bring to the forefront its electric mobility blueprint, which aims to get the EV movement going in a big way in the country.

A total of 120 Model S units are set to be deployed in the programme, consisting of a mix of all-wheel drive 70D and rear-wheel drive 85 variant types. Ensuring a sufficient operating range and having enough space to suit working needs was the reason in opting for the Tesla route, GreenTech Malaysia CEO Ahmad Hadri Haris explained recently at a private luncheon.

“The Tesla was the only vehicle that fit the parameters we had defined for the programme. Its sedan format and overall disposition fits its use as an official car, and the 400 km range is sufficient for most needs. No other EV we looked at fulfilled both these requirements,” he explained.

As for the leasing path, he said that Tesla Motors was not keen to have its cars sold in direct fashion here, or for that matter, even have them here at all, but following discussions, the automaker finally agreed to allow GreenTech Malaysia to obtain the cars with the understanding that they were to be used for increasing awareness of EVs amongst policy makers and the government.

Ahmad Hadri added that under the agreement, GreenTech Malaysia cannot sell the cars for a period of two years, but GLCs interested in purchasing the cars will be able do so once the 24-month timeframe has expired, which is also when the leasing agreement period per vehicle comes to an end.

Leasing costs are still being studied, with the possibility of it being in the region of around RM6,000 per month, Ahmad Hadri said, adding that GreenTech Malaysia was also in the midst of sourcing out a provider to service the vehicles during the operational period of the progamme.

He said that the cost of the entire initiative, from initial investment and the bulk purchase of the cars right down to its operational aspects were to be borne solely by GreenTech Malaysia, adding that there would be no public funds involved.

Some notes about the cars that will be coming in – Ahmad Hadri told paultan.org that most of the 120 vehicles will be made up of the 329 hp 70D, which has an operating range of 386 km. A number of 70Ds will be kitted out with the optional executive seats, which revises the rear bench to a twin-occupant-only row.

The S 85, meanwhile, is the RWD version of the type, and the 362 hp variant can travel up to 426 km on a single charge. As standard, the Model S comes equipped with a single 10 kW charger, a mobile connector with a 240 volt outlet as well as a SAE J1772 public charging adaptor.

tesla model s 03

In terms of homologation, the vehicle type approval (VTA) for the S 85 has already been carried out – the model was approved by JPJ last week. As for the S 70D, Ahmad Hadri said that the variant is in the midst of being prepared for its submission for VTA.

He added that GreenTech Malaysia is targeting to ready the cars for ministerial use by the time the 27th ASEAN Summit in KL takes place in late November.

When the cars are formally introduced here, Malaysia will become the first country in the region to see the debut of the Tesla Model S on an official basis – apparently, the odd unit that has been spotted in the country is a private import, and is not supported by Tesla.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jwrx (Member) on May 18, 2015 at 9:46 am

“no public funds involved” — how is that possible? Does money grow on trees? Green tech is a subsidiary of MITI…MITI gets its funding from the Gov, which gets its funding from taxes/royalties …which IS public funding.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 272 Thumb down 19
    • kzm (Member) on May 18, 2015 at 10:02 am

lol..before u get high with ur assumption..it is better u go to their website n see wat activities that give them money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 69
      • Same L0rrrr on May 18, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Would a stranger bring out his hot sexy gf walk around your house often, make you wanna get a hot sexy gf too? Too bad this hot sexy gf only available in US!!

It is a typical SHOW OFF, rather than green car promotion.

After all, who care about environment friendly? Tax on our prius is the best example.

The logic behind: GLC spend money, RM 5 out of every RM 10 goes into their own pockets. Wanna get rich, keep wasting public money then.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 18
        • lolzer on May 18, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Nah, you’re just afraid your Prius’s sales will get even worse. Worry not, it’s not for sale, yet. Good luck doing more advertisement gaining UMW’s trust, maybe you’ll get to work there again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
    • kzm (Member) on May 18, 2015 at 11:28 am

if u malas to go there..1 activity that give them money is training courses that will cost u RM300-4000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 36
    • carlies on May 18, 2015 at 12:56 pm

No No No!

