Ops Warta begins today – no compromise, say police

Cop shop

As Ops Warta kicks off today, the police have said that there will be no compromise with stubborn traffic offenders who have yet to settle their summonses, and those arrested will be brought to court as they have been given sufficient time to settle their summonses.

Bernama reports that Bukit Aman traffic chief Senior Asst Comm Datuk Mohd Fuad Abdul Latiff said that up to yesterday, only 35,339 of the 1.59 million summonses with arrest warrants issued on them had been settled. The figure is just a shade over that reported as of Sunday, which was 33,473 summonses settled.

Despite the repeated warnings, it seems that errant motorists aren’t taking the threats seriously. According to The Star, police district headquarters around the Klang Valley have reported there has only been a marginal increase in the number of people turning up to settle their summonses, no more than would normally show up.

The extended front counter operation hours until 10 pm at all traffic police stations nationwide from May 5, to make it easier for motorists to pay up, has also met with poor response. In Subang Jaya, police have been closing up shop by around 8 pm daily because no one has been showing up. You can’t say you haven’t been warned, or given a chance, then.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• BigBalls on May 19, 2015 at 9:52 am

I doubt they would do much apart from the usual “boss i help u, u help me”. Paperwork are too tedious for them.

As a responsible citizen, we should learn to say no.

-BigBalls-

• Same L0rrrr on May 19, 2015 at 9:53 am

“Time to help me settle 1MDB debt, my fellow citizen”, by your beloved PM Najib.

It is all about money after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on May 19, 2015 at 12:25 pm

its ur mistake breaking road law..if u dont break those law u no need to give them money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
      • kzm father on May 19, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Not everybody like you la, get everything free in life. Still want tongkat.

• Same L0rrrr on May 19, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Its ur mistake not to pay enough tax… if you pay enough tax they no need to charge you more on GST/summons this and that.

• If all those saman can clear up 1Mdb debts then I say go after them kau-kau. These criminals have not being paying for eons and still wanna change the Gov. Betta change urself first!

• I give u a hint mr policeman on vehicle profiling:
    1) sam loo driving toyot vios_causing danger to all malaysian
    2) myvi FMC_racing like a lunatic with their cheap cars
    3) peugeot cdm25_retard person on board

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Holofanboi on May 19, 2015 at 10:01 am

Gogogo!

• bomoh on May 19, 2015 at 10:15 am

Time to pay BR1M to government….

• Meanwhile, criminals still run free….
    We somehow always get wrong priority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • nabill (Member) on May 19, 2015 at 11:53 am

perfect time to take lrt if u hae too many summons…!

but i agree , they will catch one or 2 per 10,000 offenders , the rest will settle ….we have got used to corruption sadly , they are not gonna be angels overnight…

i just wish all this effort actually goes to fighting crimes on the streets and get rid of gangs than catch traffic offenders…but what do i know!

• kzm (Member) on May 19, 2015 at 12:33 pm

u know that fighting crime is carry out by crime division police? Traffic police is doing different task…ops warta obviously done by traffic police..u all can thumb me down bcoz u dont like correct info.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
      • nabill (Member) on May 19, 2015 at 12:42 pm

ya we all kno that , u obviously didnt get the wat i want to say….and u really not correcting any mistake , its u didnt understand the point i was making , and at this point , there is not much hope anyway!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Ya…bla bla bla, how about damn mat rempit on the road?

• i just wonder you haven’t say anything wrong but you get more thumb down than thumb up :D .. anything personal between you and the users here ?

• kzm father on May 19, 2015 at 3:59 pm

In the past, he has been known for his racist comments.

• kzm (Member) on May 19, 2015 at 8:33 pm

i will oni talk racist if one talk racist..try one let see how i reply

• kzm (Member) on May 19, 2015 at 8:42 pm

most of them cannot face reality…they start racist comment why i cant rite?..i reply racist comment with racist comment…u can just search my nick in the search paultan search bar…

• kzm father on May 19, 2015 at 3:55 pm

only very stupid people say crime is by crime division and not by polis trafik. Wahai dungu, all polis officers no mtter what division they are are supposed to uphold the law

• So if Takata’s faulty airbags were caused by Production workers failure, can the CEO fire the Accounts Dept? They r in the same company, right? right?

• Yes we all know that. Then pls explain why the so called crime fighting division doesn’t address our real crime issues in the country but ur so called traffic police so active to recover money from the public?
        U don’t have to pro-gov so much to show your patriotism. U need to understand the misery of the people to love your country more.

• Dun Asyik Tangkap on May 19, 2015 at 11:56 am

Pls dun asyik tangkap, give min 50% discount and more time first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • dun asyik tangkap on May 19, 2015 at 12:16 pm

dun asyik tangkap aje, give lar at least 50% discount and another 2 weeks time. people are already miskin with 6% GST, you forced also useless as money dah give to GST lar…

• 1mdb losses and missing rm42billion lu orang tak tangkap… traffic offenders summons accumulatikn few hundred millions u guys make big hu ha… hopeless la u pdrm n jpj

• Albert on May 19, 2015 at 2:41 pm

You are right 1000 percent.
      Tun has been making noise on 1MDB, still deep silence.
      Now cos treasury short of funds….operasi besar besaran.
      Someone told me, gomen servants home loan applications on KIV status…cos they have no money to disburse…due to the big shithole….no one dares to audit.
      We are going the direction of Greece very soon if what Tun fears comes to pass.Bythe way,please pay up if you are blacklisted. If someone one wants to go to hell,let them…you dont follow.You be good.

• when pdrm/jpj will begin big ambush for those heavy vehicle in plus highway which is overload and overspeed? ini lg penting dan boleh menyelamatkan nyawa.

• P License on May 19, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Can anyone tell me Ops Warta are only targeting people who receive Saman Polis or including local council summons(DBKL,MPSJ,MPPJ)?

• Prioritise on May 19, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Looks like the government bodies/polis are running out of cash. A relative of mine just received a DBKL saman notice from 2007. Talk about being efficient. As for the traffic police, they’re only good for 1)issuing saman 2) being a rider for some undeserving datuk, who will obviously be speeding like they own the road. I cant remember the last time i saw a traffic policeman help ease traffic congestion on our roads by directing traffic.