2016 Toyota Hilux – eighth-gen officially unveiled

cr_hr_15_HiLux_Reveal_01

The moment is finally here. The eighth-gen 2016 Toyota Hilux has been officially revealed simultaneously in Australia and Thailand. Highlights include two new turbodiesel engines, new six-speed ‘intelligent’ manual and auto gearboxes, a thicker, stronger frame and enhanced comfort, safety and convenience features.

New engines – a 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV and a 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV from the GD family – respectively replace the KD-family 3.0 litre 1KD-FTV and 2.5 litre 2KD-FTV. The new engines have common-rail direct-injection, variable-nozzle turbos, exhaust gas recirculation and a stop/start system, and are Euro 4-compliant for the Thai market. They claim to use 10% less fuel than the KD engines.

Complementing them are two new gearboxes – a six-speed ‘intelligent’ manual and six-speed auto. The ‘intelligent’ manual helps helps eliminate shift shock by matching engine revs to the transmission speed.

2015 reveal of Toyota HiLux (SR5 double cab pre-production model shown).

The larger engine does 177 hp at 3,400 rpm and 450 Nm of torque between 1,600 and 2,400 rpm when mated to the new six-speed auto (with the new six-speed manual, 420 Nm between 1,400 and 2,600 rpm). The smaller engine produces 150 hp at 3,400 rpm and 400 Nm of torque between 1,600 and 2,000 rpm with the six-speed auto (with a five-speed manual, 343 Nm between 1,400 and 2,800 rpm).

The familiar 2.7 litre Dual VVT-i petrol is said to benefit from lower weight, better combustion and less friction. It develops 166 hp at 5,200 rpm and 245 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. This engine can be had with a five-speed manual or six-speed auto in Thailand. Additionally, Australia gets a 4.0 litre V6 petrol.

The stronger FIRM (Frame with Integrated Rigidity Mechanism) makes use of high-tensile strength steel and more spot welds, and there’s a new Dynamic Control Suspension system, plus Body Control with Torque Demand. The improved body structure is said to yield lower noise, vibration and harshness levels.

2016-toyota-hilux-0001

A Drive Mode Switch allows selection of Eco and Power modes, while shift-on-the-fly allows shuffling between 2WD and 4WD. Also on are Active Traction Control and a diff-lock. Towing capacity has been upped to 3.5 tonnes; payloads up to 1,240 kg.

Three suspension setups will be available for the Hilux – Australia, South Africa, Russia and South America will get an Australian-developed heavy-duty suspension setup that touts improved off-road performance, better vibration suppression and improved roll stiffness. Thailand, meanwhile, will get a comfort-biased setup. There’s also a standard setup that’s “suited to all road conditions the world over.” The suspension is a front-double wishbone, rear-leaf spring affair.

Toyota says there’s more room inside front and rear (35 mm more rear knee room), a bigger seat adjustment range and a larger 80 litre fuel tank, and LED headlamps with DRLs are also available. Wheels are available in 16-, 17- or 18-inch sizes; currently, most of our Hilux run on 15-inch wheels.

In Australia, the Toyota Hilux will be offered with 31 variants – eight more than now – with 4×2 and 4×4, single, extra and double cabin styles, and WorkMate, SR and SR5 trims. There are also Hi-Rider variants – a 2WD with the ride height and heavy-duty suspension of a 4WD model. The truck will hit Oz showrooms in early October.

The double cab is 70 mm longer and 20 mm wider, and with a slightly lower roofline, than the truck it replaces, being 5,335 mm long, 1,855 mm wide and 1,820 mm tall, with a 3,085 mm wheelbase. Cargo volume is said to have been expanded, with the deck packing optimal reinforcements and rib configuration.

The safety arsenal comprises seven airbags, traction control, VSC, ABS, EBD, BA, hill start assist and emergency stop signal – all of which are standard across the range in Australia, in the hope of securing a five-star ANCAP safety rating. We’ll be back with Thai specs and details soon – meanwhile, check out the leaked brochure to see what the top-spec Thai model will get.

Toyota Hilux live photo gallery from Thai launch

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 21, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Will be booking one soon.

Refresh for my two Year 2005 Hilux that has telepathically told thousands of kimchis owners that they are Hailat oledi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 39
    • paulnut on May 21, 2015 at 3:09 pm

Your son is one of hailat saga owner. Why bought him saga?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrrr on May 21, 2015 at 6:33 pm

If I have junk (e.g. Saga) at home, I will give it out for free.

Come knock my door then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • Memo from UMW HQ on May 21, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Hi there. I work in UMW Toyota. Today, we got a memo from HQ and Sales Director of Toyota. It ask all staff to come here and thumbs any negative comments on Toyota. It is an actual memo!.

I am shocked. How can HQ ask us to do stupid things like this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
          • yawns on May 22, 2015 at 1:00 pm

no proof, no talk. Like that I can bullshit all the way.

• Toyota Salesman Crying More! on May 21, 2015 at 3:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 192
      • Kanasai UMW CSR on May 21, 2015 at 5:23 pm

Need to HIGHLIGHT!
        UMW said that Malaysia toyota not affected by TAKATA airbag.
        Now they start recall 2001-2007 toyota airbag!