What ashamed! An incompetence government only can use the high energy-efficiency vehicle? No way, no way!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • money made from paper, and paper made from? hehehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • aKidos on May 19, 2015 at 11:10 am

i am skeptic with any government’s initiative . Always got Dinosaur disebalik batu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Unless I’m blind the article says Greentech is under KeTTHA, not MITI

• azizi Greener on May 22, 2015 at 5:21 am

You guys better wake up and think positively, our earth is going to be a unhealthy place to live in with pollution from cars and factories and the depletion of ozone layer in the atmosphere where the North Pole is melting at a tremendous pace increasing the ocean level causing flooding. This earth is not a healthy place to live in time to come and its time that we minimize pollution, so that our future generation can live a much better life. That is why advance country are exploring into outer space to look for a better world to live in only for those who can afford to pay for it.

• calvin on May 18, 2015 at 9:55 am

there it goes, this is how government spent our money!!! effectively the government is going to spend 24X6000X120=17.28 millions extra on whatever they already have spend.

if these bunch of jocker wanted to learn more about the electric car, is that justify them to go and buy the most expensive model available?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 26
  • Woot Woot on May 18, 2015 at 10:06 am

As soon as Kak Ros in the passenger seat, the travelling range drops to 10 km only

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 6
    • heybadigol (Member) on May 18, 2015 at 10:38 am

But she will get police escort, so won’t ever need to get stuck in traffic. So, gain back the range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • kzm (Member) on May 18, 2015 at 10:07 am

if u malas to go there..1 activity that give them money is training courses that will cost u RM300-4000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
  • start a fight on May 18, 2015 at 10:09 am

this is where the bashing of government without reading the article will start.

*grab a popcorn*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
    • Johnny on May 20, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Read the article. Yet, still wanna bash the government.
      No public funding is a joke. A petty attempt to drive the public’s eyes away from the matter that the government is in-fact spending our money. Also, this is the government’s way of mocking us saying “we’re meant to serve you but we have more power”. It’s like a maid that tells you what she wants to eat for dinner instead of you telling her what to cook. Yet, there’s nothing we can do about it. All GLCs should be driving Proton Perdanaacord and use this money to build an infrastructure that will allow the public to one day own 100% electric cars. Then would the term “public funding” be a nice ring to our ears.

• irsan on May 18, 2015 at 10:13 am

will rm6000 per month include towing charge to the nearest charging station?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Sam Teh on May 18, 2015 at 10:14 am

WTF…I want one ! Been saving since my childhood to buy one of this !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • same lorrrhhakkktuuuuiiihhhh on May 18, 2015 at 6:22 pm

so how old are you? Tesla car only available in the market on 2011

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
      • Sam Teh on May 19, 2015 at 6:34 am

Why you care how old am I ? This car might be recent ,but the idea lead to its birth have been conceived long before even you were born.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 18, 2015 at 10:19 am

Why oh why not sell it commercially? Is it because its too expensive to also build the supercharger charging station? With the BMW i8 also available here, wouldn’t it make sense to build more charging stations? Is it because JPJ doesn’t know how to charge the road tax (technically it has no internal combustion engine, so how to calculate engine capacity)? And why only GLCs? That means Paultan and us normal folks will never get a chance to drive this car.

Otherwise, this is an amazing car. Like a concept car has come down from the stands and straight onto the road. The Model S goes like a rocket, but without any sound (except tyre roar). The videoes on youtube show the car able to wheelspin when flooring the throttle at 80km/h. Sure it doesn’t handle like a 5 Series or Cadillac CTS, but that seamless torque is addictive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • sammy loop on May 20, 2015 at 1:26 am

dude, that’s because i8 also runs on petrol
      but this tesla couldn’t run on petrol when your battery kosong

• Go & pujuk Tesla. Maybe if you go, they will agree.

