Police cars fitted with cameras being trialled – report

PDRM-Volvo-S80-Large

The boys in blue are upping their game. Under a pilot project in Serdang and Shah Alam, cameras are to be fitted on police cars, both to record offenders and check on the conduct of the cops themselves, according to a report by The Star.

“It will be conducted for a month and we will see how effective it is. With the cameras, we can record offences committed by perpetrators as well as the infringements of our men on the ground,” police inspector-general Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar told the English-language daily.

He said the trial run is part of the long-term goal for modern policing, and the only challenge is finding enough funds to do it for the whole country.

revolo-dssz

Meanwhile, there exists another pilot project in Petaling Jaya to cut the number of police officers in a patrol car from two to one.

“The patrol vehicle is manned by a policeman but it is only during the day. We want to create better presence by having more vehicles on the road,” Khalid said.

The 11th Malaysia Plan (11MP), which was announced yesterday, calls for more police and volunteer presence in an attempt to raise the sense of safety from 39% last year to 60% in 2020. The 11MP also aims for police to get to the crime scene within eight minutes, one third faster than now.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• dodgeviper88 on May 22, 2015 at 10:25 am

I assume that all these while there are cameras fitted onto police cars as a standard equipment. Also since we’re on these topic it should be programmed such that once the sirens are switched on the camera would automatically start recording in order to prevent the abuse of the siren.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Anti-Pati on May 22, 2015 at 11:00 am

Why not always on cameras?

• Same L0rrrr on May 22, 2015 at 1:07 pm

The camera is better in catching unethical police rather offenders.

With camera, the patrol cars have no freedom lepak minum teh ais for 3 hours tea break, how?

• Duit Kopi How? on May 22, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Very good move. I fully support it. But our polis have duit kopi culture. Everyone in Malaysia knows about this duit kopi. So, this camera won’t take off. It will first be given to some UMNO crony as a contract like AES. Then it will be abolished halfway and the contracted company will receive RM500 mil compensation like AES.

Until the duit kopi culture is abolished or diminished, we can have all the laws and gadgets in the world, it won’t help.

9 out of 10 offenders of any road offence settle their offence on the spot. Of course, there is no receipt issued. You know, I know lah. Nowadays, even if you don’t want to give also, polis officer very brave to ask and insist on duit kopi.

Besides duit kopi, we have mudah lupa culture. Look at the back safety belts law, 1 or 2 weeks got big drama. After that, all is forgotten.

• Memory Card on May 22, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Memory tak cukup bro…

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 23, 2015 at 1:05 am

nowadays all the police use siren as excuse to simply cut out lanes…simply skip traffic light…this never happen when i was menteri

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 22, 2015 at 10:32 am

Hate Volvo why BN not use Proton?!!!

MITI already claim Proton same quality as BMW and volvo.

Police force has no taste at all !!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • BeemerFreak on May 22, 2015 at 11:02 am

Sam Loo wannabe for Proton…eh be creative a bit la, this trick Sam use d…..get another persona for yourself…….only losers copy

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 22, 2015 at 11:19 am

Why you jelly ah? Go balik kampung jer if not supporting Proton.

Stupidity after the year comment…

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 22, 2015 at 12:20 pm

You even worst, people mention Proton you mention same loo?

If you got problem go find him and not complaining over here… uneducated behaviour.

• Jimmy on May 22, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Can somebody please explain the rationales why volvos were chosen, and those volvos are dedicated to which grades of officers?
      JUSA A equivalent, and above?
      No other better choices?
      Can the rakyat’s money be better used?

Of course if I were a decision making head of dapartment, and I hated Najib, the 1st car I will buy for my kakitangan is an S-class, and I will deliberately leak the photos to public.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 23, 2015 at 5:48 am

Maybe leftover stocks that no one wanted to buy, and were sold to the police at a very good price? (No tax, discount cause old stock, …).

Probably not though.

• annonymous on May 22, 2015 at 11:09 am

“The only challenge is finding enough funds to do it for the whole country.”

Seriously? Go investigate the RM42 billion and retrieve it then you will have the funds allocated to your department for these cameras.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • drMpower on May 22, 2015 at 11:14 am

finally the police heard me
    but how about the rules. i have been told that camera shots (by public) got no value for persecution or uphold of any rule.

so how.

and another thing, this camera isnt for rules breaking captures. it just a recording just like whats on TV like the most dangerous police chase blah blah blah

and ah, they left me and gani out from this? and wheres my supervolace?

• “finally the police heard me”
      HAHAHA You think you so smart ah?

• Camera Shy on May 22, 2015 at 11:40 am

Yg pasti, camera ada tp gambar xde. Ingat kes benghock! Harga satu camera sure mahal giler. Mana nak dpt duit… GST & more kompaun & waran tangkap. Haih…. very good 11MP

• Bad boysX3 whatch' gonne' do on May 22, 2015 at 11:42 am

If the camera is either always on or auto link to the sirens, as the bros here suggests. Our traffic police officers, 1st item to do list, is to visit an illegal auto workshop where our taxi drivers goes, to add on the kill switch for the dashcam. Else it seriously impact their kopi moneies. Hahaha

• paparadzi (Member) on May 22, 2015 at 12:04 pm

All police cars should be fitted with always-on cameras. The policemen themselves should be wearing body cameras. A small HD camera should be small and cheap enough these days.

The camera will restore credibility to the police force, and that alone will justify the cost.

• ApaGuna on May 22, 2015 at 12:52 pm

What’s the point when they’re only ever escorting VIPs or parked on a corner somewhere setting up duit raya collection? Snatch thief rob my neighbor and rounding the padang in front of my house for half and hour don’t wanna investigate, how la?

• Cameraguy on May 22, 2015 at 2:21 pm

I tot our helang Evo x fleet is the 1st team to equipped with dash cam?

• seancorr (Member) on May 22, 2015 at 4:25 pm

A welcome move but…are they going to monitor the cameras all the time and will they take action against their own kind?

There needs to be a new separate department with fresh recruits to monitor it so they don’t get influenced by their peers.

Also we need more cops on the road especially traffic cops…too many offenders on the road right now.

• Tishaban on May 22, 2015 at 5:17 pm

Let’s upload those videos to YouTube. Street justice for the cops :-)

Also how about creating a police division to view users’ dashcam footage and giving out tickets and summons based on those as well. I can happily contribute ;)

• CyberPatrol on May 22, 2015 at 6:27 pm

I support this move, it’s also collection video of driver data for analysis by RTD if camera turn on when on the vehicle on road and with GPS system.

But then I worried of about security of this recorded video, who can remove it.? What are SOP for handling and backup of video recording.

• CyberPatrol on May 22, 2015 at 6:29 pm

I support this move, it’s also a method of analysis driver behaviour by RTD or Police later if video cam recording turn on when on the vehicle on move and with GPS system.

But then I worried of about security of this recorded video, who can remove it.? What are SOP for handling and backup of video recording.

• Keropok Lekor KL on May 23, 2015 at 1:37 pm

just a waste of money with the camera…

PDRM cant even do their basic job right…..
    Camera aint gonna help policing…

PDRM see illegal bangla, indo….they all buat tak tau…driving passed them….

• ValueStrike on May 23, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Well, the fact of the matter is that the usually sub 100 bucks dashcam will be purchased by the PDRM for nothing less than 500-1000 bucks a pop at a so-called discounted price.. Sides, what’s the use of dashcam if there’s no way to see if they’re actually doing their jobs or having kopi at the local mamak stall?