UMW, really dirt business!
        Stop buyin toyota!
        Rather support Mohtah Honda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
      • I read this same exact comment almost everyday, boring dah bro nak baca dah boleh hafal hahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
        • VSC VSC Where are you? on May 21, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Still no VSC. This means this is known as a Moving Coffin or Hilux Coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • yea i still doubt VSC is fitted when it comes here, maybe for top spec only. We only can wait till it launch here first then we know UMW is listening or not

• Same L0rrrr on May 22, 2015 at 1:22 pm

No seat belt, 50 airbags also you died.

Drive 130km/h and crash, ASEANCAP 12 star also you die.

Your driving habit decide your safety, not the safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
          • Indeed this is correct.
            No matter how safe your car is, above 120 km/h, death awaits.
            So drivers must change their attitude of driving, not blaming vehicles that are not save enough.
            Some country has less safety features but their accident rate are still lower.

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 7:21 pm

Same Lorrrr is a loser and most Toyota salesman are losers. Now with ZERO sales, all come here and bad mouth other brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • VSC VSC Where are you? on May 21, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Camry Rm150k also got no VSC. This car also got no VSC. Better just put four wheels at the bottom of a coffin and sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Just Curious on May 22, 2015 at 5:18 am

WOW. How can someone hate a car company so much?
        Did any of ur family member die in a toyota in a car accident?
        Or u are trying to sabotage?
        No offense

• xiper (Member) on May 31, 2015 at 7:16 pm

u are drunk, Hilux still owning 50% of the pick-up truck market shares, followed by D-Max and Triton. Ranger is far behind the Hilux although sadly the spec is much better than Hilux.

• Charles Millip on Feb 06, 2016 at 1:53 pm

My humble to the above-Opinion to Toyota Salesman Crying More!
        VSC or “vehicle stability control” is a active bracking system while vehicle is in motion to stabilize the vehicle from understeer or oversteer. This function is very useful IF you are driving through winding road. But the disadvantage of having VSC is that, your brake pad will worn out very fast. Having a VSC is just Supplimentary. Not a MUST. It is how carefull one person drives determined one life’s. Same goes to having SRS Air Bag or not. It is all a Supplimentary. It is still the old faithfull Seatbelt that keeping everyone in the vehicle safe. But of course it is good to have all this Supplimentary Passive safety features such as VSC, ABS, TRC, EBD, Push Start and so on IF it comes F.O.C.

• hailatt on May 21, 2015 at 3:29 pm

The huge Toyota logo at the back finally returns.

Sam Loo now ejaculating with joy and happiness!!

• Areyousure on May 21, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Yay! GT86 interior on a Hailat!

• VSC VSC Where are you? on May 21, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Can ejaculate but still got ZERO sales because even now apek contruction site contractor also know what is VSC and demand for it. So now, apek go for Ranger

• MeToo on May 22, 2015 at 11:04 am

Its simple.

UMW keep the full specs INTACT, I’ll buy this.

If UMW gives us a watered down version to get a better margin, then I’ll either buy the Navara or Ranger.

• sudonano (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Question is, will UMW spec in all the safety?

Sam Loo, where art thou?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
    • MeToo on May 21, 2015 at 2:26 pm

UMW will bring in the 2 Airbag version, as usual. Malaysian lives are cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • Sudonano, please expect the following spec.

2.0 4 Speed, no ABS, fabric seats.
      2.5 4 speed, with ABS, no ESP, leather, and lots of blings blings.

As usual, Malaysians lives are cheap, they don’t care about safety. All they care is push start button, bluetooth audio, anti-snatch theft hook, tissue compartments, and other blings blings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Err not on anyone’s side, but is there a 2.0 version of hilux? And i thought the new camry here already changed to 6 speed gearbox? So the new hilux should get the 6 speed gearbox as well, no? Correct me if i’m wrong

• sudonano (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 6:14 pm

Bling bling = 100hp
        Push start button= 10 hp
        Bluetooth = 20 hp
        tissue box holder = 10000 hp

Seems legit! Sad but true though…

• Nathan Ferdinand on May 21, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Nice. I like those features to be available here, if UMW don’t cut those specs.

Toyota moving forward, UMW lousy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • Jilbaber (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 2:00 pm

So, its an altis on steroid huh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • neonceejay on May 21, 2015 at 2:00 pm

for the first time evar….I think that hilux is a damn good buy…if they remain current price tag and those features that can bring me to space like Gundam lah LOL

• JustWannaSay on May 21, 2015 at 2:04 pm

sure arr Hilux can drive like that?? No toppled one ka?? not abit…but too misleading ads..Ngehehehe

• shawal on May 21, 2015 at 2:07 pm

It looks good in and out…
    With usable tech to boot…
    Whats not to like.

• MeToo on May 21, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Whoa… did I see rear aircon vents?! o.0

• Sgt Scoop on May 21, 2015 at 2:31 pm

It looks like a boat. Could it have been inspired by Top Gear’s Toybota?