• Govt said (and via govt agencies):
    1. To promote green technology
    2. To make car safer for public
    3. To ease traffic woes in KL

Govt do:
    1. Electric car? no no no. you cannot but for now
    2. Euro 4 fuel? We upgrade later
    3. New car with no airbag, VSC, TSC? No problem.
    4. Hybrid luxury saloon? Limit the unit sell here.
    5. Incentive for green vehicle? No way man.
    6. Traffic woes in main city? We are doing our best in ease traffic congestion. Please people…bear with us… while riding a police escorted convoy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 10
    • 7. How JPJ charge the road tax when road tax system based on car CC engine capacity? Kilowatt equivalent?

8. EEV incentive aside, why should MITI punish this car with utterly high car tax? At least 3-4 times the US list price? None of the cronies manufacturing electric cars to be protected anyway. OK lets blame the weak RM-USD forex.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • start a fight on May 18, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Govt do:
      1. Electric car?
      ==>yes, u can. iMiev and Leaf is on sale. Zoe and Twizzy otw.
      2. Euro 4 fuel?
      ==> EV ? why the fuel? read much?
      3. New car with no airbag, VSC, TSC?
      ==>did see how this connected to EV but forget your vios if u wan all those
      4. Hybrid luxury saloon?
      ==> actually, is limited due to time/manufacturing limit and ur incapability of owning one right now. in fact, malaysian own almost all Audi A6 hybrid in the world.
      5. Incentive for green vehicle?
      ==> 0 tax for EV until end of this year. 0 tax for hybrid ended last year.
      6. Traffic woes in main city? u wan cheap car.. then u complaint about traffic? why larr?
      7. How JPJ charge the road tax when road tax system based on car CC engine capacity? Kilowatt equivalent?
      ==>based on kilowatt and not equivalent.. totally different structure. iMIEV roadtax is RM10
      8. EEV incentive aside, why should MITI punish this car with utterly high car tax? At least 3-4 times the US list price? None of the cronies manufacturing electric cars to be protected anyway. OK lets blame the weak RM-USD forex.
      ==>no car tax for CBU EV for now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
  • brazbuz on May 18, 2015 at 10:45 am

what we need is gov grant on ev vehicle to create awareness. Not by providing the ev luxury car to high ranking person. Sigghhhh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Worried on May 18, 2015 at 11:07 am

I don’t care whatever the Government wants to do with the Teslas, but this statement worries me: “..Tesla Motors was not keen to have its cars sold in direct fashion here, or for that matter, even have them here at all.”

Wonder why do they hold that opinion? Immature EV/electrical network? Lack of buyers? Low internet speeds that gimps features such as OTA updates, driver assists?

I won’t be able to afford a Tesla, even if it comes tax-free. But damnit, at least let me dream of being able to have it officially instead of crushing it entirely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • start a fight on May 18, 2015 at 4:46 pm

FYI, tesla does not support dealer system anywhere, if u want to buy it. it is actually buying it directly from them.

even in US. u can’t go to car dealer and bought one. You have to purchase it directly through them.

• sham82 on May 20, 2015 at 8:53 am

Oooohhh…… that means no crony master franchise holder la…….

• pondan on May 18, 2015 at 11:27 am

another cronies project by taking advantage whenever possible.

And damn well sure that the people who drive the car is those bloody suckers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • telsa tells all on May 19, 2015 at 8:02 am

If that materialized, won’t it be great and easy to identitfy them? Authorities on wrong doing lookout only need to stand near the charger station lol

• wiwiwiw on May 18, 2015 at 11:48 am

Impressive the car may be, but it is kinda useless with its slow charging and limited range.

It works if it is in a highly developed cities like London, Singapore, Tokyo or Hong Kong but not Klang Valley.

Another matter is this car is made exclusive here for the officials and elites to enjoy.

Tesla potential owners need not to be worried, there will be plenty of grey import Teslas coming our way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • start a fight on May 18, 2015 at 4:49 pm

u can grey import Tesla.. but why the hassle? Tesla is best with Tesla online support.

• tougke70 on May 19, 2015 at 1:41 am

why not? one charges last you about 200 miles… don’t tell me a single week you cannot spare one day to fully charge your car? This car will work well in KL and PJ!

• Range should be lesser than that with the aircon turned on, which the driver probably will. Nevertheless it should be sufficient for the daily commute. The I3 with range extender option would be a better car in my opinion. There is no need for a high end electric sports car to raise awareness. Another glam project lost making enterprise. Non profit? I don’t buy it.

