GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Hilux – Thai launch live photos

2016_Toyota_Hilux_gallery_Thailand_ 009

Yesterday saw the official introduction of the eight-gen 2016 Toyota Hilux, with the pickup being revealed simultaneously in Thailand and Australia. You’ve seen the studio shots, and now here are live photos of the new Hilux from the Thai part of the launch. On display at the event were a number of Hilux variants, in single, extra and double cabin body styles.

Aside from revised styling, the new Hilux gets two new turbodiesel engines as well as fresh six-speed ‘intelligent’ manual and auto gearboxes. The truck also features a thicker, stronger frame and enhanced comfort, safety and convenience features.

The new engines are a 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV and a 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV from the GD family, and both Euro 4-compliant oil burners feature common-rail direct-injection, variable-nozzle turbos, exhaust gas recirculation and a stop/start system.

The 2.8 litre has 177 hp at 3,400 rpm and 450 Nm between 1,600 and 2,400 rpm for output numbers, this when paired with the new six-speed auto (with the new six-speed manual, torque is bumped up to 420 Nm between 1,400 and 2,600 rpm).

As for the 2.4, that’s good for 150 hp at 3,400 rpm and 400 Nm between 1,600 and 2,000 rpm with the six-speed auto (with a five-speed manual, 343 Nm between 1,400 and 2,800 rpm). The Hilux is also available with the familiar 2.7 litre Dual VVT-i petrol with 166 hp and 245 Nm, and in Australia the truck will also get a 4.0 litre V6 petrol option.

Plenty of variation, from three suspension setups for various markets and a host of wheel size options (in 16-, 17- or 18-inch sizes), and with the variety of body styles, there’s no shortage of coming up with variants – Australia is already set to have 31!

Thai launch live photos by Edd Ellison.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• albag on May 22, 2015 at 11:57 am

cool truck with cool looks…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • movingcoffin on May 22, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Can Same Lorrrr confirm it doesn’t equip with fatal Takata airbags?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • VSC VSC Where Are you? on May 22, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Another Moving Coffin. Better to just take a coffin, put a steering wheel on top, put 4 tyres at the bottom, it becomes a Hilux!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Same L0rrrr on May 22, 2015 at 1:04 pm

With this truck, you no need tailgate others like the Triton, Navara. Drive 60km/h steady also ppl respect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • So you confirm it’s fitted with Takata

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • jemah on May 22, 2015 at 3:21 pm

org miskin je tgok pick up mcm kereta mewah…hahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
      • VSC VSC Where Are you? on May 22, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Don’t be so proud. Charge nearly Rm100k for a car that is a moving coffin and death trap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Ugly !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
    • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on May 22, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Cock eye with cocky comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • UMW President on May 22, 2015 at 1:12 pm

I will give you new engines and transmission, but so sorry, you have to pay the extra cost for DVD-ANV units. We will remove rear air-cont vent. As for safety, two airbags is standard across the range. I don’t bother your life. I just bother whether I could become the richest guy in the world or not. VSC, EBD and BA, hill start assist, down hill assist if you really need, you have to buy 2.8L auto. If you want safety, you must buy the top spec model. If you don’t want to make me rich, then I also don’t bother your life.

Sekian, terima kasih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
  • policeman on May 22, 2015 at 1:20 pm

ewww… look at the interior. So disgusting. Better save RM80K and get Saga. Save 80K and you get a more comfortable ride with better looking plastics.

The interior plastics appear to be the same quality of the green dustbins we have, just different colour.

I’m not saying it’s cheap plastic, because the dustbins are very durable. So many years under sun and rain and it’s still solid. I guess that’s why Toyota decided to use the same material for their interior – durability. But the idea of a dusbin interior doesn’t bode well with me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • wrooney on May 22, 2015 at 1:28 pm

isnt that the toyota altis interior ??

• foozy on May 22, 2015 at 1:29 pm

Sam Loo just jizzed in his pants.
    Twice!

• donkey J on May 22, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Not good, i expect something more from Hilux, the dashboard look unattractive, interior full of hideous plastic. come on try harder

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • l3ryan on May 22, 2015 at 2:00 pm

the plastic in the interior looks horrible, can see hard plastic everywhere!

• MitchelJohn on May 22, 2015 at 2:08 pm

The plastic userd for the interior just gave me cancer

So hideous

• deja vu on May 22, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Interior looks like China car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • wiwiwiwiw on May 22, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Is the platform all-new or based on the previous Hilux?

• seancorr (Member) on May 22, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Hmm those live shots don’t look too nice compared to the studio shots…have to go see it in the metal to judge

• Crazy on May 22, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Are you people mad or what? What plastics? Have you seen the real truck in person?
    Also this is a workhorse, the vehicle might be driven in jungle tracks, and I’m sure you need to clean the interior. Leathers won’t last. The Toyota Land Cruiser FJ also has a plastic interior. It is either soft feel coating or PVC. You don’t see any leather dashboards in a $100k truck. It is either love or hate. Don’t like it buy other brands. You said so many years it is still intact. That is good hard wearing plastic for you. Not those easy to deform proton plastics. I’m driving a ford truck and if you like ford just buy ford. If you like the new look of the new Hilux just buy it. Buy from Sam Loo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 22, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Booking 2 units soon …..

• Nathan Ferdinand on May 22, 2015 at 7:29 pm

This Thai model also a trimmed down spec from OZ spec.

I’m in OZ now and I’ve seen this Hilux inside out. What you see in the Thai’s interior is plastic, OZ give them soft touch plastics with combi of metal & piano finish.
    They also gave 7 airbags, ABS, EBD, BA, A-TRC, VSC and HAC for all lineups. When OZ got 18″ polished two tone diamond cut wheels, Thai only got 17″. Their leather seats also colored black, rather than unmatching beige on black. V6 engine only for Hilux SR5 in OZ, EU & SA.

So UMW, which one that you’ll choose?

• kelvin on May 22, 2015 at 11:02 pm

What happened to the dashboard design? Ewww so disgusting and cheapo feel

• Looking forward New Driven pick up truck series on May 25, 2015 at 9:03 am

Hi Anthony & Paul.
    Look forward a pickup truck comparison for Rnager 2015, Hilux 2015, Dmax, New triton

We will stay tuned :)

• Looking forward New Driven pick up truck series on May 25, 2015 at 9:09 am

IMHO, Ranger seems sleeker in both exterior and interior.

• Elchino on Aug 16, 2015 at 9:22 am

I understand that for the Malaysian models. We are getting coil spring suspension!

• Elchino on Aug 16, 2015 at 9:24 am

Are we getting coiled spring suspension?

• vinod on Oct 26, 2015 at 1:10 am

I like to the new version

• Malaysian on Aug 22, 2016 at 2:04 pm

Malaysia model 2.8 not fitted auto air-conditioning system, We are getting old model turning style. Thai model hilux have cruise control but same Malaysia model don’t have cruise control. What a shame please… Toyota do something on this problem. People pay more but don’t get the benefits at all.
    http://paultan.org/2016/03/26/2016-toyota-hilux/
    No rear AIR-CON…..