• The headlights and taillights are hideous. Why lah they designed like that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Leonardo on May 21, 2015 at 2:54 pm

SO GOOD – Less fuel consumption, slightly cheaper road tax – from 2.5L to 2.4L, more knee room, bigger and wider, more safety features
    NO GOOD – exterior styling is now softer and more femenine compared to the previous models. More suitable for urban driving than off roading, as far as looks is concerned.

• i_swear on May 21, 2015 at 3:29 pm

If malaysian variants come in still 4 speed auto, this Hilux can kiss them goodbye

• samaloor on May 21, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Big.. very big.. later suv version of hilux.. toyota fortuner, look as big as land cruiser ninja king..

• LOLOL on May 21, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Hilux interior looks better than the Camry.

• Flyguy70 on May 21, 2015 at 6:14 pm

I doubt so much that UMW will give 7 airbags for Hilux in Malaysia.

Recently, UMW just quietly removed their ‘TOYOTA TRIBE’ forum discussion for consumers in their official Toyota website so that poor build quality posted by Toyota buyers, esp Vios poor quality problems can’t be seen in this Forum.

UMW is still don’t understand how to do biz in its automobile industry. Just give standard 7 airbags with VSC in their G-spec, either on Camry, Altis or Vios and get better quality spare-parts from its local suppliers on Toyota cars, people will ‘FLOOD-IN’ again to buy Toyota cars, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Sandiwara (Member) on May 21, 2015 at 6:59 pm

So since UMW with so many people working inside “dont understand how to do biz”, you might as well write in for a CEO post, fire the rest of the management team and promise that sales will double in a year time by only adding 7 airbags and increase quality of spare parts

Suddenly its so easy to be a billionaire….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
      • Lancelot on May 22, 2015 at 8:20 am

A good comment by sandiwara. This business is not work that way. If you put all the safety features and increase spare parts quality. The price will be high. People will not buy a car with high price. We must remember our car price is already higher than neighbor country. If umw put all those bling2 spec who will buy a car? That is why for current camry umw give 2 option for new camry. If u want low price. U can take the 2.0e but sacrifice vsc. If u really2 want vsc then take la 2.0g. But with higher price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
  • stay away from truck based chassis unless u really need it, easily will terbalik for sure. been seeing lots big bullies in their trucks driving too fast, these only looks strong but actuall fact they are dangerous.

• fretjanik on May 21, 2015 at 8:44 pm

This is the best interior in a truck. I like it.

• Flyguy70 on May 21, 2015 at 11:13 pm

Sandiwara, you must understand one reality in Malaysia is all top post in UMW already ‘MONOPOLY ‘by certain ‘people’ & Japanese.

U & me having no opportunity to be shortlisted for CEO post interview! Hence, U & me No chance to fire the Management & to be billionaire by working in UMW. Don’t you agreed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Looks much better than the previous generation. More masculine yet also more refined.

• The teaser look nicer than the real car! Should have keep it in the dark, once reveal…CRAP design! Still can’t beat Ford Ranger!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Flyguy70 on May 22, 2015 at 9:30 am

Lancelot & Sandiwara, my point is why Honda City with 6 airbags & ESC at price tag of RM90k able sells like hotcake which far more better sales figure that Vios!?

Why Honda City able to equip 6 airbags with ESC, why can’t Vios? Somemore, same price tag for both these 2 cars. All bcos of UMW want to make highly profit at consumers expense & safety.

A 2.0 camry G-spec with 2 airbags at price tag of RM160k no way able to attract good sales figure. That’s why until now, you don’t even see many new camry 2.0 on the road!

UMW claimed that able to sells at least 2,000 units of Camry 2.0 by end of this year. Keep dreaming then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • cc poh on May 24, 2015 at 7:56 am

Toyota thailand spec – 100% full spec
    UMW Malaysia spec – 60 % spec

• cc poh on May 24, 2015 at 8:04 am

Toyota Thailand – 100 % full spec
    UMW Malaysia – 60 % spec

• mustapa on May 24, 2015 at 8:45 am

Would like to find the accessories of RAV4 2000/2001 model

• mr toyoda on May 27, 2015 at 1:18 am

Once UMW gets a hold of dis car, most of the fancy techs and features will be gone.

• VTECunicornFART on May 31, 2015 at 6:50 pm

I concern about the engine. New Triton in Malaysia is available only 2.5 engine from the stone age.
    Does it apply to Hilux in Malaysia since Diesel is still Euro 2?

• Random thoughts on Feb 25, 2016 at 3:41 am

All the freakshow driving aid safety fear mongering hordes. Aeroplanes got no airbag so bye bye la you’ll never use one lah? If my own experience to be counted then most of these people who preaches driving aids and car safety this and that were some selfish cheapskate bastids le most idiotic drivers I’ve ever met on the road. Trying to express concern and caring but really this type selalunya menyusahkan orang, everywhere they go.

• Sammy on Mar 03, 2016 at 10:51 pm

Good design,safety….. Is it easy for thief’s ?