BMW 330e eDrive plug-in hybrid – first look with video

bmw-330e-edrive-0023

The first details and images have emerged on the upcoming BMW 330e eDrive, which should be replacing the BMW ActiveHybrid 3 as the hybrid offering in the F30 LCI range.

Instead of a 306 hp 3.0 litre six-cylinder turbo paired to a 54 hp electric motor, the new eDrive system pairs a 184 hp 2.0 litre four cylinder engine to an 87 hp electric motor. The hybrids system now has plug-in charging capability – there’s an additional power socket behind a flap on the front left fender.

bmw-330e-edrive-0020

It’s rated to use just 2.1 litres of fuel per 100 km and emits just 49 g/km of CO2. Combined output is 252 hp and 420 Nm, taking the 330e to 100 km/h in 6.3 seconds. These are all of course tentative specs as the production car has yet to be unveiled.

The 7.6 kWh high-voltage battery is stored under the luggage compartment – this reduces luggage volume to 370 litres. Maximum all-electric range is pegged at 35 km.

As you can see from the interior pix, there’s an eDrive button near the gear selector. The eDrive button allows the driver to choose between three different electric drive nodes – AUTO which is standard, MAX which is is 100% electric and SAVE BATTERY mode which keeps the charge level of the battery at a constant level.

The SAVE BATTERY mode is useful for battery charge planning – you can use it on your highway drive before you hit an urban area, after of which you can switch to MAX mode for zero emissions driving.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Faizal Misman on May 27, 2015 at 12:06 am

One of the Environment friendly car. Good job Bayerische Motoren Werke!

• wiwiwiwiw W140 S320L on May 27, 2015 at 12:55 am

BMW Malaysia
    1) CKD this to enjoy the reduced green tax
    2) Price it below 328i
    3) Give class leading five year warranty

• BenjaminTong on May 27, 2015 at 12:59 am

Change to 330 from my current 328? Should I? haha

• kzm father on May 27, 2015 at 2:14 am

Why not a Proton Hybrid?

• sudonano (Member) on May 27, 2015 at 5:26 am

Boot doesn’t look too bad actually!

Now BMW Malaysia, if you are taking notes, you guys better start preparing for the CKD of this.

• Steve Ron on May 27, 2015 at 8:06 am

Still not good. The all electric shd go a minimum of 200 km. Needs better technology.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on May 27, 2015 at 9:34 am

Maintenance cost sure very high when battery life gone

• super on May 27, 2015 at 10:03 am

Then how much for electricity cost if fully charged.