• VeCtOrIaN on May 18, 2015 at 12:17 pm

I am rushing to apply for job at GreenTech Malaysia asap :)

• Painter on May 18, 2015 at 12:29 pm

I love it when we become serious in embracing future tech. It’s never too late to join the revolution.

• BigBalls on May 18, 2015 at 12:36 pm

So this is how it works

Instead of the powers to be in the GLCs purchasing outright using their money, or the company’s money, they use gov ministry as a front to absorb the costs, and they pay a pittance to own this car, ferrying their wives, mistress with their herd of bodyguard, all these bills being footed by the tax payers?

well done

-BigBalls-

• Diesel Power!!! on May 18, 2015 at 3:04 pm

May i know wat is the purpose of leasing these cars to the GLC??

if really care about environment, plz bring in euro 5 diesel to all states…plz stop using euro2m diesel..!!!

Btw, if really wanna go green and use EV, please start with :

1. Public transport such as Taxi
    2. Enforcement vehicle such as police, dbkl, jpj, etc.

bcoz they always on the road…It can at least reduce 20% of the emission of the total vehicles on the road…

• DPCraft on May 18, 2015 at 8:12 pm

But Malaysia’s taxi so old and tight – very uncomfortable to ride.

• rally_fan (Member) on May 18, 2015 at 4:18 pm

If greentech is non-profit and they claim no public funds will be use.. so how are they funding this? bank loan? with Tesla having no presence here, who will do the maintenance and servicing? Increase awareness of EV’s to policy makers and govt?? isn’t proton already running a long term test programme of EV cars at Putrajaya? isn’t COMO already offering EV cars for rental to the public? and why the most expensive “luxury” EV available is chosen? how about the nissan leaf.. its already supported locally and would have been the more obvious choice if EV education for the main purpose imho… more questions than answers.

• start a fight on May 18, 2015 at 4:56 pm

tesla has no presence and basically maintenance of a tesla is done online. stripped the car and you can only find EPS motor and the motor to run the vehicle. no radiator, no fuel filter, no engine oil to change. the maintenance needed basically are tires and wiperblade…

if the higher ups does not see the future in EV.. they will not push for any EV initiative..

COMOS already offer EV to public with 150km rance. Tesla provide more mileage, since government personnel move alot, this could save alot in term of maintenance of vehicle and fuel cost.

FYI, owning a Tesla does not mean owning everything in Tesla. the batteries in someway are borrowed to you whereby when needed to be replace, Tesla will replaced it with a new one.

• fight a start on May 19, 2015 at 7:34 pm

Maintained online??? Do you even own a vehicle? Don’t tell me you just replace wipers or tyres for your entire vehicle’s life or ownership. How do you replace the wornout brake pads through online? By refering to online manuals and that’s even if you managed to get the parts in or maybe you can order it at eBay and wait for weeks before you can get the car drivable. Please stop joking here.

• start a fight on May 22, 2015 at 1:04 pm

well.. i do own one.. and replacing tires and wiper done myself.. no need to pay labor charges which is crazy here..

brake pads.. get a friend to do it.. so yeah.. pretty much everything done myself in my small garage…

the maintenance that i was talking about was the firmware update… and if you could not start your car.. do not think tesla as a car.. it is a big electric appliances with wheel

• start a fight on May 22, 2015 at 1:04 pm

well.. i do own one.. and replacing tires and wiper done myself.. no need to pay labor charges which is crazy here..

brake pads.. get a friend to do it.. so yeah.. pretty much everything done myself in my small garage…

the maintenance that i was talking about was the firmware update… and if you could not start your car.. do not think tesla as a car.. it is a big electric appliances with wheel

• Nathan Ferdinand on May 18, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Not for commercial sale? What the…

“When the cars are formally introduced here, Malaysia will become the first country in the region to see the debut of the Tesla Model S on an official basis…”

Em, the first countries in the region to see the Tesla are Singapore and Indonesia, officially launched at January. How could it be?!

