F30 BMW 3 Series LCI unveiled – updated looks, new engine lineup, 330e plug-in hybrid coming 2016

BMW 340i Limousine

Leaked earlier today, the new facelifted F30 BMW 3 Series (Life Cycle Impulse or LCI in BMW speak) has finally been officially unveiled. As we’ve mentioned before, the benchmark compact executive fighter gets very minor aesthetic changes, but there’s quite a lot different under the skin.

First up, the looks – the face has been mildly-restyled with squared-off corners and a reprofiled lower air intake featuring different trim items according to the trim line: silver horizontal slats and gloss black trim on the Sport Line, chrome trim on the Luxury Line. The standard reflector halogen headlights add new LED daytime running lights; full-LED items are available as an option, replacing the previous bi-xenons.

At the rear of the car, full-LED tail lights are standard and come with reshaped light guides, while the rear bumper has been given a more angular design, with a full-width trim piece in black, chrome or body colour depending on the trim line. There are also new wheel designs on offer, available in sizes up to 19 inches. The optional M Sport bodykit remains unchanged.

f30-lci-3-series-sport-line-0018

Equally minimal changes can be found inside – the audio and climate controls feature a new gloss black surround, while chrome accents feature around the air vents, window switches and even the controls for the power-adjustable seats. The accent strip on Sport Line, Luxury Line and M Sport models also expands beyond the dashboard and into the four doors as well.

Elsewhere, the cupholders in front of the gear lever finally receive a sliding cover; previously you had to stow the lid in the glovebox compartment. An additional storage compartment now exists ahead of the cupholders for loose items such as a smartphone.

The optional BMW Navigation system Professional has also been updated, with quicker startup, faster route calculation, more realistic 3D city visualisation, over-the-air map updates (free for three years) and, most impressively, LTE support when equipped with the extended smartphone connectivity option.

P90180543-highRes

Upholstery and trim choices have been expanded with the LCI – Corner Anthracite fabric and Oyster semi- and full-leather on standard models, Veneto Beige and Saddle Brown leather for Sport and Luxury Line as well as M Sport; the latter variants also receive a new “ash black” veneer option with metal inlays. Mediterranean Blue, Platinum Silver and Jatoba (brown) paint are also new, as is a Champagne Quartz Individual exterior colour.

But it’s under the bonnet where the LCI 3er starts to differ greatly from the pre-facelift – the new engine lineup derived from BMW’s latest modular engine family is fully Euro 6-compliant. At the base of the range sits a new 136 hp/220 Nm B38 1.5 litre petrol three-pot that powers the 318i, reducing CO2 emissions by more than 13% over the previous 316i.

Higher up, the new B48 2.0 litre petrol four-pot in the 184 hp/290 Nm 320i and the 252 hp/350 Nm 330i (née 328i) is either torquier (320i) or more powerful (330i) than before, yet it’s also cleaner and more efficient. Topping the cooking range for now is a new 326 hp/450 Nm B58 3.0 litre straight six in the 340i, replacing the current N55 unit in the outgoing 306 hp/400 Nm 335i.

BMW 340i Limousine

2016 will see the introduction of a new 330e plug-in hybrid, mating a 184 hp 2.0 litre engine with an 80 kW (108 hp) electric motor to produce a combined 252 hp and 420 Nm. It goes from 0-100 km/h in 6.3 seconds before hitting a 225 km/h top speed, yet uses just 2.1 litres of fuel per 100 km and emits just 49 grams of CO2 per kilometre. Maximum all-electric range is pegged at 35 km.

On the diesel side, a new B47 2.0 litre four-pot comes in 116 hp 316d and 190 hp 320d flavours – the latter has six more horsepower, produces 400 Nm between 1,750-2,500 rpm, is two-tenths of a second quicker to 100 km/h at 7.2 seconds and yet produces just 106 grams of CO2 per kilometre. Other oil-burning variants include a 218 hp/450 Nm 325d, 258 hp/560 Nm 330d and 313 hp/630 Nm 335d.

Power is sent through new six-speed manual and eight-speed Steptronic automatic transmissions – the latter gets a new Proactive Driving Assistant that anticipates road conditions based on navigation information – that improve efficiency still further, and xDrive all-wheel drive is optional as before. The chassis has also been revised, adding improved damping, stiffer suspension and retuned steering for better handling without compromising on comfort.

LCI F30 BMW 340i Sedan M Sport

LCI F30 BMW 340i Sedan Sport Line
LCI F30 BMW 320d Touring EfficientDynamics Edition Sport Line
LCI F30 BMW 320d Touring Luxury Line
LCI F30 BMW M3

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• mr1031 on May 07, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Awesome!! The Ultimate Driving Machine!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Beemer on May 08, 2015 at 2:33 am

“BMW of Asia” is no match for this

• stupidcommenter on May 08, 2015 at 8:30 am

Lol comparing between luxury and mass car is definitely plain stupid

• Stupid Supporter on May 08, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Yup, the only stupid is Proton who calls themselves “BMW of Asia”. Tak tahu malu kah?