• Teslamuddin on May 18, 2015 at 5:32 pm

tesla singapore opened office for less than a year to do lobbying, collected some bookings but never delivered any, closed shop and exit the market.

in indonesia, a grey importer is doing it.

http://www.prestigecars.co.id/stock/

hong kong has a proper tesla presence though.

• It takes TWO DAYS to fully charge this particular Tesla S with 85kWh battery capacity from your normal 13Amp socket outlet. GreenTech better choose the right charging station not some lousy cheap taiwan made.

• yussyusoff on May 18, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Wow just heard ths evng at ikim.fm from ir md jais : jpj board about this..cya at section 14 nxt…for more details…

• This shows the Government of the day turning out be a blood sucker using taxpayer money and curtailing for their own cornices GLC company Malaysian must make a decision to change the government of the day.

• I think it is a stupidly large amount of money used just to “allow policy makers and persons of influence to better understand the merits of electric vehicles (EVs) by sampling the technology for themselves.”. Just bloody go to your holiday houses in Europe and test it yourself lah.

Tell you what, I propose temporarily changing all their salaries to the average Malaysian income, live in an average Malaysian residence and pay for the average Malaysian expenditures to “allow policy makers and persons of influence to better understand the impact of GST and rising cost of living to the average citizen.”

• Chinaman killer on May 19, 2015 at 1:38 am

Who the cina is the ministry of transportation?? “sampling the technology for themselves”. This is just a ridiculous display of rubbish policy. GTH.

• Abolish stupid people on May 19, 2015 at 1:44 am

BY “sampling the technology for themselves” meaning its free sh*t. A 12 year old retarded school kid would know this program has no general public benefit but simply to satisfy a few idiots. This idiocy has gone too far. Malaysia should not allow this sh*t.

• RM 6,000.00 per month to lease a car? RM 144,0000.00 in 2 years. It’s unnecessary money just to pamper mostly unproductive GLC companies.

• I am fully supported for whatever initiatives taken to promote green lifestyle in Malaysia. But IMHO, the leasing cost is way too expensive and not economical. I believe there are many other automotive players who can offered EV at more reasonable price. They should not limit this exercise only to one particular brand. Afterall, the main objective of this initiative is just to create awareness. :-)

• DatoJoe on May 19, 2015 at 11:56 am

Hello Malaysian commenters here,

grow some brain will ya? Let people do what they do instead of bashing them all day long. On the other note, hey, this is Malaysia. And I rejoice still. Just make sure you add some good info and facts to your bashing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • watchDog on May 19, 2015 at 12:30 pm

First,

The step taken to promote green by promoting expensive and luxury EV cars is not showing good example by the government. Why must Tesla? Why not using home made EV from Proton? Proton had done 2nd phase of EV fleet in Putrajaya, and installed numbers of chargers at various ministries buildings.

2nd, why not promoting the more basic EEV which is the hybrid cars? It is more practical and cheaper compared to EV cars.

What I can conclude here is green tech Malaysia try to show that EV cars is only for the richers. And this project is just wasting public money.

• emperor on May 19, 2015 at 4:27 pm

kikiki…. non profit…. u must be j0king… returned back our money which not yours… remembered U (govern) r working with us (votes)not vice versa!!!

• typical of our gov, praise our proton but ownself riding tesla and other imported cars. praise our education but own children send to international school.

• Savoc_Smyh on May 24, 2015 at 9:07 pm

120 x RM 6000 x 24 month = RM 17 280 000.00 That’s a lot of $$$$$….

• Grren tech promotion, goverment just force that simple,all small area like pulau pangkor, pulau besar, pulau sibu dan more pulau in malaysia, to have EV vehicle with top up speed less then 60km per hour, only, ev bus support by government, then it work, just like sentosa island in Singapore.

• noway2hide on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:15 pm

vip car only for vip……next time mayb rice only can eat by certain ppl….vip culture

• DisgustedwithGLC on Apr 01, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Restricting the new ‘tax free’ cars to just GLC’s (we all know what that means) is just another way of the government saying F U to the general public. It’s the ‘we are allowed the nice toys’ but ‘you aren’t’. Its everything that is wrong with this country