• Sam L0rrrr on May 07, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Aiyo!!! The dashboard and color so ugly!!! Vios is nicer la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 45
    • Proton L0rrrr on May 08, 2015 at 2:27 am

Aiyo. Fake Sam, go else where to troll lah. The dashboard is better than Iriz lah

• DPCraft on May 07, 2015 at 10:36 pm

If the exterior is still gonna look like this in 2016 it’s outdated( Yes it looks good)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Albert on May 07, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Disappointing look. The new c-class has a better look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
    • VW fanboi on May 08, 2015 at 8:11 am

c-class looks like a turtle whenever I overtake than in my GTI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • VW fail on May 08, 2015 at 5:41 pm

When your DSG fails, even the snail is faster than you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Some of this VW drivers is just the same like some MYVI drivers always thinking that their car is so powerful and fast, showing off on the road, tailgating and endangering other road users.

• farhat on May 07, 2015 at 11:59 pm

Interior wise im also noticing white accent stictchings on the dash, and the climate control also received new display with white backlight and new icon design..

• shawal on May 08, 2015 at 12:24 am

340i msport….
    with 3.0 turbo-ed straight six under the hood….

the prospect is deliciously tempting…..
    hope the 2nd market prices will drop like its hawt…

• I like the sport trim though. But i do not see anywhere mentioning about the 330s 0-60 time. I guess its around 5.7 – 5.8 secs.

• seancorr (Member) on May 08, 2015 at 1:58 am

Good to see it didn’t change much on the exterior otherwise the pre LCI will look aged. New graphics on the climate control and if I’m not mistaken it will turn orange/amber when its night time following the 1 Series LCI.

The new LED headlights will be much better as our CKD xenons are more yellowish comparing to its rivals and hopefully this time around it will come adaptive following the F10 LCI too. Wonder if the fog lamps are also LED or they still stick to plain old halogens?

Lastly, the Modern line isn’t shown here so…long live the Modern line?

• roadshowherethere on May 08, 2015 at 8:35 am

Modern Line tak laku. Stock clearance roadshow will follow

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on May 08, 2015 at 12:13 pm

Yes, it does seem Modern Line has been ditched – it’s not mentioned anywhere in the press release.

• sudonano (Member) on May 09, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Not surprised Modern line has been dumped.

Luxury and Sport did sell, in fact Sport was the most common one, even with older buyers.

Modern was a bit too modern for it’s time. I remember going to see it (the only time I got to sit in one) the weekend after they launched, I really loved the wood trim because of the Volvo-like feel to it. But the Oyster interior and dials was a bit much to take in…

• BeemerFreak on May 08, 2015 at 7:10 am

The 330e will be interesting as a CKD should our G keep the current excise duty free for CKD hybrids.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 08, 2015 at 8:19 am

Actually, there appears to be a more obvious difference inside than outside, but can’t quite point out what the difference is – perhaps choice of materials used. Anyways, glad that there are new engines, and hope they sound better than the current ones. Also, hopefully they’ve rectified the rough idle start/stop.

• Merzlover on May 08, 2015 at 8:55 am

Am I the only who sees no differences?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • 335i become 340i, that is a big different. Read before you make a stupid comment ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Adam Ramli on May 08, 2015 at 9:20 am

Hopefully they have fixed the annoying offset pedal position so that it is align with the steering wheel for right hand drive model.

• no difference on May 08, 2015 at 9:44 am

CKD quality is the problem

• There’s a plus n minus to this so called lci “new” look..personally I’d prefer a subtle change rather than a drastic one. Thru experience when I last purchase a new w204, when they came out with a mid term facelift for the w204, mine looked like an older model..only after 3years n 15k mileage..my car had no value…I paid 262k on the road for it n felt absolutely cheated..I told the sales person how I felt and he said..like handphone also mah..have to change model all the time…!@#$/.. Stupid 262k.. He compares to a handphone..so lesson learned..never a Mercedes for me anymore,,,love my BMW!

• BMW, Audi and Lexus LCI normally very subtle. Not to cheat their customer big time like Mercedes in LCI.

• Wanna swap your W204 with my brand new iPhone 6 plus?

• cendol (Member) on May 08, 2015 at 11:04 am

BUt warranty is still 2 years?
    When is the warranty undergo LCI and get 4 years??

• so basically moving forward, most 3 series’s in Malaysia at least will have a 3 cylinder turbo engine. I understand it’s efficient, powerful,fuel saving etc but where’s the romance!! it sucked that they pushed 4 cylinders on us and now they are going one cylinder less

I would love to see if these engines stay refined after about 6-7 years as 3 cyl engine play havoc to sound proofing materials etc as it is one of the most unbalanced configurations.

• gg.com on May 08, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Why most BMW owner said BMW cars in Malaysia mostly last 3-4 years?

• Because BMW owners are rich, they change car every 3-4 years, not like mercedes Ah Pek, stucked in their mercedes for 25 years at least being too kedukut to change their car.

• Mercedes Kaki on May 08, 2015 at 2:34 pm

All the playboy wannabe is driving this. blek

How many of your prefer the new Mercedes C Class ? :)

• Real Playboy on May 08, 2015 at 9:42 pm

After driving a 3 series, C class is like a boat for me no thanks.

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on May 08, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Forget this slow junk. Even 340i will eat my smoke

• N55 to B58 is huge difference. BMW specialists has to relearn everything all over again.

Does the 340 has cylinders shut down feature for eco drive?
    Like follow 1.5 cycle? Asking too much already… =D

• blaster88 on May 16, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Interior and comfort wise, the W205 wins but handling and performance…..cannot compare lah F30, its like night and day!!! Sitting behing a W205 is like being in a boat. Man…..

• Oliver on May 23, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Any idea when will this F30 LCI be launched in Malaysia?